broken laptop fan..., my dell laptop fan not moving d...

TStonyqcc
post Sep 13 2009, 02:56 PM, updated 17y ago

70 posts

hi guys.

my dell 1420 laptop's fan is not working anymore...... dunno why it just stop working suddenly, and automatically shut down my whole laptop without any notice sad.gif

last time also got this suddenly shut down problem, but the fan was still working (partially perhaps. sometimes can hear the fan 'boosting' sound)...

just now it shutted down again, and i could feel that its hotter than normal when i touched it... so i switched on again and noticed that the fan is no longer working...

haix~

just want to ask - roughly how much would it cost to repair and replace another fan? warranty finished d...

sorry cause im a noob here. smartass, please do not leave stupidly arrogant comments.

thanks.

tony.
TStonyqcc
post Sep 15 2009, 09:20 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(Arturia @ Sep 13 2009, 04:26 PM)
you'll have to RMA it back to the manufacturer. Only they will be able to quote you a price. Most probably should be a few hundred ringgit i think. unless the CPU is damaged too then thats a totally different ball game.

p/s: dont worry about stupidly arrogant comments. this forum is well moderated.
thanks for all your (i mean ALL of you guys here biggrin.gif ) comments... the short term solutions now is that i use my laptop only in air-cond room... plus table fan blowing and a cooler-like aluminum table...

thats what i can do temporarily... contacted Dell online staff for warranty renewal thingy since MONTHS ago but no respond from them at all... not any instruction given... anyway, i heard that if i want to renew the warranty, i will first need to send it over for them to inspect, repair and 'certified' for warranty extension (my warranty been dead for one year i guess), which means i need to pay them the whole sum of inspection fees, repair cost (if any) plus the warranty purchase money huh?

i believe that will cost me at least rm1k haha... ><

thanks for all your comments again... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

btw, that fan is moving again...... hmm.gif speechless~

tony...

p.s. well, i had such experiences of getting those stupid + arrogant comment, from a guy who commented lansi-ly for a noob question of mine... thats why im kinda worried (and frustrated i think) if such users would appear in this thread again... doh.gif

0.0154sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:52 AM