1,409 posts

congratz V2
moomoos
post Sep 20 2009, 09:37 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 19 2009, 11:04 AM)

Added on September 19, 2009, 11:11 am
For Pure Direct / Pure Audio, sometimes the AVR can use the LFE channel if you choose the 5.1 audio track (this will depend on your AVR brand). Like when I listen to Michael Buble BD, if I choose the 5.1 audio and use Pure Audio I will get some LFE (but the same as if I turn off Pure Audio).
yes broither, have tried pure direct/audio on movies and concerts also too, for my case the sonics is very good too ( have to set the LFE out to SWR & MAIN) but still missing the feel of something ( bottom end smile.gif ) AS i say the LFE is not activated, still rclxub.gif why yammy disable this feature vmad.gif
so denon and onkyo does output LFE on Pure audio. rclxms.gif
moomoos
post Sep 20 2009, 04:29 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(moviebuff @ Sep 20 2009, 01:07 PM)
How much diid you let go your 1800? wink.gif

Added on September 20, 2009, 1:16 pm

Bro, I thought pure direct/audio is for 2 channel listening only minus LFE. If you want LFE, just switch it to stereo. I don't think other brand avr will output LFE when they are in pure direct mode. wink.gif
QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 20 2009, 01:35 PM)
In my Onkyo, Pure Audio mode can utilise the other channels if your source material is multi channel. So if I enable 5.1 audio I will get some LFE and even surround sounds in Pure Audio mode.

So what's the benefit of Pure Audio mode then? I believe all the EQ, bass management and other audio processing is turned off.
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Sep 20 2009, 03:50 PM)
In Pure audio mode, av amp just amplifly the sound from the source player, it is best to use this mode to test CD players..in my opinion.
Its really a set back that Yammy AVR disable LFE on pure direct (yammy term) pure audio ( onkyo & maybe others )
as far as i know Denon does activate LFE,

Yes pure direct is mainly for CD playback ( to maintain the purest audio path like normal Amps) bypassing AVR's DSP, even the display will dim off completely, ( try it out , you really get better separation, depth, ) it is.... a totally another level of listening pleasure whistling.gif

yammy does do pure direct on multichannels too, it will just bypass all processing and output to respective speakers.. not bad tho..
in fact if you use True HD, DTS HD/MA modes you are also using unprocessed modes (as compared to DSP concert. movie theather, Hall ) signals are also bypassed but amplified in a different way, ( its the exact soundfield the recording engineers/directors wanted us to hear)

so if you want to use pure direct mode on yammy (unless yammy engineers rectify it) make sure you go with Floorstand or fullrange speakers for your mains, or otherwise if you use satellites pair it with an additional sub.

those ppl who are not that audiophile fussy, just use stereo, or straight mode, you will be very happy with the sound rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by moomoos: Sep 20 2009, 05:18 PM
moomoos
post Sep 23 2009, 11:35 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Sep 23 2009, 11:03 AM)
Bentley also
r u sure the road tax is only 19k?
coz I saw myself the road tax disc on his car windscreen stated near 40k
can buy the lowest spec of MyVI sweat.gif
est 19k for half year road tax against your est 40k... then it make sense biggrin.gif
moomoos
post Sep 28 2009, 04:11 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Sep 26 2009, 06:57 PM)
All the sifus here,

I've RX-V863 .

I've tried to set up my front channels using separate power amp. I've tried a few power amp, and every time after hooking up the power amp, and using the Yamaha auto setup, the result will be front speaker "out of phase" !

I check the manual, and it says:  "Speaker polarity is not correct. This message may appear depending on the speakers even when the speakers are connected correctly" mad.gif  mad.gif

What's that means huh? I'm sure that I've connected the speakers correctly. So, what's the solution? Yamaha manual says even if connected correctly, the error message might appear rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

What should I do huh? Do I need to do anything if I'm sure I've connected the speakers correctly and ignore the message?

Very confusing message doh.gif  doh.gif  I've even changed to different front speakers to try out, and the error message is there..

If I don't use the power amp, and use the AV amp speakers output, then it's always ok.

Any sifus here experience this before?
mine happen too, re-tighten the biding post, redo few times then ok,

if you are sure that the connections are correct.....
just uncheck (untick) the wiring before doing auto speaker calibration. think its firmware bug. biggrin.gif

Added on September 28, 2009, 4:18 pmone more weird think to check,
are all your plugs to your power amps correct... i mean "live-neutral-earth" thingy??
maybe yours is US amp .... the power plugs are "reversed"

This post has been edited by moomoos: Sep 28 2009, 04:21 PM
moomoos
post Sep 29 2009, 10:36 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Sep 28 2009, 04:43 PM)
hi moomoos,

Thanks..

What do u mean "untick" the wiring? In setup menu?

by the way, did you connect to power amp directly? or do you connect through another pre-amp then to power amp ?

Really confuse lah.. rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
i am only using the amp feeding 7.1 channels directly

under the auto setup, > setup menu > you have

- distance
- equalising
- wiring << just untick this in the check-box
- Multipoint measure
- level

Added on September 29, 2009, 10:57 pmbefore doing the YPAO, crank up the volume ( i put mine to -20 ) i find it gives a better calibration when volume is higher

the higher you crank up the volume before calibration,
the level of your speakers will be adjusted lower, so during actual usage your normal volume should be about -25 to -35

example only...( ideal balance left right case)

1- AVR vol at -15 b4 YPAO ~~~~ after calibration done L spk level +1, R spk +1, sur R +2 sur L +2

2- AVR vol at -35 b4 YPAO ~~~~ after calibration done L spk level +6, R spk +6, sur R +7 sur L +7

what i mean is if you still want to adjust the speaker level higher manually for (No 2) you cant do much, further more if your adjusted speaker level is at No 2, even your AVR knob vol at -40 to some people at normal listening is considered very loud already.

so the more you crank up volume for YPAO, the louder the burst, more accurate for MIC signal pick up.....

sorry for the lenghty explanation biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by moomoos: Sep 29 2009, 10:57 PM
moomoos
post Oct 23 2009, 12:07 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

This thread looks really dead quiet

anyone tried playing wave files thru USB to AVR

i have..., with 8GB Kingston thumbdrive ...not bad le, still get the excitment

no need switch on BD or CD,
its Fantastic even the AVR LCD can display the Album folder/song title too biggrin.gif

just another way of "simplicity" listening rclxms.gif
moomoos
post Oct 23 2009, 05:19 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

dump in MP3, WAV, WMA,
if want continous playing.....
no need create folder, so it will keep on playing until the end biggrin.gif
moomoos
post Oct 23 2009, 05:39 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(oimeng @ Oct 23 2009, 05:23 PM)
what model you are using? I wonder if onkyo can do that.
me using RX-V3900
any Brand, be it, Onkyo, Denon, Pioneer with the USB input, shud be able to play, but dont know what file format only biggrin.gif

but MP3 for sure all bolih
moomoos
post Oct 24 2009, 11:47 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(SandStoneWater @ Oct 24 2009, 10:12 AM)
Hi guys, need some input and advice here..

i'm planning to get a RX-663, any idea where i can find it coz everywhere i go, they say no more already...sighhh, or better still can you'll pls suggest something with similar or better performing AVR's? my budget is within 2K, maybe can stretch a little bit...say 20-30%.

Thanks!!!
the replacement model is RX-V665, but i think should be way above your estimated budget

moomoos
post Oct 24 2009, 03:09 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Oct 24 2009, 02:32 PM)
665 can get it at 2.3k (cash)
663 had a very good review edging Denon1909
so grab the 665 biggrin.gif
moomoos
post Oct 24 2009, 04:57 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 24 2009, 03:56 PM)
sauce ? biggrin.gif
"kicap" ??
moomoos
post Oct 27 2009, 06:40 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(SandStoneWater @ Oct 27 2009, 06:17 PM)
Whats the best price for RX-V665 now  smile.gif

Thanks!!
try pm C.T. Seong or
maybe Desa smile.gif
moomoos
post Nov 10 2009, 01:44 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

rough guess, 10k??
moomoos
post Nov 10 2009, 03:36 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Nov 10 2009, 02:12 PM)
same price with Pioneer LX82 amplifier.
limited offer
bro
wat price is LX 82 anyway, also 72 and 52
gracias
moomoos
post Feb 1 2010, 03:06 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

anyone owns RX-V3900...

FW just out

v1.09 (20th Oct 2009) tested working perfectly
http://www.yamaha-service.de/downloadtyo.p...ang=e&dlid=3214

v1.10 (28th Jan, 2010) downloaded (havent upgraded yet) biggrin.gif
http://www.yamaha.com/yec/softwareupdates/...eUpdate_110.zip

tongue.gif
moomoos
post Feb 2 2010, 11:00 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Feb 1 2010, 05:44 PM)
Yes mkv normally came with DD/DTS5.1. But today mkv already support TrueHD. But a size is to big compare to normal one.

Below is info about TrueHD audio that u can download seperately and mux again with mkv.
I get this from file sharing web. U can see how bigger its size.  biggrin.gif

Audio
Complete name              : Transformers TrueHD Track English
Format                          : AC-3
Format/Info                    : Audio Coding 3
Format profile                : TrueHD
Bit rate mode                  : Variable
Channel(s)                      : 6 channels
Channel positions            : Front: L C R, Surround: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                  : 48.0 KHz

File size                        : 4.31 GiB
hmm.gif this looks interesting..
dont mind PM me the links

moomoos
post Feb 2 2010, 04:56 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(yslysl @ Feb 2 2010, 04:34 PM)
To all sifus,
Why my video in and out always show 1080p although i put 720p source?
the video setting is set to output at 1080p (upscaled)
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Feb 2 2010, 04:43 PM)
does your player upscale to 1080p?
sure can if not it wont display the "output option" 1080p

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 2 2010, 04:45 PM)
Pardon my ignorance  blush.gif  Those mkv that I had in my collection has abt the same size and some at abt 8.4GB per movie. But, still in DD/DTS. I am guessing that the size is related to the 720p / 1080p PQ that I am getting. So, with lossless audio, it should have easily surpassed 8GB.  Correct me if I am wrong  smile.gif
if i read correctly.... what he meant is he downloaded "just the AUDIO" true-HD track of 4.1gb separately then REMUX together with the mkv video
moomoos
post Feb 2 2010, 05:58 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(yslysl @ Feb 2 2010, 05:37 PM)
are u sure it can?
i meant both video in and video out also 1080p but i input 720p source only
btw, my model is v465
sorry ... i'm not surebout the V465 specs,

>>in reality it does<< provided your LCD/plasma can handle 1080p

but RX-V3900 does, it up converts or down converts

Added on February 2, 2010, 6:00 pmfor my case

BD auto >>>> AV amp set at 1080i >>>> LCD 1080i (max in)

This post has been edited by moomoos: Feb 2 2010, 06:02 PM
moomoos
post Feb 3 2010, 05:20 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Feb 2 2010, 11:06 PM)
already PM u the links. Just follow instruction there.  biggrin.gif

Added on February 2, 2010, 11:16 pm
Yes u correct. That file is audio only. Video size is 12.3GB (1080p) + TrueHD audio 4.31GB = almost 20GB.  sweat.gif  (Based on Transfomers 2 movie)
Almost size of normal BD already. Hehehe  tongue.gif

BTW, u only can play trueHD audio with PowerDVD or Arcsoft Total Media Theater right now. Haali still got a problem.
gracias
btw... did you try it on media player

This post has been edited by moomoos: Feb 3 2010, 05:32 PM

0.0356sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 05:22 PM