Full HD TV as PC Monitor

TSlee82gx
post Sep 16 2009, 03:27 PM, updated 17y ago

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

I need to ask, which full HD TV's support 1920x1080 through the VGA port?

I have some candidates that I want to buy but most are not able to support this:

Panasonic L37S10K / 42S10K (up to 1366x768)
Sharp LC-37A66M (no sure what is the max)
JVC LT-42Z49 (not sure)
Sony 4KLV-40S550A (not sure)
Samsung LN 40B530 / B550 (not sure)

Also, if I use HDMI from my PC output, is it for sure to support 1920x1080?

Reason I ask is I want to do windows gaming in FHD.

Appreciate your help.

maxizanc
post Sep 16 2009, 05:40 PM

5,909 posts

HDMI of course can but not VGA.
ar188
post Sep 16 2009, 05:43 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Sep 16 2009, 05:40 PM)
HDMI of course can but not VGA.
VGA can support even higher resolution than even 1920x1080.. wether your TV with VGA port, can support this high rez is another matter.. smile.gif
maxizanc
post Sep 16 2009, 05:46 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 16 2009, 05:43 PM)
VGA can support even higher resolution than even 1920x1080.. wether your TV with VGA port, can support this high rez is another matter..  smile.gif
But how? i never got 1920x1080 resolution using HDMI.

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Sep 16 2009, 05:47 PM
ashburn98
post Sep 16 2009, 05:58 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 16 2009, 03:27 PM)
I need to ask, which full HD TV's support 1920x1080 through the VGA port?

I have some candidates that I want to buy but most are not able to support this:

Panasonic L37S10K / 42S10K (up to 1366x768)

Appreciate your help.
Bro, Panny 42S10K definitely support 1920x1080 using HDMI. Check out my pics in the 42S10K thread.

Why you want to use VGA port?
kianwee
post Sep 16 2009, 07:09 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

Using big ass TV as PC monitor is a nono for me. The font is too small. It is just not right. Get yourself a ACD 24" or 30" for PC monitor.
ar188
post Sep 16 2009, 08:28 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Sep 16 2009, 05:46 PM)
But how? i never got 1920x1080 resolution using HDMI.
upgrade video card.. biggrin.gif

Added on September 16, 2009, 8:29 pm
QUOTE(kianwee @ Sep 16 2009, 07:09 PM)
Using big ass TV as PC monitor is a nono for me. The font is too small. It is just not right. Get yourself a ACD 24" or 30" for PC monitor.
wow if you get 24-30inch high end LCD monitor with BD HTPC, at native rez 2560x1600 , can consider upscaling 1080p BD liao.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Sep 16 2009, 08:29 PM
TSlee82gx
post Sep 16 2009, 09:33 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Sep 16 2009, 05:58 PM)
Bro, Panny 42S10K definitely support 1920x1080 using HDMI. Check out my pics in the 42S10K thread.

Why you want to use VGA port?
Main reason is my HTPC on HDMI is very unreliable.
Boot up no detect, everytime switch off TV need to re-plug the hdmi, sometimes lost connection for no reason.
But on VGA, the connection is rock stable.
Its not a suitable method for 24/7.
I'd avoid HDMI as much as I can.

i'm sitting about 5-6 feet from the TV, its about right size fonts. The font size can be adjusted as well. I dont have money for another monitor....

So, all bro's, the list I made has no Full HD support over HDMI?
arremie
post Sep 17 2009, 01:10 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

using vga can display up to the tv highest supported resolution n refresh rate only. if u go higher u'll get not supported message but i still prefer using vga port over hdmi. still both ways also wont have perfect and sharp font as using a lcd monitor. never regret my decision to move from lcd tv to 24" full hd lcd monitor.
Maniac
post Sep 17 2009, 04:16 AM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

HDMI theorically is the same as DVI. I wonder why yours lost connection. Did you check if its the cable fault?

P/S: I am on older ultrasharp 27" dell with IPS panel, all I can say is, big and sharp for my computing needs. Had a chance to test the newer, model, the colors looked warmer compare to the old one.

yonggoh
post Sep 17 2009, 11:31 AM

1,314 posts

i use a 37" Sharp 1080p LCD to surf net and watch movies etc... viewing distance about 5.5feet from a couch and table with a wireless keyboard and mouse...

Connection: GeForce 9600 Graphics card@1920-1080 resolution. DVI -> HDMI

for web browsing where fonts are too small... just hit "CTRL + +" to increase font sizes... you only need to do this once since your browser will remember which sites u used this for...and will revert to the sizes used in the previous session... this is good for eg for sites that u regularly visit...

i don't recommend this way of using a PC for working tho...

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Sep 17 2009, 11:33 AM
k8118k
post Sep 17 2009, 11:34 AM

3,658 posts

the brightnees kill your eye

the heat burn your face skin

the power consumption>electrical bill burn your pocket

the speaker hurt your ear.

screen size make you song/stim/self satifactory/happy

Added on September 17, 2009, 11:38 am
Windows 7 support huge icon option,so can be done

so 32" @ 1920x1080 still ok

screen size more than 32" is nono.

This post has been edited by k8118k: Sep 17 2009, 11:38 AM
ashburn98
post Sep 17 2009, 11:41 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(k8118k @ Sep 17 2009, 11:34 AM)
the brightnees kill your eye

the heat burn your face skin

the power consumption>electrical bill  burn your pocket

the speaker hurt your ear.

screen size make you song/stim/self satifactory/happy

I'm on 42' plasma as monitor replacement, 7-8ft away. You can change the DPI to make the fonts larger. I'm using custom 175% DPI. Even better, use Windows 7, it enlarges 3rd party software fonts too, compared to Window Vista.
low98944
post Sep 17 2009, 03:38 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

native rez 2560x1600 is usually for those 30" LCD monitor. I also got hard time to use HDMI to connect my graphic card to LCD monitor, always can't detect. My graphic card is GeForce 9800 GX2. doh.gif Give up to use HDMI for more than half year lo.

TSlee82gx
post Sep 17 2009, 05:40 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

I took about 3months to trouble shoot HDMI before I gave up.

I found the problem to be possibly due to:
1. HDCP (Content protection) on HDMI whereby frequent hot plugging sort of causes the display card to 'think' you are copying the content on the fly.
There is a whole bunch of expert discourse on this at hometheatershack.

2. Poor mechanical design of hdmi connection...it makes the connection not reliable and definitely not suitable for repeated hot plugging cycles.

3. Lousy drivers : ATI catalyst forums are FILLED with hdmi connectivity problems. They solve one problem create another.

4. Multi display friendliness on windows - I find XP is the worst, windows 7 is the best although after a while it also fails to detect the second display thru HDMI.

Add together is a something I dont wish to tackle...so i just went to VGA and problem solved.

I've decided to go with any Full HD TV and use 1366x768 for normal usage...if need to use 1920x1080 then will use HDMI but not for permanent.
andrekua
post Sep 17 2009, 06:36 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I never had any problem with ATI HDMI. Just that sometimes the HDMI audio not working and need a restart. As for detection, never had any problem at all.

0.0199sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:42 PM