5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

::V6::Scorpion-Thread::V6::, Scorpion Conservation

*FallenAngel*
post Oct 15 2009, 09:30 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Kar @ Oct 15 2009, 09:15 PM)
Oh well, let's just then hope for the best!! Enough of the sad stories of how the baby died, here's the mommy in her new home in which I took a few days of scavenging to find!! smile.gif

It's a huge pill bottle hahahaha

ryo is gonna go crazy abt this bottle..... biggrin.gif
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 16 2009, 05:30 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Oct 16 2009, 04:48 PM)
so this is the babies you talking about.... nice!
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 17 2009, 08:13 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Oct 17 2009, 07:14 PM)
hi do anyone know where to get those pottery clay ??? been searching high and low for it ..
wanted to mixed the clay with sand to vreature a sandy landscape for my scorpions .. i realise that not all derset scorpion like lose sand .. some need impacted sand structure smile.gif

hope someone can direct me some light on this smile.gif

maybe some shop that sell art stuff?
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 20 2009, 05:33 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Oct 20 2009, 04:59 PM)
I tried modding my afs tank to this
But it turns out like this

I really regret renovating it sad.gif
Ryo, I think what went wrong is that the substrate. Imo, the guy used those soil that is quite sticky and will harden when dry, example like those yellow mud/sand/soil when use jentolak korek lantai,will find a lot.... Coco fiber dont really hold the shape, they collapse unless you housing a tarantula which can web 2 secure the structure. I think they are more suitable for inverts which need drier condition cause they will "melt" when too wet or you can try clay to shape the structure and cover with cocofiber. And for bird nest fern, IMO do not need to buy from nursery, they are available on big tree at road side. 1 thing, they contain a lot of bugs, cause they grow on rotten parts of trees and usually contain mites. That is the reason why i still havent plant the fern that i got inside my inverts tank. And quite big bark you got there, bought it or?

Added on October 20, 2009, 5:36 pm
QUOTE(akagidemon @ Oct 20 2009, 03:44 PM)
people. picture please.

a picture is a thousands words in colors.

off topic pic.lol

looks like my breeding project turn out well. see the food.imagine how many crickets are in there. this is a tub that can hold 8 adult afs in a communal setup nicely.

i'm gonna doa  week to week review on the conditions of the colonies that i find. i also am going to make a map of the locations and some pictures of the surrounding  and try to find out why are they more concentrated on the more busy areas as oppose to the quieter areas and also to find out what they actually eat in the wild.
sam, those pellets looks so colourful, a 8 years old kid will love it tongue.gif
Oh ya, btw, how you prevent those big crix outgrown the smaller crix and eventually eat them up? I found out that my crix number have been decreasing, mostly those smaller size gone. But those bigger size do grow well.

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 20 2009, 05:39 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 21 2009, 11:03 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jamesiukini @ Oct 21 2009, 10:59 PM)
hi everyone,
i'm a new scorpion keeper...
jus started few weeks ago....
i would like to ask how to prvent getting a sting by a scorpion when you are handle them???
izzit possible for me to cut off the telson ( the needle part ) so dat it couldn't inject venom into our body???
will they still survive without that and can it still grow back???
ok dats all i would like to noe for today and would like to hear more advise from all the pro bros here....
thx alot ppl...
God bless us all...
First of all, welcome rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
And 2nd, for 99% sure Uncle lyo will ask you "why dun you de-ball yourself??" lol...
We dun handle them. And we dun hope people cut off their stinger. They wont grow back. And they tend to die easily when their stinger been cut off. U could start with afs or aes 1st. Afs is much more cheaper. They seldom sting and their venom level is at lvl 1 out of 5.
err, sorry, read that you started few weeks ago, what sp you currently having?

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 21 2009, 11:05 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 22 2009, 09:10 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Oct 22 2009, 01:21 AM)
This is for sam and rideon

Thanks for all the bday wish!
oh no, ryo, pls, anything but PCK... dude, come on...tongue.gif
oh ya, happy anniversary coming out from your mom stomach
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 22 2009, 04:09 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(akagidemon @ Oct 22 2009, 01:24 PM)
om nom nom nom nom

sam, what is the thing moving on 2.20 minute, left top corner. Snail?
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 22 2009, 04:26 PM

34 posts

lol, looks like a snail
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 25 2009, 02:44 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(rideon @ Oct 25 2009, 01:50 PM)
hmmm... My emperor Scorpion seems to have a problem.. It looks like it is paralyzed... Yesterday came home from One Utama n saw my emperor is out from her burrow but after close inspection it wiggled it self in the subs near the water bowl trying to move.. But hardly did... only like 2cm while she move vigorously. left it as advice by Ryo and today its in her burrow but with its tail rise up like pushing something away.. Still the same way keep on moving but only able to move few cm apart.. Wonder wuts wrong  with her. and some times her legs raised real high ... anyone has any answer of this strange behavior.. cant b molting rite.. coz if she does it would b fatter... feed her like 3 days ago n she was ok..
rid, did she fell or hurt b4 that? 1 leg acted differently or all ?
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 25 2009, 04:48 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(rideon @ Oct 25 2009, 03:16 PM)
there is a bark for its hide and a few stones from previous fish hobby and all either microwaved or boiled. it is collected from a tree nearby and most of the others i used the same tree or bark splitting it in half etc etc. But i havent re-housed her since i got her in that tank with that bark.. or can it b a slow reaction to the bark? im confused...

Added on October 25, 2009, 3:25 pmjust checked on her again. and now her predipalps is behind her not at the normal place where a scorpion would place it near its carapace. as though it looks like a scorpion molt where the tail is high up, the predipalps are behind. It looks like that, but she still twitch and her chela is like grinding up something.. but there is nothing there.. I do really hope she'll recover..
all the best bro.... let her rest, maybe there will be miracle happen
QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Oct 25 2009, 04:04 PM)
I really have no idea what happen to ur emp, hope she ll be alright...

Here's something unrelated to share, confirming that pseudoscorpion feed on mites
http://www.arachnoboards.com/ab/showthread.php?t=66494
ryo, is there any pseudoscorp sp available in malaysia? where to find them?
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 25 2009, 06:41 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(akagidemon @ Oct 25 2009, 05:01 PM)
hmmm.rideon anything that is out of the ordinary on ur emp?

discoloration,fluids, other then the twitching motion?

on other news.

i have never seen my longi fight but today i don't k now what happen to a1 breeding pair. the male was stinging and apparently trying to tear his mate to bits. luckily i was aware of it and have separated them.

the female was none the better or the worse. looks a bit shaken up and the body doesn't look too good. i will post pictures once she has settled. she is a bit jumpy right now.

the male is a really large specimen. larger then any that i have currently.

i wonder what cause the male to be so aggresive to the female when most of the incidents regarding partners attacking each others are usually female that is attacking the male but this is the opposite.

this really stumps me.
jealousy makes a man lost his mind.... he saw the female n other male doin that thing... so he mengamuk tongue.gif

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 25 2009, 06:41 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 25 2009, 07:04 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(akagidemon @ Oct 25 2009, 06:58 PM)
erm but they were just 2of them. this is special honeymoon suite for them.
mana tau dah gaduh2 like this. haih.
maybe the guy found out that the female pregnant but the offspring are not his

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 25 2009, 07:09 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 25 2009, 08:11 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(tkgan @ Oct 25 2009, 07:54 PM)
going to get my first scorpion soon. total beginner.

any recommendations except Heterometrus Spinifer and Pandinus imperator?
liocheles australasiae, perfect for beginner tongue.gif
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 25 2009, 11:42 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Oct 25 2009, 10:41 PM)
btw  a new forum from china ( need to be able to read chinese )

check out their tarantula and scorpions !!!!!

http://bbs.pxtx.com/board-60.aspx
nice link.... their collection looks quite similar with ours.... except some of their local sp.... damn confius when see those chinese name rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 27 2009, 12:41 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Oct 27 2009, 12:00 AM)
lol.. i didn't know u smoke tongue.gif
lester, mind tell us how u keep ur hot2? where u put them (dark corner or beside window), how long u mist n quantity, any heating when rainy day?
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 27 2009, 07:33 PM

34 posts

Thx bro, that would be helpful.... Hopefully...
About those sand, saw u mentioned that u get them from beach rite? Do you soak them in water 1st and boil them? Cause from what I know those sand do contain salt which is a no for inverts, correct me if I am wrong...

Kar, i wonder do this apply to other arid inverts, cause they have been kept in a dry condition, so the 1st reaction when they saw/sense water, they will drink like hell.... They never know they could die for this....

Bro, i dont really understand what is the main point in the post, is it how we mist the container? or I read the wrong post...
Is it this one ?
Welcome to the hobby. You probably mean 2nd instar since they are already feeding. I feed mine 2-3 times a week depending on my schedule at work. Usually from 1st instar to 2nd instar about 7-10 days and from 2nd to 3rd a month, 4th onwards 2-4 months each molt. the older they get, the longer they molt. Try to mist a part of the enclosure twice a week since the weather in the pilippines is about 30-34Celsius

Just be careful for a beginner you alraedy own a level 3 scorpion. It might be small but it can deliver a heavy punch.

Added on October 27, 2009, 9:22 pmbtw i lost 1 vittatus.... sad to see it. Suspect died in my car yesterday after meeting rafiq, coz quite cold yesterday. sad.gif

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 27 2009, 09:22 PM
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 27 2009, 11:30 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Oct 27 2009, 11:11 PM)
sorry for ur loss ...is it the only one ????
thanks. erm, i got 1 more. Jst fed it, and is active.
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 28 2009, 01:05 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Oct 28 2009, 12:31 AM)
some tots for count welcome  comments and advises ...

say a same batch of scorpling ... can we say the ones that normally molt the 1 st are male ... the ones that molts lastly are female ... i believe it applies to Ts how abt scorpions ???

what do u guys thinks ???
Male tarantulas' lifespan is relatively shorter as their aim is to breed and reproduce, so they might grow faster. But for scorpions, although male scorpions have shorter life span than female, but still their life span is longer than tarantulas rite? So the theory on tarantula might not able to apply on scorpions. Just my thoughts. Do you record down the data so far?

Out of topic: Heard that different temperature while hatching do affect gender of reptiles, is it right?

Added on October 28, 2009, 1:24 am
QUOTE(Kar @ Oct 27 2009, 11:38 PM)
Rafiq, I don't mind free hots, just to let you know!! D:

Gimme 10 and I'll experiment for you FOR FREE!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA  laugh.gif

EDIT : Fallenangel, I'm not really sure how it would affect arid inverts. But imho the main cause of death due to overhumid for arid inverts is mycosis and I'm not exactly sure will drinking too much water allow you to get mycosis.

If that is the case, then even feeding on a prey can cause mycosis which is totally absurd. And mycosis is usually caused by too much moisture, too little ventilation at higher temperatures. Technically speaking, there shouldn't be any mycosis problems if you are keeping an arid invert in a dehumidified room but yet providing enough moisture to molt.

From what I know, a large percentage of inverts suffer from bad molt is due to having low water content in their body. From that, the only possible reason I could come up with for bad molt is basically lack of water to drink or lack of moisture absorb from prey.

It's funny how tarantulas are on the other hand much more flexible when it comes to temperature and humidity and yet scorpions are so much more fragile. Then again, possibly its due to the exoskeleton build of a scorpion in comparison with a tarantula which has the ability to counter fungus growth I presume?
Kar, I read that mycosis is cause by fungi infection. Cause due to high humid and low ventilation, fungi grow, and then infect them. And ya, I am wrong, sorry, first I thought might be their body couldnt resist on too much intake of water. After google found out that is about fungi. and 1 thought came across my mind. Scorpions are from the same family/ancestral. They diverge to different forms due to different habitat, they evolve. So those who lives in desert have ability to resist dry and hot environment. And now, we bring them in to our country, which has higher humidity and lower temperature. So after generations, is it possible that they adapt to our environment ? Maybe this explain reason why Alex's hot2 able to survive under high humidity environment. The end of the day, it is just survival of the fittest, is it all those hot2 under Alex's care survive or there are some death case?

Just my 2cents, correct me if I am wrong

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 28 2009, 01:24 AM
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 28 2009, 09:45 AM

34 posts

Morning. Besides those hot2, how about those desert scorpion? I read from previous post that 1 drop of water can kill them. Is it mycosis? If is mycosis, how the hell those fungi can grow that fast for the environment is dry.
*FallenAngel*
post Oct 28 2009, 09:52 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Oct 28 2009, 09:49 AM)
Dun think dats even possible...
Alright, maybe i overlook. So means desert sp do able to survive under some light misting? btw, tenso is been long time hvnt see you appear. Busy?
Ohya, why dont you guys post the way how you keep your scorpions in msc? Esp hot2? More like care sheet, but more detail, sort of like those lester posted, substrate to sand ration per instar, feeding time, food, where you put your inverst... ect... and maybe rate of survival. Just my thoughts.

This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 28 2009, 09:59 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0406sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:15 PM