Post all present/gift ideas here, Share your presents/Request ideas here

TSBaronic
post Sep 14 2009, 09:53 PM, updated 16y ago

Problem?
7,533 posts

As per thread title. Post everything here, including asking for suggestions etc. i suggest before asking, use this thread by browsing thru what has already been posted

When asking for some suggestions, give us an idea like, the kinda stuff she likes, the kind of person she is, and of course your budget and any skills that can be used to make your own present. If u cant be bothered to give us these details, we simply wont bother to help out

This post has been edited by Baronic: Sep 14 2009, 09:57 PM
TSBaronic
post Sep 14 2009, 10:09 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Source

If there's anything more exciting and fun than giving a present to your loved one and seeing their face glow, its the joy of actually making this present for her. As my girl's birthday, valentines, and anniversary were practically within the same month time period, i decided, instead of buying something, i wanted to make something! Something that would cover nicely all three events as a present. Of course i'll be taking her out for some nice food as well. Anyway, as i impulsively abandoned the vanity mirror she actually asked me to get for her birthday and walked past rows of shops, i was wondering what the heck i was going to make?!

I do do some oil painting back in the old days, but handicraft was generally out of bounds for me, and definitely out of my comfort zone. Unless its painting, unfortunately my imagination and capability of managing and manipulating materials to look pretty is just beyond my average handicraft skills. But still, i was so hyped up about the idea, i wanted to give it a shot anyway. I've never before made something for anyone (poems not included).

So i came across this shop in 1Utama, its sorta like on the bridge linking the old and new wing together, towards the end of the bridge, towards the old wing side. A nice well stocked shop with ample arts and crafts supplies! I spent about half an hour just walking to and fro in this shop thinking of the various combinations i could make before one of the shop attendants offerred some advice. After another 45 minutes, i walked out, and had already blown my budget, by almost 200% lol. But still, i was really hyped up with the idea of doing this. So this is what i did in the end.

The box costs about thirty bucks, and has various shapes and sizes. Of course price would vary based on design and size. There was one i really wanted to get, a nice mini cupboard to put on the table with cute drawers for jewelry. But it costs about 130 bucks. lol. Bad idea for a student like me.

Paint was another 30 odd, plus another 30 for Gloss. I decided to not go for the filler that i was recommended to get, nor this nice paint with glitters in them. I simply didnt have time. It was kinda impulsive and unplanned and i had a 1 week deadline. Filler itself would take almost a week to properly dry.

I recommend painting it in one direction, and buying a smaller sized brush to paint those tight corners. Make the whole surface even, dont keep doing a small part over and over again. When its done, then you may try to apply another coating. I applied three coatings. Make sure the paints truly dry and not just dry to the touch.

WARNING : Should dry fast unless you applied too thick a layer of paint. Avoid it, spread your paint and don't let it pool.

I recommend using a good quality nylon brushes, not those cheap rough brushes u usually find at book stores. Around 4 bucks a brush depending on size.

Use a pallet and make sure u shake the bottle of accrylic paint before pouring. Don't pour out too much first.

WARNING: I highly recommend using a plastic to put on the table. Newspaper would stick to the paint and come out and tear and stick on your box. A nightmare

For me, it took around 4 hours between coatings, with air conditioner on to make the room dry and under the sun.

I then wrote my poem which i composed for her (the first word in every sentence also reads I Love You). XD Pen costs about 20-30 bucks i can't recall. A special all surface pen.
After that. Apply the gloss. Be slow and light across the words, so that they don't run! I then cut out the wood carvings i bought (another 30 odd bucks), and pasted them as imaginatively as i could around the box.

I then pasted the mirror i bought, all with strong UHU glu. Other super glue would work as well. Incidentally, while i was still working on this, my girl and I were out shopping (window shopping) in Sunway Pyramid, Asian Avenue. She spotted this felt like material which she said was "so pwetty!!!". Its actually to be used for handphones and such. So i decided to tell her to choose one which i will incorporate into her surprise present. (i told her i was making her something, but didn't tell her what. Wanted to torture her with the suspense. heh heh.)

So she picked a pattern out, and i used it as the inside of the box. Its soft to the touch, and not very expensive, around 20 bucks, and gives it a posh look and feel.

When she finally openned the matching pink wrapping paper i used and finally saw her present, she was absolutely bursting with happiness! The smile and wide eyed happiness she displayed as she hugged and kissed me will be a memory i will cherish till the end of days. Despite blowing my budget, i'm absolutely glad i did what i did for her. The adventure of doing it and the anticipation of seeing her reaction was extremely exciting. And after so long of not doing any art work, it was a sweet and delicious reminder of why i used to do oil painting. Once classes start though i'll never have time unfortunately, sigh.

If there's anything i regret, is i wished i had more time to really soup up my present for my baby. She may love it, but i always feel like i could have done something more.

For references for people who may wish to try this and get a feel of expenses.

Box: RM 30 (vary on size and quality)
Brushes: RM 10
Accrylic Paint: RM 30 per colour
Gloss: RM 30
Wood Carvings: RM 30
Pallet: cheap, u can use anything, negligible
Thick Felt for the Bottom: RM 10 (cut to fit, u'll have left overs)
Velvet Material from Sunway Pyramid: RM 20
Mirrors: RM 20
Pen RM 20

Total: RM 200

Memory and joy of giving the present, and the love she showed me: Priceless

This post has been edited by Baronic: Sep 14 2009, 10:10 PM

Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSBaronic
post Sep 15 2009, 07:17 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

good idea. it doesnt even have to be a book, but like wooden cards strung together. PS: feel free to use the search function for other present threads for more suggestions, but if u bump em, i'll lock em. smile.gif
TSBaronic
post Sep 18 2009, 02:40 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(ckh93 @ Sep 17 2009, 05:38 PM)
just a suggestion not bumping
jangan marah ya..  smile.gif
not u la, referring to the other non sticky threads. i cant merge them here too messy thats why.

@greenstar, nice idea. suggest using thick cardboard for 3 d effects
TSBaronic
post Sep 22 2009, 01:27 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(HellGrace @ Sep 21 2009, 03:45 AM)
Hello !

I am in need of suggestion from all d sifus here.

I have a gf living in west msia and I am from east msia. We gonna meet up soon in few months. I was wondering what is the best gift i can bring to her ?
She is into teddy stuff so beside teddy and handmade stuff wat else ? Small yet lovely will do.

Thanks in advance  biggrin.gif
i'm not sure of the name of the shop but i think its teddy tales, they sorta like, provide teddy bears which u can personalise the clothings and stuff maybe put in those "press me i speak" stuff
TSBaronic
post Sep 24 2009, 05:10 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(HellGrace @ Sep 24 2009, 02:30 AM)
thanks for d info. but i am from east msia. beside teddy stuff.. wat else would make her happy ? accessories ? or just teddy stuff lol..
some times its not just the present but the way the present is presented. lol, unintentional pun. hmmm, u can get her a nice teddy, but dont just "nah, a teddy for u baby"

U're gonna meet up, who's meeting who? if u picking her up, try like, on the phone before meeting up, maybe say u're bringing a "friend" u'd like to introduce her too? and then put your teddy in the front seat where she would seat and put safety belt and flowers. then when u reach she comes to see u, u step out of car, and she'll say where's your friend? then u show her the teddy, take the bouquet of flowers and present it to her. its still a teddy. but 10/10 for presentation. lol
TSBaronic
post Sep 24 2009, 09:19 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(Cranberries @ Sep 24 2009, 08:17 PM)
+1
Very cute suggestion here.
Nice box too! Luck chocoholic smile.gif)

Im trying to get gifts ideas for men here.  Must it be sexual related to make a guy happy? eg, sexy lingerie in a bottle?! any other more creative idea?
it would depend on your guy's taste? what kinda person he is, more info would be good. but for me no, it doesnt have to be sexual. my gf used to make cards for her ex. i didnt get any. so when i got a really pretty handmade card from her for my birthday finally, i was pretty ecstatic. the thrill of sexual presents tend to end when its over (unless you're the abstinence kind). i prefer sweet romantic experiences to it.
TSBaronic
post Sep 29 2009, 11:37 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 29 2009, 04:28 PM)
just to share,
2009 valentine.
i bought my a girl a habib necklace.

i bought a box, put the habib necklace box inside.
then i buy durex vibrator ring, durex pleasuremax condom, put it inside.
stuff the necklace box in the bottom of the box.

she enjoiced when she open the box.
then find necklace in the bottom more enjoice.
this only works if your girl is horny and loves you much much.
lol wats a habib necklace?

why not put in tissue box. she'll think its a joke but under the tissue paper, a ring?
TSBaronic
post Oct 8 2009, 01:11 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Oct 3 2009, 01:57 PM)
Dude, those are epic! What materials did your girlfriend use for the drumset? Really makes me want to start making stuff again, but I have nobody to give them to so \(o_O)/. As for the gifts I usually give? Poetry! Compose it by yourself. Had I the time to hunt for the materials to make the parchment, I would, but otherwise I usually just write it down on some fancy paper or make a card and put it there. Good for giving to friends on occasions, since its cheap to make. (depending on how creative you are). They just don't compare to the other handmade stuff here though.

Took this from my blog ; Nothing spectacular.
P.S : As expected from Uncle Deimos. Ever the hamsap one.
P.P.S : What pen did you use for the inscription on the box? Haven't been able to get a good one for writing on glass surfaces, they seem to fade easily.
i think art shops ought to have that pen for glass writing?
TSBaronic
post Oct 12 2009, 07:39 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

big teddy bears are pretty easy to find what? try places like hallmark? or those gift shops. does it have to be big, sunway pyramid got a nice teddy shop. cant remember the name
TSBaronic
post Oct 15 2009, 07:24 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

it depends how much thought u put in the teddy la. like if u simply grab anything off the shelf any present wud be insincere
TSBaronic
post Nov 18 2009, 11:04 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(dracorealms @ Nov 17 2009, 07:44 PM)
hehehe.. i got a few ideas and hopefully it doesnt become too common! so use with DISCRETION ok!??!!!

idea 1

get a box maybe 10x10x5 inches but u get the idea
put random stuff inside, but each thing separated with a piece of paper exactly 10x10x5 in size, and write a note on top of the paper.

for example : u can put tissue paper inside, then put a 10x10x5 paper and write "for the shitty times"

it can be very exciting!! and maybe u can put something really meaningful at the very bottom of the box.
idea 2

*adapted from korean movie

go buy some empty capsules from the chinese sensei medicine shop (something like rm2 for 100)
cut small strips of paper, then write notes inside, and roll up, and put into capsule.

notes can be romantic, funny, anything eg : "if i had a choice to go heaven, i wouldnt because i'd leave you"
or anything lah

then present in a little bottle, and say : this is incase u get love sick with me. but the dosage is a maximum of one. haha! if u can do 365, it'd last a year!
idea 3

write a note, whichever romantic, place it on a plate with double sided tape underneath, then put some clean clear plastic on top, paste that down on the plate too.. then put a brownie on top =)

then give your brownie to your loved one for them to discover the note beneath!
got sommore la.. but hahah i kiamsap abit. after girls read then less meaning already when us guys do.
salutes!!! some damn good ideas there dude haha.
TSBaronic
post Dec 4 2009, 10:40 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(skylinerz @ Dec 4 2009, 12:30 AM)
Guys, my gurl coming back from UK this 8th Dec.. And i have no idea what to give her >_<'' .. Im so excited and yet no idea what to give and how to present it..

Idea from baronic to put teddy in car, but my girls got alot of those stuffy bears n sponge bob n patrik.. T_T

Im thinking to make a box and put a notes on the bottom, or maybe make a 100 small stars with notes in it as its like 101 reason y i love her..

But i need something which i can done in 2 days.. I got few ideas in mind but need time to survey n look for materials

I will pick her up at KLIA by myself and i need suggestions on things that i can give to her.. Help~~
stars and notes are nice, but she'd have to undo like 100 stars? lol. 2 days is a very short time but u still can do something if u spend all day. maybe u can expand on this but do something about the times u missed her when she was away? instead of reasons u love her.
TSBaronic
post Dec 4 2009, 01:20 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(skylinerz @ Dec 4 2009, 12:02 PM)
Agree.. 100 stars to undo.. lol.. hurm.. im heading to one utama after this to check out the gift shop there.. maybe i can get few ideas out of it.. but the box u made were lovely man.. i really like it.. very neat.. i tot i wanna make a box like u, but my handwriting is horrible.. dont mention write using a brush.. >_<'' i wish i can carve roses out of candle.. but i dont have the skill  sad.gif

Well maybe i will try look for other things to present to her.. Thx for the advice baron..  biggrin.gif
i wrote with a pen. lololol
TSBaronic
post Dec 4 2009, 02:10 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

all from the shop dude. accrylic
TSBaronic
post Dec 27 2009, 08:22 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(sya_lea23 @ Dec 16 2009, 09:18 AM)
nah..
im confused.
our 3rd anniversary just around the corner.
didnt want to buy him anything. (had already bought him tshirts,watch,pillow,
just wanted to give him something that i did.

tried to search for diy mini house cafe
wanted to create sort of mcd place (our 1st time dating)
and yes. i cant find anything.

then suddenly i came up with designing him a tshirt.
would be better if i paint it by myself isnt it?
the problem is, i dont know where to find those 'tools'
to accomplish my mission. hee~~
(and some tutorials will do)

hope u guys could help me.

i really appreciate your opinions
art shops?

in 1U got a place called ART ATTACK next to MPH i think got paint for shirts

Added on December 27, 2009, 8:23 am
QUOTE(evanesence117 @ Dec 23 2009, 10:49 PM)
I bought a bag for my gf, those sorta shoulder bags that is large enough to be used for classes. Any ideas on how to present it for a Christmas pressie???
this is a lil late but maybe u cud during the date, keep saying how u dun give presents for christmas, ever, and then at the end of the date only give it to her?

This post has been edited by Baronic: Dec 27 2009, 08:23 AM
TSBaronic
post Sep 4 2010, 09:16 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(juniorjuice @ Sep 2 2010, 12:09 PM)
sorry I'm new. What's bumping?

Added on September 2, 2010, 12:11 pm

I have the same question. He's a gadget and gaming guy.
Cooking for him would do nothing for him. Been there done that. Zero appreciation.
And I'm not a lousy cook...
Any advice?

Added on September 2, 2010, 12:17 pmI think I may have posted this before. Sorry new to all this replying thread stuff.
I'm looking for a gadget gift for my bf who's into gadget and gaming.
He doesn't appreciate self-made stuff, or any effort required gifts e.g. cooking.

I wanted to get a flight lesson for him assuming he liked plane models, but thought i asked him first just to get his approval.
He didn't want it anyhow.

Any advice?
PSP? What's the current one I should get? I've no idea. There are real and fakes? Which ones?
What else?

P/S: What's bumping?
the thing and boy's toys is that its for functionality purposes, not aesthetic or really for sentimental value. so you would actually need to know what he NEEDS/WANTS before getting anything. maybe either ask him or his colleagues if he's been pining for something.

IMHO if its gadgets, i'd prefer my girl ask me what i want. rather than get me something i dont need or cant use

0.0205sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:43 AM