not 37 medical schools mer?got few more public u din add...sigh...yet my people still wants to take up medicine...
CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center
Apr 28 2010, 01:40 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
not 37 medical schools mer?got few more public u din add...sigh...yet my people still wants to take up medicine...
Apr 28 2010, 02:49 PM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
the mohe just yesterday declared a freeze on new nursing schools.........that is timely......
they should also do the same for med schools........and should review the number of foreign med schools, and the numbers of msians they take in every year.......... but i am not holding my breath.......too much politics and vested interests...... |
Apr 28 2010, 04:40 PM
they should freeze pharmacy schools too..quite a lot mushrooming around....
Apr 28 2010, 10:03 PM
3,107 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 28 2010, 02:49 PM) the mohe just yesterday declared a freeze on new nursing schools.........that is timely...... we all hope so too. if not, msia will seriously have overqualified taxi drivers, or insurance salesman with a mbbs degree >< nah, i'm probably exaggerating but the situation is indeed dire.they should also do the same for med schools........and should review the number of foreign med schools, and the numbers of msians they take in every year.......... but i am not holding my breath.......too much politics and vested interests...... |
Apr 29 2010, 01:26 PM
83 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
I guess Malaysia can't really afford to freeze med and pharmacy skuls cause they would end up facing shortage of doctors/pharmacy. Fresh graduates these days would prefer to migrate to other countries - quality of life much higher and more comfortable. I heard doctors/dentist/pharmacist who are fresh graduates in Australia can earn up to 6k to 7k AD per month in just a couple of years. If you convert that's easily RM18k a month.
But it is scary though when u see students who barely pass their pre-U studyin a medical related course. The diff between the medical profession and business/engineering/law/accountancy/etc is that the medical line deals with people's life. If students are ONLY interested in $$$, it's best they pursue something else cause it would be sad to see in the future doctors in hospitals who couldn't care less about the health and welfare of their patients |
Apr 29 2010, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(cgan @ Apr 29 2010, 01:26 PM) I guess Malaysia can't really afford to freeze med and pharmacy skuls cause they would end up facing shortage of doctors/pharmacy. Fresh graduates these days would prefer to migrate to other countries - quality of life much higher and more comfortable. I heard doctors/dentist/pharmacist who are fresh graduates in Australia can earn up to 6k to 7k AD per month in just a couple of years. If you convert that's easily RM18k a month. you are generalizing. there are still a lot more who can't afford to migrate to other countries. and it doesn't always mean that the grass is greener over the other pasture. yes they can earn a lot, but did you add the high income tax, and high cost of living too? over there no hawker centre selling mixed rice for rm4 or roti canai at rm1.But it is scary though when u see students who barely pass their pre-U studyin a medical related course. The diff between the medical profession and business/engineering/law/accountancy/etc is that the medical line deals with people's life. If students are ONLY interested in $$$, it's best they pursue something else cause it would be sad to see in the future doctors in hospitals who couldn't care less about the health and welfare of their patients the other difference is that this kind of jobs is also recession proof..and there are already doctors who see nothing but money. cheers. |
May 1 2010, 03:01 AM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
QUOTE NEGARA Graduan perubatan tempatan pilih bekerja di Singapura KUALA LUMPUR – Graduan-graduan dari fakulti perubatan Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) dan Universiti Malaya (UM) memilih untuk bekerja di Singapura sejurus lulus peperiksaan akhir tahun. Dekan Fakulti Perubatan dan Pengarah Pusat Perubatan UKM, Prof. Datuk Dr. Lokman Saim berkata, dijangka 80 graduan UKM akan meninggalkan Malaysia untuk berkerja di hospital-hospital di Singapura. “Sebagai doktor pelatih, mereka ditawarkan gaji sebanyak 2,690 dolar Singapura bersamaan RM6,187 sedangkan doktor pelatih di Malaysia dibayar gaji RM3,665 dengan purata elaun antara RM500 dan RM1,000 sebulan,” katanya dalam satu kenyataan di sini semalam. Fenomena itu, katanya, berlaku sejak lima tahun lalu selepas Majlis Perubatan Singapura mengiktiraf ijazah perubatan dari kedua-dua universiti tersebut. “Sebahagian besar daripada mereka tidak akan pulang untuk bekerja di negara ini walaupun kebanyakannya menerima biasiswa kerajaan sepanjang lima tahun pengajian,” katanya. Menurut Lokman, kerajaan perlu mengambil tindakan untuk menghalang doktor-doktor itu daripada lari daripada melaksanakan kewajipan terhadap negara. http://www.kosmo.com.my/kosmo/content.asp?...ra&pg=ne_10.htm |
May 1 2010, 07:00 AM
Quote: Menurut Lokman, kerajaan perlu mengambil tindakan untuk menghalang doktor-doktor itu daripada lari daripada melaksanakan kewajipan terhadap negara.
What are they gonna do? barricade the country? =.= it's their own freedom anyways. |
May 1 2010, 07:06 AM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
QUOTE(onelove89 @ May 1 2010, 07:00 AM) Quote: Menurut Lokman, kerajaan perlu mengambil tindakan untuk menghalang doktor-doktor itu daripada lari daripada melaksanakan kewajipan terhadap negara. Government is pissed. UM and UKM are IPTAs (Govt. owned) after all. What are they gonna do? barricade the country? =.= it's their own freedom anyways. QUOTE “Sebahagian besar daripada mereka tidak akan pulang untuk bekerja di negara ini walaupun kebanyakannya menerima biasiswa kerajaan sepanjang lima tahun pengajian,” katanya. After training the med students there with all the govt resources, even giving them scholarship during their studies only to have them run away to another country, Govt sure will be annoyed~ |
May 1 2010, 07:37 AM
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ May 1 2010, 07:06 AM) Government is pissed. UM and UKM are IPTAs (Govt. owned) after all. well true... but they can just increase the salary for new grads right? so that it can attract them to stay? (and prob some of us too)After training the med students there with all the govt resources, even giving them scholarship during their studies only to have them run away to another country, Govt sure will be annoyed~ |
May 1 2010, 09:39 AM
582 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: everywhere |
QUOTE(onelove89 @ May 1 2010, 08:37 AM) well true... but they can just increase the salary for new grads right? so that it can attract them to stay? (and prob some of us too) As they are bonded to the contract. So, just increase the intensity of the penalty to those betrayer. Such as putting them in jail or 10x the scholarship amount to be pay back within 5 years if they try to escape from their responsibility to serve malaysia. |
May 1 2010, 10:01 AM
759 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
erm, i think most scholarships for IPTA graduates didn't really come with bond.
This post has been edited by wgy589: May 1 2010, 10:02 AM |
May 1 2010, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(wgy589 @ May 1 2010, 11:01 AM) I thought they need to sign the agreement before the scholarship is granted. If they are not bonded,then too bad. Ethically and morally, those scholars should understand especially those being sponsored to UK or Aussie or any other developed country which required high cost , government given out such a huge budget on education to produce useful and responsible scholars who will serve our own community and contribute to development of country in future but in turn what we get? We get those irresponsible and selfish graduates. If they are self-sponsored then will be different case and they have their right to choose the life they want. This post has been edited by MBBS siang: May 1 2010, 10:44 AM |
May 1 2010, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(MBBS siang @ May 1 2010, 10:39 AM) I thought they need to sign the agreement before the scholarship is granted. If they are not bonded,then too bad. Ethically and morally, those scholars should understand especially those being sponsored to UK or Aussie or any other developed country which required high cost , government given out such a huge budget on education to produce useful and responsible scholars who will serve our own community and contribute to development of country in future but in turn what we get? We get those irresponsible and selfish graduates. hmm, as far as i remember, only JPA will bond them, but not the other sponsors. think i will leave that question to any IPTA graduates here.If they are self-sponsored then will be different case and they have their right to choose the life they want. |
May 1 2010, 11:08 AM
IPTA got scholarships one a? i thought its already sooooooooooo cheap. o.O
May 1 2010, 11:17 AM
May 1 2010, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(wgy589 @ May 1 2010, 11:17 AM) singapore want them they sure run fast fast lor...nothing wrong also...at least..I THINK..the conditions over there better than our GH..and of course the super high pay...who would think twice? these are the people that get the most benefits as they really earn every cent and no PTPTN loan to pay off.. |
May 1 2010, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ May 1 2010, 12:08 PM) All the critical medical related courses like medicine,dentistry and pharmacy will be automatically granted a scholarship by JPA for those IPTA students. They can choose to accept it or reject it. According to my friend in UKM,they are bonded for 10 years government service by JPA if they accept. Therefore,some of them reject it because the fees is very cheap. |
May 1 2010, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(MBBS siang @ May 1 2010, 11:43 AM) All the critical medical related courses like medicine,dentistry and pharmacy will be automatically granted a scholarship by JPA for those IPTA students. They can choose to accept it or reject it. According to my friend in UKM,they are bonded for 10 years government service by JPA if they accept. Therefore,some of them reject it because the fees is very cheap. really???wow..since when JPA so kind..those doing medicine IMO should really take it as you will be at gov hospital for no less than 15 years..unless you are satisfied at MO level and want to drop out.. |
May 1 2010, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ May 1 2010, 12:37 PM) singapore want them they sure run fast fast lor...nothing wrong also...at least..I THINK..the conditions over there better than our GH..and of course the super high pay...who would think twice? these are the people that get the most benefits as they really earn every cent and no PTPTN loan to pay off.. To me,there are no issues and no arguments for those self-sponsored graduates to practice in singapore(especially UM and UKM graduates) or whatever country they like but the problems now are go to irresponsibility of those " scholars".This post has been edited by MBBS siang: May 1 2010, 11:48 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0274sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:35 PM |