How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

rakyat
post Sep 11 2009, 10:44 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Sep 11 2009, 10:21 AM)
If you have 220k in FD why not pay back your loans to save on the interest? The miserly interest from FD won't be more than the interest you're incurring from the loans.
My exect sentiment..... or use big part of the $$$ to invest in higher yield vehicles. But the most logical move is to clear your existing liabilities 1st
rakyat
post Sep 11 2009, 02:01 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(jeff_ckf @ Sep 11 2009, 01:30 PM)
Very rich friends you have there  blush.gif 36 months of saving and investing coming out with 300K  notworthy.gif
Rich parents kuah..... lets get real in M'sia nobody makes RM300k during their 1st 3 yrs of working (put things in perspective - the starting pay of an engineer is RM3k)
rakyat
post Jan 26 2011, 03:17 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

How come sooo many high networth ppl around lyn??? Sumore dunno bout private bankers or wealth mgmt???
I never heard of businessmen with lotsa epf nor 20+ yrs old with lotsa epf??? hmm.gif

I think bankers will contact u personally (like visit u in your office/ home)to offer wealth mgmt services if u have RM500k in your account or draw salary of RM50k per month

This post has been edited by rakyat: Jan 26 2011, 03:20 PM
rakyat
post Jan 27 2011, 02:50 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Jan 27 2011, 12:12 PM)
Maybe high salary earners? Like CEO? or General Manager?We will never know. biggrin.gif
CEO or GM within 3 years!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif Like I said, if really CEO or GM means got steady & fixed income in bank account. The private banking or gold-club or priority banking department would have been red-flagged and some1 would have contacted him.

Put it this way, I earn bout 15% to 20% what he is allerge to pull in and I have been invited.

This post has been edited by rakyat: Jan 27 2011, 02:54 PM
rakyat
post Jan 27 2011, 02:59 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(groggy @ Jan 27 2011, 02:48 PM)
I don't know what is the commodities 2m. Ignoring that, you have 5m. Even if deduct 2m for education, you have 3m. 8 years left to 56 yr old. If save 200k per year, will get another 2m. Minimum 5m by 56 yr old. Even if earn 5% on it also got 250k. Yes, you can retire by 56 yo. But I am sure you already know that. tongue.gif
If u pull in RM350k per yr it is really difficult to give it up (assuming you r a salaryman).

Unless u have an alternate income source i.e. business or passive income, most ppl will continue until 'forced out'. In fact most will retire at 55 yo and then come back under contract coz the money is too good thumbup.gif

The other guy with a business (126126) generating RM700k profit and thinkin of retirement at 35 yo rclxub.gif If u have a business what retirement u talking bout? Sell out/ cash out? U feel money taste bland oredi-ah? doh.gif

BTW RM700k profit @ 35 yo wow!!! U r doing better then some public listed company infact I would not be suprise that u r nominated to be young entrepreneur of the year. Waitaminute u r one of the top developer's children interviewed by the Edge recently notworthy.gif Hopefully u were not the stupid sounding 1 whistling.gif

This post has been edited by rakyat: Jan 27 2011, 03:09 PM
rakyat
post Jan 28 2011, 08:54 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Jan 27 2011, 03:57 PM)
Actually earning 700K per annum is consider Ok in Malaysia.

My ex-roommate during University time which is an IT geek currently earning RM1-2 million per month. Currently, he owned 11 properties which is some located at NZ & Australia; also he owned 7 cars  ie: BMW X6, Lambo Murci, Porsche Panamera, Hummer H3 etc. He is only 29 years old this year.

Too Bad, he is in illegal business so currently he is busy entertaining all the "Declaration" Letter from LHDN, Bank Negara & recently Kementerian Hal-Ehwal Dalam Negeri also want to belanja him drink coffee at their Putrajaya office.
Pls tell us more. Your x-roomie very keng. He got take care of u or not? Mayb give u some franchise?

Added on January 28, 2011, 9:02 am
QUOTE(126126 @ Jan 27 2011, 03:20 PM)

Added on January 27, 2011, 3:33 pm

Dont be so sour bro. Wait till you meet those founders of those start-ups techies who listed their counters in Mesdaq during the boom time few years back. Read up on their prospectus. You will know how much they make even after creative accounting.

If I am top dev's children, you think i will be bothered with how much i make? I would simply just wait for my inheritance.
No-la not sour......

On the contrary I build my career advising SMI/SME on how to hedge their business risk. I oso count on some of the PLC as my clientele. My hobby is oso to analyse PLC track record and accounts.

That is why I'm abit skeptical bout a 35 yo RM700k earner that no-1 in the corporate world heard (no private banker???) of asking for money advise from a social network forum.

This post has been edited by rakyat: Jan 28 2011, 09:02 AM
rakyat
post Mar 1 2011, 01:51 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(johnrck99 @ Mar 1 2011, 12:24 PM)
Currently no other investment plan due to history, lost too much in stock so no more guts..
So all money keep in FD only.
My car interest is only 2.7% while my FD is about 3+%  (depending on tenure etc) so I rather put in the bank than to pay off the car.

Do you see my point?
Car loan interest of 2.7% is not effective rate, more like 4.X% as interest is calculated on total loan amt as oppose to reducing amt. Hence u r better off paying off your car loan then keeping in FD.

BTW, ur GF really lucky.... must be 'model like' for u to sayang so much!!!!

Added on March 1, 2011, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 1 2011, 01:38 PM)
ptptn 120k
car 60k
margin call 30k

total -210k
Top up your margin, might have chance to break-even or even abit profit within this week wink.gif

Forget bout ptptn, there is no penalty or late charges. Treat it as long term loan since the interest rate is lower then housing loan (is it 4%???)

This post has been edited by rakyat: Mar 1 2011, 01:54 PM
rakyat
post Mar 3 2011, 10:06 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(johnrck99 @ Mar 3 2011, 09:28 AM)
Housing Loan: BLR-2%

Added on March 3, 2011, 9:29 am
@rakyat,

Errr.... how do i calculate to get a 4.x% effective rate? thanks
In simple terms - auto loan calculate the interest on the total loan amount muiltiplied by the tenure of the loan. The interest amount does not amortise to the remaining or o/s principle amount. Interest amount for the 1st installment is the same as the interest amount for the final installement. Auto loan interest of 2% in actual fact (effective interest rate) is 4% or 6% depending on the tenure (longer = higher effective interest rate)

HL interest is calculated on the remaining or o/s principle amount. Every progressive installment, interest amount will be lower (as principle amount is reduced)

rakyat
post Mar 3 2011, 01:20 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(wee1030 @ Mar 3 2011, 12:02 PM)
Ladies and Gentlemen, member of the press,

Mutual fund : rm7k (but it nvr moves)
Debt:
creadit card : RM3000
Cash in hand
<RM2k
The thing is....every month I am suffering to secure my cash outflow...

pls save me! I think I going broke soon !!!
1st order of business, clear off your creditcard (18% interest) with ur cash in hand (-2% inflation)

I really respect young ppl nowadays, relatively poor but can buy car for girlfriends!!! No wonder when I was young cannot get girlfriends coz I too stingy doh.gif

This post has been edited by rakyat: Mar 3 2011, 01:21 PM
rakyat
post Mar 4 2011, 10:21 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(wee1030 @ Mar 3 2011, 03:51 PM)
Thanks for advise man! BTW...how do you think if I have an amount of 30k cash on hands? (after clear the card outstanding)
1. put in housing loan acc to save interest (interest rate now is 4.1%)
2. put in FD (most goes t0 3.5-3.7%)
3. pay the car loan (no interest saved as car loan interest is compunded from initially how much you borrow)
4. Amanah saham?? (I do not have acc...but plan to have one)
5. Share ??
6. Mutual fund ?? <--- this i do not think i will try it again... my 7k...=.=lll

haha...
Forget bout your car loan (its actually a lease since the interest amt remain constant) it is a mistake u have to live with i.e. you do not save much by early settlement.

FD rates r lower then 'real inflation'; don't tell me u believe the crap bout 2.2% inflation? Check out petrol, hawker price & housing mad.gif

ASN - your name indicates that u r not eligible except for the non-bumi portion which give relatively lower returns and got quota (normally sold out oredi) but if got xtra cash and can get without q'ing then okay I guess.

Housing loan - should be the best bet; 4.1% does not look like much but using an amortisation table and look at how much saving RM30k bullet payment will mean to a 30 year loan!!! Close to RM60k? Plus u can withdraw the excess payment in case of emergency (assuming you opt for flexi or semi-flexi loan)

Shares - abit risky for noobie but potentially high returns

Added on March 4, 2011, 10:25 am
QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 3 2011, 01:28 PM)
You are clearly living beyond your means.

Dump your g/f... even if she looks like Claudia Shicffer, still dump her. She is eating your finances alive. Put it another way... you cannot afford to have a g/f or wife.

You have to let us know what is your inflow (salary or equivalent) and the total monthly outflow (fixed overhead).

Xuzen
Bro, U only live once - if look like Claudia then very worth it!!!! Heck, I will surrender my whole monthly paycheck to her (at least for a few months, after bored oredi then AA or highway whistling.gif )

Added on March 4, 2011, 10:27 am
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 3 2011, 03:41 PM)
i'm thinking what you mean by unstable job? you mean the salary is unstable or the job is unstable? I do believe if your gf is starting to draw salary, she should contribute to the car loan. Personally, I cannot brain that wait till her job to stable then only repay back. I mean if she suddenly has a huge debt to settle then I can understand. But job unstability is what? Hmmm....A-A system is a must even you're married. Just occasionally you pay la.

That my friend is the secret to a long & blissfull married life

This post has been edited by rakyat: Mar 4 2011, 10:27 AM

0.0875sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:31 AM