How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

Singh_Kalan
post Sep 12 2009, 07:52 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 11 2009, 07:24 PM)
Just a question..
Can we add our EPF money to sum up our net worth?
Yes..Net Worth = Asset (EPF, Cash, FD, Car, Non-liquid asset etc) - Liability (home loan, hire purchase, cc debt etc).
Singh_Kalan
post Jan 15 2024, 11:41 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(Nutbeater69 @ Dec 25 2023, 05:43 AM)
Bitcoin is not gambling lol…

It’s risky but definitely not gambling… you’re saying as if it’s buying an Amazon stock in 2000 is gambling.

Bitcoin is literally a technology, not some ponzi. It’s really not that difficult to understand.

There’s never a technology like bitcoin that transact money anywhere in the world without taking “few working days” like in the bank.
Amazon is only a few startup that survive the dotcom burst. 99% of them when bankrupt. Your chance of hitting big on Amazon is 1/100, worst odds than gambling.

Singh_Kalan
post Apr 22 2024, 03:17 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Apr 22 2024, 01:09 PM)
I notice many are claiming they are investing in properties but actually not, they are just adding more liabilities.

the correct way of investing in property is to utilize the bank leverage and get tenant to pay everything and get cashflow positive or at least breakeven after deduct everything.

the other way around is not correct investing way regardless ringgit is good currency or not.

if one is doing it correctly, with the same salary from job, he/she can keep buying new property every 6 months.

The idea is after 30+ years the property will fully be his/hers with only merely downpayment of the initial buying price. In fact, most correct cases the downpayment already gotten back from the positive cashflow generated over the years.

Don't get me wrong, I am not saying this way of investing is easy because one need huge network and knowledge as property transactions are not publicly free available.
Investing in properties has alot of similarities with investing in stock. There are two component to look at, (1) capital appreciation / stock price gain and (2) rental / dividend. High rental/dividend will corellated to lower appreciation / stock price gain. At least this is true to most but not all and vice versa.

So just aiming for high rental to cover your installment is just short term view, ignoring the other component all together, which is a long term view.

Your definition of correct way of investing property mostly apply to distress properties that has low resale value but command a high rental due to its location and maturity.

This post has been edited by Singh_Kalan: Apr 22 2024, 03:22 PM
Singh_Kalan
post May 1 2024, 11:18 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(skty @ May 1 2024, 10:45 AM)
Good for you.

For me, I won’t touch gold in one way or another. I don’t like the need to sell my investment to get return. I prefer I still own that investment and it will continuously give me return, like my cash flow positive properties, stock, businesses.

Whereas for flipping, I also enjoy trading stock and selling properties when the rental VS price return lowered below a threshold that I have set.

Gold for me is a hedging tool. Not for wealth growth but for wealth conservation.
Do you know that gold outperformed most of the property in Malaysia over the past 10 years.
Singh_Kalan
post May 1 2024, 11:51 AM

2,033 posts

It's a long term holding, just like property. As with any investment, property do stagnant as well, is not a linear growth.

In property you need to deal with tenant, building management, bank, agent while gold just buy and forget (no effort). Yet the return is much higher, not forget to mentioned the liquidity it provide.

As for the income/dividend, gold as in ETF is a very liquid asset. You can just sell some at minimal fee when as you need it. I won't touch physical gold.

This post has been edited by Singh_Kalan: May 1 2024, 03:07 PM
Singh_Kalan
post May 1 2024, 10:00 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(kremlin @ May 1 2024, 09:34 PM)
Thanks! May I know where you hold your currency? I am looking into RHB Multicurrency Account & HSBC
U can hold it at most foreign broker like FSMOne, Tiger, MooMoo thru autosweep. Basically the fund that u haven't invested will get interest. USD @ >5%, SGD @ >3%.

Singh_Kalan
post Oct 13 2024, 11:37 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Sep 2 2024, 05:12 PM)
But it does matter what car you drive when you get hit by a drunker driver tho. The driver who banged my car, my car only suffering minor damages (not even reaching the internal pillar frame), but his car, the car head was totally destroyed / kemek / squeezed until the car head is like non-existent, and the driver suffering bad injury on his head full with blood. Had a friend's kembara hitting a merce, the kembara's front part also destroyed badly while the mercedes was like intacted. Hopefully proton cars nowadays are better after took over by the China company. My boss owns a 4 wheel drive that cost over a million (the car's inner body is surrounded by very big and solid pillars frame), i am pretty sure he can survive 95% of accident unless being banged badly by those super big size transformer.

You guys all got high networth, invest in a good car, protect yourself and your love ones  :thumbsup:
You just need to drive carefully and practice defensive driving instead of need an armour car. Don't believe me, drove that armour car down a 100m cliff and see can survive or not

0.0190sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:46 PM