Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V6, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

gnome827
post Sep 16 2009, 03:12 PM

52 posts

rite sifu really need ur help on ma issue.... having this both models as mentioned above in ma mind, about 1/2 hour ago i went to selangor photographers 'duty free' shop at pertama complex.

it was ma 1st time holding such bulky camera in ma hand n having no knowledge before (pratical i mean....).. wat strike me most is... MONEY!! anyway the offer seem to be good... and i have few thing running in ma mind, wic despreeatly neeed advise or suggestion for...

Worry 1
why do tey call te shop 'duty free'? are tey selling te geniune stuffs with local geniune warranty?

Need Suggection
D60 / 1000D without bag and MMC card - RM 1950
D5000 without same above - RM 2700
Wat u guys think on the price m getting? reasonable or way reasonable?

Doubt 1
Why pay high for a camera wic only can zoom few metters away? 3-4 meter.. the both model wic i and the shop fella tested can only zoom miserably with its standard lens kit.. if m not mistaken its 18mm - 55mm...

Possiblity 1
can i buy the body itself and fix a diffrent len... reason is i do not want to have closer zooms... interested in landscaping photography n i need good focus n zoom... te shop fella suggested to buy lens of model 70 - 300mm diffrently tat cost 900 to 1000+..

Need sugestion
pls recommend a gd lens tat can focus far an ideal for landscaping photography + normal photography... wide lens can be used for normal shot?
wer can i get cheap lens, second perhaps...

pls pls have me ur comments n suggestion as i need to buy before end of tis week... goin for place wic has wonderful n marvelous land scaping n buildings....

gnome827
post Sep 17 2009, 01:06 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Sep 16 2009, 06:42 PM)
u might want to consider nikkor 18-200mm.. since its wide (not wide like 10mm la) but can zoom up to 200mm..
buy body only, then choose the right lens lah..  thumbup.gif
use no flash - slower shutter speed? or use flash with diffuser, since the flash on the flower is kinda hard/harsh..

just my 2cent  notworthy.gif
thanks bro @ sifu..... very much refreshing now after ur comment... hey is the price reasonable over tat place i mentioned? is it original nikon warranty?
gnome827
post Sep 17 2009, 02:23 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 16 2009, 11:22 PM)
the expensive price tag is coz of its body, so wat if its kits lens zoom is lens is less than normal cams?
the main thing is wat DSLRs can do wat basic cams cant do, that is full control of settings
n y u nid big zoom for landscape photography??
the reason y kit lens zoom is limited is cos for daily normal photography wide lens is the 1 needed
if u really wan big zoom, n jz wan to buy the body(only D5000 got sell body only at around RM2.5k),
get 18-200, cos its like 1-11x optical zoom
70-300 zoom is bigger but u can do very wide shots at 70mm, no way u can take group shots or have difficulties getting whole landscape in the pic
My suggestion,
1) buy D5000 body only + 18-200mm VRII lens (RM2.5k + RM2.7k = RM5.2k)
or
2) buy D5000 with kit lens + 55-200mm VR lens (RM2.7k + RM900 = RM3.6k)
or
3) buy D3000 with kit lens + 55-200mm VR lens (RM2k + RM900 = RM2.9k)

dun get the 70-300mm cos it has no VR
VR is like anti-shake mechanism on normal cams
got 70-300mm VR but that cost RM1.9k...
hope this helps  icon_rolleyes.gif
u mean the "mangkuk" diffuser?  tongue.gif  laugh.gif
thks general_nic.... u made te space wider for me... hmm nw its 3k for me to dig... aiyooo... mmm

0.0181sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:32 AM