How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

SKY 1809
post Apr 8 2013, 02:47 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 8 2013, 01:24 PM)
Start work late = have to work harder, save harder, eat cheaper, drink/club lesser biggrin.gif
Actually I make it a fun to overstretch the value of my money.

If my friend used to drink coffee at Star Buck , I buy the coffee from the supermarket and make the drinks myself.

I find the trill to outperform him in getting a better value for my money.

Never mind if he earns much more than me.

According to some Guru, it is how much u can save that matters most , rather than how much u can earn and spend the money away.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 8 2013, 02:48 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 8 2013, 04:52 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 8 2013, 03:36 PM)
its all relative

he work like a dog earn 10K save 1K

i work easy earn 5K save 1K

my "profit margin" is way better whistling.gif
Frankly speaking , for those who work earn 5K save 1K, they treasure their savings more.

For those who earn a lot and spend even more, and thinking their incomes would consistently going up in the future , sometimes may not turn out to be always true .

The good old days may not come back.
SKY 1809
post Apr 8 2013, 05:36 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(noprogambler @ Apr 8 2013, 05:32 PM)
I see. Is he a fund manager?
Boss likes to talk and act like Fun manager hmm.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 10:23 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(noprogambler @ Apr 8 2013, 04:02 PM)
This thread is a bit show off wink.gif .

But since I am an anonymity, I would like share my information tongue.gif .

Monthly Income: RM5,500 (Gross EPF & Tax)
Monthly Estimated Expenses: RM4,000
Expected Yearly Bonus: RM11,000 (about 2-month year end bonus of which I have been rewarded in the past year)
Expected Yearly Dividend Income: RM4,000 (2% dividend yield of the shares portfolio of which I have been receiving in the past years) <-- this should be RM10,000, forget to count in the 2% DY on the RM300,000 shares bought through share margin
Expected Yearly Savings: RM30,000 <-- should be RM24,000, with additional 2% DY on the RM300,000 shares bought through share margin, forget to build in the share margin interest sweat.gif

EPF: RM60,000

Assets:
Unit Trust: RM2,500
Shares: RM500,000
House: RM100,000 (the house is fully paid and its market price is estimated to be RM200,000, shared 50% with my brother)
Land: RM300,000 (market price)
Total Assets = RM902,500

Liabilities:
Car Mortgage: RM41,000 (another 48-month installments)
Share Margin Facilities: RM300,000
Total Liabilities = RM341,000

Net Assets = RM561,500
From what I see, U have very little liquidity assets such as Cash to cushion off any emergency landings such as severe corrections in the share markets.

BTW, share market cum share margin forms the highest assets ( one sided ). Other assets are a bit illiquid or owned jointly . Any standup loans arranged to lower your share margin account ?

And share market ( Bursa ) is trading almost at the top mountain prices, no harm to do some asset re allocations . Max usage of share margin forms some big risks there.

Just give a bit of thought.

Regards always

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 9 2013, 10:36 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 10:41 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 9 2013, 10:35 AM)
Have you heard of margin calls? If not better learn up.

If later margin calls, you have no physical cash to back up, the IB will fire sale all your shares at very unfavorable price. whistling.gif
Worse is people with share margin account think the share market moves in one direction always up, seldom comes down. hmm.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 10:43 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 9 2013, 10:38 AM)
HI GARK,

when IB want margin calls? can colleteral land or house with a specific date to payback?
With very short notices, so u need lot of stand by Od or cash to cover them.

If not shares lelong liao.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 9 2013, 10:48 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 10:46 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(jason57 @ Apr 9 2013, 10:44 AM)
i personally think that play with margin risky as you may not know the market cycle unless you have the same amount of cash pledge/standby in case of margin call..
Plenty of backups needed to play with share margins.
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 10:56 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(noprogambler @ Apr 9 2013, 10:50 AM)
Just check my EPF and also liquidate the position in share margin to take profit and repay the share margin yesterday, so this is my update:

Monthly Income: RM5,500 (Gross EPF & Tax)
Monthly Estimated Expenses: RM5,000
Expected Yearly Bonus: RM11,000 (about 2-month year end bonus of which I have been rewarded in the past year)
Expected Yearly Dividend Income: RM10,000
Expected Yearly Savings: RM24,000

EPF: RM70,000

Assets:
Unit Trust: RM2,500
Shares: RM200,000
Cash: RM7,000
House: RM100,000 (the house is fully paid and its market price is estimated to be RM200,000, shared 50% with my brother)
Land: RM300,000 (market price)
Total Assets = RM609,500

Liabilities:
Car Mortgage: RM41,000 (another 48-month installments)
Total Liabilities = RM41,000

Net Assets = RM568,500

I pledged my RM200,000 shares portfolio to get the share margin of RM300,000. Now I am holding the RM300,000 facilities open ready for any opportunity in post-election.

By the way, I plan to buy a house for my own stay near my work station (I am currently working in KL and staying at PJ) after clearing the car mortgage 4 years later. Too bad that my salary increment would not be a lot because I am working in a NGO, hopefully with the return from share investment, what I can save plus EPF in the next 4 years and can outpace the price appreciation in property.
Good, only thing is you do not have good backups to cover your share margin accounts.

Kinda best scenario type , not on worst case scenario.

Actually u might swap your land with a much needed house , so u can stand clean, or using the house for a standby loan.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 9 2013, 10:58 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 11:05 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 9 2013, 11:00 AM)
You can leverage on your land or property rather than using margin. Margin also not easy to calculate, let say you have 200K and the margin is 1.5x, and your stocks drop 100K, how much you need to top up? It's not so simple and direct. One thing also I found that your EPF value is kinda of a bit low, based on your current pay.
Ya, better not to take a loan that is depending on the weathers ( up and down ) of the markets.

SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 11:09 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 9 2013, 10:50 AM)
thanks sky 1809,

Me no much cash better dont play margin...later IB margin call i left single underwear.
My relative lost about 2m to 3m through share margins, that is why I am not pro share margins.
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 11:17 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(noprogambler @ Apr 9 2013, 11:12 AM)
Yah I also felt a little bit risky on share margin, that was why I liquidate the margin position yesterday. From thereon I think I'd not fully utilise the margin, at least not 100%, because the closer to the 100% of margin, the lower the buffer to defend from being margin called. If I used 100% of the 1.5x margin, the buffer for the portfolio is only 6% to 7%, whereby if I only used 50% then the buffer could be a lot higher on 40%. I also only plan to use the margin after the market correction, by then the risk of being margin called would be lower.

Yah my EPF is low, because I have low income in my previous 6-year jobs. Just change job a year ago with some salary adjustment so the pay is now up to RM5,500. Hopefully with this pay scale my EPF amount would increase by RM10,000 per year. Anyway, I don't count on EPF because I don't trust EPF.
But u do not have a Plan B. i.e having enough liquid assets such as a house with some standby loans.

Land is worst illiquid asset, can see and cannot touch, as far as your share margin is concerned.
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 11:29 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 9 2013, 11:25 AM)
Er.. I think we've gone off topic for quite awhile now?!
Not actually off topics cos no point to have too many bubble assets forming so called the NET WORTH.

Somehow many forumers build Assets backed with more risky loans aka liabilities per se.

I.e having the most risky loans vs the most illiquid assets ..... rclxub.gif

And they are not aware of, themselves.

Full stop, in case off topic. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 9 2013, 11:38 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 11:32 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 9 2013, 11:27 AM)
Land can plant Palm Oil or COW..during weekend. Sure earn money one.
U do hope Jib gor to give you some free cows to milk hmm.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 9 2013, 11:32 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 11:44 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 9 2013, 11:41 AM)
Well, if we want to discuss about liquid assets and risky loans, etc.. perhaps we could do it on another forum thread and not this?

Then again, like I said, this particular thread is more a 'show-off' thread than anything else tongue.gif

So, where and who are the rich fellas these days?! wink.gif
Financial assets , investments all inter linked a s far as I am concerned.

Can we talk about Assets alone, without touching on personal liabilities, meaningless to me . hmm.gif

I guess moderators here are not very farsighted , lacking in financial planning knowledge per se. notworthy.gif

Networths always associate with risks.

After all ,it is not politically sensitive kinda discussions aka real world issues , anyway.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 9 2013, 11:53 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 11:57 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 9 2013, 11:52 AM)
@SKY 1809,
Yes it is linked but should we want to delve further into it, why not start something fresh so that people do not lose out and get lost!

So what if I'm lacking in financial planning knowledge/short-sighted - it's my life and not yours [in other words, none of your business!] tongue.gif
Ya , it is true u may not want or need to know the risks concerned , but many others out there do.

Things they may not be aware of , it is my basic rights to awake them.

I hope I do not come to another BN controlled media as well. hmm.gif

Bye icon_rolleyes.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 9 2013, 12:02 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 12:26 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Apr 9 2013, 12:07 PM)
LOL!
Really if I to be suspended .

I feel it is really worth IT if I have awaken someone.

Set Joke aside.
SKY 1809
post Apr 10 2013, 09:54 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 9 2013, 09:58 PM)
er.. i'm having one heckuva forseeable pains getting to $8M within 10 years leh bro.. U sure no probs kar? tongue.gif
In theory or practice?
Can share some insights?
Other than usual live well below yr means, invest the rest and have good risk management i mean.
Can apply to be an agent of Blu IC Project, easy money hmm.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 10 2013, 02:38 PM

23,851 posts

Wherever I go , people talk about investments.

Sounds like the market is reaching the peak liao
SKY 1809
post Apr 10 2013, 03:09 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Apr 10 2013, 02:54 PM)
Wherever you go, people still eat and shit, same as investments. There is no wrong to talk about investments, because people also want to be financial freedom, same as what you and I trying to achieve.

Just that we should advice people do homework and know what they are going to invest instead of speculating.

As I am not good in economy and also not a good top down analyst, I am not sure if the market is at the peak now. But I am now looking for few companies' shares which could be quite cheap in my opinion, I may continue to buy/hold those companies' shares regardless of the market sentiment.
How do u know it is cheap when u do not know about the economy per se ?

Cheap can be much cheaper later ......and delisted

WB says it is better to pay a fair price for a relatively good company, than a cheap price for a cheap / lousy company.

I do advise people to look into the " values " aka " what values they offer" , of the companies concerned , rather than " cheap" in prices alone.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 10 2013, 03:15 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 10 2013, 04:04 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Apr 10 2013, 03:50 PM)
When wet market aunties are talking about shares, then the market is peaking.

FYI to beginners in stock investing, cheap doesn't mean the price itself is low.  Learn about market cap, P/E ratios etc before evaluating a company on it's price alone.

Would you invest in a stock at a price of RM10 and P/E of 10 or a stock at RM20 and P/E of 5, considering both companies sell the same product with each having market share of 50%?
Well there are red cheap China stocks listed in Malaysia , PE of 3 +- many.

U dare to buy laugh.gif

0.0234sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:13 PM