Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion

diablokun
post Feb 11 2010, 01:06 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Feb 11 2010, 12:31 AM)
Finally after a long long time.
I finally took a pic of myself with my new phone.
sorry for the bad quality.
using only a 2mega pixel blackberry hp camera.

I weight 86kg at 173cm.
I know i need to cardio like mad, but i just havent had that time or motivation to get it going.
Only did less than 5 times cardio in the past half year.

Any comment is welcome... Pls be gentle. =.=
hehe... been slacking for some time.
just started training my back...

aiyo paiseh... posted in wrong thread, should be training one. =.=

jon, i seriously think, we have the same build...

nice delts and lats...work more on traps imo...keep it up bro...
Black Judy
post Feb 11 2010, 01:09 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Feb 11 2010, 12:59 AM)
ur not a gal ar... hmmm.... 8 -10... ...maybe too easy ?... 30kgs....is considerd light for a guy..but depend on your build also la.... my bench suffered ....now only benching about 60kgs x 7reps x3 set... is my limit...but ppl with big bod can bench waay more...

post up a pic ! smile.gif
QUOTE(JonYeap @ Feb 11 2010, 01:00 AM)
how do we know... haha... u didnt say u guy also. =.=
well, errr... not too bad. how heavy r u 1st?
if u r 50kg+ or so, then not too bad.
if u above 80kg, then kind bad....
well im just 58kg, started working out 5months ago. Lol will post up a pic when i have a better build.
braindead_fr3ak
post Feb 11 2010, 01:18 AM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

good good... i started when i was 57 kg ..now i am 71 kgs... ive improved a lot..but it takes time... GOOD LUCK!! smile.gif
JonYeap
post Feb 11 2010, 01:26 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(diablokun @ Feb 11 2010, 01:06 AM)
jon, i seriously think, we have the same build...

nice delts and lats...work more on traps imo...keep it up bro...
thanks bro...
i never work on my traps even once. =.=
haha all i ever did was deadlift b4.
i just started on lats only...
same build as u?
u r way bigger. =.=
ken86
post Feb 11 2010, 09:28 AM

406 posts

I had a debate about milk with a guy recently at the gym

Now, the person I was talking to at the gym was defending his skim milk usage. His main argument was simply this: "I drink it and I'm fine! Doesn't hurt me!"

Thing was, it did seem to be hurting him.

Or at least in the three years I'd known him I'd never seen him reduce the size of his gut, even though he trained hard at least 4-5 days a week.

I've said it before and I'll say it again: If you're still fat after years of gym-going, then something is wrong, most likely your diet. Everyone say it together now: You can't out-train a bad diet!

Thing was, I don't think he "knew" he had a bloated, overly-fat belly. Denial is a powerful thing. I spent a while swimming down that river in Egypt myself, so I know.

Or maybe some people would rather be "right" than be healthy and lean?

Anyway, the whole incident reminded me of something all of us need to keep in mind: Is what we're doing (eating plan, training style, etc.) really working for us?

Too often we vehemently defend our diets or our preferred training methods without really taking a step back and saying, "Okay, is it working for me?

is it just me or most of you are having a gut/muffin top and looking to lose that, and what you are doing is clearly not giving the results, why not take a NEW approach. If you are happy with your physique, keep at it ! and more power to you !.

happy cny peeps and time to set new goals.
braindead_fr3ak
post Feb 11 2010, 09:36 AM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

hey ken... i have a rather unique problem... my abdominal region is NOT that fat... maybe 3 cm - 4cm thickness when pinched as worst... but the problem is the underlying muscle wall is rather.... "not tight" unless i make it so.....so it gives the appearence of a tummy.... ive been doing leg raises and crunches to strengthen them.......still no effect....any ideas?
ken86
post Feb 11 2010, 09:41 AM

406 posts

sorry to break the news to you

your problem is not unique and ur bodyfat levels are high, you just need to get leaner. DOn't worry 99.9999% of the crowd "that assumed they are the discerning bunch" I train with refused to accept that even ME until I decide to go a fat loss cycle.

No matter how many leg crunches or abdominals exercise u do, The visceral fat on the abdominals is gonna stay unless u diet it away or get leaner.

PS. hate to be the bad news bearer

This post has been edited by ken86: Feb 11 2010, 09:42 AM
Xesgod
post Feb 11 2010, 09:43 AM

91 posts

Quick question here.
Im very close to the body size and weight ive aimed for so now to maintain this do i cut down on my food intake? ( been eating like a monster )
I currAnd do i stop taking my protein shakes or just reduce it.ently take only 1 scoop with milk after workouts which is 3 times a week.
ken86
post Feb 11 2010, 11:42 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Feb 11 2010, 09:28 AM)
I had a debate about milk with a guy recently at the gym

Now, the person I was talking to at the gym was defending his skim milk usage. His main argument was simply this: "I drink it and I'm fine! Doesn't hurt me!"

Thing was, it did seem to be hurting him.

Or at least in the three years I'd known him I'd never seen him reduce the size of his gut, even though he trained hard at least 4-5 days a week.

I've said it before and I'll say it again: If you're still fat after years of gym-going, then something is wrong, most likely your diet. Everyone say it together now: You can't out-train a bad diet!

Thing was, I don't think he "knew" he had a bloated, overly-fat belly. Denial is a powerful thing. I spent a while swimming down that river in Egypt myself, so I know.

Or maybe some people would rather be "right" than be healthy and lean?

Anyway, the whole incident reminded me of something all of us need to keep in mind: Is what we're doing (eating plan, training style, etc.) really working for us?

Too often we vehemently defend our diets or our preferred training methods without really taking a step back and saying, "Okay, is it working for me?

is it just me or most of you are having a gut/muffin top and looking to lose that, and what you are doing is clearly not giving the results, why not take a NEW approach. If you are happy with your physique, keep at it ! and more power to you !.

happy cny peeps and time to set new goals.
just to add -
more CNY wisdom for CFB (current fat bast*rd)

I told some fat people recently that they couldn’t out train a bad diet. Some were offended. They thought that as long as they trained hard on some high intensity circuit type workout a few days a week they would get lean.
They won’t. Nobody gets lean from doing kettlebell swings and burpees. If you’re eating clean, these will help, but unless your diet is spot on you aint losing an ounce. All the exercise in the world will do you no good without eating properly. These are the cold, hard facts and something I noticed , my friends.
shanecross
post Feb 11 2010, 12:01 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

cool biceps jon
metalfreak
post Feb 11 2010, 12:14 PM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

Ken,

I agree with what you say that diet > training.

I was wondering, if I cook my stuff using extra virgin olive oil...is it okay? I normally use EVO oil for my chicken breast and beef.

jamis
post Feb 11 2010, 12:27 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Feb 11 2010, 12:14 PM)
Ken,

I was wondering, if I cook my stuff using extra virgin olive oil...is it okay? I normally use EVO oil for my chicken breast and beef.
if not mistaken, olive oil has a very low smoke level. Not very suitable for high heat cooking thou.
iamyuanwu
post Feb 11 2010, 12:52 PM

2,425 posts

Should be ok unless you're deep frying it for long periods of time. I'm assuming that you're just using small amounts when roasting or stir frying it?
I wouldn't use EVO though. Probably just virgin or refined olive oil.

And I believe pressed palm oil is a good oil too. Wonder why no one talks about it.

Here's how 4Rings uses his EVO oil, refined olive oil, coconut oil, red palm oil. Check out this post of his:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=27647251

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Feb 11 2010, 12:56 PM
metalfreak
post Feb 11 2010, 01:13 PM

3,300 posts

Thanks guys.

I use it to season my chicken breast and beef
pan fry though..
TSpizzaboy
post Feb 11 2010, 01:20 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Feb 11 2010, 11:42 AM)
just to add -
more CNY wisdom for CFB (current fat bast*rd)

I told some fat people recently that they couldn’t out train a bad diet. Some were offended. They thought that as long as they trained hard on some high intensity circuit type workout a few days a week they would get lean.
They won’t. Nobody gets lean from doing kettlebell swings and burpees. If you’re eating clean, these will help, but unless your diet is spot on you aint losing an ounce. All the exercise in the world will do you no good without eating properly. These are the cold, hard facts and something I noticed , my friends.
I've a client that has major issues losing weight. I don't know what's wrong but I've already prescribed the 3L of water, cut carbs to as low as 20-30GMS a day, eat a tonne of greens and meat, circuit training, get stronger. I even prescribed the fish oil trick to increase fat reduction. I've tested her bodytype and it's the protein type. So everything I prescribe, is leaning towards that bodytype. It seems like nothing is working. Her bodyweight keeps going up.

I'm starting to think that she doesn't adhere to meal timings and thinks too little about the importance of the things I'm telling her. All these methods work, and it's even worked with a client of mine that owns a pub and drinks every darned night. Even that client was able to lose 4KG. David on this forum has lost about 7-8KGs.

It's extremely frustrating when you can't see the results you want on your clients. URghH!!! I'm also thinking it's because she's not motivated and her movement is extremely lethargic and slow which I've tried to fix with more plyos and stretching. Nothing seems to be working.

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Feb 11 2010, 12:14 PM)
Ken,

There's a reason why people sprinkle olive oil on their foods and not cook with it. It kills the enzymes and whatever nutrient qualities are in there.
metalfreak
post Feb 11 2010, 01:31 PM

3,300 posts

oh shoot. means even pan frying usng normal cooking oil will do? ah well

I'll just use EVO oil to season the meat biggrin.gif
atomizer
post Feb 11 2010, 01:31 PM

75 posts

hello guys.. i have question..
if body size wont grow anymore..shud i change routine? rest more?
i use to go gym 4-5 times a weeks and now my body seems like staying at this size.. *SAD*

zaxxshoxx
post Feb 11 2010, 01:33 PM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

QUOTE(atomizer @ Feb 11 2010, 01:31 PM)
hello guys.. i have question..
if body size wont grow anymore..shud i change routine? rest more?
i use to go gym 4-5 times a weeks and now my body seems like staying at this size.. *SAD*
maybe you can read the stickies u there... cool2.gif
TSpizzaboy
post Feb 11 2010, 01:46 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Feb 11 2010, 01:31 PM)
oh shoot. means even pan frying usng normal cooking oil will do? ah well

I'll just use EVO oil to season the meat biggrin.gif
Use the spray kinds. Pan spray I think they call it. Use much less oil and still covers the whole pan.
U zee why I hate striving for a sexy body thing? It's too much trouble. I'm happier being stronger than any average person despite having a lil more obliques than a abercrombie and fitch model. And my foods are tastier too!
metalfreak
post Feb 11 2010, 02:07 PM

3,300 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Feb 11 2010, 01:46 PM)
Use the spray kinds. Pan spray I think they call it. Use much less oil and still covers the whole pan.
U zee why I hate striving for a sexy body thing? It's too much trouble. I'm happier being stronger than any average person despite having a lil more obliques than a abercrombie and fitch model. And my foods are tastier too!
haha I know what you mean bro. its still beats the crap of eating outside food tongue.gif

My lunch was 1 whole can of tuna in olive oil + spaghetti + 1 egg.

I was reading the old thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1113418

and I saw something that caught my eye from the play list

wtf?

150 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:46 AM