Which 1080p 40/42" LCD HDTV (japanese brand only)?

TScgatlan
post Sep 5 2009, 02:32 PM, updated 17y ago

Hello,

I'm trying to find the 'right' HDTV for myself.. My main use will be PS3 gaming and Blu-Ray.
There is one very restrictive criteria though, I must buy Japanese - It's the insistence of my wife - long story, but if I don't buy Japanese, I don't buy HDTV!! sad.gif
I went round many different shops this morning seeing what's available and for what price (before haggle) and now I'm really confused.

I brought magazine "What Plasma & LCD TV' but it's catered for the UK market, although a good read.. It helped me decide once and for all that I want to go LCD (lighter, no screen burn, less energy and most importantly no screen burn - I can leave a game on pause for a long time if on the phone).
I picked out two models I'm interested in - depending on budget.. Sharp LC42B20E or the cheaper Hitachi L42VP01 - my budget range is 3000-4000RM depending on what I can find. - But neither of these models is available in the Malaysian Market.

After a lot of Google searching and reading posts on here, I'm totally confused.. Has anyone got any good suggestions/recommendations for the HDTV I need?

TScgatlan
post Sep 5 2009, 04:22 PM

Thanks for the Recommendations so far smile.gif

QUOTE(attentional @ Sep 5 2009, 03:54 PM)
lighter? like u going to move it everyday?
yeah, i put that in, cause I usually move place once a year, but within 2 years, I should be moving to the UK - transport costs are expensive and are dependent on weight - I don't wanna wait another 2 years (or more) to get myself a hdtv if/when I get there.

TScgatlan
post Sep 7 2009, 03:55 PM

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 6 2009, 02:02 AM)
Dude, get yrself a HDTV over there, as they will have full digital broadcast over there by then, and all current LCDs in MY does not have built in digital tuner (AFAIK). Also, in 2 yrs, there may be new technologies in LCD that wont exist in current models (ie. 3D capabilities, etc).

And the prices there are much more cheaper here..... why spend the money sending it over??
Good point - Something to consider definitely smile.gif

Ok, I've narrowed down my search to the following 5 models, they are all within the same price bracket.

JVC LT42FX77 - 42"
Sharp LC42A66M - 42"
Sharp LC46PX5M - 46"
Sony KLV40S550A - 40"
Sony KLV40S310A - 40"

I'm struggling to find decent online reviews for these sets.. can anyone point me in the right direction or say from experience about these models..

I wonder if their is a HDTV review site where people submit their own reviews (like amazon) but for Asian/Malaysian markets?

TScgatlan
post Sep 7 2009, 04:21 PM

QUOTE(neoardi @ Sep 7 2009, 04:14 PM)
I choose Sharp LC42A66M - 42"  rclxms.gif  ...im using the older model LC42A65M and it never disappoints me  thumbup.gif

btw, i dun think the PX5 is fullhd...or is it? hmm.gif
Thanks Neoardi,
Regarding the PX5 The guy in SengQ said it was FullHD, but just checking the Sharp website now, it appears you're right.. Thanks for the heads up.

0.0141sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:05 PM