Recommendations on a 5.1 Home Theater System, With HDMI In/Out

TSLordSparda
post Sep 8 2009, 11:53 AM, updated 17y ago

136 posts

Hey guys, I'm looking for a 5.1 channel home theater system. Specifically, I need one that has HDMI in and out port. I'm not looking for high end receivers or anything, just in-the-box stuff.

After a bit of shopping around I've found an LG set that does that, but not sure how's the quality like Don't remember the model number, but it has these fancy tall speakers that look like champagne glass. Does any other brand have this sorta thing and not be ridiculously expensive? Budget about 1-2k.
van_dyke
post Sep 8 2009, 12:17 PM

132 posts

Pioneer lx61/70
azbro
post Sep 8 2009, 12:25 PM

4,403 posts

Try Sony HT-SF2300, it has 3in-1out HDMI Repeaters..

If you just wan a HDMI repeater / Switcher try:
http://www.play-asia.com
Search for HDMI repeaters

This post has been edited by azbro: Sep 8 2009, 12:44 PM
TSLordSparda
post Sep 8 2009, 05:11 PM

136 posts

Went shopping at Harvey Norman, two of these sets caught my eye (and is within in my budget): -

LG HT964TZ (RM 1899)
Pioneer RS-70 (RM 1999)

LG looks more... eh... stylish, nice wineglass speakers, comes with upscaling DVD player, but connectivity sucks (only 1 HDMI in and out). Gotta end up buying a HDMI splitter since I plan to have 3 devices (PS3, Xbox 360 and WD Player) connected to it. Not a big deal though, at worst I'll just go around unplugging and plugging my HDMI to whatever I want to use.

Pioneer looks really... uh... boombastic tongue.gif

But connectivity top notch (3 HDMI in, awesome), seems to have more features. And I would think Pioneer would have better sound quality. I've checked through and there's no comments on RS-70... looks like it's the same with the RS-7 but with an updated receiver (VSX-819H-K).

So what do you guys think? As you can tell, it's mostly for gaming and movies.

kianwee
post Sep 8 2009, 05:15 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(LordSparda @ Sep 8 2009, 05:11 PM)
Went shopping at Harvey Norman, two of these sets caught my eye (and is within in my budget): -

LG HT964TZ (RM 1899)
Pioneer RS-70 (RM 1999)

LG looks more... eh... stylish, nice wineglass speakers, comes with upscaling DVD player, but connectivity sucks (only 1 HDMI in and out). Gotta end up buying a HDMI splitter since I plan to have 3 devices (PS3, Xbox 360 and WD Player) connected to it. Not a big deal though, at worst I'll just go around unplugging and plugging my HDMI to whatever I want to use.

Pioneer looks really... uh... boombastic  tongue.gif

But connectivity top notch (3 HDMI in, awesome), seems to have more features. And I would think Pioneer would have better sound quality. I've checked through and there's no comments on RS-70... looks like it's the same with the RS-7 but with an updated receiver (VSX-819H-K).

Usually you can get much cheaper from outside expecially when you pay cash.... try to get quotation from other shops as well.
azbro
post Sep 8 2009, 05:34 PM

4,403 posts

I thought you wanted something simple bro, thats why I recommended the Sony blush.gif

Anyway, RS70 rocks!!

Poadster
post Sep 8 2009, 07:23 PM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

LG HT964TZ (RM 1899)
Pioneer RS-70 (RM 1999)

The LG is a HtiB, all built in. Sounds pretty impressive and is pretty boombastic too.

The RS-70 is a dedicated AVR + 5.1 speaker setup, with a 12in active subwoofer, which will shake yr floor and roof tiles better than the LG set.

The VSX819 is an entry level HD audio capable (TrueHD and DTS-MA able) so you can LPCM lossless audio from yr PS3. The Xbox360 and WDTV cant, but still can send video and audio (DD and DTS) to the AVR.

The only setback of the Pioneer set is the speakers, which originated from the RS7 Todoroki series, meaning the speakers are of old design of at least 3 yrs old. This may not be a bad thing, as this may show that the speakers are well accepted.

I have tested the RS7 speakers, which are boombastic and strong for movies, but lacks the warmth for music. For games, you will rarely reach the audio levels of a biling balang movie (action movie la...).

For me, its a steal at RM1999. U get a powerful entry level HD audio AVR (160W per channel), 12 in active subs, and 5 speakers. No HTiB can match the audio output of an AVR, ask any AVR users.

Good luck.

azbro
post Sep 8 2009, 08:35 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 8 2009, 07:23 PM)
For me, its a steal at RM1999. U get a powerful entry level HD audio AVR (160W per channel), 12 in active subs, and 5 speakers. No HTiB can match the audio output of an AVR, ask any AVR users.

Good luck.
Yup...my Philips HT sound pecah one if pump up the volume...some more puny 6.5inch so call sub box doesn't do justice as all.

I would go for Hifi system with proper amp and speakers instead of nice looking HT set with tall boys....12inch subs for the pioneer?...mama mia thumbup.gif King Kong and TRex...here I come drool.gif

This post has been edited by azbro: Sep 8 2009, 08:40 PM
Poadster
post Sep 9 2009, 12:11 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 8 2009, 08:35 PM)
Yup...my Philips HT sound pecah one if pump up the volume...some more puny 6.5inch so call sub box doesn't do justice as all.

I would go for Hifi system with proper amp and speakers instead of nice looking HT set with tall boys....12inch subs for the pioneer?...mama mia  thumbup.gif King Kong and TRex...here I come drool.gif
Bro, HTiB usually have small speakers and passive subs with small drives (like yrs).

The RS70 have 3 - way floor standers, two speakers in the center unit, 2 small surround units, and 12 inch active subs. The active sub needs its own power to drive the unit, and it hums bass instead of loud bassy sound. Floor and roof tiles can be loosen.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

There is an alternative to the black speakers, the S-MS800 wood speakers. The entire set with a VSX819 + S-MS800 Speakers + 12 inch active sub = RM2999 - RM3499 (Harvey Norman). Happy hunting.

PS, JB ada Harvey Norman ka??
TSLordSparda
post Sep 11 2009, 02:20 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Sep 8 2009, 05:15 PM)
Usually you can get much cheaper from outside expecially when you pay cash.... try to get quotation from other shops as well.
Going shopping this weekend some more. Anyone have any recommendations on well known shops? First time I'm shopping for this stuff, so very NOOB about it.

rclxub.gif

van_dyke
post Sep 11 2009, 04:22 PM

132 posts

Actually I was on this same crossroad as you about a week ago. As I don't really fancy huge stuffs, I went for a HITB.

Brought it back, and was not even near satisfied with the impact it gave. end up I had to do a trade in back to get an AVR set, which cost me some lost of money. Lesson learned.

My advice is, you've got to hear it to decide.... If you're in for looks, then no need to think, Hitb is the way to go. smile.gif
Poadster
post Sep 11 2009, 04:59 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(LordSparda @ Sep 11 2009, 02:20 PM)
Going shopping this weekend some more. Anyone have any recommendations on well known shops? First time I'm shopping for this stuff, so very NOOB about it.

rclxub.gif
The best way to this is to audition the systems, listen to the same source using diff systems. Then decide which suits yr ears. Then only see which ones yr budget suits you, and decide which is best for yr pockets...

Harvey Norman at Ikano is a good place to start as they have HTiBs and AVR+5.1 speakers, and even Yammy sound bars (ask them).

sonerin
post Sep 11 2009, 05:20 PM

8,740 posts

I am currently using VSX819 + S-MS800 Speakers + 12 inch active sub and the sound quality is to my satisfaction.
azbro
post Sep 11 2009, 05:42 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 9 2009, 12:11 AM)

PS, JB ada Harvey Norman ka??
Dun play play, we go to Harvey Norman Singapore long time oledi even before KL got branch... brows.gif

0.0199sec    1.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:14 AM