◙PROTON PERSONA◙ V6, our pride n joy

jasondotcom
post Feb 4 2010, 04:52 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(roiss @ Feb 4 2010, 04:10 PM)
Does anyone notice there's a slight engine pinging when picking up from standstill or during gear change especially during hot days? I'm using RON 97 BTW.
Yes i experienced it too... i think the engine timing is set a little too advanced. But seriously, its pretty safe and ok still.

I am using Ron95 ever since i got the car. Been using Ron92 (before the new petrol came) for many many years on my previous cars namely pajero 2.6 litres petrol version, civic, wira and myvi 1.3 auto.
jasondotcom
post Feb 4 2010, 05:14 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(mafarizan @ Feb 4 2010, 04:43 PM)
Actualy my sc refuse to install that valve.. He said the problem will not 100% solves.
Shelby.. please put some pictures for the valve and the exactly location..

Added on February 4, 2010, 4:44 pm
Actualy my sc refuse to install that valve.. He said the problem will not 100% solves.
Shelby.. please put some pictures for the valve and the exactly location..
If they refuse, just buy the damn valve from them it costs RM3 something ONLY. and bring it to outside mech and have it installed. Like i said earlier and again...... it solves about 90% of the sound. Another say 10% of the sound still exist but only under rare conditions which is hard to explain in words. But i would say, under normal everyday driving, the sound is almost unheard off. Yes its not 100% solved but it really really really really make the sound go away under normal everyday driving............................

Exact location where to put the valve? Again.......
open ur engine hood.
While facing the engine from front...
Look left and find the power steering fluid tank.
Now notice that there is 2 rubber hoses going in and out the tank?
Now, see the hose connecting tot he side of the tank. That is where u should place the valve. INSIDE the hose. Soo.....
You need to suck out the fluids by any means.... or rather drain the fluids.
next, plug out that hose i mentioned earlier and fit the valve into it.

reverse install everything back accordingly....

ill take photos of the area and post it up later...

This post has been edited by jasondotcom: Feb 4 2010, 05:15 PM
jasondotcom
post Feb 6 2010, 09:57 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(shelby_yong @ Feb 5 2010, 11:09 PM)
if not mistaken watm 170 gua.. foget jor.. engine oil rm 100+ spark plug rm 30+ and collant forget wat price

Added on February 5, 2010, 11:10 pm
ecu tuning??
for wat de woo.. actually proton banyak pattern la... setting here and there... in lynn forum.. ther is a guy myvi.. after using x1r... his car broken
Persona's ECU can be retuned?
jasondotcom
post Feb 8 2010, 11:46 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(necromencer @ Feb 8 2010, 03:04 PM)
Upgrade for last weekend:-

The Drum set has been taken out

The Drum

Disc & Caliper from Satria Neo

Really improved the brake after changing from drum to disc

And this has been done at Drex's place last 2 months.
Slotted Disc Rotor:
Hi dude... urs is B line or M line??? Because i noticed that B line is using 1.3 litre version master brake pump... M line if not mistaken is also using 1.3 litre version master brake pump as well rite?

jasondotcom
post Feb 9 2010, 08:32 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

To necromencer:

Referring to the post link below
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=31787324

And how much does the rear Neo disc brake set cost u?
jasondotcom
post Feb 9 2010, 04:05 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(necromencer @ Feb 9 2010, 09:55 AM)
Disc=600,Handbrake Cables(pair)=100,Installation+Brake Oil=120.
Total=820.
I'm more concern about safety. You know what i mean??
Persona B&M-line is not good enough! Still using std abs.
Mine was M-line. Yeah it's true that Persona with non-ABS Which is B & M-line model come with
1.3 Servo from Gen2 1.3. I change ady to Mit. evo 3 Servo.
It's improve disc together wif improve brake pad for front!
Rear using Satri Neo disc.
Neo disc complete with arms=600.
Thanks for the replies dude. I appreciated it.

Added on February 9, 2010, 4:37 pm
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Feb 9 2010, 12:39 PM)
uiks, u also kena the same thing?  blink.gif  I wonder those that had changed the brake pads before kena the same, like heavy-mileage owners like bro ralf, jon, and loong

Oh yea, i complain to my sc about the famous clunking noise. They said got the valve to solve it. I asked the price, they said free since still under warranty?  blink.gif  how come the rest of the members that already changed the valve kena pay wor.....
i didnt pay for the valve..... its under warranty. and btw, it costs around RM3 something if u wanna donate money. tongue.gif

Added on February 9, 2010, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Feb 9 2010, 12:02 PM)
chill bro, i have no bad intention  wink.gif  Just wondering if u made an upgrade to your heart of the braking system, which will make use all the 4 disc brakes when braking. I saw u said u changed to the mitsu servo, is that the one that will control all the 4 disc pistons? I bet most of the guys here interested in getting the rear disc installed also  nod.gif
Ok, just checked with the sc, they said confirm brake pad habis. They want to charge me to change the oem brake pads + installation = RM 380!! (RM350 + RM30)  rclxub.gif

I said wait, do it later, then i ran away to the nearby spare part shop and bought this Bendix Metal King Titanium for rm130 So far it felt very spongy than the original brake pad. Maybe still new?  icon_question.gif

[attachmentid=1441725]

[attachmentid=1441727]

[attachmentid=1441733]

So far the sound didnt come back *prays hards* U can see from the picture below that my brake pads on the right tyre usage is not even at all with the left side  rclxub.gif

[attachmentid=1441737]
Bendix Metal King Titanium pads are really nice grippy pads. Mb i will review some below but was on my ex MyVi.

Bendix Metal King Titanium pads (Black) - Works immediately out of the box without much bedding in. Initial braking really squeals like crazy but after bout 100KM distance its okay. And then it gets more and more better as time goes by when running in. Good grip during heavy frequent braking. Brake dust... is moderate.

Tron Metallic Ceramic pads (Green) - Now these pads are the best pads (budget) i have ever used. They really bite like crazy and works even far better when its heated up. The hotter it gets the more grip it has. I enjoy using these pads. Brake dust is ..... really damn kao heavy. Heavier than stock Persona pads i tell u. But the performance was well worth it.

Trestor Advantage (Blue) - These pads have good grip / bite as well. Good pedal feel etc. Brake dust is more less like Bendix metal king titanium pads. It squeals at low temperatures most of the time... but not loud.

Trestor two star (Black) - Slightly less bite than Advantage version. Brake dust is quite minimal. No noise.

Braking performance:

1. Tron Metallic Ceramic pads
2. Bendix Metal King Titanium
3. Trestor Advantage
4. Trestor two star.

And yes, Persona's original pads are pieces of SHIT..... really lacking of bite. And well overpriced. Crazy........

This post has been edited by jasondotcom: Feb 9 2010, 05:17 PM
jasondotcom
post Feb 20 2010, 09:38 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(mazda626 @ Feb 19 2010, 11:23 PM)
Yup but do check in the early morning, just to be sure. Don't trust the technician too unless if he is your good buddy or brother.

My stylo 75% engine oil + gear oil - and used MobilOne Gold 4 engine oil & fully sentitic 4 gear oil.

And DON'T wash your engine....(no matter what or even the washman guy claims he is the expert in washing engine) just used high air pressure spray 2 clean your engine. Then your engine will okay.

Added on February 19, 2010, 11:29 pm

My personal opinion = yes, to maintain it 4 long term.
yes. i never believe in washing car engines anyways.... at least for the current cars nowadays equipped with loads of electronics / wirings / sensors / connectors etc etc in the engine bay.... unlike in the olden days whereby its all mechanical power!

If want a clean engine bay, just use a damp cloth and mb some grease / dirt solvents to clean by hand... that's what i always do.
jasondotcom
post Feb 23 2010, 08:33 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(fonda82 @ Feb 22 2010, 02:27 PM)
jz went to tmn midah sc to solve the 'kluk kluk' sound.. surprisingly they jz add a orifice valve into the power steering oil tank.. then feel like the sound gone..  blink.gif
sumore my brake pad burnt out after a round from genting.. wtf they supply such cheapalak brake pad.. ask the technician n it cost bout rm300++.. terus cabut.. luckily dat day bought a ceramic nao brake pad from a forumer n change outside.. brake still new but can felt the gripping is better den original..
CORRECTION: Not into the power steering oil tank. It is into the rubber hose located at the side of the power steering tank.
jasondotcom
post Feb 23 2010, 08:52 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Feb 23 2010, 08:43 AM)
super steep road?..perhaps downhill? brows.gif
Turbo / super charged perhaps. drool.gif

0.0534sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:00 PM