I really really love it when the alarm clock triggers.. they have the sliding unlock like the iphone unlock to off the alarm.
Also, when answering a call if the phone is lock has the double slider on the screen damn cool.
Nokia X6 - New Nokia X Series, 1st Nokia S60v5 Capacitive Touchscreen
Jan 7 2010, 04:24 PM
2,823 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: West Malaysia |
Today started using the phone and demo-ing the phone to my colleagues and showing them the features.
I really really love it when the alarm clock triggers.. they have the sliding unlock like the iphone unlock to off the alarm. Also, when answering a call if the phone is lock has the double slider on the screen damn cool. |
Jan 7 2010, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(saw2001 @ Jan 7 2010, 04:47 PM) The slider is on the screen. it looks like the iPhone's slide to unlock gimmick. But it is quite special when someone calls in, there is 2 sliders stacked on top of each other. If you slide to the right, u will answer the call. if you slide to the left you will unlock the phone (probably to use other features)Oh btw guys, a quick chat with the product manager reveals that the X6 has a dedicated audio chip which is why the sound quality has improved so much more compared to the 5800. |
Jan 7 2010, 05:19 PM
@ goldfries
The games on the X6 runs smoother than the 5800. Although the specs (refered from gsmarena) says that they both have same CPU speed and same RAM. But test the game Asphalt 4 is smoother than on the Nokia 5800. I am not sure if the X6 is what everyone expects it to be, performance wise... but definitely for interface, it is much more nicer and user friendly and also smoother with Kinetic Scrolling and the Enhanced Homescreen. |
Jan 7 2010, 08:27 PM
Jan 8 2010, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(mrfarhatadib89 @ Jan 8 2010, 12:50 AM) The Nokia product manager said "We want you to be able to enjoy the best out of your music so we put in a good one"But the battery is the 1320mAh BL-5J battery so I think the lifespan could be same as 5800. I'll be doing some testing for next coming days hopefully this weekend I can post a complete review. |
Jan 8 2010, 05:58 PM
I'm gonna stick to phone pouch because whatever silicon / resin / rubberized cover actually scratched my 5800 from the inside (due to grinding against dust in between the phone and the cover).
A point to note, just like the iPhone, the X6's screen is made out of a scratch resistant glass. However no way am I taking my chances, I'm gonna go buy one screen protector the next chance I get. I just hope it doesnt screw up with the capacitive screen. Cos capacitive means to use the electric conduction between your fingers and the internal screen... Oh since we're on the topic, wanna let you guys know the screen is very responsive. Just a light touch will already be detected but there are a few drawbacks. 1) Cannot use stylus (except those specific capacitive type) or finger nails 2) Since I cannot use finger nails, quite hard for me to sms. Cos my fingers are not that nimble. And since we're talking abt sms, I dunno if u guys face this problem.. the place where they display ur text while typing, the font is so HUGE that it makes it hard to see the 'whole' sms if u get what i mean. |
Jan 8 2010, 11:37 PM
Today I went to hunt for screen protector + pouch.
1) Screen Protector - The dude said "errk... too new la.. dun have" 2) Pouch - The girl said "oh the new X6?...... erm... is it even out yet? we dont have a pouch specifically for that" I like to see their faces where they look like "where the f--- did you get that?". Was so tempted to bring it to the Nokia Centre to ask if I can change my housing.. lol damn i am mean |
Jan 13 2010, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(heavenhell90 @ Jan 11 2010, 07:51 PM) haha congrats! yeah, u get to keep the phone, but u would have to help contribute in finding obscure music n stuff as well.. you'll get briefed on thursday don't worry =] Yo bryan, u sure the Nokia Music Explorers get to keep the phone? There is 50 of them ya know |
Jan 14 2010, 08:09 PM
Suddenly I dont feel so special, tonight another 50 new X6 owners will sprout
I'm still trying to get a damn camera for my full review... I'm done through my testing already and much to my surprise, the battery for me managed to last 3 days although the 3rd day, half the day the batt died flat. |
Jan 14 2010, 10:22 PM
Jan 14 2010, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jan 14 2010, 10:33 PM) I'm not sure if those tonight will get to keep the phone but from what I gather, there is supposed to be 50 Nokia Music Explorers which some of them are our own LYN forumers. If really all 50 get an X6 then.. wa wa we wa I am still waiting for the Ovi Player to get an update I find the software so buggy. And the nokia music explorers better do their job after this cos the Ovi Music Store is missing some basic commercial songs like Kesha - Tick Tock and also adam lambert's new songs.. hmmm |
Jan 15 2010, 01:35 AM
So was there really 50 people who turned up?
Jan 15 2010, 03:26 PM
Jan 15 2010, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(bluswhitehat @ Jan 15 2010, 10:33 PM) guys... i want yr opinion.. The back cover a bit loose on mine, everytime i press it it will creak I personally feel the build quality can be of higher quality for a phone this expensive.. i feel its.. abit too.. loose.. the parts dont fit together perfectly.. and why oh why nokia did u replace the awesome touch sensitive buttons like on the 5530 with REAL buttons.. damnnn... the touch sensitive buttons on the 5530 are AWESOME.. and here you actually have to.. PRESS.. yer.. kinda spoils the experience abit for me.. And yeah I so totally agree with you, the 3 buttons when I press back my 5800 punya it feels so solid, this one looks like its gonna come out if pressed too much. I am trying to use everything on screen. I occasionally press the green button to go to my recently dialled list. |
Jan 15 2010, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jan 15 2010, 11:35 PM) ^ That is why the music player list has kinetic scrolling and the screen will show the first alphabet of the song name as you scroll Aik? AFAIK gapless playback is missing from all s60 music player....personally this isn't a deal breaker to me.. But i've found something that makes me facepalm... X6 music player come from the tweaked player on the N97 n N97 mini...different with the plain vanilla music player on 5800 n the gang, the second entry in the option softkey doesn't hve the freaking SEARCH button....In the N97 case, the omission can be justified as they hve hardware keyboards to allow on searching throughout the music library by just typing...BUT ON X6, there is no keyboard and hence NO way of searching in the music player itself |
Jan 18 2010, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(moniqee @ Jan 17 2010, 08:46 PM) I will have to disagree on this one. With capacitive screen, I cannot click on our LYN forum buttons properly especially the small buttons like the page numbers. I used to be able to click with pinpoint accuracy with resistive now its all just a trial and error for me. |
Jan 26 2010, 11:25 PM
Did you guys face this problem with Garmin XT on the X6 whereby the landscape mode is not full screen, its like the right side of the screen duplicates the left side
Jan 27 2010, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(moniqee @ Jan 27 2010, 07:07 AM) if ur x6 got ovi maps... that's the reason I do have Ovi Maps but it is the standard one... hmmm maybe I shld go update the Ovi Maps and see what happens.it seems that garmin and ovi maps will clashed each other if both are installed in ur hp... so u have to choose either one... ^^ |
Feb 1 2010, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jan 31 2010, 11:55 PM) I installed Garmin on the first day I got it.. but the version 5.00.50 doesn't work well. THe screen a bit cacat (u install then you will know). Need to install the 5.00.60 version then its okay liao.Btw the update really makes a difference.. the hang between apps is less prominent now and the lag when sms using QWERTY esp the first few alphabets still stuck at caps is no longer there anymore for me. This post has been edited by J-Slade: Feb 1 2010, 07:04 PM |
Feb 3 2010, 01:49 PM
| Change to: | 0.0282sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:30 PM |