◙PROTON PERSONA◙ V6, our pride n joy

ipohmali70
post Oct 30 2009, 12:18 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(onlyforthecars @ Oct 29 2009, 11:58 PM)
Thank you very much for your input. Since jump starting my car this morning, it has been running fine until now. But if the battery drains again I'll have no choice but to go battery hunting. I totally agree with you 2Fast2Furious on the point that SC will slaughter us for consumable parts. For e.g. an SC once tried to sell me Bosch brake pads for RM350/pair and I don't think it is even the one that is made in Germany as I couldn't see any 'Made in Germany' sign. Rather I think it is the local OEM manufactured one. In my opinion, I agree with loong2020 that a wet cell is better because the wet cell in my previous car which was a Wira gave me no problems for about 3 years. Or is it just that the stock dry cell that is provided with our personas are super low grade and short lifespan?

Anyway thank you once again for all your input. It is very valuable. Goodnight.
That's why Proton SC = Proton SCammer. Selling stuff for way way way above market value. I do not mind if they sell say 5% above market value just to justify their "official" status, bu c'mon laaaa..... Bosch OEM brake pad at 350/pair???

ipohmali70
post Oct 30 2009, 12:52 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Oct 30 2009, 12:45 PM)
most of us brothers here pump rm60-68 only for full tank. hv yet to reach 70 bucks and above..
From the moment the low fuel waring come on, I cannot pump more than RM65 @ 1.80 in my SE, otherwise the fuel will spill out. Usually RM60.00 only.

ipohmali70
post Oct 30 2009, 07:08 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(onlyforthecars @ Oct 30 2009, 02:36 PM)
Yea. Totally agreed. And apparently I heard that regular service (oil change, oil filter change) only costs about RM 30 for labour at regular mechanics (do correct me if I wrong) but proton SC charging RM 50++. We are paying all these premiums just because of the warranty. That is why I am not going to purchase consumables from them (non-warranty covered items such as brake pads, batteries, wiper blades etc etc). We should also start a list of places where cheap consumables can be sourced so that other forummers can benefit. You guys game?
My Ah Beng workshop charge only RM10.00 for oil & filter change. Proton SCammer charge RM60.00 if not mistaken.

ipohmali70
post Oct 31 2009, 03:02 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(alt3ch @ Oct 30 2009, 11:44 PM)
Thanks for the info, btw what is the magnatrap for? benefit from this magnatrap?
Magnatrap???? I call it Magna Crap!

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=89017

Added on October 31, 2009, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Oct 30 2009, 11:56 PM)
for me....i service at 3rd party after 15000km....its much cheaper and my mechanic charge labour rm10 or sometime buy stuff from him...no labour charge.....but once u service at 3rd party..ur warranty will void....its up to you...but thank god,my car everything is allright...no problem which all minor minor solve during 1st 3 service....this 2years of usage everything still new.... brows.gif
Wahhhh.... you lucky laaaa.. My Proton Problema SE is best by problem after problems

1k service - oil overfill, filter leak, all famous noise unsolved
5k service - again oil overfill, filter leak, all famous noises unsolved
10k service, check oil no overfill, but still oil leak, settled lower arm "kok" sound only, all other noises unsolved.
12k service (at Ah Beng), changed oil and oil filter - leak settled.

now at 15k, existing noise:
1. air-con rattling noise
2. right hand Problema trademark "klunking noise"

new noise, random "tick-tick" sound from dash
new problem, "-" button on steering functions as pause button.

now waiting for more noises and problems to show themselves

Still at the Proton SCammer, I must thank them so far for not using the famous proton slogan "Itu biasalaaa...."

mad.gif

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Oct 31 2009, 03:15 PM
ipohmali70
post Oct 31 2009, 03:47 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(GibsonBFG @ Oct 31 2009, 03:18 PM)
Yes Its sad...... Others may tell me if you're so fed up with your Proton Problema then you go buy a Toyota lah!

OK if they're willing to sponsor the additional 20-30k why not????

This is what I get for supporting Buatan Malaysia.

A good car let down by really lousy quality!

ipohmali70
post Nov 3 2009, 11:31 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(bryanwong3 @ Nov 2 2009, 11:45 PM)
so, i've just got my ride! driving on 1st day, some probs as mentioned earlier came out:
1. air-con rattling sound  unsure.gif
2. wiper wash - no water come out  doh.gif
3. loud kluk-kluk sound came out from right hand tyre (is it the lower arm??) during turning up and down on multi-storey carpark. This is so unacceptable!! the sound sounds very scary.. is like the arm going to break!!  mad.gif
4. confirmed with the the SC that the safety belt signal will not blink.. only applicable for perdana, but i wonder y they still put the icon there. i tot perdana meter is different.  wink.gif

the rest unknown.. still hope nothing more else will appear!  whistling.gif
Congrats on getting your new Proton Problema. Let us know if the Proton SCammer can settle the problems.

Before you go there,wait for the other problems to appear.

- Poor radio reception
- "kok" sound from lower arm
- squeaks from the back (if folding seat)
- steering wheel radio buttons on HL and SE (Shit Edition)

ipohmali70
post Nov 4 2009, 11:39 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(batwing @ Nov 4 2009, 10:31 PM)
hahahaha =) got the answer myself.. Persona Enhancement coming out next year February.. Got side mirror signal, LED rear light, 4 reverse sensors, CPS maybe.. Cant wait dy =)
I'd prefer they settle the famous klunking sound rather than coming out with the "enhancement" model. Or will the enhancement model will have more noises?

Today as I was driving my mute button on my Problema SE function also as a volume increase button. The volume decrease button remains a as a mute button.

Siggghhhh... what's next?

vmad.gif
ipohmali70
post Nov 5 2009, 11:11 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Nov 5 2009, 07:01 AM)
Do you tint your windows? Coz from what I've heard, excessive heat can make the buttons malfunction. My car so far touch wood still functions properly despite being parked under the sun everyday. I have 99% UV and 70% IR filters.
Tinted. Spent 1.1k on films all round.

ipohmali70
post Nov 6 2009, 03:48 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(hwchua @ Nov 6 2009, 03:27 PM)
My car battery going to die soon, if i change it at other place none SC so will it affect the warranty. Any advised.
Absolutely no!

Added on November 6, 2009, 3:52 pm
QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 4 2009, 11:39 PM)
I'd prefer they settle the famous klunking sound rather than coming out with the "enhancement" model.  Or will the enhancement model will have more noises?

Today as I was driving my mute button on my Problema SE function also as a volume increase button.  The volume decrease button remains a as a mute button.

Siggghhhh... what's next?

vmad.gif
Bad news today!

Another funny noise detected. This time from the door. And my Proton Problema SE only 6 months old.

Sighhhh!!!

Now total 3 types of funny noises.

Is my car haunted or what?? Any bomohs here?

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Nov 6 2009, 03:52 PM
ipohmali70
post Nov 6 2009, 04:21 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Nov 6 2009, 03:55 PM)
I just realised that my master brake pump in my persona is from 1.3L version? WTH?  I forgot to snap a photo of it. Later i upload...

It has a sticker stuck to it stating 1.3L
Wahhhhh!!!! Lai dat oso can ah????

Though so far I have no probs with my brakes but I'm sure it wouldnt hurt for me to go check mine too!

ipohmali70
post Nov 9 2009, 09:27 PM

1,133 posts

Went to SC this afternoon to fix 4 problems under warranty. I get the car only tomorrow.

Also someone has been asking whether the keyhole light can be made to illuminate. I asked SC and I can confirm that it cannot be made to illuminate.

Added on November 9, 2009, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(AremyrZ @ Nov 9 2009, 01:52 PM)
magically, problem no.2 solved by itself (after 2 days of intense cursing)...u guys should try it, curse the car non-stop, maybe it will get intimidated and stop giving u problem  tongue.gif
Item 1 - Poor design

Items 2 n 3 - Poor quality control.

Y'know those multicolor stickers they put all over the dashboard and th ecar frame. I wonder if they just put it on "one eye closed" style OR if they really really check for defects before putting on the stickers?

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Nov 9 2009, 09:43 PM
ipohmali70
post Nov 11 2009, 10:37 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 9 2009, 09:27 PM)
Went to SC this afternoon to fix 4 problems under warranty.  I get the car only tomorrow.

Also someone has been asking whether the keyhole light can be made to illuminate.  I asked SC and I can confirm that it cannot be made to illuminate.

Got the car back yesterday

This was my original problems:

1. Famous Persona klunking noise
2. Famous aircon rattling noise
3. Radio buttons on steering gone haywire
4. New tick tick sound (from steering column perhaps?)

Here are the results after a few hours of test drivings

1. 99% settled. Extremely minor (or was it my imagination?) klunking noise while cornering
2. 90% setlled. The rattling till today cannot hear but the annoying click still there though less frequent
3. 100% settled. Back to normal. Dunno when it will fail again.
4. 0% settled. Tick tick tick tick as usual. Can't seem to find the blardy source!

ipohmali70
post Nov 12 2009, 05:24 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 11 2009, 10:37 PM)
Got the car back yesterday

This was my original problems:

1.  Famous Persona klunking noise
2.  Famous aircon rattling noise
3.  Radio buttons on steering gone haywire
4.  New tick tick sound (from steering column perhaps?)

Here are the results after a few hours of test drivings

1.  99% settled.  Extremely minor (or was it my imagination?) klunking noise while cornering
2.  90% setlled.  The rattling till today cannot hear but the annoying click still there though less frequent
3.  100% settled.  Back to normal.  Dunno when it will fail again.
4.  0% settled.  Tick tick tick tick as usual.  Can't seem to find the blardy source!
Thanks for asking guys. Unfortunately when I collected my car the foreman was nowhere to be found, much to my disappointment, so I am unable to know how he solved it.

But I did ask him to open the blower and remove whatever foreign object there is. Or perhaps some nut and washer was loose and need tightening.

I 'm crossing my fingers but I'm expecting some of the noises will come back soon, perhaps with new noises along too.

ipohmali70
post Nov 12 2009, 06:19 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(farghmee @ Nov 12 2009, 05:59 PM)
maybe it's the persona facelift?

new 32-bit ecu.
new rain & light sensors.
WTF??
New 32 bit ecu?
New rain & light sensors, you say?

Here's what my crystal ball tells me:

The ecu will screw up in the 1st month. Nope its not the battery fault but due to unproven design. The engine won't start and and the SC will say no stock (favourite excuse) The rain & light sensor will also kaput within 2 months. Apparently the Proton engineers didn't take into the heavy rainfall in this county and thus the accumulated water in the sensor got dirty and stagnant and then the sensor will fail. You will find that you cannot manually activate the wiper at all. Neither can you activate the headlights manually because they have taken out the manual controls for that. Imagine when its dark and rainy and you have neither lights or wipers. Remember when Wira had the intermittent wipers but now its not on the Persona? Also, remember a simple Wira also had the lighted keyhole but it also not available on the Persona, a Wira replacement?

Call me pessimist if you like but after 6 months of tahaning the wonderful noises from my new Persona (or Problema) I've come to expect very little from a company that still needs to be propped up by my tax money, AFTER 24 years!

If you had spent a million on your 24 yr old kid's upbringing and education and he still ask you for pocket money, what do you do?

Gtfo!

ipohmali70
post Nov 13 2009, 11:31 PM

1,133 posts

Guess what peeps! Now my roof light gone haywire. It can be set at OFF and it can be set at ON but it can't be set at DOOR.

SHEESH!!!

ipohmali70
post Dec 26 2009, 12:26 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(beemc @ Dec 24 2009, 12:37 PM)
hey guys, i went for my 10000km service today...it cost me about rm200 in total...>.<... and the most stupid thing that they charged me in the receipt is the MAGNETRAP... actually they recommended me this magnetrap thingy on my 1000km service, but i rejected it since i dun think this product will help much in the oil filtration... but this time, they jz install it in my car without my notice and charge me for it...it cost around rm60~ before they service my car, they only inform me that they will change the usual stuff and use semi-synthetic oil...>.<... feel like kena con~
You should've read this first:

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=89017

Added on December 26, 2009, 12:44 pmAnyone have their Persona's IAFM replaced?

I am taking my car off the SC services and will continue to service outside.

By this I expect to lose the warranty but will save a WHOLE LOT of money and precious TIME for each service besides not risk getting conned by SC. (I was charged RM115 for labour for my last 20k service while outside: only RM40.00).

Any idea how much does it cost for the whole IAFM thingamajic to be replaced outside of warranty? I am waiting for it to konk out soon.

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Dec 26 2009, 12:44 PM
ipohmali70
post Dec 27 2009, 06:09 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(beemc @ Dec 26 2009, 01:28 PM)
wow... rm115 for labour ONLY?! O.O... i tot only rm70+ for labour... can i know what u hav changed for the 20000km service? thanks:)
Oh yes forgot to mention:

Labour is for:
To install new spark plugs
To change engine oil (which I brought myself)
To change auto oil
That's all...

They took 2 & a half hours for the whole job while my regular Ah Beng takes max only 30 mins.

For this I get charged RM115.00!! If that is not daylight robbery I don't know what is....

ipohmali70
post Dec 29 2009, 12:04 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Dec 28 2009, 05:09 PM)
and my car just hit 20k mileage today at 2 year and 2 month old icon_rolleyes.gif
going for 4th major service soon...
how much for the labour cost? i read last few pg labour cost rm70-rm100 shocking.gif

Was robbed of RM115 for labour only
ipohmali70
post Dec 31 2009, 01:01 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Dec 31 2009, 11:05 AM)
izzit a good idea to change the rear drum brakes to disc?

i worry cuz mine is base line + no abs cry.gif
Jon I think it is worth your money to upgrade to full discs + ABS + EBD. Recently I came back from Cameron towards Simpang Pulai and had the opportunity to test the brake systems.

The road winds down all the way down to the marble factories.

I was driving my full disc ABS+EBD equipped SE model quite fast about 90-100 kmh. the brake system worked wonderfully at the sharp & winding corners. Some corners are slippery with sandy areas. I can almost feel the EBD kicking in and helping to distribute the braking action.

As much as I hate the Persona for its various quality issues I also love it for its comfort & great handling, comparable to more expensive marques.

Other people upgrade rims, spoilers & what not, more for ego & "shiok sendiri", why not upgrade your your safety for a change?

ipohmali70
post Dec 31 2009, 02:15 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(dantwt @ Dec 31 2009, 01:25 PM)
1. But upgrading to full disc/ABS/EBD will certainly take u off the warranty list.

Do consider that before deciding.

2.  Also, what would be the cost of installing these?
1. Not if done by SC

2. Not as expensive as your life & lives of your loved ones

If there is 1 thing I have learned in my 20 years of driving is that never to skimp on safety stuff such as tyres & brakes.

Trust me, its worth it...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0574sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:21 AM