HELP: Buying TV, HTIB, and kitchen bits, "furnishing rented high end pad"

TSmx5er
post Sep 9 2009, 06:10 AM, updated 17y ago

Hi everyone....... Please help, I thoroughly appreciate it icon_rolleyes.gif

I need some advice for the above and the list are below.
icon_question.gif
TV: A must spec: >42inch, 100mhz LCD SD HD ONLY.

Budget 2.8k - 3.5k max. Found the famous Panny P42x10k RM3299 currently being discussed by everyone in the forum.

I am looking for bang for bucks! but must be good as well. At least mid quartile std.... in front of common eyes not enthusiast
Use for Astro + DVD only

Any brand is acceptable, as I am not a brand snob
Please use Samsung Serie 4 and 5 as a benchmark. i.e better / worse than Serie 4 / 5 thnx...

I think Astro is 720p broadcast, thus a SD HD ready is good enough for me.

Please: Tell me model number so that I can do some homework on the net.
Recommended dealer?

Advise: The current Astro decoder - what connection is it to the telly? --> Found the answer: Component on the latest decoder. Thnx.

HTIB: i.e All in one box (DVD& receiver in one box powering 5.1 spkrs setup Active Subwoofer if possible) or better still DVD player ( receiver powering 5.1 setup, again active subwoofer if possible)

Quality: As long as most people say OK can already

Aesthetic value is a must. Eye candy

I can forget about the power spec, cause the living is quite big and it wont fill the room unfortunately. BUT this is for rental property only.

Very tight budget. RM1-1.5k MAXXXxx

Please: Tell me model number so that I can do some homework on the net.
Recommended dealer?

PLEASE DONT PERSUADE ME to deviate from my spec

Such as Plasma better than LCD - LCD fit for purpose in this case.
or FULL HD vs HD ready - Astro is SD 720
or HTIB - Tight budget

I just need it for a high end rental pad thus a certain spec must be met / std visually and audio

Bang for bucks option pls.

other bits I need unsure.gif

where to get all these small appliances and and any specific model / spec u recommend pls

Basic microwave : Panasonic Microwave RM350 Price OK?

Any recommendation for (Microwave Oven) - just noticed email is microwave oven instead. DUH...

Electrolux vacuum cleaner Bag ged version Rm180 Price ok?

Coffee maker: Electrolux coffee maker Rm150 Price ok?

Juicer: I need to proper juicer not blender. Pls advise on price?

I know this sounds weird particularly house appliances in this thread / category of forum. but pls help if possible.
unsure.gif

thumbup.gif

Sorry mod - weird request, but I am overseas. and sis knows ZILCH about electronics.

thanks again wink.gif

Added on September 9, 2009, 6:13 amI forgot

HTIB dvd-p must be multi-region

or permanent hackable to multi-region

This post has been edited by mx5er: Sep 9 2009, 07:17 AM
DarkNite
post Sep 9 2009, 07:30 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(mx5er @ Sep 9 2009, 06:10 AM)
I just need it for a high end rental pad thus a certain spec must be met / std visually and audio

Bang for bucks option pls.
other bits I need  unsure.gif

where to get all these small appliances and and any specific model / spec u recommend pls

Basic microwave : Panasonic Microwave RM350 Price OK?

Any recommendation for (Microwave Oven) - just noticed email is microwave oven instead. DUH...

Your writing is kind of funny and hard to understand.

Just to confirm, are you going to stay in the high end rental pad or going to rent out to people?

Most things you mention can be bought from Harvey Norman. They also do delivery and installation.
If renting out to people best get extended warranty from Harvey Norman to covers breakages and damages. My relative has a exclusive condo in Mont Kiara for rent, also dare not put in a 42" LCD. Once he rented it out to a multinational CEO but that also can't guarantee no damage. The Mat Salleh's son damaged a very good 29" CRT TV, VCR and walls! Good thing he asked for higher deposit.

TSmx5er
post Sep 9 2009, 07:52 AM

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Sep 9 2009, 12:30 AM)
Your writing is kind of funny and hard to understand.

Just to confirm, are you going to stay in the high end rental pad or going to rent out to people?

Most things you mention can be bought from Harvey Norman. They also do delivery and installation.
If renting out to people best get extended warranty from Harvey Norman to covers breakages and damages. My relative has a exclusive condo in Mont Kiara for rent, also dare not put in a 42" LCD. Once he rented it out to a multinational CEO but that also can't guarantee no damage. The Mat Salleh's son damaged a very good 29" CRT TV, VCR and walls! Good thing he asked for higher deposit.
Hi Thanks for being politically correct ;-)

Yes I tend to b like tht on forum. Unfortunately.

Letting out a high end pad. He pays great rental, thus demand great spec

I will look into Harvey Norman's website tomorrow if they exist. Need to sleep now.

Have anyone acid test Harvey Norman's xtended warranty policy? I have no good experience about Malaysia retailers.

Deposit 2/3mths cant remember... but that shld cover most stuff. So no worries on that.

Background checked and all clear. Single man. Only thing worries me is my Ikea bed brows.gif (hope he does not reside in lowyat.net) LOL....

Pls advise thanks.

Added on September 9, 2009, 8:14 amgigco04 - u hav beeen kind.

most of the stuff i want is not worth buying used

unless price is a proper give away when taking into consideration of del / warranty / risk / head ache

This post has been edited by mx5er: Sep 9 2009, 08:14 AM
DarkNite
post Sep 9 2009, 08:28 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(mx5er @ Sep 9 2009, 07:52 AM)
I will look into Harvey Norman's website tomorrow if they exist. Need to sleep now.
Have anyone acid test Harvey Norman's xtended warranty policy? I have no good experience about Malaysia retailers.
Here is the link to HN website and here is some backgrd info on them.

acid test Harvey Norman's xtended warranty policy? hmm.gif , ya I also want to know.

Hope your Ikea bed is not the wooden type or its low cost range one. From my experience most Ikea wooden stuff are NOT acclimatised for Malaysian tropical weather. Their wooden stuff tend to attract molds and fungi.
wackojacko
post Sep 9 2009, 09:03 AM

207 posts

interesting.... since when Astro broadcast on 720p????

Or have i been missing out on something.... even on component cables best i got was 576i only
rx330
post Sep 9 2009, 10:00 AM

11,811 posts

as they say, really macam macam ada in lyn
TSmx5er
post Sep 9 2009, 02:41 PM

ok my bad. thought astro is 720. took for granted sd is 720

too late ikea bed installed. unfortunately.

rx330. explain ur quote pls

with regards to hv's xtnded policy. i would be concerned to pay it, if no evidence of successful genuine / consistent claim.

hmmm..........

i am looking for deck chair similiar to sun lounger / pool deck chair + table. any thoughts u can share with me pls? thnx
Bishop
post Sep 9 2009, 03:01 PM

Diagonal Views
816 posts

QUOTE(mx5er @ Sep 9 2009, 02:41 PM)
ok my bad. thought astro is 720. took for granted sd is 720

too late ikea bed installed. unfortunately.

rx330. explain ur quote pls

with regards to hv's xtnded policy. i would be concerned to pay it, if no evidence of successful genuine / consistent claim.

hmmm..........

i am looking for deck chair similiar to sun lounger / pool deck chair + table. any thoughts u can share with me pls? thnx
Hire an Interior Designer...
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 9 2009, 07:44 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(mx5er @ Sep 9 2009, 06:10 AM)
Hi everyone....... Please help, I thoroughly appreciate it  icon_rolleyes.gif

I need some advice for the above and the list are below.
  icon_question.gif
TV: A must spec: >42inch, 100mhz LCD  SD HD ONLY.

Budget 2.8k - 3.5k max. Found the famous Panny  P42x10k RM3299 currently being discussed by everyone in the forum.

The Panasonic is a Plasma.
TSmx5er
post Sep 10 2009, 02:20 AM

QUOTE(Bishop @ Sep 9 2009, 08:01 AM)
Hire an Interior Designer...
done. this is fine tweak package

thanks wink.gif

Added on September 10, 2009, 2:35 am
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 9 2009, 12:44 PM)
The Panasonic is a Plasma.
bugger looks like budget is rather than can be an issue.

ok...... hmmm plasma cheaper or lcd cheaper? i am unsure on this

cause i bought my plasma cheaply ;-) in the country i reside

errrrr

how about this. most cost effective lcd/plasma 100mhz 42inch 720p panel.
forget about hdmi

astro use component. THUS I would want a panel with component input + s-video for visual signal from htib?

wht is the "usual visual signal connection" in htib nowadays? sorry i hav not bought htib b4. and been away frm msia for too long already.

pls recommend a model. i am not looking for a fab panel. just useable.

thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by mx5er: Sep 10 2009, 03:54 AM
wackojacko
post Sep 10 2009, 06:49 PM

207 posts

u can get a lcd for around RM3k for ur needs. HTIB use HDMI nowadays. Cant really recommend a brand or model for you as I havent done any research on this. I would suggest you use ur 'fast' internet connection on whichever country ur in and research it yourself instead of keep asking here as most of us here dont have so much free time to research stuff for individual needs. Cheers.
TSmx5er
post Sep 10 2009, 11:39 PM

OK. will keep my eyes peeled for 720p + 100mhz 42inch panel + Component + HDMI specs

True our internet connection is fast. but.... unfortunately there is no (unless I missed / didnt find it) online shop.

let me know if u guys spot a bargain.

thanks mod. Pls close the thread if deem necessary a week from now, as I would have done most if not all the purchase.

Just need to want for potential tenant to sign. Wish me luck ;-)

0.0199sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:00 AM