Drop by.....

Hi all.... I m g900 user....

if don mind add me msn & ym to share topic on g900.... tongue.gif

henry_ooi81@yahoo.com & henry_ooi81@hotmail.com
fireworm
post Jan 10 2010, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(panda-man @ Sep 16 2009, 09:56 AM)
Frequently Asked Questions

This is just a guide. Use at your own risk. Especially when tampering with firmware. Enjoy.
1. How much is the going rate for the phones?

Garage Sales Pricelist - Average obtained from 3 sales threads.

G900 - rm1020 (AP) & rm1479 (ORI)
G700 - rm760 (AP) & rm1128 (ORI)

2. Why is the camera so like dat?

Make sure you get lots of lighting. Best for day time pics. Cloudy weather or low lighting conditions will produce sub par photos.

3. Where is the speaker?

on the back. bottom left. Clear. but not super loud.

4. How to update the phone?

Install Sony Ericsson Update Service (SEUS)
Sony Ericsson Support Website

5. How do I change the CDA?

Go to masterzombie's post. link is below.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry24419850

6. Say WUT?! No GPS?!

nope. use google maps. visit m.google.com/maps from your PHONE

no in built GPS. but if you buy a GPS receiver, the G900 supports Garmin software.

7. The fella at the shop told me this phone hangs a lot. True meh?

Not really, in my experience and other g900 users after update. hanging is not common. for me personally maybe it will hang once a month if i forget to close apps.
it will hang if you try to view youtube with the default media player. for new users they may experience the feeling of "lag".

8. Whats the battery life? less charge time means i can save more on my electricity bill

battery life:
high usage 1-2 days.
medium usage: 2-3 days
low usage: 3-5 days.
very low usage: 5-7 days
very very low usage... maybe you will get the 380hrs SE say you can get.
*not recommended to attempt to fully charge your phone over usb. it will never max out the battery.

9. How to enable/use wifi?
10. MY WIFI IS NOT WORKING?!?!

This is a frequent problem people seem to be facing. here is a quick fix. might not work all the time.
In wifi. you click more. then new account. type in ssid. example...starbucks. and account name i put in.... starbucks. and connected.
seemed to work. but i tried it again somewhere else it didnt work. so you can try this. hopefully it will work.

11. AHH! I LOST MY STYLUS?

new one costs RM 30-45
fake one apparently costs RM15-20 (dunno where to get. dont PM me. hehe)

12. Can this phone use word? pdf? powerpoint? excel?

yes. it can. its got quickoffice & PDF+

13. How do i use email on the phone?

menu -->> settings -->> messaging -->> email accounts -->> more -->> new account

then you fill in all the details.

for gmail. the settings are

connection type: POP3
incoming server address: pop.gmail.com
outgoing server address: smtp.gmail.com make sure 'use SMTP authentication' is ticked, and so is 'use inbox login details'

i recommend Download restrictions set to: just headers.

14. My alarm doesnt on when the phone is off. why leh?

because its off...... hahahaha. lots of smart phones are like this. it takes too much effort to run the alarm it seems.

15. What is the maximum memory card thingie i can use?

Sony Ericsson Memory Stick Compatibility

16. How long does a firmware update take? cause i gots stuff to do yo!

Around 30 mins. Including backing up-updating-restoring backed up stuff. Also depends on your internet speed.

17. How do I get to the service menu?

From the standby screen hit RIGHT, *, LEFT, LEFT, *, LEFT, *

the service menu is very useful. it allows you to check everything.
such as screentest, speakertest, vibrationtest, and all that. really useful esp. when buying buying a used phone.

18. How do i do modifications to my phone?

19. How do I change the default icons? because using stock goods aint cool no mo'

20. How do i open up my wonderful phone and clean the screen or do whatever i need to do?

Follow this youtube video. be very careful. you will probably need some anti-static gloves/mat or whatever to be safer. and the fella uses a guitar pick and a Torx screwdriver. happy tampering.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7D7HBImQNg

21. How can i view flash from my phone?

download this. and install it to your phone. restart your phone then it should work.
Flashplugin.zip

Thanks to cutiesbaby312 for the find.

22. How on EARTH do i INSTALL unsigned applications?

23. Does the phone speak chinese?

yes the phone has chinese language support.
AP models usually come with it installed.
ORI set usually doesnt. but it can be installed for free by the SE service center.

-----

G900 & G700 PHOTO GALLERY!!!

panda-man

lineage

jtan11

forgotten06

Flowers.................... tongue.gif Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by fireworm: Jan 10 2010, 03:09 PM

0.0263sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:06 AM