TSsup3rfly
Sep 4 2009, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Sep 4 2009, 05:06 PM) i wonder y is there still NB for p55 board? to be frank i dont know how should i call it... perhaps a P55 chipset heatsink??? i was just a name of it btw  guess i need to change the name of the picture to avoid confusions
TSsup3rfly
Sep 4 2009, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Sep 4 2009, 05:23 PM) im jz wondering wats underneath the heatsink? i don think there is stil chip, do u mind checking wat is it actually? Added on September 4, 2009, 5:23 pmalso dude, where do u get this board, n how much? i need to open it up and check... checked the diagram.. shdnt have a chip... if have also a small ones...  i got it from asus... no pricing yet
TSsup3rfly
Sep 4 2009, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(Core_Tracer @ Sep 4 2009, 05:37 PM) wow..cool....planning to get this too.... cant wait for ur review... which procs will u use? i5 750,i7 860 or i7 870? +1 for ur effort dont know which cpu to get yet... hopefully its a 870  QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Sep 4 2009, 05:40 PM) no pricing? u get for freE? ? XD just opened up the heatsink... underneath the nb area is the ICS chip, and on the sb side is where the p55 located at... played too much of 775 got confuse liao haha will post more pic of the naked board on weekend... gonan work now  sorry for the wrong info
TSsup3rfly
Sep 4 2009, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Sep 4 2009, 05:51 PM) wat is a ICS chip? n u still haven explain wat do u mean by no pricing yet ICS chips are mainly the clockgen chipset for the mobo... its used to control the frequency of the cpu, usually we use clockgen to squeeze more frequencies but its usually for extreme overclocking purposes, else u wont get much from using the clockgen, a normal bios settings will do  asus gave me this mobo for review and testing purposes
TSsup3rfly
Sep 5 2009, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(kayden @ Sep 4 2009, 11:39 PM) Do they take the mobo back?? Omg if they really give u then sell me cheaper, provided you don't wanna keep it =) i think no need to give back and no will to sell it haha This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Sep 5 2009, 02:19 PM
TSsup3rfly
Sep 5 2009, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(shawnlut @ Sep 5 2009, 03:47 PM) I see a backplate on the back of the cpu socket... Just wonder, can we install a cpu cooler that has its own backplate like TRUE 120 ??? i believe u will need to buy a mounting kit for it, TR shd come out with something to cater for this, perhaps during i7 they did come out with a new mounting.
TSsup3rfly
Sep 11 2009, 01:06 AM
just got my cpu... will test when i got the time... and will upload more pix
TSsup3rfly
Sep 15 2009, 09:48 AM
sorry guys busy with works this week... will test out if i m free this weekend... weekend also need to work =.=
TSsup3rfly
Sep 18 2009, 02:57 PM
870 ES
TSsup3rfly
Sep 28 2009, 02:11 AM
overclockalbert: the GO button is used to overclock the cpu to a preset value xixo_12: dont think i will be getting the genie... i wish i get it too tho  anyway here come the results Added on September 28, 2009, 2:16 amCPU: Intel Corei7 870 ES Mobo: Asus Maximus 3 Formula Memory: 2 x 1GB Adata Vitesta GPU: 2 x MSI 9800gtx+ MOA edition PSU: Ikonik Vulcan 850W SuperPI 32M SuperPI1M 3DMark03 3DMark05 3DMark06 3DMarkVantage A quaMark3 Everest just overclocked it to 4Ghz for all the benchmarks, will get more better results with higher clocks, may b extreme cooling overclocking comes later This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Sep 28 2009, 10:37 AM