Photography {▀} Panasonic Leica LX-3 King of the King: V3 {▀}, ▇ Ultimate F2.0 24mm Manual Digicam ▇

Shinichi
post Sep 25 2009, 08:43 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 25 2009, 02:27 AM)
don't think its something surrounding the button.

visually checked with a flashlight that when it gets stuck, the button is not even contacting the outer zoom ring lol. but it acts AS IF it was sweat.gif

dunno lol. will give it another week, if problem still there, warranty it is cry.gif
The small joystick on my LX3 is not that sensitive too. Sometimes need to press few times only can register. Is this normal?
Shinichi
post Sep 26 2009, 07:39 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(laichong @ Sep 25 2009, 11:58 AM)
the problem im having is the Mode Dial which is a bit loosen compare to others which i met them and try theirs cam, otherwise the LX3 is all good to go smile.gif
Hmm I guess mine quite loose too... coz i will accidentally change mode if not hold the cam properly...
Shinichi
post Sep 30 2009, 10:26 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hmm still waiting for news if its safe to update my LX3 firmware... since its suspended now... kinda worry the firmware might have problem...
Shinichi
post Oct 2 2009, 07:55 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

I updated mine to 2.0 and I ain't using C1 and C2 so should be fine then smile.gif
Shinichi
post Oct 5 2009, 08:36 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(JasonSky @ Oct 5 2009, 10:25 AM)
Thanks for the info... thought I was too late but seems that its still up for sale at the same prices.

8gb @ RM79
6gb @ RM59
Both are class 4 only?
Shinichi
post Oct 11 2009, 01:02 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Oct 11 2009, 12:48 AM)
most camera shops carry lenspens. its a pretty popular accessory. more of a necessity for me tongue.gif

get the lenspen mini II. smaller and should fit in a camera pouch nicely. smile.gif

try checking out yamiya or shashinki also lol.
Is this consider small?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...542&hl=lens+pen
Shinichi
post Oct 13 2009, 10:14 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Oct 13 2009, 07:46 PM)
cant read mandarin words
does that means u 'sand' ur lc1 so its thinner ? or cut? using what item?
the current lc1 indeed looks bulky
Yeah I'm curious too... not sure how modified LC-1 able to "lock" into lens frame of LX3...
Shinichi
post Oct 13 2009, 10:52 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Oct 13 2009, 10:48 PM)
i sanded mine until the white dot vanish, now my LC-1 can just clip on the lense ring biggrin.gif
but bad thing is that it would not hold that strong so if anyone wanna sand theirs, do make sure how much u intend to sand
You use sand paper to do the job? How long does it take to do the modification?
Shinichi
post Oct 14 2009, 10:54 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Oct 14 2009, 12:15 AM)
@shinichi
well the duration of the mod really depends on your sanding kungfu tongue.gif
i took about roughly an hour to finish up the job, bought the roughest and finest sandpaper available from the hardware store and just sand it, i tried using those stones those auntie used to sharpen their knife too, but that one is of no use, sand paper is the best option, start from the rough then steadily move on to sand it on the finest.

Do remember to rotate every once in awhile when you are sanding as you would not want a unsymmetrical LC-1 right? biggrin.gif
You must use force as well, where the chinese are concern its am lik (canto), u must have the kungfu!

I did not use any cut and sand ways that reader had mentioned, mine is just pure sanding kungfu in action! brows.gif

here's two shots internal and external of my LC-1.
Will be posting my bag where i put all my stuffs later.

Hmm feel tempted to sand my LC-1 too... haha but I know I'm not good at doing these kinda things.
Let see how first... if most members here able to do it without any problem I might try my luck... tongue.gif
Shinichi
post Oct 15 2009, 09:30 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Oct 15 2009, 07:34 PM)
hahaha
u wait for others, i wait for u  to do it too then it will take ages...lol
i am just lazy
haha, you lazy, and i'm not a risk taker tongue.gif

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Oct 15 2009, 08:45 PM)
what i did was, i never sand and make it thinner. Since the "kaki" at the can spoil the thread on the camera, i sand the "kaki" instead. so when u screw it on, it won't be too tight until spoiling the thread, but enuff to hold tight and turn the lens easily (to solve the vignetting from the to or bottom).
I recalled someone here said LC-1's "kaki" wont spoil LX3's lense ring... LC-1 = plsatic, LX3 = Aluminum...
Shinichi
post Oct 23 2009, 11:15 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(ShenWoo @ Oct 21 2009, 04:53 PM)
New firmware update available

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/.../LX3/index.html

from the update log, they only fixed the custom function which plague v2.0
Thanks for sharing. Updated mine too smile.gif
Shinichi
post Oct 28 2009, 12:07 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 27 2009, 11:44 PM)
Check this out maaaaaaaaaaaaan. An awesome view finder for the LX3.

wow revolver style viewfinder biggrin.gif
Shinichi
post Nov 15 2009, 01:58 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(yupio @ Nov 15 2009, 02:09 AM)
I plan to get this Kata case for my LX3  brows.gif

Picture credits to xtemujin
This looks the same as my free lumix pouch, just different and has better design...

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Nov 15 2009, 01:59 PM
Shinichi
post Dec 6 2009, 12:29 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, I know LX3 has good image quality for a compact PnS. But among Canon S90, Panasonic ZR1 and Fuji F70EXR, which can produce image quality that is closest or comparable to LX3's IQ?

Do you think its stupid to switch from LX3 to one of these PnS?
Shinichi
post Dec 6 2009, 12:42 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Dec 6 2009, 12:38 AM)
LX3 only have 2.5x zoom, sometimes wan to snap further than that also cannot.

Probably you can consider canon G11 as well. Well controlled noise at ISO800. I heard the built quality is superb.
Thanks, 2.5x zoom is fine for me. Just that Lx3's size kinda big for me. Its not so "pocketable" if you know what i mean tongue.gif

Canon G11 is bigger than Lx3, out of my consideration... haha

Added on December 6, 2009, 12:44 am
QUOTE(crayzee @ Dec 6 2009, 12:38 AM)
It's up to your choice, each camera have pros and cons. You can't have it all right? tongue.gif
Choose the one that might suit your usage better.
For me LX3 is a very good cam. Just the size not so pocket friendly... haha

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Dec 6 2009, 12:44 AM
Shinichi
post Dec 6 2009, 12:00 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Thanks for feedback nTHtoSEy & Nightstalker1993. Maybe I'll check out Canon S90 in shop first see if its okay.
I'm not the type that like to bring bag around. So a pocket-able cam would be good for me. But I still like my LX3 very much...
Shinichi
post Dec 6 2009, 11:25 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 6 2009, 07:30 PM)
at first i also think like you after seeing S90..thinking to get it as it is pocketable and the flash attract me too.... but after think twice, since LX3 if not better or at least equal in term of performance with S90, then what is the point i get S90 and then put LX3 at home sleeping only? for me, impossible to bring LX3 out if i really buy s90..  so i decided look further and fall in lov with m4/3 system now - GF1 or E-P2.. and i my plan to get S90 canceled...i make up my mind that either to get a better system as my main or just used my LX3 as my main toy rather than get 2 same quality camera.. very wasted lor.. at least better camera is good for some serious function use too..now i am waiting for a good time to grab the new toys..  rclxms.gif
Yeah, I'm been thinking of this too... if I were to get a smaller size cam, mostly will sell my LX3... but as of now still don't feel like selling my LX3... have to think of better ways to carry my LX3 without carrying a bag... and I don't feel like hanging it around my neck... if walk around ppl will think im a tourist tongue.gif
Shinichi
post Dec 7 2009, 09:24 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 6 2009, 11:33 PM)
i use a case which can hang on my waist.. but normally i just carry it with my hand or hand it on my shoulder like a small bag.. other time, i just put the case into my bigger bag...last time i hang around my neck and it nearly knock the balcony's handrail when i bound my head to look down from a balcony.. luckily nth happen .. tats why now i always put it in the case to protect it.. tongue.gif
yeah, i did the same as you, using stock case that comes with LX3, hang it around my neck during my last trip... but i only use the case during trip... normal case i will put in pocket... have to wear cargo pant and put it in lower pocket... but my leg pain coz the cam keep knock on my leg while walking tongue.gif

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 7 2009, 10:13 AM)
Why do you want to buy something of the same/slightly worse performance range ?
size does matter tongue.gif but LX3 is still a very good cam... i cant find a better replacement for LX3 in term of size sad.gif

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 7 2009, 10:50 AM)
hehe..if he own S90 in the first place, then should look at better camera,..but too bad he own LX3 now and wan pocketable..so the only option is S90.. ..but i feel its not really a good option to get 2 same quality camera.. tats why now i am looking at m4/3 system now.. i lov LX3 so much..dun think wan to sell it for S90 after i slowly get use to the camera now..
ain't m4/3 larger than LX3?

S90 is ok, but battery life only 200+ shots compare to LX3's 330+ shots...
Shinichi
post Dec 7 2009, 10:25 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 7 2009, 10:18 PM)
yeah its larger.. hanging LX3 in front look a bit too small..but hanging lets say GF1 or E-P1 will attract more eyes..  drool.gif
i am not using the case come with my LX3 as the zip cause me problem.. and afraid it will scratch the camera too.. i use the case which is for panasonic other model..it can suit the camera with 52mm adapter perfectly.. plus can put in 2 extra battery inside the small pocket and 1 memory card too.. but of cos its not that small..look like a small handbag instead..  blink.gif
Guess my case is different from yours:

Shinichi
post Feb 27 2010, 10:22 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(bagata @ Feb 27 2010, 06:33 PM)
urm, 1quick question... can i use the usb cable to charge my lx3? 4gotten 2bring along my charger sweat.gif
Sorry but answer is no...

0.1112sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:24 AM