CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

StarGhazzer
post Sep 6 2009, 03:37 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(monkeygirl @ Sep 5 2009, 04:47 PM)
seems like a waste that we're paying so much but getting so little in return.
Welcome to medical school... where they teach you virtually nothing despite paying the highest fees. You're supposed to learn stuff on your own, and by that I mean stumble and crash your way through the hospital and getting into other people's ways during clinical years, not just mug through tons of books.

QUOTE(zltan @ Sep 5 2009, 04:51 PM)
Actually 6 hours of lectures, 4 hours PBL and 2 hours ICM
Those were the days... tongue.gif
Got free time then cabut to Baretto's lol...

as for the questions that cybersetan posted...
1. ventricular ectopic beats
2. dunno.... my first thought would be scalp lipoma but they aren't exactly transilluminable eh?
3. metatarsal-phalangeal amputation of foot due to gangerene... an endocrine consultant once told me that he prefered a full Symes as it's easier to fit a prosthetic foot... MTP renders the foot useless for weight bearing and impedes prothesis fitting later on.
4. placenta... too easy biggrin.gif the placenta is probably one of the ugliest yuckiest organs you'll ever see

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 6 2009, 03:41 PM
StarGhazzer
post Sep 7 2009, 05:28 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Sep 6 2009, 10:23 PM)
Hardly surprising news as this was always a matter of "when" and not "if", no thanks to all the new and upcoming medical universities like Bond, Deakin etc. These additional number of graduates will saturate the allocation spots for interns, yet Australia still requires many more personnel particularly in sub-urban and rural areas - hence they are still spending money recruiting IMGs as mentioned below:
"Having invested in them and trained them, we send them away and then we spend more money recruiting people from overseas," Ms Fulde said.

The excuse of lacking funds and resources for training is somewhat dodgy and will spark further debates, especially since international students pay 5-10 times more. Then again, these funds are mainly paid to universities rather than directly channeled into hospitals and medical institutions so the latter may actually lack the capacity to accommodate the rising number of students and graduates.

Victoria is still comparatively easy to get an internship position compared to other states, as most of us are able to be matched in the first round offers whereas students in other states usually have to wait for 2nd or even 3rd, 4rd rounds for fight for scraps. Having said that, most of my friends from other states still managed to secure a position after the 2nd round. I guess it's a trade-off - Vic's pay is the least !!
StarGhazzer
post Sep 7 2009, 09:27 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Sep 7 2009, 11:26 AM)
That being said, I still have my doubts as to the possibility of me getting an internship place in 2014.
I'm just hoping that:
(a) They would rather pick Melb Uni grads over the rest
(b) Internship places would have increased even more by 2014
© A miracle happens and I get a PR
A is probably out of the question biggrin.gif Melb uni students generally don't get preference over Monash, although some hospital schools are famous (or notorious) for selecting their own clinical school students. I ain't gonna open a can of worms, you would know which ones when the time comes.
B is quite likely, although I won't be too optimistic about the number of available positions. After all, you can't expect hospitals to double the number of intern positions as the hospital budgets won't be able to support all the pay.
C... why not lol. Become a Victorian resident (Group 1 match) and you'll be guaranteed a job, somewhere, somehow.

Of course, there are still a number of unfortunate international students for god knows what reason fail to obtain a spot even after 2nd round or subsequent late offers. But generally speaking, as long as you're not too picky + not too unlucky you'll get somewhere in Vic. The question is whether you want to accept it or not.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 7 2009, 09:12 PM)
as a jpa scholar, you will, and should return to serve your bond on graduation........otherwise don't take the scholarship you can't commit to the bond.......
Tell that to the JPA scholars... There are simply too many scholars who actually applied and got a job, and la and behold, they're staying back probably by choosing to pay back the amount of money JPA spent on them. Then again, no one truly knows what the contract holds, even the JPA scholars themselves (or maybe they are just keeping quiet and not letting us know).

MARA is even more absurd as the amount they are required to pay back should they choose to break the bond is merely peanuts.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 7 2009, 09:28 PM
StarGhazzer
post Sep 8 2009, 05:20 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Sep 7 2009, 09:57 PM)
i will come back and serve my bond fully for sure, even if i can afford to pay them back by that time
it's just that i'm wondering whether i could have the opportunity to complete my specialization
if no, then fine, i'm fine and more than willing to serve my bond straight away on graduation smile.gif
i have heard of few cases that JPA do allow some medical graduates to stay on now and then, of course with certain conditions
not too sure with the details though
From what I know at the moment, JPA does not cover postgraduate training as one would be required to work as an intern after graduation, i.e. not studying anymore. Therefore the scholar has to return and serve his/her contract unless he/she manages to break the bond by paying back the full amount (normally the case) or sendiri cabut (less likely as their penjamin/parents are still in M'sia).

As for those who manage to stay back for postgrad training under JPA, well I don't think anyone really knows what the 'certain conditions' are unless you're the scholar him/herself. Like I said, most of my JPA friends don't really know the full details of their contract plus the conditions may change over time.
StarGhazzer
post Sep 8 2009, 08:19 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(dunaskwhy @ Sep 8 2009, 02:04 PM)
So StarGhazzer.  Are you working in Victoria now? Anyone else working in Vic?
Not yet, but going to, if everything goes well biggrin.gif

QUOTE(chika138 @ Sep 8 2009, 03:08 PM)
ya that's what i heard from some mara scholars
for some other courses u need to get very distinctive results (like first class degree) only can get 100% scholarship (no need to pay back a single cent)
for medic u just need to pass and graduate, then no need to pay back, no bond
if it's true i dun see any point and benefit giving the scholarship to them
again i might be wrong for my info, need someone to clarify if i'm wrong
The 1% Mara thingy, that's what I've heard as well. Sounds really unfair, especially since that puny amount can be repaid in a glimpse of an eye if you're working overseas. Oh bugger... M'sia boleh, apa pun boleh.

QUOTE(zltan @ Sep 8 2009, 08:50 AM)
In Australia, you need to be Australian PR or Citizen to get into any specialty training.
I'm not quite sure about this. The RACP website doesn't specify that you need a PR or citizenship to enroll in their training programme... To put it in a harsh manner, if you've finished your PGY1, and is good enough and pay them $$ they'll take you. Most people start training in PGY3 although there's a fair share of people who started certain training programmes in PGY2.

Not quite sure about RACS and other colleges but I think it shouldn't be that much different.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 8 2009, 08:26 PM
StarGhazzer
post Sep 10 2009, 09:27 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Sep 9 2009, 07:38 PM)
Starghazzer, so come 2012, people like zltan and hopefully me who wants to continue on to workin in australia , if i manage to get a pr i'd hopefully get my job there right? and unlike uk where they just boot any non eu student after FY-2 ? with all the new universities coming up they dont really need foreign doctors!!
Don't know... Things may change over time, but generally speaking if you're not a PR (ie in Group 2) you'll stand a lesser chance due to the quota.

I'm not too familiar with PR issues - some people tend to require quite a lot of time for it, some manage to get it even during their student time although the latter might be due to sponsorship from family members... not sure.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 10 2009, 09:29 PM
StarGhazzer
post Sep 14 2009, 05:30 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 13 2009, 08:31 PM)
agree that 1 is too many. Well in the end it all comes down to ourselves as a medical student/doctor, whether we opt to be a competent one, or an incompetent one who only knows the basic GP work/antibiotics. I can't ensure you what category i will fall into but I'm definitely striving hard to be in the competent group =)
Bear in mind that GPs are far more knowledgeable and well trained than a typical freshie HO or even a first year MO... so honestly, if one can do everything that a competent GP can do the moment he/she graduates then it's good enough than most of his/her peers.

People (both layperson and sometimes fellow medical personnel) have the misconception that GPs only know how to treat cough and cold and prescribe antibiotics. Nevertheless, a competent GP's greatest achievement is to manage patients in the community and prevent them from ending up in the wards; and most of them manage to do that. Manage one's HbA1c and BP well and chances are you'll do more good for the patient and their family than performing a CABG everyday.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 14 2009, 05:33 AM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 4 2010, 07:24 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Dec 23 2009, 04:33 PM)
I have a clinical question on Physiology

Doctor administers barbiturate during anesthesic before operation, the patients stops breathing. Doctor gives artificial source of oxygen but patients die in the end....Why is that so?

Pls help ASAP! thank u!

"IMO, barbiturate is inhibiting respiratory control in Medulla oblongata - therefore even though u have oxygen, Carbon dioxide cannot be exhaled out, person dies of acidosis of alveoli..."
That's probably the reason. Barbs inhibit one's central respiratory centre hence one cannot breathe. Worth pointing out that there's no acidosis of the alveoli - acidosis occurs throughout the body, not just the alveoli; although hypoxia will probably kill the patient first.

Now it's unclear what "artificial source of oxygen" means as there are many ways of administering O2, but for patients who can't breathe you have to intubate and ventilate them mechanically.

I assume this is a hypothetical question for pre-clinical year studies since barbs are rarely used in anaesthetics anymore (benzodiazepines, propofol, and ether gases more commonly used now). Furthermore, the patient wouldn't have died on the table had the 'artificial source of O2' was via intubation with assisted ventilation.

QUOTE(DireAnguish5678 @ Jan 2 2010, 09:45 AM)
Could it maybe have something to do with cerebellar ataxia, maybe scalenes movement are impaired?
Never say never in medicine, as theoretically barbs can cause paralysis of muscles. But as mentioned above barbs are seldom used now. Non-depolarising antiACh agents (pan/vercuroniums) are preferred for muscle relaxation during GA.

The more you are exposed to clinical medicine, the more you realise stuff that you learn in pre-clinical years are for academic interest. Most of the agents you study in pharmacology are no longer first choice in real-life, but the basics must still be taught and learned.

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jan 3 2010, 09:32 PM)
yeah, depending on the requirement of the university. Some don't require biology as a prerequisite subject to enter medicine, some do. But then again, you'll need to know the fundamentals of biology(I'll say....till form 5/pre-U standard) , if not you'll suffer when you enter the course. Pardon my curiosity, but why medicine when you didn't intend to take biology initially?
Because biology is not a requisite? tongue.gif
I didn't take biology either during SAM, instead I opted for Specialist Maths. That way I could still choose between engineering or medicine, while had I chosen biology without spec maths I wouldn't have such options.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 4 2010, 07:26 AM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 30 2010, 10:30 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(XteBan @ Jan 27 2010, 09:22 PM)
“Every year, we face a shortage of doctors because they serve with the Government for only five years -- two years on housemanship and three years on compulsory service.

“This system has been in use since 1971 and, as such, we should have a new mechanism to resolve the problem,” he told reporters after a working visit to the Public Service Commission (PSC), here.

Murugiah said the Government’s adoption of the proposal would mean that the doctors would be able to garner more experience before they moved on to the private sector or set up their own practice.

“Doctors should not only think about profit. They also have to think about the country’s interests -- your contribution to the country,” he said.

Extending the compulsory sevice period will not solve the shortage problem. If anything, it will only deter those studying overseas from coming back home.

Most of those who stay back in Msia will opt to leave government service once they have fulfilled the required 2+3 years, mainly venturing into private practice or even leaving the country.

The reason why most doctors choose not work for the government is fairly obvious. I don't think the politicians are blind to the problems faced by our public hospital doctors, but being politicians in a murky, biased system it's unlikely that they are going to change anything much. Paying more salary is not going to attract people back either; M'sian doctors are considerably well paid even as a junior HMO.

The now defunct Product of the System blog used to reveal many fishy issues plaguing our public hospitals, in particularly the appalling situation in Sabah, but unfortunately the blogger has decided to call it quits by quoting personal reasons. I wouldn't be surprised if there were some higher ranking superiors forcing him to shut up, since his blog has been grabbing a fair share of attention from those who are involved in the health sector and medical students alike.
StarGhazzer
post Jan 31 2010, 09:44 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 31 2010, 01:04 AM)
relax...........it's just politicians talking, with no idea what they are spewing........

the minister of health just announced they are actually considering REDUCING the compulsory service to 2 years.........

this is because it is a real probability that by 2015, the numbers completing housemanship and taking mo posts will exceed the vacancies...........
Increase or decrease, any alterations to the compulsory service period will only be a temporary measure. Many would still opt to leave once their time is up. Or venture down south to our neighbour across the causeway like many UK-grads do.

As long as political/racial bias, lack of promotion/advanced training opportunities, and appalling work hours persist; the public health sector would find it hard to attract professionals to stay on. And this isn't just limited to doctors, but also includes dentists, pharmacists, and other members of the health system.
StarGhazzer
post Jan 31 2010, 07:22 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 31 2010, 02:03 PM)
actually, the statistics show 2 trends...........

first is, the numbers (and percentages) of people resigning from gov service after compulsory service in decreasing..........it becomes increasing difficult to establish gp clinics, and majority of people wants to specialise........however, the attrition from the specialist ranks continues unabated.......

the second trend is, the number of newly graduated doctors from the 1st world(ie uk/oz/nz/spore) returning to work in msia is shrinking........easily 80-90% of these doctors will stay on where they graduated to work.....as in your case....and indeed, in recent years, i know not personally anyone who returned.........this compares with <50% in the 80's and 90's........

however, newly minted doctors graduating from the 1st world are dwafted by those from the '3rd' world (russia/ukraine/india/indonesia/etc).........and hardly ANYONE stayed on, or will want to stay on in these countries........and by the local med schools, the majority of whom cannot work elsewhere.......these are the ones what will swell the ranks of doctors in msia.........
We all have our own reasons whether to go back or not. Most of us here, including myself, would jump at the opportunity to go back home; after all it's where our roots are. But the reality is that every one would choose the best possible option when given the chance, and for myself I have been given an offer which exceeds what I would get back home. It's not in terms of financially as I would probably get the same pay, if not even more, should I decide to return home. Would the shortening of compulsory government service plus increase in salary attract overseas graduates (by this I mean those who get the chance to practice overseas) home? I don't think the impact would be as big as the ministers expect.

It's true that most of those who graduated from places like Russia, Ukraine, or Indonesia will end up returning as the aforementioned places are less attractive than back home. Those who graduated from local universities will eventually stay back as well. But it's interesting to know what happens to them once they finish the 2+3. Some, if not most, will venture in GP land and make a better living than staying in the public sector. Others, in particularly who fail to obtain a training programme due to quotas and SLAB, probably will be lured down south as mentioned previously by POTS before his blog went AWOL.

Anyway, apart from SLAB which almost nobody realises until they enter the workforce; nobody really knows what the induksi programme is until they get registered for HO. Listening to my friends' experiences, it's just a racist, brainwashing propaganda not unlike the various camps provided to JPA students. I'd like to hear from those here who have underwent the induksi to understand whether it's really as appalling as it seems, or what I've heard are merely exaggerations.
StarGhazzer
post Feb 2 2010, 03:38 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(yana89 @ Feb 1 2010, 10:33 PM)
rm130 K is nothing to them if they work overseas...
they get higher pay and the advantage of high value in the currency...
even rm 1.3 million isn't much for them i guess...
imagine those working in UK/Ireland..the currency is like 7 times higher than us...
130K may not be a lot, but 1M sure is.

Sterling is not as high as it used to be, and many forget that people working in Western countries are subjected to relatively high tax. You simply cannot calculate like that; as people earning pounds are spending in pounds as well, not RM.

The issue of breaking JPA contracts have been discussed to death. Most of those who choose to do so are people who will pay back. After all, their parents are usually their guarantors so if they don't pay back their parents will be the ones facing the consequences. MARA contracts are more ridiculous.
StarGhazzer
post Feb 2 2010, 07:38 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(yana89 @ Feb 2 2010, 01:25 PM)
time out a bit on the bond thing...

need help... icon_question.gif
i've been presented a case..20yr old...female..m'sian
chief complain is diarrhea for past 4-5 months loss 5 kg in dat period
is currently been underweight...
BP, respiratory rate, pulse rate and temperature are normal...
all other system are also normal...except she has a distended abdominal...and there is stomatitis and glossitis when upon done oral checking...

blood test saw dat her MCV is high hb count low...the serum ferritin and b12 level is normal...just the folate level is low

her stool has an increased amount of fat and bulky but not watery...prior to diz she has experienced diarrhea before..dat is about a year ago..but it stop a few days after without any treatment......
after discussion we all agreed that she has tropical sprue....
but I think there is a possibility also that she has bacterial overgrowth...she's exhibiting the same symptoms...
is there any way to distinct between those two....??
Tropical sprue is associated with bacterial overgrowth. I don't think the term "bacterial overgrowth" is a strong and valid independent diagnosis but I'm no gastro expert and I could be wrong.

If it's angmoh then celiac would be high on the list, but that doesn't mean that non caucasians won't get celiac. Check anti-TTG and endomysial Ab, if positive then scope + biopsy. Tropical sprue would have similar biopsy results as celiac without the autoantibodies.

Also think about IBD eg Crohn's even though she doesn't seem to be febrile.

If it's a real life case, keep us updated on the progress and the diagnosis biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Aeiou11 @ Feb 2 2010, 05:09 PM)
But I thought GP is a must for every doctor during their career? BTW, after the compulsory service, I paln to pursue Master's degree. But I'm not sure which is the best time to do it. Can I pursue it right after the compulsory service? Or I need a few more years of experience?
GP is a must? Nope. If I'm not mistaken, you just need a basic MBBS to become a GP. In other countries, GP is a specialisation and requires specific training programmes which often include family medicine, a bit of paeds, a bit of O&G, sometimes even a bit of psychiatry.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Feb 2 2010, 07:42 PM
StarGhazzer
post Feb 23 2010, 03:44 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Feb 21 2010, 06:10 PM)
something off the current topic...

this is a convo with my friend:

123: hey why do you want to be a doctor, like seriously why?
me: um, in short, to help others.
123: really? that's noble, but mine's not so noble.
me: um, then what's your reason?
123: I like surgery, you know, cut things up
um.... guys, do you reckon the reason of 'I love to cut things up' is valid to be a doctor? >< haha, just something random that I remembered.
"to help others." is probably one of the worst cop-out answers one can ever give, and if replied in an interview one will provide much ammunition for the interviewers to fire. You can help people by being a lawyer, an engineer, a policeman, or even a politician (if you're honest enough); not just by being a doctor.
StarGhazzer
post Feb 27 2010, 05:12 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Feb 26 2010, 07:53 AM)
ahaha, i'm sorry bout that. cos it's an informal dialogue with my friend. Of course I have my own reasons which I know very well of to do medicine. I was sort of 'summing it up' into one phrase 'to help others' xD yeah, i was being ignorant. And yes. In my first interview for medicine I actually said that, and i got shot back by the interviewers. So I've pondered on that question a lil further on after that. And now i have my own specific answers.
I'm not shooting anyone either; merely reminding those going for interviews to be prepared for certain questions and don't give vague answers like "I want to help people". Almost every candidate will say that, and unfortunately will get shot.

QUOTE(flamelye @ Feb 26 2010, 10:09 AM)
The salary offered here is of course a highly contentious issue. It is also one of the main reasons why I stayed back here even though it has taken me 12 years to complete my specialist training compared to 4-5 years in Malaysia. Currently, a Registrar in a surgical specialty, typically a post attainable 3-4 years after graduation can earn anywhere from 80-150k euros a year depending on the specific on call rota worked! In Malaysian Ringgit, that's around RM350k - RM700k per year! It is one of the highest salaries of any doctor at this level in the world and is considered high even by Irish standards.

There is an attitude prevalent among some Malaysian doctors here that they would rather be paid a high salary and be stuck out in a peripheral hospital in the middle of nowhere in Ireland, than be stuck in a peripheral hospital in Malaysia with a very low salary. I am in total agreement with them.

It is time the Malaysian government started treating doctors as professional, giving them the higher salaries that they deserve and recognition of qualifications and standing. It is after all the nations brightest that become doctors, and a meager salary with a pat on the back just does not do it anymore in today's world. Denial that times HAVE changed will only worsen the problem.
If you earn Euro, you spend Euro as well; so never ever compare pay after currency conversion. I'm not sure how much surgical trainees in Malaysia get paid, if you get 80K ringgit per year it's not too bad compared to other countries although this is not taking into account working environment and racial bias and all those factors.

Again, some people tend to think that money is the sole factor that overseas graduates do not return to Malaysia upon graduation. It's not so simple, and in fact the main deterrence is actually the internal power struggle plus political/racial bias.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 26 2010, 10:29 AM)
the workload of junior doctors is changing, with the flood of new graduates entering housemanship, starting from 2009.........many hospitals have seen a more than doubling in numbers of new housemans.........

much of this number is from returning graduates from ukraine and russia......
Doubling the numbers of junior medical staff might not be a bad idea. Assuming that all of them are competent (or at least willing to learn if they are not), having more junior staff should be able to shorten the length of shifts and on-calls, and hence reduce the workload and burden.
StarGhazzer
post Feb 27 2010, 11:23 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 27 2010, 09:21 AM)
workload for housemans has already markedly reduced, due to the sheer numbers......

however, there is intrinsic problem with shift scheduling, continuity of patient care suffers, and mistakes are most common during handing overs.........so i don't think that will implemented........

as to quality, the competence of housemans is very variable, and this variability varies, depending on where they are trained.........oecd graduates are the most consistent, and russian/ukraine trained doctors the most variable........

this is all reflective in the intake policy, and the assessment policy, of each respective med school..........
Markedly reduced yes, but continuous on-calls for 36 hours are still inhumane and will make the medical staff more prone to errors.

The return of Russian/Ukraine graduates will definitely be welcomed as the more personnel available the better. However, if they are really sub-standard (this includes graduates from any uni, not just from Eastern Europe), they should have a proper retraining programme under well-supported supervision for them to obtain whatever skills required to work in Malaysia.

It works both ways - the sub-par graduates must be willing to learn the tools of the trade, while the more senior staff should be accomodating and willing to retrain them. Constant b*tching and whining about their incompetencies will never solve the problem; we might as well retrain them instead. The sad part is, do we actually have a well-planned and supportive training programme for those who are not-accredited, or do we simply throw them into the fray?
StarGhazzer
post Feb 27 2010, 07:04 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 27 2010, 01:10 PM)
their degrees are recognised, so there is no issue of not being accredited.........

as for retraining, isn't it ironic, just after med school, they are found incompetent (a recent survey in GHKL found 15% of houseman to be so) and need retraining........there is something very wrong with this entire scenario.......

you are in oz now, what do you think would happen if a whole bunch of inadequately trained aussie doctors are let loose in oz hospitals?.......you should be familiar with the amc exams process for foreign trained doctors who migrated there.........would they ever scrape that requirement?.........
There are many skills which you will only get to learn when you enter the real world, not as a medical student. Having said that, basic clinical skills such as history taking and venepunctures should already been acquired upon graduation, and sadly there have been stories where some graduates can't even perform them properly. I don't think anyone really knows how the accreditation process in Malaysia is made or what criteria universities have to meet before being recognised by the medical board and health ministry, unless he/she is working for the authorities. The current issue is that they are now back in our country, and instead of ostracising them and constantly shunning them as useless bunch of people we might as well take the proper steps to train them - that's what the hospital staff should do. The government on the other hand has a role to play in deciding which university's course in up to expectations; and if they are not their graduates should not be registered until they pass the medical competency exams.

In Australia there are training/mentorship programmes available if your degree are not recognised. The international medical graduates (IMGs) have to undergo accreditation exams before they receive the AMC certificate. It is not uncommon to see IMGs who were specialists in their original country working as residents or even interns before they get re-accepted into the respective specialist colleges by sitting for exams. These IMGs are a valuable asset to the health system as long as they are properly trained, even as junior medical staff. I cannot see the reason why we cannot do the same in Malaysia for those who graduated from areas where their training may not be fully suitable for our country's health scenarios.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Feb 27 2010, 07:19 PM
StarGhazzer
post Feb 27 2010, 10:50 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 27 2010, 10:08 PM)
there is no need, because unlike australia where only a few foreign med degrees are recognised, there are lots of foreign unis recognised by mmc, and those who trained in these places can get registration without further assessment of their competency........they walk straight into the housemanship programme, expected to be fully competent to function at houseman level, and 1 in 7 are found not functional.......
These are things that we already know, but unfortunately can't do much to change it unless one has huge 'connections' with those that yield the power. Recognition of universities can only be decided by the authorities, but within the hospital itself things can be done to help improve the quality of the junior staff.

We're going in circles here; what we're seeing now is many senior medical staff complaining on the media and blogs about the sub-par standards of certain foreign university graduates, but how many of them are actually pushing for a proper mentorship/training programme within the hospital to help them? Supervise them, guide them the proper way of doing things, show them how it's done, assess and provide constructive feedback, rectify and countersign paperwork, it sounds like babysitting but if it helps them to improve then it's a win-win situation.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Feb 27 2010, 10:50 PM
StarGhazzer
post May 18 2010, 11:06 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 17 2010, 05:22 PM)
def means that, of all the subjects learnt in spm, not much is of relevance in medical studies, except for chemistry, where such knowledge is useful, not only in undergraduate medical studies, but for postgraduate as well..........

i think.....smile.gif
Biology still has more relevance in medical studies, but only the parts regarding the human body, not those ecosystem/alam sekitar stuff.

Chemistry is also important but more in undergraduate studies especially during pharmacology and physiology although pharmacy students will probably find it more relevant. They have to know how to draw molecular structures whereas I don't.

Physics becomes of absolute importance if you're specialising in radiology/rad onc (you have to know the basics of different scans and radiation machines);but otherwise you won't need to know too much about it. I don't remember how to calculate trajectories, vectors, or energy levels anymore as I don't need those in my work.

It's hard to say why most medical courses don't classify biology as a requisite and instead put more emphasis on chemistry, but one of the reasons I could think of is maybe it's because you will be taught the relevant and required biology during your pre-clinical basic sciences.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: May 18 2010, 11:08 AM
StarGhazzer
post May 19 2010, 11:16 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(NatBass @ May 19 2010, 03:15 AM)
cygoh9 - Is it the one which MS Mohamad wrote? Well im still up for medic smile.gif

zstan - Yes im aware of the difference in that term. Is there more towards it. I rang up the mmc today. Bdesh indon and russia . All three are listed so hence i can practice medicine here without sitting for the exam. Apparently there are a lot of graduates from bdesh and (usu-indon) thats what the dr from the mmc department told me.
Check the list by MMC:
http://mmc.gov.my/v1/docs/Jadual%20Kedua%2...r%20website.pdf

There are a few unis from Bangladesh, Indonesia, and Russia that are not recognised, and will require you to sit for qualification exams should you graduate from there.

0.0473sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:12 PM