Nikon D90 v4, First DSLR with HD video recording

Specialized
post Oct 13 2009, 01:10 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ Oct 12 2009, 05:56 PM)
Information to share:

Just got my self a MB-D80 battery grip for my D90.
Bought it at Sunway for RM460. Damn. It is a good price. J-1 offer me RM470.
Bring back the Battery grip in Happy Mood. Immediately plug out the battery cap and plug in the new battery grip.
It shows battery low icon. Tot it is just battery low. Recharge my battery. Plug in again. Shows battery low.
Then i remove the battery grip and put in the battery. Can power up the camera with no problem.
I suspect it was the "contacter" between the battery grip and 3 battery contacter pin inside the D90 not properly aligned.
I realize the center pin inside the D90 slightly bent toward 1 side so i use my nail to slightly pull it out toward outward direction.
Plug in battery grip again. Wala~ It works perfectly~ So far so damn good. solid feeling.

I read thru a lot forum, all with the same problem regardless of Nikon camera models.
So u know what to do now. Sharing = Caring.
Take care.
Enjoy shooting.
Hi sifu, i bought my d90 not long ago. I'm goin to study in germany next yer n i heard cold weather can reduce battery life. Izzit true? Should i get a battery pack? can i use a 3rd party 1?
Specialized
post Oct 13 2009, 02:02 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(luzzio @ Oct 13 2009, 02:00 AM)
toured europe about a month ago. in a whole week i only had to recharge once. this camera's a battery sipper.
really? then i can save the money for my 50mm f1.8 edi rclxms.gif
Specialized
post Oct 13 2009, 12:40 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(luzzio @ Oct 13 2009, 02:00 AM)
toured europe about a month ago. in a whole week i only had to recharge once. this camera's a battery sipper.
oh ya, last month the temp is still not tat low.. i'm goin there in Jan which the the temp will be -12 to 5 celcius.. so x so sure bout the battery life then.

wanna ask u guys here bout step up ring, will step up ring affects image quality? for a cpl filter, should i buy a 67mm which fits my kit lens or i should get a 72mm n use a step up ring instead so i could use it for other lens in the future wif different diameter?

for a 72mm hoya cpl filter, not pro 1 digital (CIR-Polarizing) (PL-CIR), 2nd hand price around rm100, less than 8 months old, izzit worth buyin? or i should get a new 1 instead? will there hav a difference?

Added on October 13, 2009, 12:42 pm
QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Oct 13 2009, 12:37 PM)
support ORIGINAL!!
icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
p/s: just a spam though, still depend whats best for your budget.
i scared 3rd party battery has irregular voltage which will void the camera itself n i scare it will explode or leak or something like tat.. but after reading the link, 3rd party batteries look promising too!

This post has been edited by Specialized: Oct 13 2009, 12:42 PM
Specialized
post Oct 15 2009, 10:15 PM

141 posts

Shoot this wif D90 kit lens..

The setting is

Aperture Priority
Aperture : f6.3
Shutter Speed : 1/250 sec
Focal length: 58mm

I oso took a few other shots n n i found the yellow part of inner flower isn't sharp enough when view in full size. It's not so sharp on the edge of flower too. This happens when i shoot wif 105mm too. Is it the limitation of the kit lens? Or there's a particular setting/method to improve this?
Specialized
post Oct 15 2009, 10:34 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Oct 15 2009, 10:19 PM)
that's y there r such things as macro lenses...  tongue.gif
that's indeed the limitation of the lens, it does not have such close focusing distance
Will macro lens improve a lot? Do u hav a sample? Sorry for the noob question, coz newbie here.

I tot i could achieve macro ability by zoomin in to the greatest focal length at shortest distance.
In stead of getting macro lens, lens like 70-300mm, how is the result on macro at 300mm? will it be not clear enuf too compare to macro lens?

Specialized
post Oct 16 2009, 12:12 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Oct 15 2009, 10:39 PM)
u can achieve close-up shots up to some point, but still not so clear
y macro lens?
cos when u want take sharp close-up or macro shots, the minimum focusing distance need to be considered
70-300 minimum focus distance is 1.5m, but Nikon macro lens: Micro Nikkor 105 minimum focus distance is 0.31m
1.5m & 0.31m r big difference...
source found from Nikon site
oh ic.. i searched some pic of macro over the internet. some macro pic like caterpillar, it's so clear until the fur on the body can b seen. Oso the backgraound is black in color. do they ps it or simply use spot meterin n close up there aperture? kinda confused bout tat too.
Specialized
post Oct 16 2009, 01:06 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Oct 16 2009, 12:17 AM)
They use macro lense , usually for macro,they use spot metering and smaller aperture (high number) .
Go to http://orionmystery.blogspot.com/  , his macro is awesome... rclxms.gif
Briefly read all. The calculation part made me dizzy. oso, my question is answered there too,
http://orionmystery.blogspot.com/2009/06/f...hotography.html
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Specialized
post Oct 17 2009, 03:53 AM

141 posts

Tried my best.. no direct sunlight.. wif tripod n biggest aperture on kit lens.. the pic still x sharp enuf.. haiz sad.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by Specialized: Oct 17 2009, 03:55 AM
Specialized
post Oct 18 2009, 01:18 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Oct 17 2009, 08:50 PM)
This what your 50mm + close-up filter can do>

bigg picture for better view tongue.gif
wow.. nice. it's obviously sharper than kit lens... oso when i tried night scenaries, kit lens tends to b super super soft at f22, the sharpest i tried out is around f11.
when i set it to f22, it can hav a longer shutter speed, but at the same time, i lost a lot of details.. SAD LAR!!
Specialized
post Oct 18 2009, 11:31 PM

141 posts

This is taken using f22

This is taken using f3.5

Well it looks similar, but the differences show in 100% of the original photos..
Thus, i compiled the ori jpeg extract from raw using nx viewer to a web host server,
pls dl it n comment on the details..

The download link of ori files r here:
F22 vs F3.5
select free users, wait for 30sec n the download link will appear. extract the files wif winrar.

I think, mayb f22 will reduce the sensitivity of metering thus giv a not-so-clear focus??
I snapped both pic wif autofocus.
for f22, i snapped bout 3pics using the same setting (camera autofocus each time) n hav similar result, which is softer. Mayb it's the metering fault?

Specialized
post Oct 18 2009, 11:53 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(robindebean @ Oct 18 2009, 11:38 PM)
F22 looks better nod.gif

huh? u sure? pls download the ori jpeg n compare.. compare the around the words n cravings on the building.. i think f22 kinda soft. Oso, i find the ghosting image kinda annoying, i snapped it f22 as an experiment acually smile.gif
both snapped last nite smile.gif
very crowded, i think it's the biggest 'celebration/festival/event' (dunno the right word) in malaysia, comparing to other temples..
a lot L lens there too biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Specialized
post Oct 19 2009, 12:04 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Oct 18 2009, 11:54 PM)
metering only affects exposure and not sharpness/out-of-focus....
trying reading the MTF chart of lenses. Most people will use f/8~f11 because it is the sharpness and remember that using f/22 will require a much slower shutter speed and its is more prone to shake, that includes wind etc..besides, i believe that noise will be more prominent and NR has to work harder too, and there goes losing some details after NR.
(based on ur pic, shot at night).
Correct me if i am wrong.
For on-board cam configuration, High ISO NR = Normal, LONG exp NR = OFF. F22 at iso 100 (L0.3), F3.5 i forgot.. File property n Opanda Exif Viewer x shows ISO value.. rclxub.gif
Specialized
post Oct 19 2009, 12:27 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Oct 18 2009, 08:59 PM)
I sincerely apologize for the misleading info I give about diffraction and blurry pics.  sweat.gif  Isepunye has shown with real life examples that this diffraction blurr thingy does not exist for his Nikon D90 and kit lens. Again a thousand apologies. notworthy.gif
Dun apologize, it's a sharing, not misleading oso, in fact, we should thank u for willing to share. We'r all still learning. When there's a prob, we should discuss it, tat's y this forum exists n I learn a lot from this thread. smile.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif rclxms.gif

Specialized
post Oct 19 2009, 12:50 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Oct 19 2009, 12:34 AM)
agreed. sharing is caring. besides there a lot more opinion that varies from each other... smile.gif

i also learn more in this forum and somehow this forum make me remember the 1st time i get the camera  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Added on October 19, 2009, 12:40 am
jz see the pict... i can see the shakky there coz the picture look kinda blur... tongue.gif 2.5 second VS 1/10 second... thats lots of shutter speed decrease... smile.gif i assume u using tripod i but using body shutter. try to use the remote shutter next time
I used a timer actually. On-cam setting to snap pic is 10sec after shutter release is pressed. 10sec kinda long, if there's a vibration when shutter released is pressed, it should settle down. Oso it's windless last nit, u can notice by the trees too. F3.5 is shot handheld. F22 tripod. Tata's y i couldn't figure out wat coz the blurriness/softness there.
Specialized
post Oct 19 2009, 12:59 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Oct 19 2009, 12:51 AM)
when attach to tripod do u off the VR? i notice that when attach at tripod and not off the vr function, the picture kinda blur blur
kenrockwell said vr will coz blurriness, i noe tat, but since i wanna reduce wind shake (in case) so i put the vr on. I made few f22 shots wif vr off too, but i couldn't trace back which doh.gif
overall f22 does softer.
I'm guessing, mayb there's really a tiny vibration on tripod, which i couldn't notice, which cause the blurriness.
Someone please try out wif their kit lens 2 c whether it's the tripod fault, or it's lens limitation.
It looks to b a nice experiment though. Please post the results here so everyone can c it tongue.gif
Specialized
post Oct 19 2009, 01:15 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(KenRockWell.com)
Tripods and Monopods
Turn VR OFF on a tripod. Even if you forget it seems to be fine. If the camera is stable VR may add vibration attempting to correct vibration which isn't there.
Leave VR ON on a monopod. It will correct for the usual vibration on a monopod.
source: http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/18200/18200-vr.htm

QUOTE(KenRockWell.com)
Sharpness
With those caveats, the 18-105 is probably the softest DX lens I've used in the corners at 18mm.
Otherwise, it's sharp all over, so just don't look closely in the corners at 18mm and it looks great.
source: http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/18-105mm.htm

Is tat true? I kinda doubt that. Don't hav other lens for me to try, don't noe the difference oso. sweat.gif sweat.gif

Added on October 19, 2009, 1:24 am
QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Oct 19 2009, 01:01 AM)
All my other Unker say that with extremely small hole,  get more blurr pics. But Unker Ise say no different  rclxub.gif . Maybe Ise can bend light. He he he.  biggrin.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Unker Ken

Diffraction

Sharpness vs F-Stops
Unker Mike

Understanding Lens Diffraction
Unker Bob

Optimum Aperture - Format size and diffraction

p/s - Sorry Ise. Just teasing you. rclxm9.gif
i think i found my answer there.

Source of blurriness found:
1. Diffraction of the lens
2. VR on??
3. becoz i shot at 18mm?? rclxub.gif lol

Gotta go find out wat's the optimum aperture range for kit lens edi. Dun wanna miss a lot of good shots in the future. smile.gif smile.gif

This post has been edited by Specialized: Oct 19 2009, 01:29 AM
Specialized
post Oct 19 2009, 01:56 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Oct 19 2009, 01:51 AM)
since my opinion still tak bleyh pakai, i dont want to say anything hahahha
u'r rite bout vr n tripod?? thumbup.gif

0.0553sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled