Motivational Books, Books that drive you to Success path!
Sep 6 2009, 03:06 AM, updated 17y ago
209 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Hello everyone, I have been read all the topics LYN Literary Lounge & found that no one discuss about Motivational Books. I wonder do anyone sharing the same interest as me. Well, I love reading motivational books as it is a form of drive me to work hard in life in order to be success. Very often I see people reading Fiction or Non-fiction but seldom see people holding a motivational books like The Success Principles, The New Science of Getting Rich, Think Big & Kick Ass and etc. Do any of you have any good recommendations on motivational books? Please share
Sep 6 2009, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(Geminist @ Sep 6 2009, 03:39 AM) 59 Seconds by Richard Wiseman Really? http://www.amazon.co.uk/59-Seconds-Think-L...52179428&sr=8-1 After reading this, it will probably save you spending too much time on other 'motivational' books. There's actually such a 'powerful' book in the market? Well, I should go get one copy to start reading. By the way, thanks a lot mate! |
Sep 10 2009, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(Geminist @ Sep 6 2009, 10:28 PM) No problem. The book was written by a psychologist and looks at self help/motivational books from a psychology perspective, backed with scientific research. Psychology perspective huh.. Well, I have always been wanting to improve my exposure towards psychology but I don't know where should I start with. Perhaps this book will be the first book that bring me into the psychology aspect and hope I can gain the most out of it. Added on September 10, 2009, 6:47 pm QUOTE(teongpeng @ Sep 7 2009, 07:00 PM) wah mana boleh beli woiiiii.....i just read the review of that book on amazon...very the interesting la! Yup, I also read the review & found it interesting. I'm so jealous of you, so fast you already manage to get the book. Read it & also review The Luck Factor see if is a good read, if yes remember to share with us. Added on September 9, 2009, 6:09 pmWOOHOOO got the book at borders. I got his other book too - The Luck Factor This post has been edited by nky_kevin: Sep 10 2009, 06:47 PM |
Sep 12 2009, 12:29 AM
QUOTE(Geminist @ Sep 10 2009, 07:56 PM) Cool, The Luck Factor is in my to read list, do share how it is. Thanks Geminist for the recommendation of the two books! Appreciate it! Keep recommending & we shall keep this topic alive. Richard Wiseman also had another book, Quirkology, which is quite a light but fun read. You get to see various research people did, including the famous Coca Cola/Pepsi blind tasting. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Quirkology-Curious...d_bxgy_b_text_b Added on September 11, 2009, 2:52 am Blink by Malcolm Gladwell could be an interesting book for you as well. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Blink-Power-Thinki...52608706&sr=1-1 My to-read book list is piling up & I am glad about it! I have just ordered Blue Ocean Strategy & Built to Last from one of the seller here. Waiting for the book to arrive on next Wednesday. EDITED: Blue Ocean Strategy Built to Last Added on September 12, 2009, 12:38 amI came across of one keyword while revising for my exam today - Subliminal Perception. It explains about people usually unconsciously receive a message & put them in the memory bank. For example, when you are in the cinema, it advertises about the popcorn (maybe about the process of making pop corn), eventually after the movie, the pop corn sales will increase despite is it a small range or big range. Note: I am explaining this phrase in my own words & providing example with my own thought. Correct me if I'm wrong. Well, the main point is I would like to ask you guys that do you all think reading all these motivational books conveying the methods attaining success will actually bring effect to our life? Does it have any impact to you people & was it different to people who don't read. From the respond of this topic, I could see not much people interested in this kind of books. I might be wrong because maybe there are forumers that read & don't respond. But, I personally think the reading of motivational books are quite low in our culture. What do you people think? This post has been edited by nky_kevin: Sep 12 2009, 12:38 AM |
Sep 12 2009, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(Geminist @ Sep 12 2009, 06:19 PM) I've actually read Blue Ocean Strategy quite a while back, it's presents an interesting concept of creating a new market instead of fighting in an old one. What an awesome reply from you.. One reason I don't buy into motivational book is because you get the sudden urge of doing something once you've read it, but three months later, you're back to your usual life. There is a tried and tested method to be successful, that is to be persistent in whatever you're doing. About subliminal perception, there is this topic where back in the late 50s some researcher published a paper where he experimented with subliminal message in a move (buy coke and popcorn) and the sales of popcorn increased after that. The report generated a lot of attention but was debunked a few years later. Subliminal message cannot happen that easily or else we'd be mind controlled very easily via the telly, however, they can certainly try and steer you in their direction - hence the reason why we are given the ability to think! Yup, persistent is the key. If you have the sudden urge to do something for 3 months, why can't just let the burning desire to success keep burning by reading more & more motivational books. Don't let it back to your normal life and ultimately be a very supper successful person. Determination & persistence is both keys to success! I must admit that I am exactly the same with you. I agree with your point of view & I wonder how can we take more control of our mind. I am still figuring out the ways & methods to practice my thinking ability which is never came across by most of the people around me. Just a motivational quote to share with all of you: To attain something you never had, you must do something you have never done! This post has been edited by nky_kevin: Sep 12 2009, 06:52 PM |
Sep 12 2009, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(Geminist @ Sep 12 2009, 07:10 PM) It took me a while to figure this out, but for me, I procrastinate over doing something but once I've started, I would finish it. So to get myself going, I just need to get started on it. Well, at least you would finish it. I used to start something with full enthusiasm but it slowly fades off and things screw up. Blaming at other every aspects without thinking it's actually my own problem. |
Oct 18 2009, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 16 2009, 08:26 PM) Which one? The Blue Ocean Strategy? or Built to Last? Blue Ocean Strategy isn't easy to read and understand. For me, I found it a little confusing and beyond my level. I need to somehow stop after a paragraph to rephrase what I had read and think in the reality world. Yet to finish though. Built to Last is much more easier to read as it is almost the same as other motivational books except they did explain to us regarding the effort they put in to do survey in order to get the gist of the success stories from those successful leaders/people. A good read. Currently reading: The New Science of Getting Rich - Wallace D. Wattles |
Oct 25 2009, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(vicole @ Oct 25 2009, 03:43 PM) Good thread, TS. Thanks, Vicole. I didn't know there's actually someone who read this thread. It has been quite for sometimes that kinda upset me. Your reply made my day. The concept of BOS is rather simple, i think Geminist has pointed it out clearly for you. In short, i think BOS is quite a bullshit cos BOS is everywhere, it speaks the current world trendy especially the internet. so it could be red yellow green ocean, just a name and a tactic to sell another book. I was trying to stop u when i first read your post when u mentioned about ordering it... too bad im too late it is already in ur bookshelf. After reading a few posts by you here i would suggest: 1) go google more about those books before u buy them. go read some review about them. facebook has got a very good application to have ppl review books that they read, i usually decide to buy or not to buy after im done with that. 2) i think you problem of being inconsistency is bcos u are still in the seeking stage of your life. It takes one who has passion to excel in something. So, i would hope that u dont overly focus on reading motivational books. U should also expand your reading tastes, as well as lifestyle, attitude etc. Your first post gave me an impression that u r gonna list out some good motivation books, do you intend to do so? I personally found benefited by two great books which was such an eye opener in my life. HOpe u like them too The Secret The Science of Getting Rich The 2nd was same author as urs, im not sure if it is the same book? Well, it doesn't matter. However I would also like to thank you for having the intention to stop me if I had not order the book. Yup, precisely it already here and yet to finish it though. I can see you have got some suggestions for me. I appreciate those suggestion a lot. And, I shall google more about books before intending to buy them. Usually the reason why I have not been reading book review from the internet is because it's like watching a movie by yourself instead of having someone roughly tell you how the movie is going to go about in between the scenes. I shall start changing my mindset from now and read some brief book review before pursuing with my action to get the book. Facebook actually had good applications for books review? I didn't know about it. I bet you should teach me how would I get it or maybe add me up. Haha Yup, I'm still seeking or maybe should I say looking for a best way to adapt myself and equip myself in this competitive world. I agree with you for the point of passion lead us to excel in something. I think you had "see" me through, I'm sort of overly focus on reading motivational books. I find it kinda hard to expand my reading tastes or maybe you can suggest me with the areas I should start on expanding? Each and every time I go into a book store, the motivational books section attract me the most. And, I would search around and look around and read some of those who attracts me the most. I seldom go to other sections which I believe do have some good books as well. Yes, it is indeed true that I'm trying to post up some good motivational books. However, it might be kinda slow for an updated good motivational books as the prices of the books are like sky high? And, I'm still an undergraduate. I need time to save up for purchasing good books. Haha! Recently, I'm interested on The Audacity of Hope, by Barack Obama & The Snowball - Warren Buffett and the Business of Life. But, I still haven't got those 2 books though. I will get it sooon. Yup, the secret is a real good book. I have read the book before. The Science of Getting Rich has got a different layout to the The New Science of Getting Rich. But I think it's more or less the same. I will confirm it soon and perhaps will update you people here.. =) |
| Change to: | 0.0181sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:48 AM |