4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Business ACCA, Which college or university ?

virginslayer
post Aug 6 2005, 02:10 PM

558 posts

i am ACCA student too.
i hope this don't mean to anyone as i am just giving some opinion.
i am from sunway university college.
my idea is, to those of you who wants to pursue your CAT,
pls come over to sunway university college. And for those who want to continue/ pursue to the higher level, pls don't ever step into sunway college.
tell you what, many good lecturers have step down and go to other colleges. for example Mr tee chai hong(2.4/3.3), Mr chow chee yen is going off next term(3.2),mr goh(2.6),mr marcus,mr dinesh going off next year(2.1,3.4).and some other lecturer...hey...sunway is not a good college for acca...go to either kasturi or systematic.even i am a sunway student..but seriously,i am going to that college next term..the environment in sunway is good..but their lecture hall is sucks...the seat is not comfortable at all....
virginslayer
post Aug 7 2005, 09:59 AM

558 posts

transport will be a problem for me next term..
as i am going to 2colleges.
but after taken into calculation..it's well worth the effort burried in..

i am going to kasturi college and systematic KL...
the fees in sunway is rather higher by double or triple the fees of kasturi and systematic. i admit the lecturer at sunway university college is very friendly. but they are not very efficient.. good lecturer from sunway can be found at kasturi and systematic.... there is too many policy in sunway.. i read the above info,some of them say have to pay 20k to complete the course... that was last time. Present,the fees has increase...by 200 plus. depending on the subject.. 2.5 is rm1180..which damn expensive compare to kasturi around rm 450-500...try,take into consideration...this is just my opinion as sunway student..
virginslayer
post Apr 27 2006, 12:25 PM

558 posts

hey...anyone have exam tips for this coming sitting?
exam is 39days from now..
i need exam tips for 2.1,2.2,2.3,2.4 and p7 too..
basically acca and cat..
if i am not mistaken last sitting,there's someone posted something about the tips...but i lost the site edy..

erm...in term of class..
i suggest you guys don't take at sunway..
sunway is a money blood sucker.
one paper for part 2 is rm 960...for 2.5 is rm1180..
i heard from my friend,so far, menon is the best in sunway..
but who give a damn, does it mean with menon's guidance you can succeed?
i don't believe...it still depend on you. even u go to kasturi,systematic,
ftms, anywhere....u still can success...
i have friends...enrolled at sunway, but never attend the entire class..
cos he wana prove to people that he can do it without any lecturer...
imagine wei..2.1 till core paper..never attend a single class..not even the revision class....genius.. he solely depend on the text book,pass year question,and spoted ques..

so....any tips for the exam?will be grateful if any can provide..=)

virginslayer
post Apr 27 2006, 12:34 PM

558 posts

lecturers at sunway university college:

2.1 mr dinesh suggest to study at kasturi
2.2 ms pushpa kasturi
2.3 mr simon sunway uni
2.4 ms geetha kasturi
2.5 ms menon sunway uni
2.6 mr goh/ms kiran mc orange

3.1 mr goh mc orange
3.2 mr chow chee yen systematic
3.3 mr michael kasturi
3.4 mr dinesh no idea where is good

3.5 mr marcus kasturi
3.6 ms menon sunway uni
3.7 mr michael kasturi

Basically, in sunway uni, mr marcus, mr dinesh, mr simon, and mr michael talk alots of crap story...wanna go for better education,go kasturi kl....even i am a sunway university college, i gotto admit...regret studying at sunway..
virginslayer
post Apr 27 2006, 12:36 PM

558 posts

one more thing...for those who want to apply exam centre..
pls don't subscribe for sunway university college(I945)..
select the other option, "selangor other"...
cos, it's harder to pass your exam in sunway uni and TarC.
cos it's different examiner to mark..
for me,i choosed unity college...
cos,it's easier to pass over there.
virginslayer
post Apr 28 2006, 04:09 PM

558 posts

icic...it seems like we have many option here..
yea..gotto admit,menon is the best,but listen to this.
menon told me that, she is gonna quite teaching 2.5(financial reporting) by next year 2007 jan..
for those who are doing 2.1 till 2.4...you are in luck..
reason is bcos she is teaching ICAEW and 3.6..
time clashes...and her task is heavy...she gotto teach at kuching too...

reasons why it's harder to pass in sunway and tarc's bcos..
there are different examiner for different college...if i am not mistaken...correct me if i am wrong..
for sunway, it's the first premier plus status college outside the uk..
so, the uk examiner basically expect higher quality from sunway.
i've no idea why tarc is also hard...that's what my lecturer told me..
beside, tarc have internal and external paper...
virginslayer
post Apr 28 2006, 04:14 PM

558 posts

i am revising final exam..but i heard that last term, kasturi's spotted section was very clear.. almost everything was out..
for business taxation(2.3), everything spotted was out..even 2.1...
wonder if anyone have the tips from BPP or from any colleges? mind to pm me?
virginslayer
post May 2 2006, 08:25 AM

558 posts

haih...my sister take spm this year, 13 paper..and she take CAT as well..
she's completed 5 paper...this June is her final 4paper..
you can study by yourself..like my sis...she dun attend any classes...just solely rely on BPP textbook and pyq.
CAT isn't hard...but you are doing stpm..i sugegst you to go ACCA..
cos you've wasted some time(to be sincere)..
CAT is a one year course..but if you start from ACCA,u'll complete part one in half a year. imagine, CAT= 9papers...ACCA part one=3papers.
you do the maths.
virginslayer
post May 2 2006, 08:27 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ May 1 2006, 09:11 PM)
want to ask those who attend CKF 3.2 revision class,how much he sell the adv tax and mal tax textbook?
duno wor..sorry,can't help that
virginslayer
post May 2 2006, 09:40 PM

558 posts

gotto agree with you...ACCA can't self study..but nothing is impossible..
erm...ICAEW?
the trend for ICAEW, CAT, ACCA, CIMA, LCCI is very hot at this moment..
try go for CFA...

BPP textbook...erm..like foulk lyncs..
"pyq" stand for past year question.
virginslayer
post May 3 2006, 11:16 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(hikari @ May 2 2006, 10:00 PM)
who say ACCA cant self study? i had a friend who took 3.1,3.3 self study and pass both... nothing is impossible if u have the right attitude,mentality and approach..
lol,dude...i didn't specifically stress that acca can't be done by self-study...ready my sentence again...."nothing is impossible"...
virginslayer
post May 3 2006, 11:22 AM

558 posts

u know what i always believe that it's the quality of studying,not quantity that you study..
people can just sit infront of their desk and study 24hours..probably you will call that hardworking...but some people do study like 2-3 hours..which equivalent to the amount of the person who study for 24hours...i always respect the last minute student..
i myself is a last minutes catch up too...but i still pass...i didn't attend class for p7 still manage to get 86m last term, p4 also din attend class, scored 88m....
and guess...i just studied 10 hours for costing.. my friend study for the whole term...but fail....
so,it's smart study..not study blindly...
a chart will help you guys alot...i use that for p6,7,8,9 last term...
pass all with 75m abd above...trust me,it work...especially for the last minute student..
virginslayer
post May 3 2006, 01:55 PM

558 posts

Thanks, i did chart for the theory for p7 and everything..i didn't study the entire textbook...some i just touch and go. p8 u need to do chart..divide, now u have 4 weeks to exam..one week for one paper..first 3 days study textbook, later on 4 days...do your pyq thoroughly..if you can't do..means u didn't concentrate when u study...that's mean quality...
your friend is very true...but a lil crazy rite?study cover to cover..i just read alil,touch and go....but need a very good memory..
do your past year question thoroughly..
that's all i can say... the format for everything,as in calculation,i follow the examiner's style..i don't follow my lecturer's style...
imagine, a person study like whole term...so hard,but scored 67m(my friend)...but i study one month(86m)...isn't that a huge diff?
make sure you don't go lepak this month...
virginslayer
post May 4 2006, 07:19 PM

558 posts

i am from sunway also ler..
waiting for 2.1,2.2,2.3,and 2.4 tips
hey...where's the tips?
where to get those tips?

2.3 u need to practise...
2.4 u goto practise pyq and study the theory...erm...duno how to explain..
dude,nothing is over night..
unless you are prepared,then u can online ...or else,go back do your revision.
like my law lecturer often stress...
"everything start from day one"
virginslayer
post May 7 2006, 09:36 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(soul_project @ May 6 2006, 11:22 PM)
i'm taking ACCA too starting last month ..
ACCA part 1 at sunway uc ..
yeah alot ppl taking acca nowadays eh ?
i guess the accounting field is still very open ..
at least that's y i venture into it
yes..accounting is very wide now...
u started part 1 last month....
so i suggest you this, take up your acca till part 2..get your OBU..
go straight to big 4..apply for ICAEW or CFA..
although the qualification isn't that hot now...but in couple years time...
i will assure you...acca is just like a diploma course..
the trend is changing.
virginslayer
post May 7 2006, 09:46 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(Joel718 @ May 6 2006, 04:28 PM)
im a 11A1's n 1A2 student.....i noe tat does not  mean anytin.....bt besides getting gud GPA in my diploma....i wish 2 challenge myself wf sumtin diff from d rest from TARC students.....mayb its nt necessary.....mayb u r rite.....im a bit confused......hehe....thanx 4 advice....which year r u in??? 2nd yr of advanced diploma??
you are smart for spm doesn't mean you are smart in accounting.
your phase is increase by dozens.
higher level accounting isn't similar as spm...personally i got 11A1 for spm..
but i find out that acca is a tough course..
you are clever,but you didn't do the right choice..
diploma is a 2year course..for a degree will be approximately 4 - 5 years course..
if your course decision commence from cat, you wil get your degree and complete your entire course in 2.5 years time. later on,continue with CFA or ICEAW for another two years...
people get degree in 5 years.
but you get degree and acca in 2.5 years time, besides you earn either CFA or ICAEW in 2 years time..it come to a total of 4.5 years..which is earlier and faster than the degree student,beside your qualification is more recognise.
do more research b4 you enter into certain course...
virginslayer
post May 7 2006, 09:49 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(li juan @ May 5 2006, 07:53 PM)
hi!

Anyone got tips for acca 2.3 n 2.4 paper?

ques 1, company tax
ques 2, individual tax
ques 3, rpgt
ques 4, tax planning or
section 108 account

that;s what sunway spot for this term.

2.1,2.2,and 2.4 the tips not yet out..
anyone from toher college mind to share tips?
virginslayer
post May 9 2006, 07:00 PM

558 posts

sorry sorry...phaiseh..
earlier on i said sunway got CFA mar rite?
after i check it out with my friend..
he's doing at open university..
but making use of sunway facilities..
once again,phaiseh..
sunway do not provide CFA
virginslayer
post May 24 2006, 05:10 PM

558 posts

don't rely on exam tips...if u've been studying all the while,u dun need tips..
virginslayer
post May 29 2006, 02:20 PM

558 posts

i smell so many CAT-ACCA noob here...lolz..it's so simple la..log into http://accaglobal.com
if u wanna take classes,go take at kasturi better la..
sunway sucks..
i am sunway student, but i dun rely on sunway's notes...it's shit..
i use kasturi notes...even i don't enter the class...it's so well prepared...the lecturers are good...
and about scholarship,i suggest you to go to information centre and search about it..
whoever is really determine to study acca..dun regret wei.,
cos it's difficult..u better take degree program ler if u always lepak...
cos u got marks from assignment and stuff....
by the time u got your degree, some of your friends might still stuck in CAT or acca...lolz,only apply to those who loves to play=)and study less...like me..lolz.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0504sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:45 PM