I thought weekends were your off days? The last time I asked the CF walk-in charge was ~50 RM. Ridiculous!
Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion
Apr 15 2010, 01:53 AM
993 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
I thought weekends were your off days? The last time I asked the CF walk-in charge was ~50 RM. Ridiculous!
Apr 15 2010, 01:58 AM
9,006 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: PJ |
QUOTE(angrydog @ Apr 15 2010, 01:53 AM) I thought weekends were your off days? The last time I asked the CF walk-in charge was ~50 RM. Ridiculous! Well it depends on my mood. Sometimes I train a bodypart every 6 days, mostly 7. So if it was chest last Monday, I'd hit it on the coming Sunday. 50 bucks is bullshit. Wtf. Here's a nice vid for you since you're buzzed. Just bear with it and watch it! LOL. I think you're gonna hate me for a while. Sheer randomness. This post has been edited by darklight79: Apr 15 2010, 01:59 AM |
Apr 15 2010, 02:01 AM
I'm doing a chest workout in FF@The Curve on Sunday morning, so feel free to come along and mock my pathetic workout then. (You probably don't want to stick around to watch my post workout meal of a family meal at Popeyes.)
Where the hell do you find these videos. Good God. (this will probably all get deleted come tomorrow afternoon for veering too far into Kopitiam territory) |
Apr 15 2010, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(angrydog @ Apr 15 2010, 02:01 AM) I'm doing a chest workout in FF@The Curve on Sunday morning, so feel free to come along and mock my pathetic workout then. (You probably don't want to stick around to watch my post workout meal of a family meal at Popeyes.) You're not pathetic. I bet you can push some good weights. Charlieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee..................Where the hell do you find these videos. Good God. (this will probably all get deleted come tomorrow afternoon for veering too far into Kopitiam territory) Charlieeeeeeeeeee................ We're on a bridge Charlie. LOL. Added on April 15, 2010, 2:03 amYou should watch part 2 and 3. You'll be messed up for life. This post has been edited by darklight79: Apr 15 2010, 02:03 AM |
Apr 15 2010, 02:08 AM
4,152 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 15 2010, 12:53 AM) Incline chest work la. You should know that. you've been training so long. =P Sorry to hear that.That bloody blows cos I know how it's like having a limb immobilized, fractured the 3rd carpal bone on my left hand in India riding a bike. My palm got caught between the handle bar and the pole I rammed into. CRUNCH! 6 weeks in a cast. I couldn't do jack when the plaster was removed. As for you, your whole body... damn. 200 sit ups and ups and situps daily are ridiculous imo. Any good bodybuilder will tell you that. The thing is, bodybuilding is recovery and recovery is bodybuilding. Lean muscle mass is built when you're eating proper food, getting adequate sleep, etc. And when I say lean muscle mass please don't think of huge muscles seen in bodybuilding magazines. Women can't build huge muscles, they simply don't have enough testosterone. Look at my sis, she pushes some weights which shame guys at the gym but she's slender, toned and gorgeous. So working abs twice a week is good enough, 3x/week if you want to push it. Your butt, leg presses, i don't know about squats because i don't know the extent of your accident unless you want to share the details. Added on April 15, 2010, 1:04 am She has muscle atrophy. First step, basic function of muscles. Bigger muscles, better force of contraction. And we're not making her push heavy weights like powerlifters do no? What exactly do you mean by "working abs"? Sorry if this is a typical newbie question. I would like to do leg presses, but I've no access to a gym. I don't like in KL or PJ and there are no gyms near my place. I can't do squats again because of the stiffness in my legs. I can't squat at all in fact. The tendons and ligaments in my right knee and foot/ankle (sorry I'm not to apt with the terms) have shortened, so has the calve muscles. And it's taking really long to stretch them back. As to my injury well if it's relevant, I broke my right tibia in two and so there's a metal rod there now and that contributes to the stiffness as well. So basically I can't bend my feet all the way and my knees all the way and they would just lock if I tried bending both together. Other than that I'm pretty normal. I was bedridden for like 6 months and I probably started walking in December last year. Now I've enough strength to walk but I can't run or jump. I totally screwed my hips and all the bones there, so I'm pretty stiff there too. When I do sit ups, I can't bring my chest to my knees anymore, maybe that's a problem? I've read that eating is important too. Until like two weeks ago my protein comes mainly from eggs. I had like 2-3 eggs days because I couldn't open my mouth at all so I'd just swallow my food. I just had a surgery to open my mouth, so I can eat some chicken. beef and prawns. I'm not too sure how much I should stuff myself with. I don't and I can't drink milk. I also can't drink protein mixes because they all have some kind of milk derived protein in them too. Also please don't get me wrong, I'm not telling some sob story, just telling you what I can and can't do. This post has been edited by mumeichan: Apr 15 2010, 02:13 AM |
Apr 15 2010, 02:17 AM
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Apr 15 2010, 02:08 AM) Sorry to hear that. I seriously advise you to seek opinions from an orthopaedic surgeon first since I'm just a normal general doctor. He would need to assess your movements in person. Try describing some exercises you'd like to do to him, then he'll tell you if it's safe or not. What exactly do you mean by "working abs"? Sorry if this is a typical newbie question. I would like to do leg presses, but I've no access to a gym. I don't like in KL or PJ and there are no gyms near my place. I can't do squats again because of the stiffness in my legs. I can't squat at all in fact. The tendons and ligaments in my right knee and foot/ankle (sorry I'm not to apt with the terms) have shortened, so has the calve muscles. And it's taking really long to stretch them back. As to my injury well if it's relevant, I broke my right tibia in two and so there's a metal rod there now and that contributes to the stiffness as well. So basically I can't bend my feet all the way and my knees all the way and they would just lock if I tried bending both together. Other than that I'm pretty normal. I was bedridden for like 6 months and I probably started walking in December last year. Now I've enough strength to walk but I can't run or jump. I totally screwed my hips and all the bones there, so I'm pretty stiff there too. When I do sit ups, I can't bring my chest to my knees anymore, maybe that's a problem? I've read that eating is important too. Until like two weeks ago my protein comes mainly from eggs. I had like 2-3 eggs days because I couldn't open my mouth at all so I'd just swallow my food. Now I can open my mouth, so I can eat some chicken. beef and prawns. I'm not too sure how much I should stuff myself with. I don't and I can't drink milk. I also can't drink protein mixes because they all have some kind of milk derived protein in them too. Also please don't get me wrong, I'm not telling some sob story, just telling you what I can and can't do. After that we can help you a whole lot better. I guess leg presses would be fine but since you can't access a gym easily, how about just plain bodyweight squats? Or dumbbell lunges? But I'll tell you something. Never underestimate the power of nutrition in recovery. My sister almost died in a car accident 3 years ago. Her Kelisa overturned 3 times, she got flung out through the windshield (didn't wear a safety belt) and her head smashed against the road surface. There was a fracture from the center of her forehead all the way to the back of her skull. I made her incorporate whey protein into her recovery diet even though my parents were against it. And well.... you saw the vid. Look at her now. Awesome shape! |
Apr 15 2010, 02:19 AM
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Apr 15 2010, 02:08 AM) Sorry to hear that. Out of curiosity, what kind of physiotherapy was assigned to you after your injury? It doesn't sound like your doctors gave you any, which is kind of random.What exactly do you mean by "working abs"? Sorry if this is a typical newbie question. I would like to do leg presses, but I've no access to a gym. I don't like in KL or PJ and there are no gyms near my place. I can't do squats again because of the stiffness in my legs. I can't squat at all in fact. The tendons and ligaments in my right knee and foot/ankle (sorry I'm not to apt with the terms) have shortened, so has the calve muscles. And it's taking really long to stretch them back. As to my injury well if it's relevant, I broke my right tibia in two and so there's a metal rod there now and that contributes to the stiffness as well. So basically I can't bend my feet all the way and my knees all the way and they would just lock if I tried bending both together. Other than that I'm pretty normal. I was bedridden for like 6 months and I probably started walking in December last year. Now I've enough strength to walk but I can't run or jump. I totally screwed my hips and all the bones there, so I'm pretty stiff there too. When I do sit ups, I can't bring my chest to my knees anymore, maybe that's a problem? I've read that eating is important too. Until like two weeks ago my protein comes mainly from eggs. I had like 2-3 eggs days because I couldn't open my mouth at all so I'd just swallow my food. I just had a surgery to open my mouth, so I can eat some chicken. beef and prawns. I'm not too sure how much I should stuff myself with. I don't and I can't drink milk. I also can't drink protein mixes because they all have some kind of milk derived protein in them too. Also please don't get me wrong, I'm not telling some sob story, just telling you what I can and can't do. |
Apr 15 2010, 02:23 AM
4,538 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Singapore |
mumeichan, i wish u all the best in ur recovery.
sheer determination will bring forth results. don't give up. push as hard as u think u can. hmm... u cant run rite? wat bout walking or jogging? why dont u do some cardio as well |
Apr 15 2010, 02:38 AM
Aight.... that's a wrap. Time for bed. Eggs have settled in my stomach. Later.
Nick..... Charlieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee............................... We're gonna Candy Mountain! This post has been edited by darklight79: Apr 15 2010, 02:39 AM |
Apr 15 2010, 03:02 AM
4,152 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 15 2010, 02:17 AM) I seriously advise you to seek opinions from an orthopaedic surgeon first since I'm just a normal general doctor. He would need to assess your movements in person. Try describing some exercises you'd like to do to him, then he'll tell you if it's safe or not. Thanks for the advice. Yes I've talked to the orthopedic surgeon as well that the rehabilitation specialist. They say as far as the bones go, I'm fine. The stiffness is just due to the shortening of the ligaments, tendons and muscles, which will stretch if I work on it as well as tissue scarring. Basically they say do whatever I want to as long as it's not unbearably pain. One thing I do avoid though is getting a cramp. If it's too strenuous and I feel like I will get a cramp, I've to stop right away because there's a chance I will get fits right after a cramp.After that we can help you a whole lot better. I guess leg presses would be fine but since you can't access a gym easily, how about just plain bodyweight squats? Or dumbbell lunges? But I'll tell you something. Never underestimate the power of nutrition in recovery. My sister almost died in a car accident 3 years ago. Her Kelisa overturned 3 times, she got flung out through the windshield (didn't wear a safety belt) and her head smashed against the road surface. There was a fracture from the center of her forehead all the way to the back of her skull. I made her incorporate whey protein into her recovery diet even though my parents were against it. And well.... you saw the vid. Look at her now. Awesome shape! QUOTE(angrydog @ Apr 15 2010, 02:19 AM) Out of curiosity, what kind of physiotherapy was assigned to you after your injury? It doesn't sound like your doctors gave you any, which is kind of random. They asked me to do various kinds of exercises in the bed, which is mainly just flexing my muscles to prevent further atrophy. But by the time I woke up from coma, I couldn't move my right leg already or sit up. I was discharged before I could walk, and so I hired my own physiotherapist. However, she only worked until I could stand then didn't want to work anymore. So basically it was pretty much my own effort and visits to the hospital's rehabilitation clinic when my parents had the time. QUOTE(JonYeap @ Apr 15 2010, 02:23 AM) mumeichan, i wish u all the best in ur recovery. Thanks. I can't jog either. I do try to walk as much as possible. And walking is more like limping. It's hardly a workout, but I spend time playing Wii games, it's the closest I come to a cardio workout.sheer determination will bring forth results. don't give up. push as hard as u think u can. hmm... u cant run rite? wat bout walking or jogging? why dont u do some cardio as well This post has been edited by mumeichan: Apr 15 2010, 03:03 AM |
Apr 15 2010, 06:23 AM
2,394 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bristol, UK |
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 14 2010, 03:47 AM) I'm not dismissing it. Alan Aragorn is a very well respected nutritionist and he has posted up a lot of good threads, one of them is a sticky here. Point is, does he compete? Bob Chick has been doing it since the 80's and it seems it's the overwhelming preferred method to every pro competitor he's met. I've tried HIIT, whether with our without BCAA's/whey to eating a whole meal immediately after or even before. Get back to us on that.It makes me lose mass. It makes me flat. I'm gonna see Terry in a week's time or so. I might ask his views on this too. I'm curious myself. On the other hand, Charlie is only really good when you're high on weed. |
Apr 15 2010, 09:19 AM
2,967 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 15 2010, 02:17 AM) I seriously advise you to seek opinions from an orthopaedic surgeon first since I'm just a normal general doctor. He would need to assess your movements in person. Try describing some exercises you'd like to do to him, then he'll tell you if it's safe or not. like i said proper nutrition = anything's possibleAfter that we can help you a whole lot better. I guess leg presses would be fine but since you can't access a gym easily, how about just plain bodyweight squats? Or dumbbell lunges? But I'll tell you something. Never underestimate the power of nutrition in recovery. My sister almost died in a car accident 3 years ago. Her Kelisa overturned 3 times, she got flung out through the windshield (didn't wear a safety belt) and her head smashed against the road surface. There was a fracture from the center of her forehead all the way to the back of her skull. I made her incorporate whey protein into her recovery diet even though my parents were against it. And well.... you saw the vid. Look at her now. Awesome shape! not many of the modern doctors believe in this they'll stress on physio la, and meds but the pure old skool stuff like my dad would always say diet = almost everything cuz its nature's way... go physio, makan buat but still eat roti canai and nasi lemak wont do any good hahaha ur a gp ke katne This post has been edited by gtoforce: Apr 15 2010, 09:20 AM |
Apr 15 2010, 09:21 AM
u go moning or nite time?
Apr 15 2010, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Apr 15 2010, 03:02 AM) Thanks. I can't jog either. I do try to walk as much as possible. And walking is more like limping. It's hardly a workout, but I spend time playing Wii games, it's the closest I come to a cardio workout. try doing more cardio.it will definitely help. slowly get to jogging pace. if cant jog yet, slowly walk and progress. |
Apr 15 2010, 09:41 AM
3,152 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Apr 15 2010, 03:02 AM) Thanks for the advice. Yes I've talked to the orthopedic surgeon as well that the rehabilitation specialist. They say as far as the bones go, I'm fine. The stiffness is just due to the shortening of the ligaments, tendons and muscles, which will stretch if I work on it as well as tissue scarring. Basically they say do whatever I want to as long as it's not unbearably pain. One thing I do avoid though is getting a cramp. If it's too strenuous and I feel like I will get a cramp, I've to stop right away because there's a chance I will get fits right after a cramp. research shows that playing wii only burns 1 kcal per minThey asked me to do various kinds of exercises in the bed, which is mainly just flexing my muscles to prevent further atrophy. But by the time I woke up from coma, I couldn't move my right leg already or sit up. I was discharged before I could walk, and so I hired my own physiotherapist. However, she only worked until I could stand then didn't want to work anymore. So basically it was pretty much my own effort and visits to the hospital's rehabilitation clinic when my parents had the time. Thanks. I can't jog either. I do try to walk as much as possible. And walking is more like limping. It's hardly a workout, but I spend time playing Wii games, it's the closest I come to a cardio workout. |
Apr 15 2010, 09:49 AM
Apr 15 2010, 10:11 AM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Apr 15 2010, 10:39 AM
942 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Apr 15 2010, 11:56 AM
Apr 15 2010, 02:25 PM