Recommend a 32" LCD TV ..., help me choose pls...

TSwseng
post Aug 31 2009, 09:56 PM, updated 17y ago

270 posts

I'm looking for a 32" LCD TV to replace my current 21" CRT.

I'm new to this LCD TV choosing .... read some threads here.. many appears to be going to the higher ends like 42" and plasma..
Would like to be enlightened on the general differences of those LCD brands and what's best.

My criteria are as below :
- Price Around RM 1500
- Best for Astro video inputs, DVD. Not into Pc connection / gaming (Mainly parents watching astro only)
- 32" preferred.. Living room area is not too big.

Would like to hear feedbacks on the pricing and place to buy. Me staying in Klang. ..
and any recommendation for brands particularly good for astro inputs.. since everyone is saying astro looks bad on LCD TV ..
I myself always believe that 29" CRT would show astro better than LCD TV anytime ... am I right ?
But since we are moving ahead .. i think there's no point to stick with CRT .

amduser
post Aug 31 2009, 11:46 PM

5,542 posts

if you watch astro more then go for plasma for at least a bit or slightly better quality from the sucky astro input
TSwseng
post Sep 1 2009, 12:48 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 31 2009, 11:46 PM)
if you watch astro more then go for plasma for at least a bit or slightly better quality from the sucky astro input
but seems to me that .. the minimum price for plasma should be in the range of 2k ? and then only 40" above ? as what I understand .. .
am I correct ?

if u are saying for the bit or slightly better quality that normal people cannot differentiate them.. then the quality is not so much of a concern to me..

maybe I would pay more attention for the price and also limitation of my size ? not to get it too big to create discomfort ..
mybiebie
post Sep 1 2009, 10:20 AM

1,419 posts

yeap...plasma at least 42"....
low98944
post Sep 1 2009, 10:35 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(mybiebie @ Sep 1 2009, 10:20 AM)
yeap...plasma at least 42"....
Actually, Plasma got 37" doh.gif . But not in Malaysia la.

Here is example: Panasonic TH-37PX60U
peter32
post Sep 1 2009, 11:42 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

I went to Hous Depo sales at mutiara damansara yesterdya for their sale, a unit of toshiba AV600 LCD 32' HD ready sells for RM1299 brand new.

I can tell you its value for money.

I personally own a toshiba regza AV550 LCD 32's. Thats why I know the quality of that unit which is good if u ask me.

Difference betw the two unit is that the 600 series has 2 HDMI input I think.

The sales ended yesterday I think. But no harm calling and ask.
rhonot
post Sep 1 2009, 11:42 AM

QUOTE(low98944 @ Sep 1 2009, 10:35 AM)
Actually, Plasma got 37" doh.gif .  But not in Malaysia la.

Here is example: Panasonic TH-37PX60U
plasma 32 inch...take Haier brand.rm1300 only.iv heard it lcd panel come same made for samsung brand.
TSwseng
post Sep 1 2009, 01:03 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(rhonot @ Sep 1 2009, 11:42 AM)
plasma 32 inch...take Haier brand.rm1300 only.iv heard it lcd panel come same made for samsung brand.
any ideas on Panasonic or Samsung ??
DarkNite
post Sep 1 2009, 05:14 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Sep 1 2009, 01:03 PM)
any ideas on Panasonic or Samsung ??

Panasonic or Samsung? Very unlikely unless very old model.
Your budget at Around RM1500 is very difficult for a decent unit. Maybe next year the price will drop.
Since Mainly parents watching astro only, delay buying would be the most logical choice.
Asstro picture quality is only 75% Sharp. You will be accomplice to degrading your parents' eyes.
Wait till Asstro REALLY confirms HD.
I myself always believe that 29" CRT would show astro better than LCD TV anytime ... am I right? thumbup.gif
In case you have NOT notice Asstro has NO move ahead since 2007 whilst others has!
TSwseng
post Sep 1 2009, 07:27 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Sep 1 2009, 05:14 PM)
Panasonic or Samsung? Very unlikely unless very old model.
Your budget at Around RM1500 is very difficult for a decent unit. Maybe next year the price will drop.
Since Mainly parents watching astro only, delay buying would be the most logical choice.
Asstro picture quality is only 75% Sharp. You will be accomplice to degrading your parents' eyes.
Wait till Asstro REALLY confirms HD.
I myself always believe that 29" CRT would show astro better than LCD TV anytime ... am I right?  thumbup.gif
In case you have NOT notice Asstro has NO move ahead since 2007 whilst others has!
current TV is giving me problems with colors. Very uncomfortable.

I know of the Astro picture quality problems...

You saying others have move ahead ?? others means .. ??

Today I just went to survey some LCD TV at carrefour. They are giving very good prices.. most brands can be bought for RM 1599.
Pana, Samsung, Philips, LG..

Found that Pana and PHilips screens have double layers while others mostly 1 layers.. you can see it by touching the screen with fingers...
Can't really feel the picture quality cause they don't put side by side with the same video source.

Any comments on pic quality ?? I'm leaning towards panasonic now.. cause of the Double layer screen.. less prone to physical problems on screen.
maxizanc
post Sep 1 2009, 08:23 PM

5,909 posts

If only for Astro, a Full HD tv is a no no. Enough with HD Ready. Suits your budget too. And for the budget of RM1500 most HD ready tv almost the same in picture quality. Unless you're looking for more functions, then you need to up your budget.

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Sep 1 2009, 08:26 PM
DarkNite
post Sep 2 2009, 08:11 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Sep 1 2009, 07:27 PM)
I know of the Astro picture quality problems...
You saying others have move ahead ?? others means .. ??

...means the neighboring countries already transmitting in HD.

Don't be taken in by the picture quality in shops, check out their source feeding into the display panels.

Someone mention here about GIGO and Asstro's PQ is garbage. No matter what, garbage in, it still will be garbage out!

Temporary just get a cheap 29" CRT or up your budget to ~RM3000. Click on the tiny arrow in the box on the right for more info.
QUOTE(Spawnster @ Sep 1 2009, 08:00 PM)
if u got budget just go for Panny Plasma P42S10K Full HD. got it yesterday for RM3099 + RM150 for additional 2 yrs warranty = 5 yrs warranty. hehe  icon_rolleyes.gif
good PQ on astro....even my normal dvd's look good. can't wait to try on bluray smile.gif
>>>
emerald
post Sep 2 2009, 08:39 AM

46 posts

i think LG brand is good.. the pic is very sharp.. nice to see one..
TSwseng
post Sep 2 2009, 12:50 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(emerald @ Sep 2 2009, 08:39 AM)
i think LG brand is good.. the pic is very sharp.. nice to see one..
Now closing in on Panasonic with 2 models.. 32X10K and 32C10k..

Noted the difference is :

X10k : 2 HDMI port
C10K : 1 HDMI port

can suggest what items to be plugged to HDMI besides PC with HDMI graphics card and Bluray player ?
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 2 2009, 12:55 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Sep 2 2009, 12:50 PM)

can suggest what items to be plugged to HDMI besides PC with HDMI graphics card and Bluray player ?
U have Game Consoles? Media Players?
TSwseng
post Sep 2 2009, 01:38 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 2 2009, 12:55 PM)
U have Game Consoles?  Media Players?
wondering if probably in the near future there would be a HDMI switcher ? if in case any of those TV doesn't have enough ports ??

It really doesn't justify to have additional port for a sum of RM 500
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 2 2009, 02:27 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Sep 2 2009, 01:38 PM)
wondering if probably in the near future there would be a HDMI switcher ? if in case any of those TV doesn't have enough ports ??

It really doesn't justify to have additional port for a sum of RM 500
The future is now! HDMI switches are available. Tho I dun know how it will 'compromise' on the overall quality of the video?
smwah
post Sep 3 2009, 12:03 AM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

houz depot sell so cheal for toshiba? It is still available?
I too looking the kind specs as you. What I had see and check, at the end I break down to
Pana and LG ( price about 1.5k)

Both Pana for C and X specs is same only thing is the input, but no S video for pana
LG got the higher specs. (higher contrast)

How about the citibank LG model?

emerald
post Sep 3 2009, 05:51 AM

46 posts

PS3 rclxms.gif
azxel
post Sep 3 2009, 06:46 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

oh? sweat.gif
The Panny VIERA TH-L32C10K I bought has 2 HDMI ports.. actually both models come with 2 HDMI ports.

the difference is X10K comes with S-Video Input (for your Astro needs)
TSwseng
post Sep 5 2009, 11:10 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Sep 3 2009, 06:46 PM)
oh? sweat.gif
The Panny VIERA TH-L32C10K I bought has 2 HDMI ports.. actually both models come with 2 HDMI ports.

the difference is X10K comes with S-Video Input (for your Astro needs)
oh ... is 1 of the HDMI port on the side and one more at the back ? So what are the major differences between these 2 models ?

does watching astro with S-Video connection improves the quality of the picture ??

when i tested watching astro on this LCD comparing with those plasma it looks very bad.. the plasma is miles ahead..

what do u think ? u got do any comparison between panasonic .. and also other brands of LCD of same size ? are they the same in picture quality ?

The salesman told me they are about the same. only panasonic 2 layers to protect the screen other brands don't have..

please help me decide. .. and how much your bought your C10k Model ?
pcm123
post Nov 17 2009, 09:29 PM

468 posts

hi , i m also curious on the price of this model too , the PANA c10k .
wseng , where did u check the model and how much is it ? the diff between a S-video input is rm 500 ? omg

and btw , astro currently connects with S-video ?
sonerin
post Nov 18 2009, 07:17 AM

8,740 posts

with s-video the PQ is sure better than just normal RCA cables use for ASTRO.
gwc
post Nov 18 2009, 10:10 PM

41 posts

buy "SD" cheap plasma, astro will look better on this
htkaki
post Nov 18 2009, 11:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

SD plasma? IIRC, major brands are not producing it anymore.
pcm123
post Nov 19 2009, 02:15 PM

468 posts

so the quality of panasonic th-l32c10k should be fine rite , for its range ?
apexg2
post Nov 20 2009, 10:11 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

y not go for 42'..just add a bit n u can use it for many years..
xget
post Dec 4 2009, 09:01 AM

147 posts

between sony LG samsung, which LCD 32" HD ready model serve the best?
i'm looking for new TV for replacement for my old 25"CRT sharp...
any sugestion ? price below 2K..

This post has been edited by xget: Dec 4 2009, 09:04 AM
jcln2
post Dec 5 2009, 10:37 AM

190 posts

Saw LG promotion for full HD at Carrefour. U might need to ask to get this price.
32LH70YR [32"] RM1999
32LH20R [32"] RM1799. Other places probably RM1999

I wound't go for HD ready for future sake.
brian0008
post Dec 6 2009, 03:42 AM

plasma or lcd better for watching movie?
keewah
post Dec 9 2009, 03:26 PM

429 posts

dear all, how about

Philips 32"
32PFL5609S

Panasonic 32"
TH-L32S10K

both are FULL HD drool.gif

iphoneguy08
post Dec 9 2009, 10:16 PM

191 posts

Add some money. Toshiba Regza Full HD 42 inch, around RM3.4k now.
Im using it nw. No regrets.. May be u can consider tht. Think of Long term usage.
keewah
post Dec 10 2009, 09:48 AM

429 posts

thanks bro iphoneguy08.
I use the 32" inch for gaming purposes only and my budget around RM2000

both of the spec also quite good , dont know how to choose

Philips 32"
32PFL5609S

Panasonic 32"
TH-L32S10K
xget
post Dec 12 2009, 12:46 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(jcln2 @ Dec 5 2009, 10:37 AM)
Saw LG promotion for full HD at Carrefour. U might need to ask to get this price.
32LH70YR [32"] RM1999
32LH20R [32"] RM1799. Other places probably RM1999

I wound't go for HD ready for future sake.
thx for the suggestion
i just get my self LG 32" LF20 , RM1800 (tawau, sabah)
full HD really nice...
just the speaker sound a bit disapoint
spikey2506
post Dec 12 2009, 04:11 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(xget @ Dec 12 2009, 12:46 PM)
thx for the suggestion
i just get my self LG 32" LF20 , RM1800 (tawau, sabah)
full HD really nice... 
just the speaker sound a bit disapoint
How's the quality bro? I guess that is the cheapest Full HD panel right? I'm also looking for a panel right now, to be used with Astro HD and WDTV Live.
gurus
post Dec 14 2009, 09:57 AM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

sony s series lo...now got offer..so cheap..

0.0266sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:22 AM