The Good Old Games ("GOG") thread, Relaunching of GOG

Gormaz
post Jan 29 2010, 07:11 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Jan 28 2010, 11:31 PM)
Newsflash: Arcanum: Of Steamworks and Magic Obscura is now on GOG.com

There's no reason not fall into love with this one. Who doesn't like to kill half-ling with an Elephant gun? smile.gif
Plus it's only USD 6.00.
In my opinion, Arcanum is one of its kind only (free form CRPG set in a steampunk world) and it was made by former developers of Fallout, which is also one of the best CRPG ever made.
Oh my god Arcanum (and yes, I killed God (or Avatar or whatever the name was) with the Elephant gun too...), that's a very good memory.

Tempting...
Gormaz
post Apr 17 2010, 11:24 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 17 2010, 09:45 AM)
Doesn't seem like there will be a weekend deal for GOG this week.

There's a countdown in their main page.

Probably going to release Master of Orion series.
MoO2 is still one of the best classical 4X game I have played!
I still got the original somewhere back home
Gormaz
post Apr 20 2010, 11:36 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 20 2010, 09:46 PM)
GOG now offers the following games:

1. Outcast

2. Master of Orion 1 and Master of Orion 2

The above games are being sold at USD4.99.

Those who missed out on Master of Orion series, go get it now.
I really spent some zomgwtfbbq number of hours on Master of Orion 2, it's damn old but the mechanisms are really solid and I consider it my point of reference for any 4X game.

Gameplay would be quite different between the races (I loved the Psy-women or the Super-tech ones, you could also customize your's by choosing handicap/bonus), you have lots of random events happening (mining incident/discovery, space monsters, pirates etc.), can design your own ships (and at the end you some really monster weapons), AI was good enough to be a challenge easily.

Quite a lot of micromanagement though which can become a little chore at the end when you have a big empire (I personally had a core of my planets I took good care of then just destroyed the enemies planets like in Star Wars, no chance they can re-colonize behind me)
Gormaz
post Apr 25 2010, 08:15 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Just bought Empire Earth 1 from them, 6 bucks for the game and xpac, works nicely on my Vista 64.

GoG is good when you don't want hassle to find workarounds for newer OS and widescreen stuff.

Heard so much about how Empire Earth 1 was a great game I couldnt resist smile.gif
Gormaz
post Oct 14 2010, 09:57 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Oct 9 2010, 08:29 AM)
Total Annihilation: Commander Pack looks tempting.
I got it during sales yar, it was very cheap and TA is still fun (I keep trying to zoom in after playing SupCom though tongue.gif )
Gormaz
post Oct 21 2010, 08:23 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Same, can't say I am complaining.

Good move from them for people who supported them when still in BETA

And to note the bundle now is not for all their strategy games but only for the publisher "Strategy First"

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Oct 21 2010, 08:25 AM
Gormaz
post Nov 19 2010, 10:41 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Surprising move yar but the DRM free thing might get them some sympathy really.

They are moving away from their "Good OLD games" name there but can't hurt them
Gormaz
post Dec 15 2010, 09:23 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Me too, but think I may wait a bit more for bigger sales.... 30% is only a "meh" sales for me....

Steam spoilt me I guess
Gormaz
post May 24 2011, 05:30 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

By randomely browsing GoG list I found three games that are free that I wasnt aware of before:

Beneath a Steel Sky

Lure of the Temptress

Teenagent

First two are very old Dosbox point and click adventure games that were actually quite famous at their times.

Last is apparently a Polish point and click game I never heard of.

It's free though but need to add them to your GoG account so you can download them anytime you want

Edit: erf, looks like some people already mentioned that earlier in this thread.... nevermind >_>

This post has been edited by Gormaz: May 24 2011, 05:31 PM

0.0291sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:58 PM