Business ACCA, Which college or university ?
niu_niu
Jun 18 2006, 10:07 AM
Anyone have any advice for 3.2 paper? Im still considering to take at which place.....if there is other place that are nice, pls let me know!
Mcorange: Mr Chow Chee Yen? ok??
Kasturi: Mr Alan Yeo? Ok?
Segi: Dr Choong?
Pls help me. Thx!!!
niu_niu
Jun 18 2006, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(coolly @ Jun 18 2006, 10:33 AM) errrr.....do i have other choice?? coz dr choong's class is almost full. I guess i cant make it....
niu_niu
Jun 18 2006, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(coolly @ Jun 18 2006, 01:14 PM) really?his class starts in july..is it full now? u make sure first lo..i think now u go to register still got place la.. normally b4 result out,his class won't full der...but after result out then is possible...so u better call segi and ask,if still got place,fast fast register..  I've confirm with segi, it's gonna full soon! I think mainly becoz many ppl from my college(TARC) are flooding to his class.....I'm now hanging in the middle....Don't know whether where 2 go if can't reg for dr choong's class. Anyone got comments on chow chee yen and alan yeo? How izit?? Thx I also heard there is a good lecturer, faridah. Is that true??
niu_niu
Jun 19 2006, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(HBK @ Jun 19 2006, 12:07 AM) Assoc.Prof. Faridah,she's teaching Full time at Uitm&part time at Unity college..currently 2.3..didnt teach the 3.2 paper sorry...i would suggest also mr.siva nair from FTMS..bcuz im goin there also!!!rather that entering chow chee yen class at sunway...alan yeo?cant comment on that,if u been in his 2.3 class,then you will know the exactly expecting the same environment in 3.2  can i know how was the environment in alan yeo's class? Regarding siva nair, his class is normally conducted on when and on what time??
niu_niu
Jun 20 2006, 09:12 PM
Hihi....im now considering for alan yeo's class d. CKF class is full. Does anyone know how's alan yeo's teaching style? Curious to know since gonna register in short time. I heard that alan yeo is CKF's "sifu"? Sure or not? But i think that i often heard from my friend is that alan yeo only prepare u for the exam but ckf will go more deeply even though not exam able. need clarification pls....thx! This post has been edited by niu_niu: Jun 20 2006, 09:12 PM
niu_niu
Jun 21 2006, 08:20 AM
QUOTE(G[a]rY @ Jun 20 2006, 11:20 PM) Haha, great job, coolly.. Look like u r the 'magnet' here to answer everyone's problems ya.. Btw, are you acca member or acca affiliate...?? or ady fellow acca (FCCA)..?? Haha.. I actly got some problem which i dun think it discussed b4 in this forum.. I understand ACCA and CAT is professional course which totally diff from other courses from uni.. But, does msia government recognise CAT as diploma level..?? I faced such difficulty few times in filling up some form, saying my CAT should be under 'diploma' level or 'certificate' level or 'foundation' level..?? Just curious to know, can a CAT holder apply to pursue his study in degree from normal uni..?? Does anyone here know any financial assisstance to finance my ACCA study..?? Any loan/scholarship/grant..?? Normally scholarships only invite those accountancy undergraduate degree from uni.. If Im not mistaken, even PTPTN does not offer loan for CAT/ACCA as not categoriz under diploma/degree level wo.. CAT paper is the foundation to the ACCA. Then, i believe CAT can be fallen under foundation level. Regarding financial assistance, i dont know about other colleges, but in TARC when u choose to study diploma in biz studies (accounting), u can actually apply for PTPTN. Furthermore, this diploma can give u exemption for acca paper till paper 2.2. Unfortunately, ptptn only applicable once only.... not for higher level i.e. advanced diploma when u will prepare urself for the internally assessed paper and final part 3.
niu_niu
Jun 21 2006, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(coolly @ Jun 20 2006, 10:05 PM) haha,if u tell ckf that alan yeo is his "sifu",i can imagine he will "scold" u...hehe nola,i don't think so lo...just i think they are equally good la... but i heard from my fren is that alan class is quite boring and he might not allowed u to register if u did not attend his 2.3,i am not sure,u can check it out and let me know... but one thing i can assure u is that CKF really teach u far more than the exam required and at the same time prepare u towards exam,that's y u can learn a lot lo as i said before in term of the tax knowledge... erm,u can consider siva nair and also chow chee yam lo...  Well, i've registered myself for alan yeo's class although not his student for 2.3. Hopefully, he can gimme all d knowledge to pass my 3.2. lol Btw, anyone know about Prof. Jane Lazar? Any1 is her student b4? Her approach? She's lecturing 3.5 rite?? Thx
niu_niu
Jun 21 2006, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(xcrue @ Jun 21 2006, 04:09 PM) HEY guys..any1 working in SMALL auditing firm now? WHat's u guys salary range?I need to go for a interview I heard that the market price is around RM1600 for a medium firm....i thk small firm can offer around that or even lower.....not too sure...
niu_niu
Jun 21 2006, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(Irresistible @ Jun 21 2006, 05:12 PM) In KL ?? U r Tarcian?? I also TARCIAN. Advanced Diploma looks like not in demand !! Its not a degree We only completed ACCA part 2, big firm won't employ us!! I got one interview in my hometown (Butterworth), my expected salary is RM 1650. The co. looks like want to employ u, but tell me tht my expected salary is too high!! (**It is a big Taiwanese commercial firm listed in Bursa Saham). Frankly speaking, Advanced Diploma is a piece of shit!! Look like Just a DIploma certificate.  What? Adv diploma not in demand? Im Tarcian as well. Currently in year 2. I also heard about it...but didnt expect it 2 b so worse such as in ur case. BTW, u havent completed ur acca yet?
niu_niu
Jun 21 2006, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(xcrue @ Jun 21 2006, 05:26 PM) Ya..same with u ,Adv Dip in Commerce...part3 acca... Damn,my fren can get around 1.4-1.6k The co offer 1k..omg  wow! That was workforce abuse man....if i were u...i wont take it
niu_niu
Jun 21 2006, 10:26 PM
Jane Lazar is actually lecturing part time at PAAC.......i oso havent heard about her la....i thought she juz publish books only...
niu_niu
Jun 22 2006, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(coolly @ Jun 22 2006, 11:38 AM) any one has mc orange flyers?can tell me the lecturer from 2.1 to 3.7? thanks a lot... 2.1 Mr Andy Tan 2.2 Mr Ramesn(FT) & Ms Ambikai(PT) 2.3 Ms Wong Paik Wan & Assoc Prof Faridah 2.4 Mr Chan Tze Kang & Mr Chow Kim Tai 2.5 Mr Joe Fang 2.6 Ms Sheila John 3.1 Ms Sheila John 3.2 Mr Chow Chee Yen 3.3 Mr Chan Tze Kang & Mr Chow Kim Tai 3.5 Mr Michael Mainwaring/Mr Chin SC 3.6 Mr Joe Fang 3.7 Mr Chan Tze Kang
niu_niu
Jun 23 2006, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(coolly @ Jun 22 2006, 08:31 PM) thanks...appreciate it..one more question,is chow teaching part time or full time? he is a good lecturer...  He's lecturing part time students and full time students as well. I got consider 2 attend his class b4 but McOrange charge very expensive. RM900.....excluding all d miscellaneous fees. Even cheaper than CKF! BTW, which Chow are u mentioning?? Looking back, there r 2 Chows! This post has been edited by niu_niu: Jun 23 2006, 12:21 AM
niu_niu
Jun 23 2006, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(HBK @ Jun 22 2006, 11:41 PM) aik???so when does chow kim tai teach?is chow teaching part time or full time for 3.3??if chow kim tai teaches 3.3 at mcorange,i'll definitely go there,so who is the lecturer chan or chow?? Im not sure...there are two groups which are handle by 2 different lecturers. I thk u shd clarify this with them.
niu_niu
Jun 24 2006, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(coolly @ Jun 23 2006, 10:45 AM) oh ya,so expensive ah?i guess u mean chow chee yan,how much ckf is charging this time? i mean chow kim tai la...i just saw ftms form that chow kim tai is lecturing 2.4 in ftms,and i heard that he is only giving irc in mc orange for 2.4,so how about 3.3? do u have the timetable so that it shows whether it is chow kim tai teaching or is chan tze kang teaching the normal class... ya,shd check it out.normally one lecturer will teach one class only,either full time or part time,chow kim tai is really good,shd go there if he is lecturing normal class...  CKF charge rm880 only, i heard got 4 text books. Weekend classes. Compared to Mcorange is cheaper lo. Yes...chow kim tai only give irc at mcorange for both 2.4 and 3.3
niu_niu
Jun 28 2006, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(kubi @ Jun 27 2006, 03:18 PM) guess what..McOrange changed the timetable already...now 2.4 or 3.3 no more mr chow kim tai name I think that mr chow go back to ftms.... he's playing game with the students?? LOL...perhaps some students got cheated If u feel you got cheated feel free to go to NCCC (National Consumer Complaint Centre)....www.nccc.org.my The address is stated in the web site....u can go there personally......if u want la...
niu_niu
Jun 28 2006, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(szz @ Jun 28 2006, 10:10 PM) in fact my colleague all envy me, cause they are degree holder and firm requires them sit for professional exam if not pass certain part... will not be able to promote!! Ya....i agree with that....last time during my VT at Horwath, my seniors also told me that before...with a degree, you cant go far....u must get a professional qualification 1st....that's y ACCA is there 4 u!
niu_niu
Jun 29 2006, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(coolly @ Jun 29 2006, 10:21 AM) i think got lo...or u ask those who is doing now in sunway..i am sure they can get it... is that serious? i also saw that in the mc orange advert tht chow is joining them...don know what happen between la...if i am in kl can go to investigate..but so sad not... u also on ur way to achieve ur acca dream..keep it up... u did ur vtis horwath?is theregood?in facti am planning to send in resume.. can share with me the pro and cons a?thanks ya...  Hmmm.....overall, my 3 months VT in horwath really good. Im actually VT as audit trainee. Didnt do much tax. The seniors there are really kind, willing to share with u....i learn a lot of things there.....bcoz i did what my senior did....not the things specially made for trainee like me 2 do....horwath currently understaff, so expect a lot of workload pouring in.....Heard that in a year, got few times free movie passes and some staff welfare parties.....so far, as a trainee, i only got one chance to a party and a movie(da vinci) coz my period there is short....
niu_niu
Jun 29 2006, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(jimmytee @ Jun 29 2006, 04:34 PM) I planned to study in UTAR for a Degree of accounting and apply for ACCA after I graduate from UTAR. I wanted to ask you guys...is that I have to study again if i want to apply for ACCA part III? Or i just need to take the examination. And is that enough for me to get a good job first after my degree while i am pursuing ACCA? Well, i attended a utar conference last time. They say utar degree will only get u exempted up to paper 2. For paper 3, of course u need 2 study on your own. BTW, why not u consider Adv Diploma in TARC? It's better since it will prepare for u for paper 3....
niu_niu
Jun 30 2006, 09:34 PM
AIYA....normally tarc internal paper is not that difficult. However, paper 2 the internally assessed paper is a bit difficult but much more easier compare to ext exam for paper 2. The only difficult part is d ext exam for part 3 loh. I agree that ppl are taking tuition outside for paper 3. But that really depends on ppl. If u thk u wan 2 learn more, can go for it loh. If anyone wanna enjoy the college life.....tarc is a good option.....haha