dARKaNGEl
post Dec 10 2009, 04:59 PM

Just another helping hand
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Ibanezer @ Dec 10 2009, 12:28 PM)
thx guys for the feedback..

darkangel,

mind let me know how much u did for the tinting? if its too pricey, i'll just get windscreen done with better brand, then the rest use normal tint.

thx.
Mine cost rm1800 for whole car and was given a free MedKlinn air cleaner

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Dec 10 2009, 01:20 PM)
i'm using ecotint raybarrier for my se
wah your se can travel 470km ? Mine the most is 330km only 95% city 5% highway, may i know which engine oil u use ?
That's was the best that I reached once. I was also suprised myself. On average, I get around 420km for a full tank. I'm now using Caltex Techron 95 all the time.
around 90% highway driving most of the time (LDP and ELITE, NKVE). Using Mobil S2000x2 semi syn oil.

This post has been edited by dARKaNGEl: Dec 10 2009, 05:01 PM
dARKaNGEl
post Dec 15 2009, 08:57 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Dec 15 2009, 06:46 PM)
my persona just finished warranty... now sending to normal workshop for servicing. using shell helix 5. engine is way way smoother compare to after servicing at service centre... i wonder what engine oil those eon use shakehead.gif
which SC you have been sending your car to?
the SC at mutiara damansara uses only Petronas Syntium 800. They don't even have a full syn oil Syntium 1000 wacko.gif

i want to try some other proton SC. anyone knows where got good ones which can bring own engine oil or at least have more engine oil to choose from?
dARKaNGEl
post Dec 16 2009, 08:22 AM

1,368 posts

any other SC in PJ area that uses non Synthium 800?
Serdang is quite far for me
dARKaNGEl
post Dec 16 2009, 11:32 AM

1,368 posts

why want the satria neo meter cluster? take the Persona SE one nicer tongue.gif
dARKaNGEl
post Dec 20 2009, 03:38 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(Ibanezer @ Dec 20 2009, 03:20 PM)
guys...  just started facing new problem...  think its a critical ones...  FYI mine auto however when ur driving u ca feel something is 'dragging' ur car, its likes somethings wrong with BRAKE system, anyone face such problem?

u can hear a slight brake squeeking sound when u shift to D, and u hav to constantly pressing on gas pedal, as it will auto brake itself quite noticebly as soon as u let go gas pedal. when on highway cruising, u hav to press hard or full rev >3K rpm in order to speed, which i think somethings wrong  wit brake. its HARD to go forward, wondering brake system can easily fix? sigh..

and when ur going for long distance driving u can even get slight burning smell (hangus). really worry about it.  any idea wats going on???

apart from that, i still think its a really good drive. cheers...
like that also you continue to drive?
should bring back to SC to rectify asap. definitely brake not releasing fully.
dARKaNGEl
post Dec 31 2009, 04:19 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 31 2009, 01:01 PM)
Jon I think it is worth your money to upgrade to full discs + ABS + EBD.  Recently I came back from Cameron towards Simpang Pulai and had the opportunity to test the brake systems.

The road winds down all the way down to the marble factories.

I was driving my full disc ABS+EBD equipped SE model quite fast about 90-100 kmh.  the brake system worked wonderfully at the sharp & winding corners.  Some corners are slippery with sandy areas.  I can almost feel the EBD kicking in and helping to distribute the braking action.

As much as I hate the Persona for its various quality issues I also love it for its comfort & great handling, comparable to more expensive marques.

Other people upgrade rims, spoilers & what not, more for ego & "shiok sendiri", why not upgrade your your safety for a change?
i also drove my SE to Cameron after getting the car less than 3 months. Drove up and down using the simpang pulai route. i must agree that the handling and braking of my car is good. can feel it especially coming downhill thumbup.gif . like you, i also drove quite fast down around the same speed as u. still remember there was a pick up truck following me all the way down

This post has been edited by dARKaNGEl: Dec 31 2009, 04:20 PM
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 3 2010, 03:42 PM

1,368 posts

My Persona SE managed to travel 485km on 1 full tank yesterday biggrin.gif

went to a colleague's wedding dinner yesterday in Menglembu. drove from Damansara, go pick up other colleagues in Taman Jaya LRT, then go back to Damansara toll, reach Tg. Malim pick another colleague makan2, then go Bidor makan again, then go Ipoh sesat a bit and round2 then stop to makan again. Finally go Menglembu. Finish dinner, go out from Simpang Pulai and back to Tg Malim drop colleague.
Right after drop him, my low fuel tank light lid up. I remember our Persona still have 8 litres of fuel when the low fuel indicator lights up. i get an average of 11km/l so 8 litres mean I can go another +-80km.
So, didn't bother to pump in Tg Malim and thought just pump at R&R area. Continue driving, all the way can't find big R&R with petrol station. Finally found an Esso in Sg Buloh jejantas stop. Usually pump caltex, but this time dun care and pump esso RM15. If dun have this Esso, surely will drive until no fuel d haha. was getting worried too tongue.gif

oh, my mileage now slightly above 15K km d. should i send for service or wait till 20K km? my last service was at 10K km.
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 4 2010, 09:01 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(@r3|4^2 @ Jan 4 2010, 12:07 PM)
wow drool.gif  your persona really fuel save.. mine could only get mostly 420KM (~80% highway driving..). duh..
420km is also the average distance i can get with 1 full tank during daily driving to and from work. I usually will try to not to drive when the low fuel indicator lights on for too long. So i reckon with the remaining fuel, should be easy to hit 450-470km in total. But better not risk finishing the fuel while driving as it's not good for engine haha

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jan 4 2010, 03:47 PM)
haha.. usually in plus very hard to find caltex station in plus highway  laugh.gif Last 2 months i went back to parit buntar, perak. Tried to fill up full tank till petrol coming out from the car  laugh.gif Reached there, then head to taiping. At that time, already clocked 380km with one bar left. Usually one bar i can estimate around 100km more to go for my car. But during on the way back, i race overtaking slower cars with my uncle's estima, basically was always red-lining the engine, and end up 420km before had to refill the petrol  doh.gif

I think still need to go for the normal service 15k one
i have gotten around 370km and still left 1 bar before too. but the last bar always go down much faster.. in the end can get only around 420km like you.
15K should go service? If not mistaken our persona only needs service every 10K km right, like a vios right? hmm.gif or is this a wrong info given by the service book and SC?
any problem if i only go service at 20K km?

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Jan 4 2010, 05:55 PM)
menglembu tong hoi? or mun cheong? auto can clock 485km is very impressive liao...
dunno what is tong hoi and mun cheong. if you're asking about the restaurant name, then it's East Ocean Restaurant i think. yeah, quite happy with the FC for this trip icon_rolleyes.gif
when going up, drive around 130-140. when coming back, it was raining most of the way and dark, so can only drive 90-120 at max. lucky i already changed my wipers, otherwise i think have to drive even slower due to heavy down pour at some area.
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 4 2010, 10:00 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(alt3ch @ Jan 4 2010, 09:40 PM)
420km on manual or auto? it will be great if that was auto...  cool2.gif
Auto smile.gif
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 5 2010, 10:53 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(alt3ch @ Jan 4 2010, 10:07 PM)
wth, i only get 300-330km for full tank only...what have u done to ur ride?
Nothing. No mod, all stock. Just that I using Mobil S2000 X2 Semi Syn oil and pumping Caltex always now. I find that Caltex gives my car a good balance of mileage, power and engine noise.
Follow the tyre pressure as indicated in the sticker on the driver's door area. 31psi on front and 28psi on rear tyres.

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jan 4 2010, 10:07 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif ..me auto most 300km-330km....highway 40%,city 60%...ur driving condtions?? hmm.gif
hrm.. can say 90-95% highway driving most of the time on LDP and ELITE. I usually like to cruise around 110-120 (if traffic permits) in LDP and in ELITE, i drive 140 most of the way. Once a while do some spirited driving, like overtaking and a bit hard accelaration after toll (rpm can go to 4k+-)

Usually drive alone, but if got go out lunch with colleagues, i will drive and will have 3 passengers normally. Other than that, if my GF around in KL, i will go out with her quite frequent also.

Now that I think about the recent trip, I actually managed to get 485km per tank with 4 adults in the car and little baggage in the but (biscuits, coffee, pamelo, shirt, shoe etc) thumbup.gif
Oh, and I used alot of the Cruise Control during the journey as well. Really comes in handy in long journey icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on January 5, 2010, 10:57 am
QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jan 4 2010, 10:57 PM)
that only happens when u engage N gear + handbrake released
If you put on D / N / P and pressing on the brake pedal, whenever a door closes, it will auto lock the doors.
If N / P and use hand brake without pressing the brake pedal, it wont auto lock.
I have tested many times to confirm this.

QUOTE(cbkhor @ Jan 5 2010, 12:13 AM)
Haha..have to be real careful...cuz this was already mentioned in car manual.  whistling.gif If not mistaken, it will auto lock itself 30 seconds after you come out from car.
The autolock after 30 seconds only happen if you unlock your car but not get in your car within the 30 seconds (as per written in the manual). then it will autolock. It does not autolock 30 seconds after you come out of car or stop the engine.
This also I have tested and confirmed.

This post has been edited by dARKaNGEl: Jan 5 2010, 10:57 AM
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 5 2010, 11:01 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jan 4 2010, 11:12 PM)
sweat.gif

then next time better wind down window when ur outside laugh.gif
to prevent myself getting lock out of the car (just in case if the autolock becomes gila) when i get down the car while engine is running, i will ensure my door doesn't get shut or i will actually wind down the window a bit so that my hand can still reach in if it really autolocks for no reason.
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 5 2010, 01:43 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(naley @ Jan 5 2010, 01:31 PM)
2 days ago is my bad day...my car cannot start at 7.30pm and i'm late to collect my ticket for chipmunk movie..i've called the proton i-care..but seem like they dont care bout me..the computer answering my call..so i have to go to the alamanda cinema with my friends...

yesterday in the morning about 8am, i call again the proton i-care..this time somebody take my call and once again i have to wait almost 2 hours b4 the technician came...fyi during the breakdown my car was at seri kembangan..so i follow the technician to the desa tun razak SC to repair my car..it took almost 6hours and i'm waiting for nothing..damn..send at 10am..only finished by 6pm..my car just 2 weeks old...what a bad day...

after checking by SC, my problem is the wiring system..2 weeks already have wiring prob...aiii....
sorry to hear that. don't really hear much about wiring problem. guess u must be one of the very few unlucky ones to encounter such problem with a new car.

dARKaNGEl
post Jan 5 2010, 06:05 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jan 5 2010, 04:04 PM)
During my service, i found out that my brake pads are not evenly used, right side 'makan' more  cry.gif  cry.gif  i'm sensing more money gonna fly soon if the disc or the brake piston got problem for the right side  cry.gif  cry.gif
I got myself a free oil filter since i'm a member. Here is the bill:

[attachmentid=1382824]

Wallet broken, I iz sad  cry.gif

But they gave me 2 ferarris for free:

[attachmentid=1382829]

I'm somewat happy  laugh.gif
instead of replace, mine was 'modified' since the sc told me the original iafm was a little too long that it was suppose to be. After that, my iafm never produce that sound anymore  thumbup.gif
ermmm... it is a metal-hitting-each-other sound that can be heard when you are going into an uneven road

On the other note, was u the one send an sms to The Star complaining about gardenia bread lol? saw ur thread in /k/
May I know which SC branch you went that uses Shell Helix engine oil and give u free ferraris?
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 7 2010, 01:47 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(yhanwong @ Jan 7 2010, 12:19 AM)
want to know bout your tinted.

as persona SE are come with tint from factory.
when you go apply 3M tint, you remove the current one? or you double tint?
remove the factory tint first before applying 3M. If double tint, then will become darker and thicker which may strain/stress the power window more. the factory tint is useless anyway. no effect at all...
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 7 2010, 11:34 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(yhanwong @ Jan 7 2010, 09:14 AM)
noted on the tint voucher.

maybe i didnt write clearly..  tongue.gif my bad... the warranty is refer to the car itself. not the tint.

the SA say total 7 years for the car.  5 + 2 (EWP)
any one can confirm this statement?
can't remember the number of years for the warranty. but i know it's indeed long because when i hear about it from my SA in the mutiara damansara branch, i was also suprised.
but in terms of mileage, the warranty covers up to 170K km if not mistaken. so which ever comes first, then the warranty period will end at that time.

you want the tint voucher? i sell to you for rm50 tongue.gif. I didn't use at all. They gave me the Cool World voucher. Decided to go elsewhere myself to tint 3M
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 12 2010, 01:50 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(alt3ch @ Jan 12 2010, 12:22 AM)
btw, just wanna to confirm issit the safetint come with h-line or se is to avoid the glass from crack? like if someone try to smack your glass to stole ur thing inside ur car, it can avoid the glass been broke. correct? or if accident, will protect the passenger as the glass wont broke into small pieces?
it comes with safetint? i only know it comes factory tinted... where you get that info from?

but if it is safetint, then yea, it should prevent the glass from being easily broken.
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 20 2010, 06:38 PM

1,368 posts

Finally today I got my Persona SE stock rims changed rclxm9.gif

Now using Enkei Tuning SC09 (Senz-2) 15x6.5, 8 holes 100/114.3, offset 38 with Hyper Black lock nuts and metal valves brows.gif

It weighs 7kg each while my stock SE rim weighs 8kg each (weighted it in the shop). I know this is not considered a light rim, but as long as it's lighter than the original ones, I'm happy. I'm attracted more to the design biggrin.gif

Bought from Kent of Kean Lee Hin tyre shop. Here's his URL in Automotive Garage Sales. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1041407
Good seller, recommended nod.gif

some pictures to share blush.gif

the offset 38 makes the wheels come out more to the arches, making it slightly more sporty cool2.gif

dARKaNGEl
post Jan 20 2010, 08:29 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jan 20 2010, 07:59 PM)
wah nice nice  drool.gif tonight i come ur house and "ahem ahem ahem"  tongue.gif  On the other note, the design almost share the similarity to the ori rim. When i look at the first glance, didnt notice u changed the rims until i read your writing  tongue.gif
I like simple design. want the disc brake to be visible tongue.gif . yeah, not too obvious, buy if i put the old rim and new rim side by side, you can see the differences.
old one, the color more dull and has 6 spokes. new one the color is brighter and shinier, got 7 spokes and the spokes are relatively thinner.

user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by dARKaNGEl: Jan 20 2010, 08:29 PM
dARKaNGEl
post Jan 21 2010, 12:34 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(naley @ Jan 20 2010, 08:50 PM)
did u trade in the ori rims?if not,how much do u want to sell?  flex.gif
sorry bro, I traded in the stock rims @rm350. Less hassle to sell by myself since I see in Mudah ppl also selling around this price. There's a person in Mudah that's selling the exact rims i had. here's the link http://www.mudah.my/1set-2nd-sport-rim-15-...ara-4690494.htm
I saved the link when i saw it smile.gif

QUOTE(ralf @ Jan 20 2010, 09:00 PM)
Congratulatios.. drool.gif
Thank you thank you laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Seeing it now makes me feel happy

dARKaNGEl
post Jan 21 2010, 11:14 AM

1,368 posts

Hand got itchy, did some photoshop tongue.gif