145 Pages « < 138 139 140 141 142 > » Bottom

How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

Neontetra P
post Sep 12 2025, 10:33 AM

Probation

QUOTE(PseudomonasSA @ Jul 13 2025, 08:06 PM)
Wondering if anyone has had experience working in Australia private healthcare system? Is it worthwhile to leave permanent jobs in the UK to pursue opportunities there?

Wife and I are medical consultants in the UK. There are opportunities in Australia (area of need) - about 2.5 hours driving from Perth. Expected monthly is said to be 4 times UK's net of taxes (full-time consultant pay in the UK is about £5k / RM 25k per person; Mortgage/council tax/utility bills £3k, excluding foods, travel, petrol/diesel). However, income in Australia is based on volumes of work done (contracts) and can be less secure than public-funded jobs (permanent jobs like in Malaysia) in the UK. Yet, UK has extremely heavy tax burden since recent years. After working for more than 10 years in the UK, our assets are about £80k in house equity, 2 fully paid cars (used), £20k savings, £5k investments, after paying for holidays/frequent flights to Malaysia to visit family members

Thank you!!
There is a shortage of medical consultants here in Australia. I would say quality of life in Australia will be better than in UK. One thing to note though are the property prices. Not sure if you intend to rent here or buy. I am in Melbourne so i cant comment much on Perth but the prices in Perth (rental and purchase) has been going through the roof.
post Sep 14 2025, 03:34 PM

76 posts

Saw this posted in socmed. I think this person earns rm63k/month, mid 40s and contributes >20% into epf.

Is this networth considered good for the salary earned?
Wedchar2912
post Sep 14 2025, 04:40 PM

3,636 posts

QUOTE(126126 @ Sep 14 2025, 03:34 PM)

Saw this posted in socmed. I think this person earns rm63k/month, mid 40s and contributes >20% into epf.

for fun this analysis:

His gross monthly looks to be around RM50–55K (assuming standard 11% EPF).

In Klang Valley terms, that’s already very good. In a normal corp, it would place him at mid- to senior-management level.

If we net off RM670K for cars and RM300K for watches, his net worth actually sits at 4.7M. Considering his fairly liberal spending (cars, personal lifestyle), that’s still impressive: he’s living well and still saving enough.

At mid-40s, if he works until 60, his net worth trajectory is very healthy. Around 5M now means passive income of around 25K pm, tax-free. His current spend is 30K pm, which he could easily trim down if needed.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Sep 14 2025, 04:48 PM
ronnie
post Sep 14 2025, 10:00 PM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

Cars worth RM670k.... a garage of it ?
dwRK
post Sep 14 2025, 10:39 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 14 2025, 10:00 PM)
Cars worth RM670k.... a garage of it ?
1 porsche

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 15 2025, 07:46 AM
gamenoob
post Sep 15 2025, 03:58 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 14 2025, 04:40 PM)
for fun this analysis:

His gross monthly looks to be around RM50–55K (assuming standard 11% EPF).

In Klang Valley terms, that’s already very good. In a normal corp, it would place him at mid- to senior-management level.

If we net off RM670K for cars and RM300K for watches, his net worth actually sits at 4.7M. Considering his fairly liberal spending (cars, personal lifestyle), that’s still impressive: he’s living well and still saving enough.

At mid-40s, if he works until 60, his net worth trajectory is very healthy. Around 5M now means passive income of around  25K pm, tax-free. His current spend is 30K pm, which he could easily trim down if needed.
Your standard of reference damn high la. 50k salary you consider mid level management.

Earlier all the chats in the FIRE and retirement chat hovering around 1M and then 2M which is also hard to attain for many and yet 50k monthly is mid to senior from your reference. Shoot… I’m in the wrong line…. 😰

So your low level management number is 30-40k? 😱

This post has been edited by gamenoob: Sep 15 2025, 03:59 PM
post Sep 15 2025, 04:56 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(126126 @ Sep 14 2025, 03:34 PM)

My take on this:

His salary is very high. A high achiever in his day job.

But for investment wise, i feel average. Savings is commendable but could be a lot more. His current exposure in investment is only asm/epf which is low risk, no signs of investment props, stocks or maybe higher risk assets classes like crypto/metals etc. a lot of money burning spending on vehicles, which judging by its market value prob burns 150-200k depreciation per annum.

I feel at his earning capacity, he should be having a net worth of >10m.
NoNameSoldier
post Sep 15 2025, 05:00 PM

284 posts

at your age already have 4 properties with 3 fully paid and 1 5 years more to go
Wedchar2912
post Sep 15 2025, 09:49 PM

3,636 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Sep 15 2025, 03:58 PM)
Your standard of reference damn high la. 50k salary you consider mid level management.

Earlier all the chats in the FIRE and retirement chat hovering around 1M and then 2M which is also hard to attain for many and yet 50k monthly is mid to senior from your reference. Shoot… I’m in the wrong line…. 😰

So your low level management number is 30-40k? 😱
well, my reference is large corps here... and I suspect I am being conservative already.

Can look up CEOs and C-suite salary in big firms in Malaysia via annual reports... its quite transparent but must dig for info.
(eg: Maybank's CEO earns like 200K to 300K pm )

then one can guess what mid level management make => hence my comment of mid to senior management.
(senior management is C-suite and some people include their one down).

junior management is typically what some would think of as a small department's manager. so those guys are wider in range... can range from 10 to 25K...
g5sim
post Sep 15 2025, 09:51 PM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(jacboy @ Sep 10 2009, 07:07 PM)
Ladies and Gentlemen, member of the press,

I am new here smile.gif
May I ask you all the following questions. As LYN has very vast pool ppl from all kind of backgrounds, so this is going to be a good pool of
information sharing.

I want to learn if my existing financial status and net worth is healty, lousy, etc.

So I want to share my info and hope you can share your info too. Please follow the format. At the end of the sharing, you can add your comment/advice.
Marital Status: Not Married but got gf.
Asset(s):

House (2 stories)-
RM220k Outstanding Loan: RM 98k  15 years more

Car (Japanese car)-
Market Value: RM 60k Outstanding Loan RM 45k 4 years more
Liability (ies):
Study loan: RM115k -borrowed from my uncle and he say when he need money will ask from me, any moment(cash)!
Parents, sorry ah pa and ah ma to call you all liability smile.gif

Insurance:
Life: RM20k

Investment:
Bond: RM20k
FD: RM 220k

Cash in hand
RM10k

RM88.00
Wedchar2912
post Sep 15 2025, 09:52 PM

3,636 posts

QUOTE(126126 @ Sep 15 2025, 04:56 PM)
My take on this:

His salary is very high. A high achiever in his day job.

But for investment wise, i feel average. Savings is commendable but could be a lot more. His current exposure in investment is only asm/epf which is low risk, no signs of investment props, stocks or maybe higher risk assets classes like crypto/metals etc. a lot of money burning spending on vehicles, which judging by its market value prob burns 150-200k depreciation per annum.

I feel at his earning capacity, he should be having a net worth of >10m.
well, its cos of his spending/lifestyle... to claim to have 600K vehicle already can suspect he has at least a expensive hobby (excluding watches)... so lesser networth than what he could have.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Sep 15 2025, 09:53 PM
gamenoob
post Sep 16 2025, 06:15 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 15 2025, 09:49 PM)
well, my reference is large corps here... and I suspect I am being conservative already.

Can look up CEOs and C-suite salary in big firms in Malaysia via annual reports... its quite transparent but must dig for info.
(eg: Maybank's CEO earns like 200K to 300K pm )

then one can guess what mid level management make => hence my comment of mid to senior management.
(senior management is C-suite and some people include their one down).

junior management is typically what some would think of as a small department's manager. so those guys are wider in range... can range from 10 to 25K...
You should check the annual pay scale survey from the recruiting firm like Hays which is free, but I felt it's some what lower than what I'm seeing. Generally C are on contract as their comp Ben are non standard scale. So C pay are not good market reference other than they are many times X higher than their DR.

If your view of Jr mgmt staff is raking 10 to 25k, then the numbers of EPF millionaires below 55 should be a lot more higher in numbers.

Since you using Maybank as reference, you working for them ka? 😉

This post has been edited by gamenoob: Sep 16 2025, 06:37 PM
sadlyfalways
post Sep 16 2025, 06:20 PM

1,185 posts

30k, need to leave country
Wedchar2912
post Sep 16 2025, 07:03 PM

3,636 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Sep 16 2025, 06:15 PM)
You should check the annual pay scale survey from the recruiting firm like Hays which is free, but I felt it's some what lower than what I'm seeing. Generally C are on contract as their comp Ben are non standard scale. So C pay are not good market reference other than they are many times X higher than their DR.

If your view of Jr mgmt staff is raking 10 to 25k, then the numbers of EPF millionaires below 55 should be a lot more higher in numbers.

Since you using Maybank as reference, you working for them ka? 😉
Oh no lah, never worked for Maybank before… it’s just that they’re the behemoth local bank, so naturally I use them as a benchmark for what a big corporate employer in Malaysia looks like.

I’ve actually been out of the market for some years, so my numbers may be a bit dated: comp is probably even higher now. What I shared earlier is still ballpark accurate.

Maybe the difference is in how we define levels. To me:

Senior management = C-suite or those reporting directly to the CEO or another very senior exec (CFO, CTO, CIO, etc.). No way these guys are only pulling RM50K a month nowadays.
Mid-level = department heads with real authority, usually reporting to a division head (who’s senior mgmt).
Junior management = a wide range, but these days even a bank branch head often falls into this category.
And of course, salary bands overlap. quite normal.

This is a very large corp in the context of Malaysia. medium ones will be lower remuneration....

On the EPF side, we already have around 90K active millionaire members. That’s over 1% of all active members. I think 1% is already a pretty decent ratio, no? even if 2%, because this is stats, I think the salary band is still consistent.

Haloperidol
post Oct 2 2025, 08:33 PM

1,484 posts

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ Apr 22 2024, 08:32 AM)
=================================
New chapter of my life.
Typed @ 22.4.2024.

Career wise :
#ExitKKM

Regardless of the so called "iron rice bowl" given by the government, i decided to resign due to shitty pay, idiotic bureaucracy, toxic environment.
Letter written to Head Of Department after CNY - resignation letter done and enforced on March 22 2024
Joined a private team on the same month itself.

Previously, KKM salary is quoted approximate MYR 16 to MYR 18 per hour (Base salary + Oncall claims ) ---
You can say now i work less hours, and earn much better bucks - now i'm eligible for certain Visa Infinite credit card now.
(previously slavery at KKM can't even entitled for Visa Signature LOL)

Single

Assets :
ASM FP : 204k FP - done, will let itself roll .
Stock : 41k --- still at minimal loss, small cap is shit, surprisingly banks and TENAGA make good runs.
KWSP : 77k
High-liquidity MMF : approximate 70k
PRS : 6k - just to avoid paying MAHALDANI tax LOL

Target 1 (ASM) - completed , exceed target by 100% - done and dusted.

Target 2 (first property for investment) - scouted, reason for the high liquidity MMF is to prepare the 10% deposit for the housing, estimated completion time 2028, pending S&P signature.

Target 3 (stock) : fuck Bursa, scouting SGX for S-reit and SGD priced securities.
=====
Dooddads
same old Myvi, same old phone, same old Laptop

but i think i gonna do some upgrade on my phone and lappie coz ... it's time. My phone recieved notification that Rize will stop support my phone soon (they gonna support Android 11+ only LMAO)
=================

It's a signifigant month for me.

I buffed up my coffer, and i cut down my weight.
I am now no longer a phat ass. Weight reduced from 90kg to 75kg with *ahem* medicine and controlled diet.
Hopefully i can maintain a good BMI and achieve more muscular weight and a healthy body to enjoy my future fruits of labor of investing.
Everyday i eat wheat bread and it taste like cardboard, lamo but i can feel +1 day of hp with every bite.

Career : Progressing.

Assets :
ASM FP : 333k FP
Stocks : 24.6k --- profit taken on good big cap, shit still happen in small cap
KWSP : 133k
SGD securities : SGD 25k translate into approximate 75k
High liquidity MMF : approximate 42k
PRS : 9k

Target 1 (ASM) -- despite i always say done and dusted, i still put my money inside it.
What is my obsession with ASM .... haizz..

Target 2 : 53.8k contributed, loan started, completion time 2028 , Current Market rate 550k

Target 3 SGX explored, money in DBS as direct holding. Apparently good yield, Majulah Singapura.

=======
Derivatives :
Gross Investment% base on total salary : 89% , (means every RM 100 i earn, i save RM 89)
Estimated passive income (exclude KWSP/PRS) : MYR 19k per annum
Tax bracket : screwed up, The money i paid to government as income tax is higher than my personal expenses...
Man, i hate income tax.

======
Doodad's
Same old car, new phone due to limitation of hardware, same old laptop.

=====
This year target :
Spent more time and money for my loved ones (parents).
PRS contribution, KWSP contribution to reduce tax rate.
Continue progressing in career.
Aim to have 36k MYR per annum as passive income by next 2-3 years time.
To achieve 0 cashflow deficit (aka rent generated = repayment ) on property after CCC.

This post has been edited by Haloperidol: Oct 2 2025, 08:36 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 2 2025, 09:12 PM

24,355 posts

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ Oct 2 2025, 08:33 PM)
=================

It's a signifigant month for me.

I buffed up my coffer, and i cut down my weight.
I am now no longer a phat ass. Weight reduced from 90kg to 75kg with *ahem* medicine and controlled diet.
Hopefully i can maintain a good BMI and achieve more muscular weight and a healthy body to enjoy my future fruits of labor of investing.
Everyday i eat wheat bread and it taste like cardboard, lamo but i can feel +1 day of hp with every bite.
Career : Progressing.

Assets :
ASM FP : 333k FP
Stocks : 24.6k --- profit taken on good big cap, shit still happen in small cap
KWSP : 133k
SGD securities : SGD 25k translate into approximate 75k
High liquidity MMF : approximate 42k
PRS : 9k

Target 1 (ASM) -- despite i always say done and dusted, i still put my money inside it.
What is my obsession with ASM .... haizz..

Target 2 : 53.8k contributed, loan started, completion time 2028 , Current Market rate 550k

Target 3 SGX explored, money in DBS as direct holding. Apparently good yield, Majulah Singapura.

=======
Derivatives :
Gross Investment% base on total salary : 89% , (means every RM 100 i earn, i save RM 89)
Estimated passive income (exclude KWSP/PRS) : MYR 19k per annum
Tax bracket : screwed up, The money i paid to government as income tax is higher than my personal expenses...
Man, i hate income tax.

======
Doodad's
Same old car, new phone due to limitation of hardware, same old laptop.

=====
This year target :
Spent more time and money for my loved ones (parents).
PRS contribution, KWSP contribution to reduce tax rate.
Continue progressing in career.
Aim to have 36k MYR per annum as passive income by next 2-3 years time.
To achieve 0 cashflow deficit (aka rent generated = repayment ) on property after CCC.
Welcome to the world of T10 where govt love to suck money from you and reduce the benefit you can get as a normal tax paying citizen. 😭

You need to remember that rental is counted into your income tax yeah.
sexysarah1992
post Oct 7 2025, 01:12 PM

316 posts

Cash in bank- 1,683,890

House 1- fully paid( market value 1.2m)- currently staying
House 2- balance 368k(market value 850k) . Rented out at 3k
House 3 - balance 650k( market value 1.1m). Rented to a company for 5.5k

House 4- fully paid( market value 900k)- rented out at 3.5k

Gold savings current value- 900k. Been holding for 15 years. Every month add a few grams
Us Stocks- around RM800k but change daily due to fluctuations.
Epf- 780k( i self contribute as well). should be more but i withdrew for house purchase

Car 1- BMW 530i fully paid off
Car 2- BMW 218i fully paid off
Car 2- Alphard - balance 60k. Bought recon with 50% dp
Car 3- Mini Aceman - balance 150k . Bought brand new with 50k dp

Bitcoin- about RM450k .Not gonna touch it.

Average monthly income range- 40k to 70k depending on business

MUM
post Oct 7 2025, 01:27 PM

14,891 posts

👍👍 WOW! Cash in bank- 1,683,890 👍👍

Equivalent of how many months of emergency funds?

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 7 2025, 01:28 PM
Wedchar2912
post Oct 7 2025, 01:48 PM

3,636 posts

QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Oct 7 2025, 01:12 PM)
Cash in bank- 1,683,890

House 1- fully paid( market value 1.2m)- currently staying
House 2- balance 368k(market value 850k) . Rented out at 3k
House 3 - balance 650k( market value 1.1m). Rented to a company for 5.5k

House 4- fully paid( market value 900k)- rented out at 3.5k

Gold savings current value- 900k. Been holding for 15 years. Every month add a few grams
Us Stocks- around RM800k but change daily due to fluctuations.
Epf- 780k( i self contribute as well). should be more but i withdrew for house purchase

Car 1- BMW 530i fully paid off
Car 2- BMW 218i fully paid off
Car 2- Alphard - balance 60k. Bought recon with 50% dp
Car 3- Mini Aceman - balance 150k . Bought brand new with 50k dp

Bitcoin- about RM450k .Not gonna touch it.

Average monthly income range- 40k to 70k depending on business
curious.... the properties meant for rental... isn't the yield a bit low? or you also aim for capital appreciations here?
like house 4: its only a yield of lesser than 5%...
sexysarah1992
post Oct 7 2025, 01:56 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Oct 7 2025, 01:48 PM)
curious.... the properties meant for rental... isn't the yield a bit low? or you also aim for capital appreciations here?
like house 4: its only a yield of lesser than 5%...
Yup. Rental yields for landed properties are low. Landed mainly for capital appreciation

What's more important is getting a good tenant even though the rental is slightly lower

145 Pages « < 138 139 140 141 142 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:44 PM