Nokia N900 launched!, N Series with Maemo 5 on board

x132755
post Mar 3 2010, 04:15 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 3 2010, 12:45 AM)
How do you find the milestone? I think the slim design and build quality is nice, the screen also looks nicer?
The milestone only comes with 512mb internal storage right? That one of the major drawback I know of.

Actually, N900 just officially launch in Dec last year, so considering the app available today, it considered good already. And if you go into the devel and testing repositories, you won't say it lack apps anymore, there're quite a lot apps and widgets available until the 4 desktop is not enough for me.  It's cramped! rclxms.gif

Besides, since N900 have full support for Flash.... just throw any SWF files into your phone and enjoy~
If you watch the Flash Video "Xiao Xiao" before, there is one episode 6, which is the Virtual Cop remake in Xiao Xiao style. There's also Raiden Project game in Flash version, Balloon Duel in Flash version.... soo many more games in Flash. Talk about Flash apps/games/videos, there're just so many out there.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Nokia phones have different series targeted for different purpose.
The "N" series are not targeted for business, the "E" series is the one. The "N" series is for multimedia, I think. I didn't follow already this series thing.
Last time it was more simple with numbers from 1xx to 9xx. The 6 series is for business, 5 series for sports or something like that, 7 series designer series, etc. Can't remember all already.

Maybe someone who is more clear on it can correct me or share their information  nod.gif

Added on March 3, 2010, 12:46 am

Giving up your Maemo for Android? Hehe
yes, milestone is available on ap set d..
screnn bigger a bit 3.7" with multi-touch input.. but no build in large memory..
x132755
post Mar 4 2010, 10:39 AM

13,313 posts

even can direct play the facebook 's game..
x132755
post Mar 10 2010, 11:30 PM

13,313 posts

latest is 2.0xxxx
x132755
post Mar 12 2010, 09:51 AM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(netcrusader @ Mar 12 2010, 12:09 AM)
Nokia Malaysia has updated their main page with N900. It Looks like they are going to launch this any time.

There is a 'pre-order' button also, but it only links to specification page.
yes, will launch soon .... mayb around 3k... nokia msia also wan fight in this big marketing loh..... hope be fast rclxm9.gif
x132755
post Mar 12 2010, 11:56 AM

13,313 posts

2280 nice price!!
x132755
post Mar 12 2010, 03:02 PM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(netcrusader @ Mar 12 2010, 02:54 PM)
Me too... Getting the same message.

There is no telling of what number I am getting also. Maybe 299 or 301. Who knows.

Hahaha.
rclxm9.gif early bird got free gift only lah.. after 301 then no free externl charger loh...
x132755
post Mar 12 2010, 04:36 PM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(Spunky @ Mar 12 2010, 04:22 PM)
Actually what is this DC11 for?
some sort of emergency charger... god stuff!! thumbup.gif
x132755
post Mar 13 2010, 11:03 AM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(cartman87 @ Mar 13 2010, 10:15 AM)
hurrmm.... any pro can suggest me some must-have apps for N900?
must - hv!!
http://www.nokian900applications.com/
x132755
post Mar 14 2010, 11:43 PM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 14 2010, 06:50 PM)
anyone know where to get good screen protectors for the n900?
lowyat plaza or sungai wang brows.gif
x132755
post Mar 15 2010, 09:43 AM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Mar 15 2010, 08:42 AM)
any know the confirmed priced for the ori set?
still waiting the infomation from the supplier... possible ealier b4 end of this month will anounce icon_rolleyes.gif
x132755
post Mar 15 2010, 10:08 PM

13,313 posts

here is a potrait mode, cool~

x132755
post Mar 16 2010, 11:06 PM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(hawk @ Mar 16 2010, 09:29 PM)
Is it worth to get N900 official set at RM2280?
Or should I wait till it is lower than RM1500?

Currently using N86 .... but thinking to move up to N900 biggrin.gif
next yr mayb... sweat.gif
price ap slightly drop a bit now.. 1930 icon_rolleyes.gif
x132755
post Mar 17 2010, 05:37 PM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Mar 17 2010, 12:50 PM)
if i want buy N900 at lowyat plaza, any suggestion ?? coz i'm from ipoh. thx..... notworthy.gif
can come to me, today price 1930.. drool.gif
x132755
post Mar 18 2010, 09:49 AM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 17 2010, 07:24 PM)
Thx man ! notworthy.gif
1 more thing im not sure. Does it has GPS? And i keep seeing ppl comment that there isnt video calls stuff. Will it be updated?

Added on March 17, 2010, 7:25 pm
LOL ! may i know when will it drop till at least 1700? Ap or Ori? hmm.gif
possible next 2-3 mth gua...
must drop fast... wink.gif
x132755
post Mar 19 2010, 10:35 AM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(fuadfadz @ Mar 18 2010, 11:36 PM)
i'm waiting for new iphone,,
then i'll decide,, iphone or n900,,
but n900 vs iphone 3gs for me, i'll take N900! smile.gif
iphone 4G mayb end of this year... since 3Gs launch also not long ago..
n900 sure good market.. coz it OS is open source... more app will add in & develop by other ppl... drool.gif
x132755
post Mar 19 2010, 12:01 PM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 19 2010, 10:56 AM)
When new iPhone launch, N900 is long outdated, lol; You might want to consider MeeGo devices VS Android 3.X (or higher) devices VS iPhone.

Anyway, actually for now, so many phone has already beaten the iPhone. When iPhone first launch, no doubt, it was a "WOW!!!!!" and really make a BIG difference to the smartphone market, like a big difference in technology. But then, think again, iPhone 2G -> iPhone 3G -> iPhone 3GS, actually it's like minor/small updates, nothing exciting and more like squeezing people's money. Imagine bought 2G, then come out 3G, the SAME THING just with 3G, then 3GS, again like a small "facelift" model with some improvements. All this I call rubbish, pardon me.
They should drop and come out with TOTALLY NEW and again WOW the market, not keep doing minor updates,... (e.g. 3GSS? 3GX?)
And another major problem with iPhone... the battery!!! Try watch YouTube and see how risky and hard it is to change the battery, it's really stewpid and totally unfair to do this to the consumers.
Another thing is that it is very very "CLOSE" or very "restricted" device, and tell the truth, would you not want to jailbreak it?  tongue.gif

Now, I think the Android devices are moving really fast, and the community support and participation is superb. They even have overclock Moto Milestone processor! And the apps and games are coming up like crazy and fast, not to mentioned great ones. In Malaysia, probably it's less well known to the public as many might not be tech conscious and many are brand conscious, but I think with Sony brand bringing in Xperia X10, that would make a difference.
Besides, seems some Android devices already have flash support!

Added on March 19, 2010, 11:05 am

Actually, for now, many app is simply ported to N900~ Which makes it even faster.

We have PSX emulator, N64 Emulator, in the works.

PicoDrive ported (Sega Megadrive Emu)
SNES
GBA
GB

There's also other apps from older Maemo ported to Maemo5, and so on.

But I think the issue now is... the next major updated which will sort of change the structure of current Maemo OS? Wonder what will happen to all those apps currently available.

I think there're many apps/games ready for the next update, we just need to wait for the next major update to be released...
Oh darn! It's been so long....
wait for maemo6 ... or future upgrading os.. sure can have better performance to fight againts
x132755
post Mar 20 2010, 03:04 PM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 20 2010, 01:23 PM)
Hmm... which phone u suggest if gps is needed? n97mini ok?
n97 mini can use garmin for now...
later n900 should be ok one... just wait the latest garmin annoucement

n900 next week price drop some, 1880 can get for ap new set... woohoo brows.gif
who wan buy is time to buy it.. laugh.gif
x132755
post Mar 22 2010, 01:12 PM

13,313 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Mar 22 2010, 12:59 PM)
I pre-ordered the N900 thru Nokia website, but haven't received any sort of confirmation email/sms... anyone else received any email/sms after submitting the pre-order form?
mayb next mth.. they still need gathering much more order 1st... wink.gif

0.0461sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:09 AM