Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V6, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

raptorclans
post Sep 9 2009, 10:32 PM

333 posts

Cool... didn't know V6 liao...
Yeah wonder who's gonna be the 1st to have a D3000 biggrin.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 12 2009, 03:46 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ Sep 12 2009, 03:39 PM)
No AF with the 50mm f1.8 Nikkor. For D3000 you will have to go for the 35mm DX f1.8 AF-S.
and/or the 50mm f1.4 AF-S too
raptorclans
post Sep 12 2009, 09:17 PM

333 posts

yeah if your camera doesn't have a motor, the keyword to look for lens is AF-S wink.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 13 2009, 10:21 AM

333 posts

congrats to the new D3000 owners... do post your photos up too biggrin.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 14 2009, 10:51 PM

333 posts

I'm still stuck between the SB-600 and the Di866... my budget is arround these speedlites. Any place with good Di866 pricing? I'd like to go try for myself before I decide smile.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 15 2009, 08:10 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 14 2009, 11:17 PM)
i heard this from another forum
someone got Di866 at RM870 from leos.com @ Ampang Park (cheapest i heard so far)
u can get SB600 at RM700 from Foto Selangor @ Pertama Complex
his old SB-28DX cant work on new DSLRs i think?  hmm.gif
Owh i see... I was at Ampang Park the other day, I couldn't find leos.com... then I read online it was at 1st floor doh.gif

Btw yeah despite being similar to the SB-800, the SB-80dx doesn't TTL with digital cameras, so looking for something dat's more compatible

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Sep 15 2009, 01:22 AM)
add me as D40x user. thanks tongue.gif

for event shooting,i prefer using SB-900 with battery pack since its much faster than SB-600.
does Di866 can become slave flash for SB-900?
Do the SB-600 and Di866 have battery packs too? blush.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 15 2009, 09:49 AM

333 posts

Dun worry, we're all learning-learning too... do share photos and feedback smile.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 15 2009, 10:43 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(ajoy_sempoi @ Sep 15 2009, 09:55 AM)
go for sb-600
the Di866 not good ar bro?
raptorclans
post Sep 15 2009, 01:22 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Sep 15 2009, 12:43 PM)
if u can find the 'legendry-almost-pupus' SB-800, grab it  brows.gif
I managed to try it during one of my events, a nice dude was kind enuff to lend me his... it was rather similar to the sb-80dx in terms of controls...

Btw, the Di866's specs and features are quite good wor

This post has been edited by raptorclans: Sep 15 2009, 01:23 PM
raptorclans
post Sep 15 2009, 03:37 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Sep 15 2009, 02:48 PM)
I dont know about Di866, but what i know is SB-600 dont have battery pack
i prefer u to go for SB-600 since u can use it for CLS in the future rclxms.gif
Di866 can CLS too... can also become commander... blush.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 15 2009, 04:00 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 15 2009, 03:49 PM)
on the safe side better get SB600
cos Di866 now still got some software issues
heard there's problem when pairing up with SB900 for CLS
icic... heard bout it from my fren too... i have 2 frens wif speedlites, one wif a Di866 and the other wif a SB-600... I'm planning to try these 2 more before deciding... nothing beats trying the real thing~

the only things holding me back from the SB-600 are the specs (as compared to the Di866) and also lack things I'm use to like of diffuser & bounce card~ tongue.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 15 2009, 04:34 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 15 2009, 04:08 PM)
then wat is holding u back from getting SB900?  brows.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
*pricetag i assume  laugh.gif
lolz yups... price... cos I'm aiming for a prime too~ blush.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 17 2009, 06:03 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Sep 17 2009, 02:29 AM)
I have, but i dont post 'creative' photos here, just for my sister(in NZ) and friends who want to see their pictures
www.flickr.com/faiz92

sorry no creative photo there tongue.gif
Bro I haven't gone thru much of your shots, but I found sets from this pretty cool~! rclxms.gif

raptorclans
post Sep 18 2009, 10:43 AM

333 posts

I guess it's a small sacrifice for a faster lens~ biggrin.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 23 2009, 11:12 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 23 2009, 11:04 PM)
Finally getting myself a brand new D3000 tomorrow  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Btw guys, just wanna ask.. What accessories should i get with the camera? Cheap ones like screen protector etc.. UV filter?
Congrats! Hope to see more photos soon biggrin.gif

Hmm... not much photos of late, no new events running eh...
raptorclans
post Sep 25 2009, 09:09 PM

333 posts

Hey guys, any views on the Metz mecablitz 48 AF-1 speedlite ar? I was browsing online and stumbled upon it... does seem tempting. Wonder how it fares against the SB-600 and Nissin Di866...
raptorclans
post Sep 25 2009, 11:42 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 25 2009, 10:00 PM)
Metz 48 is similar to SB600 in specs, but cheaper than SB600, but the quality is competitive to SB600
Di866 however is high power flash like SB900 at the price close to SB600 n Metz48
quality n functions wise, Metz & Nikon r better
but if want powerful flash on par with SB900, get Di866
Jz my opinion  nod.gif
thanks for the opinion... kinda leaning towards the Di866, as my budget is around rm900+ i like it's features but heard the build qualitry of the metz is good... wonder which will be the best bang for the money...

my usage is quite varied, from night-time club events to outdoor/indoor events and even food reviews. kinda tricky to decide tongue.gif
raptorclans
post Sep 28 2009, 11:49 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Sep 28 2009, 11:09 AM)
many ppl suggest to use manual focus, but when u really use it in some event n outing, u will kno itz not easy... most of the pic u took will be blur, n even u got a sharp pic, u would probably miss out a lot of chances of nice shot...
I agree... cos I cover event often, it's not easy to constantly manual focus... often u can miss the shot altogether
A nice chap lent me his 50mm f1.8 once and I tried it and it was pretty challenging...
raptorclans
post Sep 29 2009, 10:24 PM

333 posts

Wow... RM500 sounds attractive... but I dono wat to look for when it comes to 2nd hand flash (me looking to buy a speedlite soon too)
raptorclans
post Sep 29 2009, 11:08 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 29 2009, 10:52 PM)
I'm scared use for a while the kaboom.. Haha  biggrin.gif

Btw, now I feel that I want live-view  cry.gif
hehe i only use live view for high and low angle shots... and of course video tongue.gif

0.0443sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:14 AM