Coming back to WoW, Help and info needed

TS4lt4ir
post Sep 18 2009, 06:24 PM, updated 17y ago

{--} 7
1,397 posts

Hi all. After a long hiatus of 3 years (got married, haha), I think I want to come back to the world of Azeroth. So a few days ago, I set up a trial WoW account and rolled an NE priest, who is now lvl 7 or so. My trial expires tomorrow sad.gif I've already downloaded the WoW Classic client and now I'm seriously thinking which option to go for:

a) Just upgrade my new account to a WoW Classic account only, meaning no Burning Crusade.
b) Upgrade my new account to WoW Classic + BC..but this is more expensive, plus I have to download the BC client.
c) Buy the WoW Battlechest, expensive but comes with game DVDs, plus 2 game guide books and 30-day game card. Seems to be good value.
d) Or just upgrade my old WoW account, on which I have a 60 Tauren Hunter. Not really keen on playing him anymore though. But he has lots of money..hmmm...

My main concern if I just upgrade my trial account to a classic account only, I will be missing out on all the BC content. I don't want to miss that...but since my NE priest is still low lvl, can I even experience the BC content..or do I have to wait until lvl 60-70? Plus, I really want to roll a Blood Elf, just to try em out. hehe. Don't think I can do that if I don't upgrade to BC right?

The WoW Battlechest is really tempting...but they only come in US versions here in Malaysia. I want to play on Oceanic servers..is that possible with the US version of the game?

As for my old account, well...I dunno. What do you think?
geforce88
post Sep 18 2009, 06:29 PM

2,841 posts

coming back to NFS, RE and GT5...
evofantasy
post Sep 18 2009, 06:32 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

the US battlechest is meant for oceanic...
as oceanic is group under US realms...

unless u wanna play blood elf or a dranei, u dun need BC until lvl 58 (where u'll journey to outlands)
TS4lt4ir
post Sep 18 2009, 09:50 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

@evo: thanks for the helpful reply. Glad to know that Oceanic servers are also under US realms. Do you think Oceanic realms have less lag than US realms?

Ohh, I see..so I don't need BC till lvl 58...unless I want to roll a BE or draenei. That's good..but what about professions...can I still take up jewelcrafting and have socketable items if I don't have BC? Thanks!
Aggroboy
post Sep 18 2009, 10:30 PM

637 posts

You can take up JC iirc, but pre-TBC gears have no sockets. You'll be mostly making rings and random trinkets to level up.
myremi
post Sep 18 2009, 11:07 PM

1,846 posts

You might want to check if your old account is still there. There are problems that old accounts have been hacked into.
evofantasy
post Sep 18 2009, 11:08 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Sep 18 2009, 09:50 PM)
@evo: thanks for the helpful reply. Glad to know that Oceanic servers are also under US realms. Do you think Oceanic realms have less lag than US realms?

Ohh, I see..so I don't need BC till lvl 58...unless I want to roll a BE or draenei. That's good..but what about professions...can I still take up jewelcrafting and have socketable items if I don't have BC? Thanks!
oceanic servers are sitll located in the US
so the latency is the same but tunneling helps a lot
TS4lt4ir
post Sep 18 2009, 11:55 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

@Aggroboy: Oh kk, so does that mean that all pre-lvl 70 gears have no sockets?

@myremi: I've checked my old account..it's ok. All my chars are still there smile.gif

@evo: Errm, tunnelling? ok..not sure what that is though, hehe. But thanks for clearing that up. So, if I wanna roll an Ally toon, can you recommend me a good Oceanic realm with some Malaysian presence? Thanks!
evofantasy
post Sep 18 2009, 11:57 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Sep 18 2009, 11:55 PM)
@Aggroboy: Oh kk, so does that mean that all pre-lvl 70 gears have no sockets?

@myremi: I've checked my old account..it's ok. All my chars are still there smile.gif

@evo: Errm, tunnelling? ok..not sure what that is though, hehe. But thanks for clearing that up. So, if I wanna roll an Ally toon, can you recommend me a good Oceanic realm with some Malaysian presence? Thanks!
hmm i dunno bout ally but if u are horde, thaurissan is our home =p
TS4lt4ir
post Sep 19 2009, 12:01 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

Hmm, if I roll Horde, it's gonna be a BE..so that means I need BC. hahahaha..sigh...
evofantasy
post Sep 19 2009, 12:26 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Sep 19 2009, 12:01 AM)
Hmm, if I roll Horde, it's gonna be a BE..so that means I need BC. hahahaha..sigh...
alliance gotta ask the other formers d
ArmedandDangerous
post Sep 19 2009, 10:11 PM

Less QQ, more Pew Pew
933 posts

You DO know that even the Horde hates them BE's right? Haha. Alliance roll a Dwarf, we need more Dwarves. Can never be too many Dwarves.
evofantasy
post Sep 20 2009, 12:22 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ArmedandDangerous @ Sep 19 2009, 10:11 PM)
You DO know that even the Horde hates them BE's right? Haha. Alliance roll a Dwarf, we need more Dwarves. Can never be too many Dwarves.
i'm a BE that hates BE...
blame blizzard for having BE as the only paladin for horde...
dragna
post Sep 21 2009, 12:07 AM

5,252 posts

Oceanic realms are still located in the US, it's just time differences.

QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Sep 18 2009, 10:30 PM)
You can take up JC iirc, but pre-TBC gears have no sockets. You'll be mostly making rings and random trinkets to level up.
How's gorgon doing dude?
Aggroboy
post Sep 21 2009, 12:38 AM

637 posts

Sup Ryan.

Dunno man, I haven't played WoW for many months. Everyone's crazy about Aion so maybe I'll roll a chanter there in Nov.
myremi
post Sep 21 2009, 08:14 AM

1,846 posts

Aggroboy : yawn.gif Ohhh why Nov though? Anyway, see yas in AION then.
TS4lt4ir
post Sep 21 2009, 11:56 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

Went & bought the WoW Battlechest yesterday from All-IT in LY. Hope to get the game up & running after raya. smile.gif If I already have the classic WoW installed on my PC, then do I only need to install BC now? Cuz the DVD includes both, classic & BC. It also has 2 separate CD keys for both classic & BC, so I don't know which one to use. Quite confusing really. I've decided that I want to reactivate my old WoW account, the one with the 60 hunter. He might come in handy in Outlands. So how do I do that (reactivate my old account with the new CD keys, I mean)?

Ermmm, so why do the Horde hates the BE's eh?
evofantasy
post Sep 21 2009, 01:11 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Sep 21 2009, 11:56 AM)
Went & bought the WoW Battlechest yesterday from All-IT in LY. Hope to get the game up & running after raya. smile.gif If I already have the classic WoW installed on my PC, then do I only need to install BC now? Cuz the DVD includes both, classic & BC. It also has 2 separate CD keys for both classic & BC, so I don't know which one to use. Quite confusing really. I've decided that I want to reactivate my old WoW account, the one with the 60 hunter. He might come in handy in Outlands. So how do I do that (reactivate my old account with the new CD keys, I mean)?

Ermmm, so why do the Horde hates the BE's eh?
u gotta install n update to the latest version to play...
as for ur old account, u can jz buy a reload for it and it'll be reactivated...

and why we hate BE?
they look ghey lol...
Aggroboy
post Sep 21 2009, 04:46 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Sep 21 2009, 08:14 AM)
Aggroboy : yawn.gif Ohhh why Nov though? Anyway, see yas in AION then.
Project finish Nov boleh balik rumah:lol:

Basically it's just for some fresh fun. Probably will stop after it becomes another bot-fest like L2.
Quazacolt
post Sep 23 2009, 11:09 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Sep 21 2009, 04:46 PM)
Project finish Nov boleh balik rumah:lol:

Basically it's just for some fresh fun. Probably will stop after it becomes another bot-fest like L2.
lol ncsoft, lol korean.

0.3573sec    1.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:19 PM