Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V6, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

illegaldragon87
post Sep 11 2009, 08:32 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Sep 11 2009, 12:29 AM)
50mm at f1.8 is soft...i have 1, i find it soft at 1.8..sharp at 2.5 onwards.
i seldom use it at f1.8... usually around f2.8..
illegaldragon87
post Sep 11 2009, 01:40 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Sep 11 2009, 01:28 PM)
@General Nic
Thanks for the link! But including shipping it's RM 38, just one ringgit difference than the shop i found... The shop also selling original. Cuz i am living in hostel now, shipping is not convenient for me =)

BTW im saving for 35mm f1.8 now T_T
buy more stuff so itz free shipping... tongue.gif

u r planning to use 35mm for portrait?? if yes, i feel itz too wide... 50mm would be better... jus my 2 cent... icon_rolleyes.gif
illegaldragon87
post Sep 11 2009, 02:01 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Sep 11 2009, 01:51 PM)
Most probably portrait. I have no choice =x D40 can't AF with 50mm F1.8, the AF-S ones are too expensive...
okok... i think u should try the 35mm be4 decide... coz initially GeneralNic wanna get 35mm too, but afte he tried 35mm and 50mm,den he kno the difference n aim for 50mm now... smile.gif
illegaldragon87
post Sep 11 2009, 02:32 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Sep 11 2009, 02:30 PM)
Is there 50mm F1.8 AF-S? If yes hw much?
F1.4 Afs too expensive for me leh...
lol... AFS 50mm f1.8 belum ada... tongue.gif
illegaldragon87
post Sep 18 2009, 08:52 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(heLLtuRt @ Sep 18 2009, 01:14 AM)
woah...there's 18-135 lense?
is it good,AF-S or not?
share the store name, mr ajoy_sempoi
18-135mm was known as the worst kit lens for nikon in term of sharpness (from wat i read last time)... but i dun think itz true... hmm.gif but of coz, i feel 18-70mm is sharper than 18-135mm... smile.gif

picture below taken using my ex 18-135mm lens...

illegaldragon87
post Sep 18 2009, 10:10 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 18 2009, 09:59 AM)
bro, u sold off your 18-135 lens d?
yup... now i m using 18-70mm... tongue.gif
illegaldragon87
post Sep 18 2009, 11:15 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 18 2009, 10:27 AM)
poison~!  tongue.gif
so far got feel any limitation without big zoom?  whistling.gif
i m not really fans of zoom lens YET... so not really big deal for me... laugh.gif
illegaldragon87
post Sep 19 2009, 08:44 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(heLLtuRt @ Sep 18 2009, 10:32 PM)
how come this is not sharp shakehead.gif  hmm.gif
mayb wat they said is rite tat 18-135mm if u think tis is not sharp... but i think itz good enough for a kit lens...
illegaldragon87
post Sep 28 2009, 11:09 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

many ppl suggest to use manual focus, but when u really use it in some event n outing, u will kno itz not easy... most of the pic u took will be blur, n even u got a sharp pic, u would probably miss out a lot of chances of nice shot...
illegaldragon87
post Dec 1 2009, 09:58 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

itz been months since the last time i posted here... lol... many new users edi.... smile.gif anyone going pc fair?? tongue.gif
illegaldragon87
post Dec 1 2009, 10:01 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 1 2009, 10:00 PM)
bro, welcome back  rclxms.gif
me PC fair kaki sure go 1~  laugh.gif
this time your pretty fren working there again?  brows.gif
lol... thanx.... nope... she skipped tis PC fair... so jus hunt for others... haha... make a TT session den... laugh.gif

Added on December 1, 2009, 10:02 pm
QUOTE(shinjun @ Dec 1 2009, 10:01 PM)
I think I will go lah burnett...hehe
den TT la... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by illegaldragon87: Dec 1 2009, 10:02 PM
illegaldragon87
post Dec 3 2009, 02:53 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

hey guys... i will be going to pc fair on the sat.... any1 of u wanna join??
illegaldragon87
post Dec 7 2009, 12:39 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 7 2009, 12:08 PM)
No im using Nissin Di622 with a bounce card. The showgirl is not underexposed, but the background is underexposed. ISO i used 400, aperture lowest possible (F5.6 i think), shutter speed i manually put 1/50, and that's the lowest speed i can handheld with least handshake.

here's the outcome:

i can't get photo like this: (not my photo)

So i think either it's because i dont have a prime lens, or my D40 noise control is weak (ISO 800 is very noisy) or i dont have a good bounce card. But i think it's because of the noise control though, i should have used ISO 800 =( or get a prime..
u bounce it 90 degree??
illegaldragon87
post Dec 8 2009, 10:17 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Dec 8 2009, 07:48 PM)
Yea, not wide, too tele for me. smile.gif
u wanna go for UWA/fisheye ma... of coz those lens will be tight for u la... tongue.gif lol...
illegaldragon87
post Dec 9 2009, 12:00 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 8 2009, 11:23 PM)
i think 35 or 50mm is suitable for me cuz i shoot more on objects (like figures, gundams etc) and portraits. But 50mm F1.8 no AF in D40, if not i already get it. Maybe wan practise manual focus le...
IMO, itz not really a good idea to buy 50mm 1.8 if u r using D40/D60/D3000/D5000... coz afte the user buy it, he/she surely say regret for not getting a DSLR with built-in motor... after that they will hunt for DSLR with built-in motor... the incident happen to me and few of my frenz too... last time when i bought 50mm 1.8, i aso tot of using MF oni... but in reality, MF really slow u down a lot... smile.gif
illegaldragon87
post Dec 12 2009, 10:23 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Dec 12 2009, 08:32 AM)
Is there any software that can edit Nikon's NEF files?
Looks like Nikon don't provide raw editing tool like Canon's DPP...

Added on December 12, 2009, 8:41 am

D3 + 24-70G
wow... machine gun... if we got chance to go for photoshoot or TT together, remember let me molest it... tongue.gif
illegaldragon87
post Dec 12 2009, 10:26 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Dec 12 2009, 10:24 AM)
I'll molest your sp90 too. tongue.gif
sure... but dun regret ah... tat day my frenz tried my SP90... now he is fully poisoned n searching for SP90 edi... laugh.gif
illegaldragon87
post Dec 12 2009, 02:02 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(wadie @ Dec 12 2009, 01:56 PM)
hai there....
sorry for interuption...
i'm newbie....
update my name as d40 user... tongue.gif
bought d80 for a few hours...then my car was damage by syaitan...my d80 gone.... cry.gif  rclxub.gif
u put ur D80 inside the car?? bad move dude... always carry stuff wit u...
illegaldragon87
post Dec 13 2009, 03:07 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Dec 13 2009, 01:08 AM)
I don think such devices exists. You left your dslr in the back seat in a bag or hide it in the boot?
sorry to say it does.... those thieves can buy those sensor for less than rm100... so better dun keep any electronic stuff in the car..
illegaldragon87
post Dec 18 2009, 10:59 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(lonewolfchua @ Dec 18 2009, 10:50 AM)
Hey guys, anyone service their lens before? My 18-200VR (first gen) had some dusts inside lens element (might be due to its pumping design), and wondering if warranty covers cleaning it? I emailed Nikon PJ but they nvr replied..

Also anyone ever make a dust reference shot of their D40? I tried once but my Capture NX2 said too much dust to make reference of... How do you make a dust reference shot?
ya... it does cover lens cleaning... jus fully 'utilize' ur warranty be4 it ends... i will send my D80 for sensor cleaning too be4 my warranty ends... tongue.gif

0.0271sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:27 AM