SE G900 & G700! v3

TSpanda-man
post Sep 16 2009, 09:55 AM, updated 15y ago

2,691 posts

G900i

Link back to V1..."All new G900 and G700 from SonyEricsson, G for giraffe? 'G' is the new 'N'-series (Sony-Ericsson)"

Link back to V2..." The Great G900 & its little bro the G700 v2"

Sony Ericsson G900 specifications

This post has been edited by panda-man: Sep 16 2009, 10:06 AM
TSpanda-man
post Sep 16 2009, 09:55 AM

2,691 posts

G700

Sony Ericsson G700 specifications

This post has been edited by panda-man: Sep 16 2009, 10:02 AM
TSpanda-man
post Sep 16 2009, 09:56 AM

2,691 posts

Frequently Asked Questions

This is just a guide. Use at your own risk. Especially when tampering with firmware. Enjoy.

1. How much is the going rate for the phones?

Garage Sales Pricelist - Average obtained from 3 sales threads.

G900 - rm1020 (AP) & rm1479 (ORI)
G700 - rm760 (AP) & rm1128 (ORI)

2. Why is the camera so like dat?

Make sure you get lots of lighting. Best for day time pics. Cloudy weather or low lighting conditions will produce sub par photos.

3. Where is the speaker?

on the back. bottom left. Clear. but not super loud.

4. How to update the phone?

Install Sony Ericsson Update Service (SEUS)
Sony Ericsson Support Website

5. How do I change the CDA?

Go to masterzombie's post. link is below.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry24419850

6. Say WUT?! No GPS?!

nope. use google maps. visit m.google.com/maps from your PHONE

no in built GPS. but if you buy a GPS receiver, the G900 supports Garmin software.

7. The fella at the shop told me this phone hangs a lot. True meh?

Not really, in my experience and other g900 users after update. hanging is not common. for me personally maybe it will hang once a month if i forget to close apps.
it will hang if you try to view youtube with the default media player. for new users they may experience the feeling of "lag".

8. Whats the battery life? less charge time means i can save more on my electricity bill

battery life:
high usage 1-2 days.
medium usage: 2-3 days
low usage: 3-5 days.
very low usage: 5-7 days
very very low usage... maybe you will get the 380hrs SE say you can get.
*not recommended to attempt to fully charge your phone over usb. it will never max out the battery.

9. How to enable/use wifi?

QUOTE(demio121 @ Sep 17 2008, 11:55 PM)
tap on the little-3angle-tat-points-down on the top left edge of the screen.  Select Connections - Wireless LAN.  At eh WLAN screen, goto More - Enable WLAN.  Then tap on Scan.  your Gee will scan for available network.  those with a lock are secured network.  Select the network you want to connect.  You may have to enter the SSID key if its a secured network.

how to check battery life?
on the top right corner, you see the battery icon.  just tap on it.

Gee is a touchscreen phone.  you see anything, just touch it.  some kinda menu will probably come out.  However, tapping on girl picture will not guarantee anything come out OK...!!!
10. MY WIFI IS NOT WORKING?!?!

This is a frequent problem people seem to be facing. here is a quick fix. might not work all the time.
In wifi. you click more. then new account. type in ssid. example...starbucks. and account name i put in.... starbucks. and connected.
seemed to work. but i tried it again somewhere else it didnt work. so you can try this. hopefully it will work.

11. AHH! I LOST MY STYLUS?

new one costs RM 30-45
fake one apparently costs RM15-20 (dunno where to get. dont PM me. hehe)

12. Can this phone use word? pdf? powerpoint? excel?

yes. it can. its got quickoffice & PDF+

13. How do i use email on the phone?

menu -->> settings -->> messaging -->> email accounts -->> more -->> new account

then you fill in all the details.

for gmail. the settings are

connection type: POP3
incoming server address: pop.gmail.com
outgoing server address: smtp.gmail.com make sure 'use SMTP authentication' is ticked, and so is 'use inbox login details'

i recommend Download restrictions set to: just headers.

14. My alarm doesnt on when the phone is off. why leh?

because its off...... hahahaha. lots of smart phones are like this. it takes too much effort to run the alarm it seems.

15. What is the maximum memory card thingie i can use?

Sony Ericsson Memory Stick Compatibility

16. How long does a firmware update take? cause i gots stuff to do yo!

Around 30 mins. Including backing up-updating-restoring backed up stuff. Also depends on your internet speed.

17. How do I get to the service menu?

From the standby screen hit RIGHT, *, LEFT, LEFT, *, LEFT, *

the service menu is very useful. it allows you to check everything.
such as screentest, speakertest, vibrationtest, and all that. really useful esp. when buying buying a used phone.

18. How do i do modifications to my phone?

19. How do I change the default icons? because using stock goods aint cool no mo'

20. How do i open up my wonderful phone and clean the screen or do whatever i need to do?

Follow this youtube video. be very careful. you will probably need some anti-static gloves/mat or whatever to be safer. and the fella uses a guitar pick and a Torx screwdriver. happy tampering.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7D7HBImQNg

21. How can i view flash from my phone?

download this. and install it to your phone. restart your phone then it should work.
Flashplugin.zip

Thanks to cutiesbaby312 for the find.

22. How on EARTH do i INSTALL unsigned applications?

23. Does the phone speak chinese?

yes the phone has chinese language support.
AP models usually come with it installed.
ORI set usually doesnt. but it can be installed for free by the SE service center.

-----

G900 & G700 PHOTO GALLERY!!!

panda-man

lineage

jtan11

forgotten06

This post has been edited by panda-man: Jun 11 2010, 01:14 PM
TSpanda-man
post Sep 16 2009, 09:56 AM

2,691 posts

OWNERS LIST

*PM me if you wanna be on the list. its a nice list. full of cool people.

Also here is a Siggy tag for those who wanna use it. Thanks to cutiesbaby312 and defallen!

1. panda-man - G900 - Ori Set - Brown
2. lineage - G900 - AP Set - Brown
3. cocodemon - G900 - AP Set - Brown
4. masterzombie - G900 - AP Set - Brown
5. cutiesbaby312 - G900 - AP Set - Red
6. ~~5ive~~ - G900 - AP Set - Brown
7. demio121 - G900 - Ori Set - Brown
8. felixx - G900 - AP set - Red
9. wayfeel - G900 - AP Set - Brown
10. wK_ - G900 - Red
11. csting87 - G900 - AP Set - Brown
12. alvia - G900 - Ori Set - Red
13. redscorpion - G900 - AP Set - Red
14. kennyshan - G900 - ?? Set - ???
15. ruztynail - G900 - ?? Set - ???
16. xjaszcx - G900 - AP Set - Brown
17. Annihilux - G900 - Ori Set - Brown
18. kwcho1989 - G900 - ??? Set - Brown
19. redevil - G900 - Ori Set - ?????
20. CrazyGarry - G900 - Ori Set - Red
21. hairiny
22. cOMMANDER pRASNTH - G900 - AP Set - ???
23. royalz - G700!!!!!!!
24. CyberKewl (his wife) - G900 - Ori Set - Brown
25. Defallen - G900 - AP Set - Brown
26. sackeen - G900 - AP Set - Brown
27. aureliux - G900 - Ori Set - Red
28. gothmy - G900 - AP set - Red
29. csk3984 - G900 - ??? set - Brown
30. gcwc - G900 - AP Set - Red
31. alanyuppie - G700 - AP Set - Gold
32. jtan11 - G900 - AP set - Brown
33. silver_one - G900 - AP set - Red
34. yanjinowa - G900 - ?? Set - Red
35. viknes36 - G900 - Ori Set - Brown
36. mcgrady76 - G900 - AP Set - Brown
37. destinyline
38. shanie - G900
39. siowgirl - G900 - Ori Set - Brown
40. acaizegrete - G900 - AP set - Brown
41. strawberry69 - G900 - AP Set - Brown
42. sinzmanual - G900 - ?? Set - Brown
43. theirwan - G900 - AP set - Brown
44. binghung - G700 - ?? set - ???
45. joey85 - G900 - AP Set - Red
46. kucinggemok - G900 - ?? Set - ???
47. matmon - G900 - AP Set - Brown
48. Urban - G900 - ?? Set - Brown
49. Forgotten06 - G900 - AP set - Red
50. Chester - G900 - AP Set - ???
51. lemond - G900 - ?? set - ???
52. xcristox - G900 - ORI set - Red
53. jackoz - G900 - AP set - ??
54. mar90 - G900 - ?? set - Brown
55. coolboy - G900 - Ori set - ???
56. Albedo - G900 - ??
57. violette - G900 - Ori Set - Red
58. ahpingko - G900 - AP Set - Red
59. Najmods - G900 - AP Set - Brown
60. wavelike - G900 - AP Set - Brown
61. kenichi - G900 - AP Set - Brown
62. Geon82 - G900 - AP Set - Brown

Can you guys post if you got G900 or G700. ori or ap set? colour?

Ill add links later. PM me if you want specific ones up. i cant put direct links for jack sparrow software or stuff like that.

---------------

Software

*Use software at own risk.
COMPILATION of software, apps, theme, games whatsoever stuffs for G900 in a file
G900 Vault - FROM Forgotten06

*P1i Thread. Got a lot of useful stuff there.
*Some themes

*Some special Status Bars for your phone....the thing at the top of your screen.

1.Slick
2.Fring
3.Mod Speed Boost

4.Opera Mini
5.MyPhoneExplorer 1.71
6. Zedge.com - Games & Stuff
7. Noeman.org - Games & Stuff
8. Any Video Converter
9. Swiss Manager
10. Mobile 9 - Themes & Stuff
11. Persian Forums - Apps & Stuff
12.Open Screen Capture Application
13. Playlist creator.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Jun 11 2010, 01:14 PM
TSpanda-man
post Sep 16 2009, 09:57 AM

2,691 posts

reserved
TSpanda-man
post Sep 16 2009, 10:36 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Sep 16 2009, 10:12 AM)
11. AHH! I LOST MY STYLUS?

new one costs RM 30-45
fake one apparently costs RM15-20 (dunno where to get. dont PM me. hehe)

where did u get the price from??
mine was broken alr...sad.gif
the price for the stylus i got from some of the other forumers that posted it up. im not really sure where to get it but i guess if you walk around lowyat or place with lots of handfone sales you can find it.
TSpanda-man
post Sep 17 2009, 09:25 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(felixx @ Sep 16 2009, 01:56 PM)
thanks god is till with my G900..dun ever think to change to another phone....

p/s: if plan to get another phone..i'm prefer Iphone 3GS...huhuhuhuhu....

hi pandaman....how ar u icon_rolleyes.gif
hey man. its been ages. haha you are like the g900 ninja. suddenly appear then disappear again. haha. like your avatar pic i guess hehehe. any issues with your g900 or still fine and dandy. mine still ok. although last time i had big problem when it didnt show that i recieved new messages. my boss marah me i didnt reply his sms.... doh.gif
TSpanda-man
post Sep 18 2009, 02:05 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Sep 17 2009, 11:24 PM)
ya...restart can fix that...that msg will appear back...xD
QUOTE(ivan1128 @ Sep 18 2009, 12:30 AM)
oh.it's just a small problem.hehe.my n70 have to restart many times...
yeah i think the phone just hits a small glitch. i do get the sms it just doesnt tell me. I need to go look into the messages folder myself. so its just a reminder/announcement glitch. and restart will fix it.
TSpanda-man
post Sep 20 2009, 10:04 PM

2,691 posts

its great to see this thread becoming so active. well for those who are going to look for the G900 or G700, post up the best prices you found here so people can make a reference. that'd be really helpful.
TSpanda-man
post Sep 25 2009, 06:41 PM

2,691 posts

so strange that your m2 would affect your sms stuff and what not. i never thought it would be connected like that.
TSpanda-man
post Oct 2 2009, 09:29 AM

2,691 posts

this thread seems to be pretty active since it went into v3. strange. i guess its become something new again ahahha. well any of those who are not on the user list and want to be. you can pm me with phone type, color, ori or ap set. or whatever info you want me to put lah.
TSpanda-man
post Oct 4 2009, 12:30 PM

2,691 posts

the flash is pretty bright and ugly. especially if taking pictures of people. objects and stuff is ok. but on people its ugly.
TSpanda-man
post Oct 4 2009, 08:59 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(violette @ Oct 4 2009, 05:31 PM)
i hve to agree on that.  laugh.gif i hve a pic to prove it

see....my friend's look like a ghost comin out from a sofa  shakehead.gif  or ju-on  rolleyes.gif
...hantu... sofa ghost ke... heheh. yeah the flash for the phone is bright but seems to travel only 1-2 feet from the camera, any farther and its useless again.... btw. im still pissed that we cannot use frames for photos with this phone.
TSpanda-man
post Oct 4 2009, 10:49 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(joules @ Oct 4 2009, 10:08 PM)
hi every1,

so happy to see so many g900 fans here. just bought myself one a few days back - my first symbian, so it seems. to tell the truth, i hardly even knew what symbian means. just bought this baby by chance and a bit 'kena' coz paid rm800 for it!!!  mad.gif  mad.gif

hate myself even more because of the problem with mp3 player - oh, u know, the thing abt not being able to play by folder. well, it's just that all my mp3 is so neatly  cool.gif  organized into folders... let's see if any1 can help me with this one  thumbup.gif ? tried th link for playlist editor upfront just now but 4shared says the file has been removed.. anybody have any solution for this? help is kindly appreciated.

other than that i might not have any qualm,  rclxms.gif

or maybe because havent found it yet. still new with this kind of phone. so relieved because there are others who's using this phone. at 1st i thought i bought s/thing "silly rclxub.gif " so to speak. luckily that's not true  smile.gif
rm800 hahaha. i bought ori when it first came out. i kena rm1700 for it. hahahah. although to this day got no regrets. best phone i ever owned. i cant help you with the mp3's although there are a few 3rd party mp3 players out there check out persian forums and you might be able to find something good.
TSpanda-man
post Oct 5 2009, 10:53 PM

2,691 posts

hahahah well this is what technology is. price up and down. specs up and down. wait and wait and you will never buy anything heheh. the never ending cycle.
TSpanda-man
post Oct 8 2009, 11:42 PM

2,691 posts

here is the link for skype for your mobile. i never tried DL from the site, but its a thing i knew about. previously there was this program called i-scooter i think it was that was a skype thing but couldnt find the link nor have i tried that either. maybe you can look for it.

http://www.skype.com/intl/en/mobile/
TSpanda-man
post Oct 14 2009, 09:16 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(ljf123 @ Oct 13 2009, 08:43 PM)
any g900 user facing tiz problem????

SMS Blows
The SMS application crashes consistently. Sometimes you get no notification of incoming messages at all. No ringtone, no icon. A restart of the phone is required to get it working again. It is extremely frustrating when you realize that you've just missed dozens of messages that went quietly to your inbox.
yeah i had this problem. but rarely. if its happening consistently then you are facing some sort serious problem. first check if its your sim card. test it on another phone for a day or so. if no problems then its the phone, in which you should reinstall the firmware, this should fix most problems. its amazing what a sim card can do though. my bros simcard crashed his phone. and tested on another phone, also crashed that one. doh.gif

Added on October 14, 2009, 9:18 am
QUOTE(norbito @ Oct 8 2009, 11:31 PM)
The torch function on my phone not working anymore,anyone know what is wrong?
hey did you sort out this problem yet? it doesnt work completely or just in camera mode? mine the camera mode one didnt work last time. so i went to the torchlight mode and turned on the light, and video mode then turned on the light and then reset the phone. after that all is ok again.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Oct 14 2009, 09:18 AM
TSpanda-man
post Oct 18 2009, 11:00 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Oct 17 2009, 11:29 AM)
hi guys..
need some help here. my gf g900 keep on restarting yesterday nite. I have no choice but to reflash the firmware using SEUS.
now it's up and running with the CDA version 1213-2204 R5A.
the problem now is, there is no chinese input and my gf need it.
Do I need to use XS++ to change the CDA to HK version? Can I know what is the CDA for HK? Thanks.
well im not sure. but i know on the front page there is the stuff so that your phone can read chinese chars. but not write heh.
TSpanda-man
post Oct 19 2009, 09:30 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Oct 18 2009, 11:34 PM)
anyone can help me?  sad.gif
i dont think so. i doubt any tried using their phone as a modem in malaysia. from what i know. yours question is the first of this kind. since this thread started back in v1. maybe you can go back to v1 and look it up. the link is on the front page right at the top.
TSpanda-man
post Oct 26 2009, 11:38 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(yaomix @ Oct 25 2009, 12:50 PM)
hey guys...can someone recommend me where to get SE G900 from gerage sales? i faint with all those comments. lol..
thx for help!
i think you might as well buy a new one. although maybe could be better to buy a used set... the problems should already be known if there are problems.... hmmmm... good luck.

QUOTE(kenichi @ Oct 25 2009, 02:29 PM)
You want a new set or used set?
New ap set should around rm600 only

Added on October 26, 2009, 12:02 amAdd me to owner list! G900 - AP Set - Brown
already added~ thumbup.gif welcome to the party!

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0372sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:07 PM