is it okay to change barbell row with pull ups?
Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion
Oct 1 2009, 08:42 PM
2,395 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Up in the Sky |
is it okay to change barbell row with pull ups?
Oct 1 2009, 08:45 PM
1,193 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Some people find pull ups harder to hit the lats cuz they use more of their arm pulling strength rather than their lats. Lat pulldowns are more recommended for bodybuilders while for strength/ conditioning you could do pullups. But barbell rows are more to building a thicker back while pullups are for a wider back.
Oct 1 2009, 08:57 PM
4,382 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
I can really engage my lats by doing pullups, especially wide grip. It takes so much more effort to do them well as compared to pulldowns.
Oct 1 2009, 11:17 PM
2,967 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Oct 1 2009, 11:20 PM
4,382 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Oct 2 2009, 01:01 AM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Oct 1 2009, 08:42 PM) If mere cosmetics, yeah. The barbell rows, work more on the saggital plane. The issue with pull-ups is too many people, don't use their backs. I learned the best way on how to use the back was by this method; - Close grip chin-ups (recruits the lower lats better) - Hang with arms completely straight and loose (Elbows must be able to shake) - Hang for a few seconds, till I feel the stretch in my lats - Pull up fast and how as long as possible at the highest point, at the mid point, and the point just before the lowest. I'll do this for a few reps. Then I get the feeling and then repeat. Usually, straps help to get this sensation best. |
Oct 2 2009, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(-Dan @ Oct 1 2009, 11:20 PM) thats what i do during chin or pullbut having it dangle just disturbs the balance having someone to pegang helps me do it perfectly but its a matter of time before i can perfect the form myself hehehe for the time being, i dont mind having support lil bit Added on October 2, 2009, 1:59 am QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 2 2009, 01:01 AM) If mere cosmetics, yeah. The barbell rows, work more on the saggital plane. talking about straps kan pizzaboy, im wondering whats the best glove or straps for deadliftThe issue with pull-ups is too many people, don't use their backs. I learned the best way on how to use the back was by this method; - Close grip chin-ups (recruits the lower lats better) - Hang with arms completely straight and loose (Elbows must be able to shake) - Hang for a few seconds, till I feel the stretch in my lats - Pull up fast and how as long as possible at the highest point, at the mid point, and the point just before the lowest. I'll do this for a few reps. Then I get the feeling and then repeat. Usually, straps help to get this sensation best. i mean currently my max is 150lbs deadlift (yeah...its puny,sorry hahaha) but after 3 reps my left palms already slippery so always have to letak first and re-grip which is a mess to the flow... any ideas? sorry, i hate gloves and such but perhaps i really need one now cuz my palms are as soft as a girl's This post has been edited by gtoforce: Oct 2 2009, 01:59 AM |
Oct 2 2009, 02:10 AM
QUOTE(gtoforce @ Oct 2 2009, 01:56 AM) thats what i do during chin or pull The best strap....let me think....but having it dangle just disturbs the balance having someone to pegang helps me do it perfectly but its a matter of time before i can perfect the form myself hehehe for the time being, i dont mind having support lil bit Added on October 2, 2009, 1:59 am talking about straps kan pizzaboy, im wondering whats the best glove or straps for deadlift i mean currently my max is 150lbs deadlift (yeah...its puny,sorry hahaha) but after 3 reps my left palms already slippery so always have to letak first and re-grip which is a mess to the flow... any ideas? sorry, i hate gloves and such but perhaps i really need one now cuz my palms are as soft as a girl's There's this material made of a certain alligator hide which is tough as hell, and can withstand about 5000LBS of pressure. That would probably be the best material I can think of. No I'm just bullshitting. Just go with a very strong sorta material. Put it around your wrist and then roll it around the bar. Grip it and lift. A good idea? School belts. Green color ones. You just need to learn to get used to the feeling of the strap biting into your skin. After that it's okay. Added on October 2, 2009, 2:11 amMind you.....my comments and advises, are meant for the ghetto. Most people, want the better way to do it, so yeah, the better way, go to criticalbench.com or http://www.prowriststraps.com/ and order an overpriced strap while my strap does the same thing. Added on October 2, 2009, 2:31 amN I want to shout something. Taking 20GMS of protein and 40GMS of protein at one sitting, makes no difference to muscle synthesis. This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Oct 2 2009, 02:31 AM |
Oct 2 2009, 02:33 AM
max protein is only 20GMS per take?
Oct 2 2009, 02:50 AM
QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Oct 2 2009, 02:33 AM) Read Methods For Investigation Of Amino Acid And Protein Metabolism by El Khoury Antoine E.Added on October 2, 2009, 3:51 amhttp://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=117773861 The powah of 5x5 This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Oct 2 2009, 03:51 AM |
Oct 2 2009, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 2 2009, 01:01 AM) If mere cosmetics, yeah. The barbell rows, work more on the saggital plane. by mere cosmetics you mean there will be no increase in strength?The issue with pull-ups is too many people, don't use their backs. I learned the best way on how to use the back was by this method; - Close grip chin-ups (recruits the lower lats better) - Hang with arms completely straight and loose (Elbows must be able to shake) - Hang for a few seconds, till I feel the stretch in my lats - Pull up fast and how as long as possible at the highest point, at the mid point, and the point just before the lowest. I'll do this for a few reps. Then I get the feeling and then repeat. Usually, straps help to get this sensation best. |
Oct 2 2009, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Oct 2 2009, 12:38 PM) Of course there'll be an increase. I can shoulder a sandbag and swing and snatch kettlebells for a month and come back with an increased deadlift as well. It's just that with barbell rows, you can increase thickness as well as strengthen certain areas that the pullups don't hit, (such as the lower back static strength) I won't use them to substitute for each other. I'd use them together. |
Oct 2 2009, 02:57 PM
3,726 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
as PB said, lower back, and upper back, do them both together
Chow |
Oct 2 2009, 06:56 PM
3,802 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: City of Anggerik |
Oct 2 2009, 07:00 PM
964 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Ipoh! |
Hello guys, I have been controlling my diet and doing sport for few months, now I have lost my tummy and I can feel the cleavage for my abdominal muscle ( not visible ). I didn't do any abdominal exercise during the period, so is it the time for me to start doing sit-ups now? There is still fat in the cleavage btw.
Oct 3 2009, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 2 2009, 02:10 AM) The best strap....let me think.... hahaThere's this material made of a certain alligator hide which is tough as hell, and can withstand about 5000LBS of pressure. That would probably be the best material I can think of. No I'm just bullshitting. Just go with a very strong sorta material. Put it around your wrist and then roll it around the bar. Grip it and lift. A good idea? School belts. Green color ones. You just need to learn to get used to the feeling of the strap biting into your skin. After that it's okay. Added on October 2, 2009, 2:11 amMind you.....my comments and advises, are meant for the ghetto. Most people, want the better way to do it, so yeah, the better way, go to criticalbench.com or http://www.prowriststraps.com/ and order an overpriced strap while my strap does the same thing. Added on October 2, 2009, 2:31 amN I want to shout something. Taking 20GMS of protein and 40GMS of protein at one sitting, makes no difference to muscle synthesis. alright alright i follow ghetto way pakai tali pinggang high skool eh aite QUOTE(bata @ Oct 2 2009, 02:57 PM) today buat legs super heavy with back too (lower back and upper back) even suffered groin cramps mase buat some of the leg exercise cuz too heavy (leg press at 260kgs) - that almost killed me hahaha tapi 3 hours later pegi baskin robbins and makan the no sugar added stuff and fill with choc fudge syrup ahahahaha gotta run in 1 hour time to burn at least 400cals before sleep |
Oct 3 2009, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(SticH @ Oct 2 2009, 07:00 PM) Hello guys, I have been controlling my diet and doing sport for few months, now I have lost my tummy and I can feel the cleavage for my abdominal muscle ( not visible ). I didn't do any abdominal exercise during the period, so is it the time for me to start doing sit-ups now? There is still fat in the cleavage btw. what do ya mean by clevage? |
Oct 3 2009, 01:27 AM
575 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: kemaman, terengganu |
the straight line on the abs??
Oct 3 2009, 02:24 AM
585 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Penang |
Man some people just need to read those stickies or at least go to youtube and search for videos about fat loss
HSJKKWHDWUIHDOIWJIOSXWJOISXJWOXWJKLSJALS URGH I can't stand another hello I'm new and I need to lose fatty on my tummy, how many sits up must I do to lose my tummy but I don't want to look huge from doing all those sits ups posts. >: O Newbies are just not reading those stickies unless we tell them to read the stickies. Something needs to be done to make sure they read those life saving stickies! Maybe I'll try to find some videos for beginners and post it up somewhere. This post has been edited by Florian: Oct 3 2009, 02:27 AM |
Oct 3 2009, 03:32 AM
1,331 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Cyberjaya / Keramat AU |
QUOTE(Florian @ Oct 3 2009, 02:24 AM) Man some people just need to read those stickies or at least go to youtube and search for videos about fat loss too lazy to search... happened all the time HSJKKWHDWUIHDOIWJIOSXWJOISXJWOXWJKLSJALS URGH I can't stand another hello I'm new and I need to lose fatty on my tummy, how many sits up must I do to lose my tummy but I don't want to look huge from doing all those sits ups posts. >: O Newbies are just not reading those stickies unless we tell them to read the stickies. Something needs to be done to make sure they read those life saving stickies! Maybe I'll try to find some videos for beginners and post it up somewhere. |
| Change to: | 0.0390sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:04 AM |