How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

cmk96
post Mar 4 2011, 04:38 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(bookstore @ Mar 4 2011, 12:00 PM)
Then I guess mine should be very simple and clear.
Work for 7 months.

Savings :
FD = RM 3500
Bond = none
Foreign Investment = USD 400

Liability :
None except paying dinner for GF. 4 day / week. RM 6 / dinner
Paying parent RM 750 / month
PTPTN : Outstanding amount RM 40k  -> Pay RM 230 per month

No car, No house, No Mutual Fund.

How? Where should I start?
since you just worked for 7 mths... but you gv parents 750/mth... not bad... i know some ppl never gv a single cent but still broke due to high commitment...

those who worked less than a yr should not aim to buy house or new car... try save as much as you can. let your job stable first.
cmk96
post Apr 23 2011, 05:58 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Assassin @ Apr 23 2011, 03:51 PM)
Already 30 yrs of age but my net worth like very little.

Saving = 5K
FD = 30K
UT = 32K
Wawasan = 22K
Stock = 7K

Loan/debt = Nil (Car loan cleared)

Currently looking for a house. Not easy to find reasonable price house here.

How to increase my saving?
why still need to increase saving? you should be able to afford house downpayment with all your FD n UT.
cmk96
post May 1 2011, 05:08 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ May 1 2011, 03:07 PM)
Um..you are aware that a house costs more than a downpayment? smile.gif
If 62k still not enuf for downpayment...legal fees...MRTA...then i have noting to say lor...
cmk96
post May 1 2011, 08:21 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ May 1 2011, 05:47 PM)
How is he going to pay the rest of it if anything happens to him smile.gif
Pay what?
cmk96
post May 3 2011, 09:29 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(bahamas @ May 3 2011, 05:55 PM)
Age =36
Saving = 500K
FD = 40K
Stock= 240K

Loan/debt = No
Car = No
House/condon = No
Wanted to invest properties,but i think now is too high to get in the market
what price you think is reasonable for investment?
cmk96
post May 9 2011, 03:28 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(jojo88 @ May 9 2011, 09:21 AM)
in these days i am pretty sure many ppl are ended in
ASSETS-LIABILITY = LIABILITY

Even you stay in a BIG house and drive a BIG car, but you are in debt
if you liability excess your assets...

for mine..

FD : 122k
shares: 24k
savings ac: 5k
car: 1 year to go rm 900 monthly
monthly salary drawn: 3k net
house: fully paid.

would like to get the concept money grow money but how?
let my shares 24k become 240k??
you hv big ambition...to grow 24k into 240k...i belif only high risk investment like forex or futures can do it...of course, you need to have sharp trading skills for it.... if you can wait many years... buy a freehold property...appreciation rate is based on location.

or... do business biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cmk96: May 9 2011, 03:30 PM
cmk96
post May 11 2011, 06:15 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(michaellee @ May 11 2011, 03:45 PM)
If we enter a bear market, having RM122k in FD is definitely much better than anything. Chances are we should be heading towards a bear market soon.
Agreed.. ppl who get burned investing in other stuff always keep quiet. Bear market is good for FD. Maybe a bear market is coming. brows.gif
cmk96
post Sep 20 2020, 09:17 PM

2,096 posts

Many ppl summit their house value.... i wonder its fully yours or share with spouse?
cmk96
post Sep 23 2020, 05:03 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Sep 23 2020, 02:41 PM)
age 44 and accumulated RM1.137 mil  in EPF, with basic salary RM8300, can share how you did it.
One look already know this guy worked oversea lor....
cmk96
post Oct 22 2020, 08:22 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Oct 22 2020, 07:57 PM)
Mid 30
EPF 110k
Starting to have saving this year 3.4k (don't ask where my previous saving was)
From this month,  i can start to save 1k per month
Car loan left 13k, 2 more years
Education loan settled
No cc
No PL
No other loan
Stay in family house for free
Salary low but satisfactory
Studying part time degree,  use epf money that's why my epf low
Next year graduate

I feel so demotivated. Looks like I'm very slow progress.  15 more year to retire.  But no own house yet.

Come comfort me.
My fren 40 yrs old.... Drive Wira.... also no house... He is a gambler btw....

At least u still hv 110k EPF.
cmk96
post Sep 26 2021, 10:48 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(jyll92 @ Sep 26 2021, 08:01 PM)
equity is your real nett worth after deducting all your liabilities. you can call it capital also. its the real metric to measure wealth. not how many assets u have
whats the difference with "nett worth"?
cmk96
post Sep 27 2021, 09:46 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Sep 27 2021, 01:11 AM)
Net worth is total book assets in place while equity is actual ownership of liquidable monetary terms

A person can be rm1million net worth but actual ownership or liquidity is only 700k with 300k liabilities in this of case example above
QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 27 2021, 01:32 AM)
Net worth is the value of all the non-financial and financial assets owned by an individual or institution minus the value of all its outstanding liabilities.[
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Net_worth
QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 27 2021, 08:19 AM)
according to wikipedia.....

Companies
Net worth in business is also referred to as equity.
It is generally based on the value of all assets and liabilities at the carrying value which is the value as expressed on the financial statements.
To the extent items on the balance sheet do not express their true (market) value, the net worth will also be inaccurate.
On reading the balance sheet, if the accumulated losses exceed the shareholder's equity, net worth becomes negative.

Net worth in this formulation does not express the market value of a firm; a firm may be worth more (or less) if sold with a going concern.

Net worth vs. debt is a significant aspect of business loans. Business owners are required to "trade on equity" in order to further increase their net worth.

Individuals
For individuals, net worth or wealth refers to an individual's net economic position: the value of the individual's assets minus liabilities.
Examples of assets that an individual would factor into their net worth include retirement accounts, other investments, home(s), and vehicles.
Liabilities include both secured debt (such as a home mortgage) and unsecured debt (such as consumer debt or personal loans).
Typically intangible assets such as educational degrees are not factored into net worth, even though such assets positively contribute to one's overall financial position.

For a deceased individual, net worth can be used for the value of their estate when in probate.

Individuals with considerable net worth are described in the financial services industry as high-net-worth individuals and ultra high-net-worth individuals.

In personal finance, knowing an individual's net worth can be important to understand their current financial standing and give a reference point for measuring future financial progress.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Net_worth
Just stick to net worth is easy to understand. Title of this tread also use net worth. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
cmk96
post Oct 29 2021, 08:53 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(123help @ Oct 29 2021, 02:46 AM)

TESLA : RM 1,152,703
Crypto : RM 3,482,116
ASNB : RM 129,728
CASH : RM136,000
STASHAWAY : RM 32,168
FD : RM 90,000

Total : RM5m+

Was seriously lucky I invested since 2017 on both Tesla and btc. Not planning to sell any anytime soon.
21 yrs old invested in Tesla.

Inheritance or parent donation?

0.0202sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:54 AM