How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

michaelchang
post Jan 4 2023, 03:19 PM

916 posts

Net worth "unknown"

Monthly income from interest in banks in several country = RM$18,000+/-/ month

Currently retired.

Zero debts, zero loans

michaelchang
post May 31 2023, 10:14 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(ichigo kawasaki @ May 31 2023, 10:06 PM)
In Malaysia, you just need RM2.2m in wealth to join top ‘one-percenter’ club unlike Singapore’s RM16.1m
That is quite low. At least 40% of Singaporean have RM$2.2m in wealth

michaelchang
post May 31 2023, 10:41 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 31 2023, 10:22 PM)
hence singaporeans should retire in malaysia... their spending power suddenly multiply by 7 times overnight by just taking this step.

Especially true for those who were previously Malaysians...  biggrin.gif
Government should revive the old MM2H program to attract retirement in Malaysia as this will boost the economy

The last idiotic changes to MM2H program were meant to destroy Malaysian economy
michaelchang
post Aug 12 2023, 02:59 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 12 2023, 06:01 AM)
I tried living in KL, and it costs around 2.5k comfortably, nothing fancy for monthly expenses.
If this is your budget, you are missing out the most important thing: medical insurance! One bad medical disaster like cancer could wipe out entire savings in a few years.

Never neglect medical insurance for those already retired. Always find ways to preserved your retirement capital
michaelchang
post Aug 13 2023, 12:59 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Aug 12 2023, 03:36 PM)
how much should one budget pm for medical insurance?
Depends on your age but if retired, usually around $600-700/month for $2 million coverage/year (if used up, next year will have another $2 million)

one admission to private hospital for cancer ranges from $35K-$60K
michaelchang
post Aug 13 2023, 03:27 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Aug 13 2023, 02:57 PM)
so doesn't this mean early retirement/financial independence is possible with medical insurance covered?
cos the way you mentioned was as if 2.5K is not enough to cover medical insurance.
(I guess we can just change 2.5K pm to 3.0K pm then)
I retired at 50, without food n shopping my monthly expenses are approx $2000 (medical insurance, car insurance + maintenance, road tax, petrol, condo maintenance, phone, internet and electric/water. I doubt $3,000 will be enough unless u everyday eat at home and don't do any shopping.

If u have enough funds, early retirement are very possible but you will need at least $10K/month because without working, you have a lot of free time to spend $$. (eat out, holiday n shopping)

Then you will also need buffer against inflation in the future, I would say $15K/month will be a good figure if want to retire early and must have at least $500K spare cash in hand at the age of 80 because no more medical insurance
michaelchang
post Aug 13 2023, 09:20 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Aug 13 2023, 04:51 PM)
What your retired numbers look like at this moment? Ie your monthly expenses etc?
Like I said, RM$2000 without food and shopping. Fixed expenses every month.

How much you want to spend on food or shopping will all depend on you.
michaelchang
post Aug 18 2023, 08:33 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Aug 18 2023, 04:15 PM)
Interesting topic on insurance. I'm stuck with ILP medical card insurance (yeah I just checked after all this years). don't know who the agent was (because company bought for me while I was working). Does it make sense to buy new since I'm >50 yo ?

I'm still paying RM3k yearly for 1m cover yearly until I'm 100.
Read the fine print, dont just listen to the agent. Their cannon can shoot down the moon
michaelchang
post Aug 18 2023, 09:20 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 18 2023, 08:37 PM)
Yes all fine print is there. I read everything. All said premium not guaranteed. You asked them have xyz plan ever been reprice in the past 5 years? Don't ask only 1 agent. Ask multiple agent. Then like I said check online to see if what agent said matches people complain online.

So far from my checks online (lowyat forum and Reddit), again only ILP affected regardless of insurance companies.
Fine print have guaranteed insurance till 100 years old??
michaelchang
post Aug 30 2023, 02:19 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Aug 29 2023, 09:48 PM)
definitely no right or wrong answer....

my guess is that if one has exactly RM 16.1 million (T01 in SG) and one has a choice of retiring in KV(Malaysia) or SG, especially if said retiree is comfortable with both places, then he/she most probably will choose the place with better bang for bucks. Imagine being T01 in SG but queue for public healthcare....  blink.gif
(ok, I don't really know how bz SG's GH can get, but I assume the queue to see doc or get treatment would be as long as ours here in MY. Which comes to mind: maybe I should start trying out our Klinik Kesihatan to save some money on hbp medicine... smile.gif )

And the way you answered about free  public healthcare and public facility do indicate this somewhat I believe. Public safety is acceptable in Malaysia as long as the retiree is aware where to go and how to behave.

hence my choice of MY earlier...  biggrin.gif
I stayed in Singapore for 33 years
Public healthcare in Singapore are similar to Malaysia. waiting 2-3 months to see specialist and another 1-2 months for operation schedule. Healthcare is not free, it's subsidized.
michaelchang
post Aug 30 2023, 06:41 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Aug 30 2023, 02:28 PM)
Like that, then maybe better (a very relative term) to seek treatment in GH in Malaysia... it is almost free....

also, a T01 in SG (ie with 16.1 million ringgit) and above 63 years old, most probably can afford to pay for almost all treatments in private hospital in Malaysia. Normal brain surgery and even open heart surgery for bypass costs below 300K ringgit (saw the whole actual bill for a ex-colleague and a relative). I now really believe that even if one has 100s of millions to spend for medical treatment, the body also cannot endure the hardship of such treatments.

Would you know how much these would cost in SG, out of curiosity?
Those that already retired and are in top 1% will never pay for surgery out of own pocket. They will ensure their capital untouched.

All that I know buys health insurance to cover such event,

Personal experience, a minor surgery in private hospital (day surgery) cost about S$6000+ (paid by my company).

Friend's mother cancer treatment for less than 2 years cost almost S$1 million

0.0208sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:59 PM