ASUS Maximus III Formula simple review + testing

TSsup3rfly
post Sep 4 2009, 02:51 PM, updated 16y ago

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

DHL came by my office and delivered this to me last week tongue.gif

some teaser for u guys 1st... will continue with the OC testing soon.

The nicely designed box smile.gif

The Monster within the box

Accessories in da box

Accessories

The Maximus unleashed!!!

Back of the Maximus

CPU socket backplate

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Jan 14 2010, 10:53 AM
TSsup3rfly
post Sep 4 2009, 02:54 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Better view of the whole board

X-Fi sound card bundled

CPU socket area

Powered by 16+3 Phase solid caps!!!

Dual Channel DDR3 memory slots

ICS Chipset heatsink with ROG logo on it smile.gif

Extreme Engine???

Better view of the ICS chipset heatsink

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Sep 4 2009, 05:48 PM
TSsup3rfly
post Sep 4 2009, 02:56 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Sep 4 2009, 03:18 PM
megahertz
post Sep 4 2009, 03:02 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

nice drool.gif
mypejon
post Sep 4 2009, 03:51 PM

63 posts

huhu..clear picture there..huhu.. asus always bring good looking mobo..huhuh
WhiteFlag
post Sep 4 2009, 05:06 PM

540 posts

i wonder y is there still NB for p55 board?
TSsup3rfly
post Sep 4 2009, 05:17 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Sep 4 2009, 05:06 PM)
i wonder y is there still NB for p55 board?
to be frank i dont know how should i call it... perhaps a P55 chipset heatsink??? i was just a name of it btw smile.gif
guess i need to change the name of the picture to avoid confusions smile.gif
WhiteFlag
post Sep 4 2009, 05:23 PM

540 posts

im jz wondering wats underneath the heatsink?
i don think there is stil chip, do u mind checking wat is it actually?

Added on September 4, 2009, 5:23 pmalso dude, where do u get this board, n how much?

This post has been edited by WhiteFlag: Sep 4 2009, 05:23 PM
TSsup3rfly
post Sep 4 2009, 05:37 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Sep 4 2009, 05:23 PM)
im jz wondering wats underneath the heatsink?
i don think there is stil chip, do u mind checking wat is it actually?

Added on September 4, 2009, 5:23 pmalso dude, where do u get this board, n how much?
i need to open it up and check... checked the diagram.. shdnt have a chip... if have also a small ones... smile.gif
i got it from asus... no pricing yet
Core_Tracer
post Sep 4 2009, 05:37 PM

4 Stars Prodigy
599 posts

wow..cool....planning to get this too....
cant wait for ur review...
which procs will u use? i5 750,i7 860 or i7 870?
+1 for ur effort
WhiteFlag
post Sep 4 2009, 05:40 PM

540 posts

no pricing? u get for freE? ? XD
TSsup3rfly
post Sep 4 2009, 05:47 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(Core_Tracer @ Sep 4 2009, 05:37 PM)
wow..cool....planning to get this too....
cant wait for ur review...
which procs will u use? i5 750,i7 860 or i7 870?
+1 for ur effort
dont know which cpu to get yet... hopefully its a 870 smile.gif

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Sep 4 2009, 05:40 PM)
no pricing? u get for freE? ? XD
just opened up the heatsink... underneath the nb area is the ICS chip, and on the sb side is where the p55 located at... played too much of 775 got confuse liao haha

will post more pic of the naked board on weekend... gonan work now smile.gif

sorry for the wrong info rclxub.gif
WhiteFlag
post Sep 4 2009, 05:51 PM

540 posts

wat is a ICS chip?
n u still haven explain wat do u mean by no pricing yet
TSsup3rfly
post Sep 4 2009, 06:04 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Sep 4 2009, 05:51 PM)
wat is a ICS chip?
n u still haven explain wat do u mean by no pricing yet
ICS chips are mainly the clockgen chipset for the mobo... its used to control the frequency of the cpu, usually we use clockgen to squeeze more frequencies but its usually for extreme overclocking purposes, else u wont get much from using the clockgen, a normal bios settings will do smile.gif

asus gave me this mobo for review and testing purposes smile.gif
metsatsu
post Sep 4 2009, 11:06 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Sep 4 2009, 06:04 PM)
ICS chips are mainly the clockgen chipset for the mobo... its used to control the frequency of the cpu, usually we use clockgen to squeeze more frequencies but its usually for extreme overclocking purposes, else u wont get much from using the clockgen, a normal bios settings will do smile.gif

do u get to keep the mobo? or purchase it? tongue.gif
AlexLee277
post Sep 4 2009, 11:11 PM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

the north bridge is ICS chip??

what is ICS chip?

the ICS chip is inside the P55 chip??

explain more? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AlexLee277: Sep 4 2009, 11:16 PM
kayden
post Sep 4 2009, 11:39 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Sep 4 2009, 06:04 PM)

Do they take the mobo back?? Omg if they really give u then sell me cheaper, provided you don't wanna keep it =)
TSsup3rfly
post Sep 5 2009, 02:19 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(kayden @ Sep 4 2009, 11:39 PM)
Do they take the mobo back?? Omg if they really give u then sell me cheaper, provided you don't wanna keep it =)
i think no need to give back and no will to sell it haha

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Sep 5 2009, 02:19 PM
shawnlut
post Sep 5 2009, 03:47 PM

±±±±±±
837 posts

I see a backplate on the back of the cpu socket...
Just wonder, can we install a cpu cooler that has its own backplate like TRUE 120 ???

This post has been edited by shawnlut: Sep 5 2009, 03:49 PM
TSsup3rfly
post Sep 5 2009, 04:27 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(shawnlut @ Sep 5 2009, 03:47 PM)
I see a backplate on the back of the cpu socket...
Just wonder, can we install a cpu cooler that has its own backplate like TRUE 120 ???
i believe u will need to buy a mounting kit for it, TR shd come out with something to cater for this, perhaps during i7 they did come out with a new mounting.

0.0187sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:57 AM