How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

ah_suknat
post Feb 7 2011, 04:34 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 2 2011, 12:22 AM)
Its not about how much you earn but how much are your liabilities. You can earn RM20K per month but if ure paying out RM15K during the same period then u wont have much left to enjoy a decent life.

By the way, earning 8K+ wont really allow you to lead a comfy life unless you do not intend to own a property.
that 15k is the amount of money to spend to have a decent life, 5k save in the bank LOL
ah_suknat
post Feb 9 2011, 05:41 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Feb 7 2011, 11:58 AM)
I remember my dad once told me when we were smoking together outside the house

"Son, you are on your own now. Your dad don't have any money to support you and don't have anything to give u. If you want something, earn it. As long as don't do anything illegal"

Oh well. I'm working hard working hard....
hmm, same as my dad left me nothing as well, all on my own, thumbup.gif

but the difference is, my dad told me, "Son, you are on your own now. Your dad don't have any money to support you and don't have anything to give u, you can do any business you like, be it legal or illegal, as long as you dont "kill people burn house" (sat yan fong fo in canto)" because he used to do some illegal stuff to like selling pirated VCD's hahaha

lol, so, I jump aeroplane.

Added on February 9, 2011, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 8 2011, 01:24 AM)
Saving 25% of your salary is not good at all. Everybody should target to save at least 40% with the current rising rates of inflation. Your 25% savings today might only be worth 10% in 10 years. So maintaining at least a 40% savings target now will provide the neccessary buffer against inflation.

For your info, im saving approx 55% of my salary every month and that is after taking into account the housing loans, insurance, bills and living expenses.
well, I wouldnt advice a fixed percentage of salary to be save, as everyone had different amount of salary, if one person salary is RM1000, 50 percent save is RM500, how do you survive with RM500?

This post has been edited by ah_suknat: Feb 9 2011, 05:49 PM
ah_suknat
post Feb 10 2011, 02:55 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Feb 10 2011, 04:30 AM)
I was earning RM 1,500 (have not deduct EPF and SOSCO) per month when I was employed. I can't save any.

Kancil = RM 309
Petrol = RM 150~200
Apartment Rental = RM 400

The rest goes to my food per day.

Have not counted in my bills, entertainment etc.

I'm living alone, that why I can't save on transportation and accommodation. Lucky to have small business to support my lifestyle.

Needed at least RM 2,000~2,500 per month to break even.  sweat.gif
the whole apartment for 400?????
where?????
ah_suknat
post Feb 10 2011, 04:34 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(anangryorc @ Feb 10 2011, 07:46 AM)
Hi all,
I've been working for 6 months and I am able to save around 1k per month.
Am I getting on the right track, and which way is the best way to start investing with 10k?? ASB? Starting a small business?
Thank you!!
whats your monthly salary?

ASB is a good start
ah_suknat
post Feb 10 2011, 10:00 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(anangryorc @ Feb 10 2011, 11:46 AM)
2.8k.

Actually I was tempted to start a tuition business partnering my friend, but with 5k, chances seem slim.
oh, coincidentally I started my tuition center not too long ago as well,

well, 5k can start a tuition business, depending how you want to do it. I started mind with a lil bit more tho, at about 7-8k.

I would say dont do it, 2.8k salary is decent, keep your job

Added on February 10, 2011, 10:02 pm
QUOTE(edyek @ Feb 10 2011, 07:37 AM)
Yes, the whole. A few years ago in KK.  smile.gif
thats damn cheap man, even 2 room wooden house here in Ranau also cost RM 350 liao.

now rental in KK seems to follow how many rooms that particular property have, minimum RM300 per room

This post has been edited by ah_suknat: Feb 10 2011, 10:05 PM
ah_suknat
post Apr 8 2011, 07:01 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(y2kfirewalker @ Apr 8 2011, 09:43 AM)
Wow, giving parents 750 when your salary is 3500. such a good son/daughter. May god bless you  smile.gif
FD RM3500 la...not salary
ah_suknat
post Apr 8 2011, 11:43 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Apr 8 2011, 11:23 AM)
Worked for 2.5 years already. Just checked on my $$$ health:

Plain cash - 5.5k + 50 ringgit right nao in wallet tongue.gif
FD (emergency fund) - 20k+
Stocks - 53k + 35k(float)
EPF - 60k

Debt- PTPTN - 24k

*Sigh... house still dun have and car is pariah.

Please advise how to go on from here:
-Apartment for own stay im looking at 400k + 100k (reno and all). Haven't start saving for it yet.
-Looking at 90k car, car right nao is pariah but usable.
-Have invest 5k in startup brick and mortar/online business. Hope this can grow big.
-Hope to grow stocks big big also.

If people willng to mentor me for for either of the 4 key points, I be glad to become mentee. Especially the last two points. laugh.gif
you work for 2.5 years and you have 60k EPF?
ah_suknat
post Apr 9 2011, 12:10 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Apr 8 2011, 03:48 PM)
Yup. If you have any advise on any of the four points of mine, I'm happy to learn.
I dont have any advice tho..but instead would like to know how much is your salary to get that kind of amount in your EPF..thank you very much smile.gif am learning as well...
ah_suknat
post Sep 22 2021, 11:21 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(tigermilkmush @ Sep 20 2021, 05:22 AM)
Salary: RM 3.8k
Marital Status: Not Married and no gf

Assets:
EPF: around 20k
Stock: around 10k
BTC: around 2k
bank bal : around 70k
ewallet: around 3k
car: RM10k
property 1: 100k
property 2: 200k
property 3: 600k

Liability:
Study loan: RM 25k
prop 1: around 95k
Prop 2: around 145k
prop 3: around 320k

Graduated in June 2018; work as sales for 3 yr ++

Lessons learnt:
1) lose quite alot in stock market, get hand burnt in glove stock n warrants
2) getting a cheap car can save alot of money.
3) keep looking for cheap cheap property and continue buying n convert to rental collection.

looking for diversify more in other financial instrument/ any other biz to gain more passive income. any advice ya?
Mind to teach how can you get approved almost 1 million in property loan with 3.8k salary?
ah_suknat
post Sep 26 2021, 12:22 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(tigermilkmush @ Sep 25 2021, 02:28 PM)
have side income and rental income mah.
My wife is a teacher, earn about 4k+ salary, also work for 3+ years, same age as you, and she also just bought her first property for rental purpose. And plan to her 2nd 3rd property next, just like you, and that is why your investment portfolio caught my interest.

Can teach some tips?

This post has been edited by ah_suknat: Sep 26 2021, 02:34 PM

0.0221sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:23 AM