Nokia N900 launched!, N Series with Maemo 5 on board

super_evil_alien
post Mar 3 2010, 08:03 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Mar 3 2010, 06:49 PM)
does it lag like symbian?
Dude,android is way better than symbian.I don't think there is any android based smartphones with lagging issue.
super_evil_alien
post Mar 3 2010, 10:51 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 3 2010, 10:05 PM)
If you're referring to Nokia Symbian, it lags because most of Nokia symbian lacks of ram/memory. The N97 mini seems smooth. It also depend on how many apps you installed (apps which use up your ram/memory), thus affecting the overall performance. A new formatted symbian should work smoothly.
Do you mean simple to use or the OS is simple?  tongue.gif
I did refer to Nokia Symbian.Satio seems to be smooth even though it's on same version of symbian.
I think symbian OS is simple & also easy to use.

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Mar 3 2010, 10:47 PM)
Yeah, Maemo and Symbian is simple to use. And it's alot practical compare with Android. And with android, I find it's abit difficult to use compare other OS phone out there. Maybe need time to get use to it (but first impression make me think otherwise), and if it doesn't please me for several months later, I'll get another phone especially from Nokia.
N98, N87, N8, N920, where de hell are you?????
Expectation is even higher on N920 tongue.gif
super_evil_alien
post Mar 3 2010, 11:49 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Mar 3 2010, 11:44 PM)
Does anyone have the answer for my question?
Tried searching at maemo community forum?
super_evil_alien
post Mar 4 2010, 01:45 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Mar 4 2010, 12:25 PM)
i heard its a troublesome phone to use  if the user is not a phone expert ? Im not saying its slow or bad functions , I mean its hard to use cuz is a linux os ? Tats what i heard from afew of my gadget frens ar @@
Quiet a few of user here is 1st time user of maemo based device.They picked it up without any major trouble.
super_evil_alien
post Mar 5 2010, 02:54 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Great news guys!

The Nokia N900 will be the first device to get a taste of MeeGo when the genuine merger of Moblin and Maemo takes place later this month.
Quim Gil at Nokia tweets that the Nokia member of the currently two-person Technical Steering Group (TSG) of MeeGo, Valtteri Halla, reveals the Nokia N900 as the first device to get a taste of MeeGo:

Nokia and Intel have set the target to open the MeeGo repository by the end of this month. I guess this is something that finally will signify the real "Day One" of MeeGo project, a genuine merger of moblin and maemo. What is scheduled to be available then is the first and very raw baseline to a source and binary repository to build MeeGo trunk on Intel ATOM boards and Nokia N900.

Nokia has promised to release a brand new MeeGo phone that builds on the Nokia N900 down the road, and LG will also join the party with the release of the LG GW990. The latter will sport a 4.8-inch touchscreen with a resolution of 1024 by 480 pixels. That said, MeeGo will be a platform that spreads across a range of product types in the upcoming LTE era, including Media Phones, Pocketables / Handhelds, Netbooks, Connected TVs and In-car entertainment systems. Check out more about MeeGo here.

http://www.infosyncworld.com/news/n/10844.html
super_evil_alien
post Mar 5 2010, 09:31 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(cheonwai @ Mar 5 2010, 08:02 AM)
What about for those that already bought the N900 now? How can they get to taste on the MeeGo, thru firmware update?
Should be something like that.
I'm gonna get N900 for sure now rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(chtan @ Mar 5 2010, 09:00 AM)
LG GW990 is another monster phone to watch out for drool.gif running on Atom processor but unfortunately it won't be here in near future.
I wonder what kind of battery they are gonna use to power it up.Atom based processor use more power than ARMS processor.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Mar 5 2010, 10:03 AM
super_evil_alien
post Mar 7 2010, 06:14 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(drexar @ Mar 7 2010, 04:10 PM)
so far i can't use the front camera yet.. maybe have to wait for the next firmware update...

Some disadvantage of N900 right now (what I have found la):

- No built in mms function (install fMMS)
- cannot video call (even skype video call.. normal skype call can)
- u can't group ur contacts.. so if wanna send to several contacts, have to pick one by one.
- No built in function for USSD (*122#) - just install the USSD widget
- does not have a good camera (maybe becoz i used N82 b4 this)

Advantage:
- the best mobile internet browser
- can open many IM in one time..
- multitask function
- clear and bright screen <--- from my personal view tongue.gif
- cool 4 panoramic desktop.. (creativity man)  icon_idea.gif
- cool sms interface (same like IM)

so.. think before u buy.. (i'm still waiting for the new meego to come out soon.. hopefully all of the simple2 function will be fixed then)
As you pointed out.Most of the problem can be solved by using 3rd party software.
But pity cannot make video call with this phone.

QUOTE(nandayryu @ Mar 7 2010, 04:20 PM)
wah,lucky i didnt buy this N900,if i buy sure die also.do you need to root to install random applications/softwares ?
I think it's very easy to install program to N900
super_evil_alien
post Mar 8 2010, 12:05 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(kaoru @ Mar 7 2010, 07:31 PM)
their probably designing some new super cool interface for video call n mms thats why its late, and the phone is just too awesome to wait for those features that they just released it without em
Lets hope for that icon_idea.gif
super_evil_alien
post Mar 9 2010, 12:17 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Mar 8 2010, 10:19 PM)
I'm so tempted to get this one to replace my E71.

As for now, only AP set available?
Everyone using AP set don't have any trouble so far.

To existing N900 users,can you guys show any picture taken with the N900's camera?
Some of the users complain that the camera is really bad.
super_evil_alien
post Mar 12 2010, 01:46 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Clareen @ Mar 12 2010, 12:43 PM)
This is good deal because i heard Nokia Avaxx sales person contact me told us the price is around RM3k
Maybe the RM2280 is the promo price?
super_evil_alien
post Mar 20 2010, 08:15 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/19/niko-th...-take-over-twi/

Niko, the N900-powered Lego robot, looks poised to take over Twitter (video)

While we've seen no shortage of smartphone-powered robots in the past, the Nokia camp has been sadly under-represented. But, there's a new one coming to balance things out, a machine called Niko that has Lego Mindstorm NXT 2.0 components for a body and an N900 for a brain. The bot has been under construction for a few weeks but it has just made its YouTube debut with the short video posted after the break, showing it roving around and taking a photo whenever it bumps into something. When all systems are go and the machine is set free Niko will be posting messages and pictures to Twitter describing its every move in thrilling detail. We can't wait for it to start picking fights with @CourtneyLoveUK.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Mar 20 2010, 08:15 AM
super_evil_alien
post Mar 20 2010, 06:42 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Mar 20 2010, 03:04 PM)
n97 mini can use garmin for now...
later n900 should be ok one... just wait the latest garmin annoucement

n900 next week price drop some, 1880 can get for ap new set... woohoo  brows.gif 
who wan buy is time to buy it.. laugh.gif
Aaarrggghhhh!!!!
I can only buy on mid-april sad.gif
Any chance you can keep the super special price for me? laugh.gif
super_evil_alien
post Mar 21 2010, 09:36 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 21 2010, 09:23 PM)
yea maxis 1.5GB download only watch some youtube video and tats it already.
Singtel Broadband on Mobile Data Plan
Lowest FUP is 30GB

http://info.singtel.com/personal/communica...obile/data-plan

Any 1 of our service provide such a data-plan?

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Mar 21 2010, 11:16 PM
super_evil_alien
post Mar 22 2010, 04:17 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 22 2010, 04:10 PM)
LOL. is it possible to get it as low as 1500-1600 in a month time? so far i heard the lowest price is 1800 AP
RM1880 is the lowest.Good price already
super_evil_alien
post Mar 22 2010, 11:35 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

I just love this video wub.gif

super_evil_alien
post Mar 23 2010, 02:33 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 23 2010, 11:35 AM)
PR1.2 SDK (Software Development Kit) is available, we can see the changes from there.

http://thenokiablog.com/2010/03/22/nokia-n...k-major-update/

Darn, can't wait for the real update!
Will the official launching unit in Malaysia already come with PR1.2? If not, they're doing a very bad move to expect Customer to update themselves and bringing more problems to themselves.

Pray Pray notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
P/S: There's new version of NSU (Nokia Software Updater). Just updated yesterday...
Hopefully there will be more portrait support
super_evil_alien
post Mar 23 2010, 03:40 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 23 2010, 03:13 PM)
Basically the apps already can support Portrait. You can find few apps which can auto change to Portrait mode when you turn your phone.

For the Desktop, I think maybe they will not change to support Portrait?
Why? Did you notice the Desktop is landscape design (they call it Panorama Desktop; maybe because it has up to 4 Desktop, but they are all landscape view.). If you have arrange the icons, widgets, etc; Imagine what happen when it switch to Portrait mode? Didn't sound right does it? Just like out PC, the desktop is always landscape mode.
Perhaps if we have Home screen like other mobile OS like Symbian, probably it can easily switch between Portrait and Landscape as those Home screen are simple and have limited customization unlike Maemo Desktop which are just like a Computer Desktop.
Plus, I cannot imagine how it looks like if we need to organize our Desktop in Portrait mode! It'll look very wierd, LoL  tongue.gif

But it's just my personal opinion; I don't think Portrait mode is needed for the Desktop. Maybe everyone is used to a Mobile Phone OS that they've forgetten what a PC/Laptop feels like; Imagine a Laptop/Netbook shrink down to a size of a phone, with touch screen. Will you think about Portrait mode? Hehe;  tongue.gif
What you say is true also.
Maybe because I got too used with potrait mode I want N900 to have potrait desktop too tongue.gif
super_evil_alien
post Mar 23 2010, 08:39 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(cartman87 @ Mar 23 2010, 05:39 PM)
anyone can teach me how to use fMMS? i installed that app but i still cant open any MMS. It says failed to download MMS.
Maybe this will help

super_evil_alien
post Mar 25 2010, 10:07 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Mar 25 2010, 09:35 AM)
Sifu can N900 play flash file in Facebook?
Yes.N900 support Flash 9.4
It's able to play most of the flash files.

Support for Flash 10.1 will be added later on.
super_evil_alien
post Mar 26 2010, 11:05 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Mar 26 2010, 10:49 AM)
what kindof application can this baby n900 install? .sis files in symbian and garmin too?
Check OVI store.
.deb files are supported.
Garmin is not supported yet.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0496sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:10 AM