Business ACCA, Which college or university ?

jANe87
post Jul 1 2006, 08:54 AM

43 posts

I would like to ask something regarding the job after obtaining acca...

1) after getting the acca, is it a must to work in an auditing firm? Can I work in other company like A&B Engineering firm?

2) Anyone who is working after obtaining ACCA would like to share the working experience in the auditing firm? Is it very stressful and tired?
jANe87
post Aug 21 2006, 12:29 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Aug 20 2006, 11:36 AM)
hello,ya,i guess the 3 yrs might not constitute all the 3 yrs that is required by ACCA if you just work in commercial lines,for the info i got,u need to fulfil 6 key areas which include audit,so i guess maybe u need to work more than 3 yrs and by getting into a higher position then u only able to achieve it...

btw,u can refer to acca website for the info in details...

Is it a must to work in the big 4 company? Can you give me more example about it?
jANe87
post Aug 23 2006, 10:15 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Aug 21 2006, 12:41 PM)
not a must to work in big 4....if like that,many people cannot get membership lo...

what example u wan?
Usually what are the jobs that can fulfill the requirement of becoming an ACCA member? Audit Assistance? Accounts Assistance? Or other jobs? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Is it a must also to work in tax firm?

This post has been edited by jANe87: Aug 23 2006, 10:16 AM
jANe87
post Aug 23 2006, 10:28 AM

43 posts

Another question. If I studied in Sunway University College and I failed one of the ACCA paper then I have to revise on my own or attend the lectures in order to retake the paper in the next examination?
jANe87
post Aug 24 2006, 09:26 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(leochern @ Aug 24 2006, 12:09 AM)
wat paper are u taking ohh.. i oso same college wif u le.. mayb can help up..
Actually I will be going there next year.. By the way, now what paper are you taking?? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by jANe87: Aug 24 2006, 09:29 AM
jANe87
post Aug 24 2006, 09:28 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(jANe87 @ Aug 23 2006, 10:15 AM)
Usually what are the jobs that can fulfill the requirement of becoming an ACCA member? Audit Assistance? Accounts Assistance? Or other jobs? icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

Is it a must also to work in tax firm?
Why no one reply me?? cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
jANe87
post Aug 28 2006, 09:32 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(leochern @ Aug 25 2006, 08:10 PM)
acctually im taking core paper, but when results out, now hav to take 2.6 n 3.4 d.. sob sob.. doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
nevermind.. next time try it again.. wish u pass next exam... Gambatek!!!
jANe87
post Sep 4 2006, 10:31 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Sep 4 2006, 09:30 AM)
bapa merdeka college???? rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
still cant think ler.....hahaha...which college??

yalor...everybody sleep dy....only owenwong welcome me.....feel warm...ahaha... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
i know what college he is talking about. It is TARC, Tunku Abdul Rahman College. Am I right?
jANe87
post Sep 6 2006, 11:16 AM

43 posts

hope so...but the hr manager really explain lot about the co to me..
but i scare no time 2 study for dec exam only since she told me that theyll have OT everyday,even on weekend.. rclxub.gif

What is the time for your OT? Do you have to work 24 hours non stop?
jANe87
post Sep 7 2006, 09:39 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(xcrue @ Sep 6 2006, 02:04 PM)
they work OT even almost everyday or weekend during dateline period.Sometimes no chance to go home as well,just eat there,sleep there,bath there.horrible huh?
wah, since when people become robot, working 24 hours non-stop? sweat.gif
by the way, when is the deadline period? is it every quarter of the year?

QUOTE(coolly @ Sep 6 2006, 02:40 PM)
this is called big 4 lo..........

somemore no OT claimed...cham or not... sweat.gif  sweat.gif
No OT? OMG!!! No wonder not many people want to do audit...... sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(coolly @ Sep 6 2006, 05:37 PM)
u hor..only think liang moi o.......don't know they protect u or u protect them.. sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I am totally agree with you biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jANe87: Sep 7 2006, 10:20 AM
jANe87
post Sep 7 2006, 09:50 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(G[a)
rY,Sep 7 2006, 08:36 AM]Hi.. Anyone here can let me know the differences among:
(a) public accountant
(b) registered accountant
© certified accountant
(d) chartered accountant
(e) or any other types of accountant that i might never heard b4..??

thanx.. i appreciate anyone would share his/her knowledge with me..
By the way, where are you going to study accontancy? Or are you studying? At where?

This post has been edited by jANe87: Sep 7 2006, 11:01 AM
jANe87
post Sep 8 2006, 08:58 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(allornothing @ Sep 8 2006, 08:40 AM)
Just called up. Sunway latest is this month. Still in time...  rclxms.gif
Are you studying in sunway now, joining sept intake?
jANe87
post Sep 10 2006, 03:53 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Sep 10 2006, 12:29 AM)

me also in big 4...but not in KL...erm..only peak period la..... no choice lo...u got to do also coz tight deadline...but its tiring la...but its very fast to go through...dun worry....ermm...what should i say....once u go through...then u will think...its nothing actually...my record was 4am... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif really really crazy!!!!
Wah..You have to work till the wee of the hours for how many days?
jANe87
post Sep 11 2006, 10:50 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(G[a]rY @ Sep 11 2006, 09:53 AM)
4am.. thats really bad for health... where got time for bf/gf then..??
peak period is how long..?? one week..?? one month..??
off-peak period ll be working in normal office hour rite..??

For fresh ACCA graduate, it is advisable to join big4 or other small small firm for the purpose of gaining experience...?? How bout those non-accounting company such as shell, dell, and bla bla bla....??
Ehh.. I think it all depends on yourself. If you want to join in the prestigous company later on and you think you are able to cope with the working environment there, then you can go to big 4 company...

If you dont want to overload your body, then you can choose to work in medium firm or small firm..But the big companies like shell prefer accountant who works in the big 4....

jANe87
post Sep 12 2006, 10:29 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(G[a]rY @ Sep 12 2006, 08:51 AM)
Hehe, my lecturer has just notify that i ll be receiving award for my CAT June 06.. Erm, althou just a m'sia CAT subject award, at least ll be the beginning of my success..  Huh, need to work more hard in part two, its much tougher... icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Congrats to you....
jANe87
post Sep 13 2006, 09:37 AM

43 posts

Anyone here works in the medium or small audit firm before?
jANe87
post Sep 19 2006, 09:35 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(allornothing @ Sep 18 2006, 12:42 PM)
Started my CAT today. Exams for P1 and P2 in December. Hope in 3 years I can graduate  smile.gif Yay..now I'm part of this thread
are you studying in sunway?
jANe87
post Oct 25 2006, 05:30 PM

43 posts

I would like to ask something.

If I get an OBU degree, am i qualified to study MBA?

Some of my friends said that those with a degree that is accriditated by LAN only eligible to study MBA,is it so?

jANe87
post Nov 1 2006, 03:13 PM

43 posts

If let say I want to take my CAT or ACCA exam in sunway, is there any possibility that ACCA will arrange other place for me to take the exam?
jANe87
post Nov 2 2006, 09:24 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Nov 1 2006, 06:04 PM)
:umm...u can choose sunway as exam centre,but the allocation is not guarantee...means if the seats are full,u will be relocated...

What if I am a sunway student? Is the allocation guarantee in this case?

0.0878sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:08 PM