::V6::Scorpion-Thread::V6::, Scorpion Conservation

zoejehuty
post May 11 2010, 07:25 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

QUOTE(hseyrann00 @ May 11 2010, 06:42 PM)
If breed successful , and u wanna sell it, inform me ya .. =)
Getting LOTTTTTSSSSSSSSssss of interest in Scorpion now..
Looking for AFS as a starter 1st.. =)
haha, still a long way for to me got into breed and sell it lo...
now looks like the female is gravid, but then not sure as my info from breeder as they stop dancing for about 1 month liao...
so it still have a long way la.

Added on May 11, 2010, 7:31 pmtoday when i clean up my tank to change the substance from peat moss to coco fiber.
when i cleaning, found some small larva inside the tank... scared hell the out of me. hope that the larva wont get onto or into my scorps lo...

This post has been edited by zoejehuty: May 11 2010, 07:31 PM
zoejehuty
post May 12 2010, 12:12 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

i put all the soil in one bucket... so tomolo only check it out again, is small though...
mealworm? definitely not, cos i just only put in a super mealworms inside last 2 days for the meals, ended up today found that it burrow itself under the water tray.
now i setup my tank with coco-peat and 2 pot inside and 1 water tray...
zoejehuty
post May 12 2010, 02:38 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

here is my new tank setup, any advice please to let me know though, really appreciate it.
Attached Image this is before misting and putting in scorpion.
Attached Image after misting and scorpion

here is the picture of the wormi said i found, i thought it die, ended up see it crawing on the cover of the tupperware i keep it.
is not so clear cause i using phone camera to take it.
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
zoejehuty
post May 12 2010, 05:30 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ May 12 2010, 02:42 AM)
More substrate pls,they are burrower.
Regarding the worm,it is better for you to clean the substrate,dry the substrate under the sun of by microwave.
So far I nvr encounter any maggot/worm b4
ya, will add in more substrate, i didnt add in today due to i havent dry up the left out substrate.
as for the peat moss, tml will dry it under sun, then see whether want to use it again on my tank or not.
but most probably wont due to the worms, i scared later will infect my scorps.
so i might just use as a soil for my cactus... lol.

QUOTE(rideon @ May 12 2010, 03:08 AM)
Nice tank u got there, can place several scorps in that tank to make a communal set up.. And could decorate with some plants..
well as for the set up its all nice.. but you could add more substrate to it... just so that it maintain the moisture longer and thus making the scorps have a chance to burrow in.. As for the worm.. i would throw it away.. i had no experience in this before.. only mites..
Good luck bro...smile.gif
thanks for compliment. will add in more substrate as i said above.
i wanted to deco with plant, dunno wanna put real plant or fake one...
will try to get 2 more scorpion to put in if i manage to.
i think later i will not feed them supermealworms though, unless i put them is a small bowl where they cant clim it out la.
as for the cricks, i want to cultivate it, but then dunno why this time i bought one keep dying, will buy again tml.
last time i do encounter mites, but not worms... worms i scared a lot le... is like a maggots...
zoejehuty
post May 13 2010, 12:36 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

thanks for the link. i just added in more cocopeat today though. later only upload the picture let you all see see.
about driftwood, i do have one, but i been putting it outside the house quite long already,
there got some green algae grow under it. then i scared there got some mite though.
by the way, thanks for the link.
zoejehuty
post May 13 2010, 02:05 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

btu then is quite big my drift wood though, more towards long, is like half of my 1.5ft tank though...
by the way, my tank for the scorpion is 1.5ft, is it ok right? just for 2 afs only.

oh ya, i read through the link of the picture setup, that guy is pro man... some more keep so many scorp, is he malaysian?
and to setup like what he done, it sure hard for me though, since i have limited things, just have pots, 1 driftwood and cocopeats only.
oh ya, what's the malay word for potting soil? for what i know is like those cactus soil or those soil which use to 'tanam pokok'...

about the false bottom, it is necessary to do it? for what i found out is to help keeping the moisture so dunnit to douse it all times right, so without it, you still can keeping the moisture, just that need to douse it more often only right?
zoejehuty
post May 14 2010, 02:01 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

QUOTE(hseyrann00 @ May 13 2010, 10:07 PM)
I'm back ... time to prepare the substrate..
I cant find Coco fiber , but instead i bought a substrate which the pet shop owner are using too..
How often do we change the substrate ?
go plant nursery to get coco-fiber, they sell in a big pack and very cheap, i got it for rm2 for a big red plastic, but it feel not worth it,
cause a "guni" size pack just cost about rm10 only... lol..
i already use up all my coco fiber though, later if got more scorpion only go get more.

ryo,
you pour water inside instead of spraying it? i use to spray it though...
even so, i scared will cause over humidity though...
do you check your using gauge?

by the way, this is my new tank setup, i taking out the other pot and add in a driftwood and 1 rock.
duwan waste the material i have.
sorry for the blur picture again, using phone camera.
zoejehuty
post May 14 2010, 02:51 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

what you mean by my scorps is there then ask me add more substrate?

Added on May 14, 2010, 2:52 ami put it around 1.5 or 2 inches, too bad now out of cocopeat, if not then put up to 3 inches.

This post has been edited by zoejehuty: May 14 2010, 02:52 AM
zoejehuty
post May 14 2010, 03:13 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

haha... i do plan to make terrain like the link you and ryo sended me, but is not up to my par yet... so far i like the setup that i make now...
hope that later wont comes ants, mites or those larva lo...
and wanna make it to be communal tank. biggrin.gif
zoejehuty
post May 17 2010, 12:02 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

a question, as what been told, scorpion sometimes will be fasting.
i got my 2 scorpion from deathpion last 2 weeks.
once got it, my male scorp been ate about 6 to 7 cricks, female just about 3 to 4 cricks.
since then, my male been eating 2 to 3 crick/mealworms after 2 or 3 days.
but my female, after the 1st day, until now, just ate about 2 or 3 cricks/mealworms.
is it due to it gravid as what i been told, so her feeding will be reduce??
zoejehuty
post May 17 2010, 01:45 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

last 2 days just give my male 3 supermealworms.
today give again 2 super mealworms as well... all he take.
but wan to give to female, duwan... keep on refuse
zoejehuty
post May 17 2010, 02:15 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

haha... indeed i'm not 1st time keeper mah...
but then is 1st time got gravid scorps mah...

zoejehuty
post May 22 2010, 12:50 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

other than AFS n AES, what other species are most likely suitable for beginner? i plan to to keep other than AFS AES, but then still not yet the time to keep till those like deathstalker...
zoejehuty
post May 23 2010, 02:55 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

haha... i also got think to go for bark scorpion, since is a desert scorp, right/
if like forest scorp, other than aes n afs, what's else more suitable...
i heard that a lot ppl like to keep deathstalker... but then kinda hard right
zoejehuty
post May 24 2010, 12:55 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

so what you would suggest?
keeping hottentotta hottentotta or bark scorpion?
or keep some other species...
i want those using sting one, but then scare dangerous due to in-proper care...
if wan keep those using pincer, other than aes n afs, i dunno what other else species.
look through google, cant find out much of it.
zoejehuty
post May 24 2010, 11:41 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ May 24 2010, 01:05 AM)
Depend on which one u like and which one u can find la
Even if i tell u that u shld try eg: H.Arizonensis but u cant find also no use
Have u try other Heterometrus species like longimanus or patersii?
If u prefer scorp tat use sting, u can basically keep any species aside from those with big chela and hot scorp
hmm... i got plan to keep nark scorpion though, but then my friend said is not suitable for me... i wonder why.
i just keep heterometrus longimanus... other than that i think i nvr keep before.
i got my afs from deathpion last couple weeks, if i not mistaken it is also H.longimanus.
what is your meaning of big chela and hot scorp?
zoejehuty
post May 24 2010, 03:29 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ May 24 2010, 02:57 PM)
From what i know, u been keeping scorp since v1 right?
So long ady still not suitable to keep bark scorp?  shocking.gif
If u can find, juz get it

Anw my balsasensis gave birth again, they really babies machine la, cant stop popping though i wanted my other species to pop too sad.gif
ya, i did keep it from v1... after keeping the 1st 2 pair, 1 ady escape due to not proper lid, the other one die due to unknown reason. both of them is around 3rd or 4th instar.
2nd time keep scorp is a adult pair... keep quite long, nearly a year, but then end up died cos being attack by those small red ants... that's the time i lost my other 2 syrian hamster as well, due to ants... just 1 night only (kao tim all)
then the 3rd time is now lo...
all this time i been keeping AFS.

so i also not sure what kind of scorpion i wan to keep other than afs.
and i want to have a breeding pair so i can see the babies, i still waiting on this...
other than that is to have a colony.
but still, just dunno what species to keep.
zoejehuty
post May 24 2010, 03:52 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

i did check it out, really hard, cause hard to get the species in malaysia... lol.

Added on May 24, 2010, 3:54 pmwho in here selling any scorpion? maybe i should look through here though...
since if got sell then only you can get.
if you wan to get the species, but then no one selling, also no point of that. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zoejehuty: May 24 2010, 03:55 PM
zoejehuty
post May 24 2010, 06:54 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

okok. thanks.
zoejehuty
post May 26 2010, 12:47 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

nice info. thank you.

by the way, do anyone know where to get the humidity meter?
i look through the LFS in melaka here, cant find any of it.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0348sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:28 AM