5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

::V6::Scorpion-Thread::V6::, Scorpion Conservation

*FallenAngel*
post Oct 28 2009, 06:03 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Kar @ Oct 28 2009, 05:23 PM)
It could be bad genes, or it could also be due to stress during gestation, bad gestation, or even stress during labour. To identify it is almost as close as searching for a needle in a haystack, impossible!
inbreeding could cause any effect in inverts? For gravid scorps that refuse to eat, i dont think that they are full so they refuse to eat. Same as human beings, they need to supply nutrients to the foetus in the womb (if they have 1). Or maybe they not used to local crix? tongue.gif or they are too weak to eat after killing the prey as they are gravid n need more energy? Ryo do you tried prekilled prey?
And yeah, I agree with Kar too, wc specimen are not use to be fed with mealworm or crix. Hong/eddie once told me that wild caught specimen will refuse to eat as they were fed with other kind of bugs in the wild. They might never encounter these bugs in their life before and hence they refuse to eat. And I read that living things do "evolve" into different species (speciation) if they have different kind of food source. So might be the food are not their basic diet hence they might face some problem during digestion and absorption.
Lester, how about those Lychas Scutilus ? U mention about you found their habitat right? So any news?

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 28 2009, 06:03 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 29 2009, 07:07 PM

34 posts

hmm, nice article. From what I know and from the article, those parthenogenesis do have advantages and disadvantages. They able to dominant in a stable environment, i.e their breeding rate is higher than bisexual sp, however they hardly able to adapt in a different environment as their gene doesnt undergo random segregation and crossing over (which allow their gene to be diversify). Hence, genetic disorder that occur in the bloodline might be carry on to every offspring.Maybe this explain why hot2 are vulnerable as they cant really cope on our environment. About LA, they are local sp, so they able to survive and stay strong as long as there is no big change in the environment. On the other hand sexually reproduce sp able to adapt, evolve into a different environment over generation, and enhance their survival in the nature.

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 29 2009, 07:08 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 29 2009, 09:37 PM

34 posts

bro, how you disinfect those moss b4 u put in the tank?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I thk we should move our discussion to msc maybe, coz if people wanna read back would be a big trouble. Just suggestion.
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 29 2009, 10:15 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(yltanisaac @ Oct 29 2009, 09:46 PM)
which discussion? my setup or the genetic argument?

I dip them in spring water 1st for a day then in distilled water. Shine them under UV light.
UV light would kill those plant too (not sure, but i know that people do use uv light to prevent moss growing in garden water features). The genetic argument

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 29 2009, 10:17 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 30 2009, 12:56 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(aimeh @ Oct 30 2009, 12:52 AM)
wow I really have to get some help from my dictionary for some words. lol

btw I like this .. But Scorpion King's case is unique. Defies Science .. haha

And it will always looks nice when there are green in the tank, I like the mountain moss effect, used to put it in my croc skink last time .. cantik  ~
ya, undeniable, looks more natural. But what make me headache is those pest inside. I hate those. will try isaac's method to see the result
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 30 2009, 11:06 AM

34 posts

alrite, so means,
1. desert sp can mist frequently as long as no mold??
2. parthenogenesis sp hardly able to adapt to a new environment if compare with bisexual sp?
3. out-cross breeding able to reduce chances of getting genetic disorder (recessive trait)? How abt parthenogenesis sp? They dun mate.

*FallenAngel*
post Nov 2 2009, 11:50 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Nov 2 2009, 11:37 PM)
Oh man, i already tired with scorp death
Just got back home from vets just now and found my A.Australis lying upside down doh.gif
On the 1st day i got it ady dragging it tail and very inactive, i thought it's just a pre molt sign doh.gif
How's urs doing, rideon?
FML
sorry to hear this bro. Hurt during shipment?
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 5 2009, 07:25 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(echosmiles @ Nov 5 2009, 07:22 PM)
Hi guys...

My Emperor just gave birth to like so darn many babies on her back.

I just have one question....
What do I do now ???  (Panic*)
Congrats rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
I wish I have one sad.gif
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 6 2009, 11:52 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(rideon @ Nov 6 2009, 11:49 PM)
hmmm.. another molt.. damn ur the king of molting..
lol, 2day is the 1st time my scorpion molted. Rid, ur LA. Shock when saw a big shrimp in the small deli cup, lol
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 8 2009, 01:50 PM

34 posts

R.I.P sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Nov 8 2009, 01:51 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 8 2009, 09:48 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Nov 8 2009, 09:29 PM)
Compsobuthus werneri  ???

may it rest in peace ......

赚钱 !!!! 扩张爬爬军团!!!
yup, c.werneri. I wonder what's wrong with my room feng shui. keep on dying my inverts
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 8 2009, 11:40 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Nov 8 2009, 11:04 PM)
hmmm what are the conditions u been keeping it in ???
bone dry, light mist once for two weeks. I fed it once in two week too. It start to refuse to eat since last week, it killed the prey, suck a bit and let go.
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 17 2009, 01:34 PM

34 posts

Alrite, after reach my home, started to decorate my tank and here is some pics. Any suggestion/comment?

And the resident himself....
p/s: he is kinda shy.... low profile tongue.gif

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Nov 17 2009, 01:35 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 17 2009, 03:50 PM

34 posts

What I am not satisfied is the plants, Are those pothos plants ? They dont really fuse into the tank as they dont really looks like "forest" plant. Any suggestion for some nice plants? Quite hard for me to get living moss here... but I am trying.
And at the right hand bottom side of the tank actually is a small "pond", The water do stay for 3 days, then they fuse into the cocofibre and i gave up.
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 19 2009, 05:18 PM

34 posts

Saw this product. They use this for molding and shaping burrow and caves. Easy to use. Anyone saw this in malaysia?
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 23 2009, 12:36 AM

34 posts

nice, hope u can keep it till adult smile.gif
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 23 2009, 10:56 AM

34 posts

Jay, they are different species from different genus. They will cannibalize each other even from the same species.

In simpler words, just imagine your mom keep you with a chimpanzee in a same cage.
Maybe other things will occur if that is a sexy female chimpanzee brows.gif brows.gif

Emperor have slightly different requirement than afs. Humidity level for emperor should be lower than an afs.

Hence, unless you have too much money to spent on, you can try it, or else, just separate them. I dont think a simple container would cost more then a scorpion.

Try do some online research and you will find more answers.
pandinus imperator
heterometrus spinifer

btw, welcome.

Cheers

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Nov 23 2009, 11:08 AM
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 24 2009, 05:31 PM

34 posts

Sam, you got my sapot!
Go go go!
We need a hero notworthy.gif

say cheessssse

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Nov 24 2009, 05:39 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Nov 26 2009, 10:45 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Nov 26 2009, 09:52 PM)
some new addition of the day to the big family ... santa is coming to t0wn tongue.gif

nice.... So... is santa real?? blink.gif
I hope he could bring a big bag of scorpion to me but i doubt he can reach me before he die tongue.gif
and i wont want he drop those scorps in my socks.... that would be a big "ouch!" when i wear them to school
*FallenAngel*
post Dec 3 2009, 04:58 PM

34 posts

uncle sam at one of the most "resourceful" jungle... can see new things everyday... lol

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0485sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:03 AM