Feb 18 2010, 01:28 AM
680 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang, Malaysia |
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Feb 18 2010, 01:18 AM) As I follow the meego-dev mailing list, maemo6 is just share the same API as meego, but it is not equals to meego.The essence of same API means, App developer need not worry about the transformation from maemo core to meego, as the application is created on top of the standard API shared by both maemo6 and meego. I think MeeGo will still have a long way to go (perhaps a year?) before it is implemented in a commercial product. Google tells that the "MeeGo" LG phone is actually a atom-powered moblin phone. If you check carefully, you will notice MeeGo stays conceptual for the mean time. In simple conclusion, MeeGo will be the upcoming platform, but not now, or in the next few months. |
Feb 18 2010, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 18 2010, 01:34 AM) I read it's Maemo6 + Moblin2. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7lHPX_iHKsNokia will sort of re-brand the next gen Maemo to MeeGo it seems. No point launching so many types of OS. The bad news is, seems in MeeGo official site FAQ, MeeGo will support rpm file type rather than deb (which current Maemo is using). So,... sharing is a problem between current Maemo with the upcoming MeeGo? Perhaps they might think of something... But Qt apps should work on any OS which supports Qt libraries. Plus, it's still unknown if N900 will be able to upgrade to MeeGo? But I still prefer the name Maemo. Anyway, saw the upcoming apps and games for N900 in YouTube. They show a 3D game which is said the best available 3D on ANY mobile phones in the market. Can't wait for the next "major" update; You can watch Qt4.6 demo in YouTube, you can see N900 with Potrait mode demo as well as cool Qt4.6 applications and rendering which even runs on the good old N95 (which the doom a-like game seems render faster than N97). Added on February 18, 2010, 1:59 am QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 18 2010, 01:34 AM) Aaah, miss that, hehe I think the formula has been too simplified I read it's Maemo6 + Moblin2. Nokia will sort of re-brand the next gen Maemo to MeeGo it seems. No point launching so many types of OS. The bad news is, seems in MeeGo official site FAQ, MeeGo will support rpm file type rather than deb (which current Maemo is using). So,... sharing is a problem between current Maemo with the upcoming MeeGo? Perhaps they might think of something... But Qt apps should work on any OS which supports Qt libraries. Plus, it's still unknown if N900 will be able to upgrade to MeeGo? But I still prefer the name Maemo. Anyway, saw the upcoming apps and games for N900 in YouTube. They show a 3D game which is said the best available 3D on ANY mobile phones in the market. Can't wait for the next "major" update; You can watch Qt4.6 demo in YouTube, you can see N900 with Potrait mode demo as well as cool Qt4.6 applications and rendering which even runs on the good old N95 (which the doom a-like game seems render faster than N97). Added on February 18, 2010, 1:49 am Mmm... it's best explained here in detailed by Nokia itself: http://www.nokia.com/NOKIA_COM_1/Technolog...white_paper.pdf We can also see their framework; which MeeGo already replace Maemo. It also mentioned in the first page: Maemo to MeeGo Anyway, MeeGo = Maemo6 + Moblin2 (Intel) Actually,if I'm not wrong, Nokia and Intel has been in talks sometime ago; it was about time. I think the next upcoming Nokia Maemo series phone might not be called Maemo6, but will be MeeGo as mentioned in several phone sites and the PDF; And at the MWC, Nokia have yet to announce any new upcoming phones, even the rumoured Nokia N8 Symbian^3. maemo and moblin both rooted under a different architecture. however, I guess what they going to do is to port whatever needed for meego. From the mailing list, I do see that their start-off base is moblin instead of maemo This post has been edited by kiawin: Feb 18 2010, 01:59 AM |
Feb 18 2010, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(Spunky @ Feb 18 2010, 01:31 PM) Hi N900 users/ gurus, Their differences are warranty and price Your in depth discussion is indeed very insightful I have a lay person's questions to post to ya'll Should i wait for this phone to be officially launched in Msia, or should i get an AP version now? What would be the main difference if i were to get it now? Software/firmware differences as AP is imported from other countries, and the official device would be customized for our country's use? Sorry if my question is noobish, hope ya'll bear with me the rest should be the same. |
Feb 19 2010, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(davideus @ Feb 19 2010, 05:09 PM) hmmm...i know about the gsmarena.com website. an average use of the phone with 3g should be a day. expect less if you use gps or heavy 3g usage.I think the review from users on battery performance is More Reliable than the ones from the manufacturers or spec review.... tx for feedback though.... keep it coming..... since it's a phone with lots of computing power. it's hard for you to measure objectively, as everyone's usage varies much as compared to other ordinary phones it should last you out for whole day and perhaps when you reach home you need to charge it. for me, i always carry a spare battery around. I learned this habit when I bought my i780 as it comes with a spare battery and desktop charger This post has been edited by kiawin: Feb 19 2010, 09:11 PM |
Feb 22 2010, 11:17 PM
Feb 22 2010, 11:36 PM
Feb 26 2010, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(samsung1234 @ Feb 25 2010, 11:36 PM) means ? Ya... me too.. should we sue maxis? Added on February 25, 2010, 11:39 pm hey shut up and listen. who dont know that wifi is free. i have been using it but this month i got my bill and my internet usage they charged me with rm500 anyone can explain this ??? |
Feb 26 2010, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Feb 26 2010, 12:35 AM) andy.. hope u see my msg.. do u guys know how to bluetooth a song? i was wondering.. i kept trying n trying edi but still cant find any solution.. if send photos by bluetooth can.. but mp3 cant.. http://maemo.org/downloads/product/Maemo5/petrovich/Enjoy |
Feb 26 2010, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Feb 26 2010, 12:44 AM) OLOLOLOLOL........sorry2 but this is so LOLworthy maybe he really authentic innocent and thought his telco charged him while he uses wifi. perhaps you're right that something was activated while he's not on wifi Anyway are u using online widgets on ur desktop (facebook etc)? Mybe that could account for ur extra bill |
Feb 27 2010, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 27 2010, 11:11 AM) not yet ready for N900. Currently, the latest ovi map only available for seleted devices. maybe wait for next update. there're many things not complete yet for this phone, guess they released too early, even pc suite is not fully compatible yet till today and ovi suite totally not supported. hopefully they fixed it before officially launch in malaysia else its like calling for more trouble.. As what I understand... there's no option to add location!!btw, anybody use the nokia map knows how to save the location? i can't find way to save my location? |
Feb 27 2010, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(jloi @ Feb 27 2010, 12:38 PM) ur gf contact on d desktop? awesomeness XP I guess there's some activities going on background (I'm using nokia messaging) when you switch on Digi Internet. Hence, battery life of course will be reduced. Normal working days, my phone able to last the entire working hours with constant emails coming in and some calls.btw did any1 here digi telco and use digi internet on this phone? will it drain battery if i connect to Digi Internet connection none stop but not using it? My problem faced is that I usually fully charged my phone the night before, and hence it does drain my phone a bit when I was sleeping. So what I do usually is to switch it to GSM (2G) before I sleep. Secondly, for nomal usage, GSM does use lesser battery than 3G. In addition, I guess viewing email and upload one or two photo using 2.5G (EDGE) is ok lah |
Feb 28 2010, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(zealless @ Feb 28 2010, 02:58 PM) i think nokia will abandon maemo 5 and go straight with meego with all new support software I guess regardless whether Nokia will stay on with DEB architecture or not, the maemo community will continue bullish and support N900 for quite sometime until it is no longer worthy to be supported no point creating outdate software on a platform where a software can create for n900 and other future phones ... what n900 owner scare is that no meego update, of course i expect some minor upgrade but things like ovi map, i think they will straight go with meego That's the fun of Open Source community. |
Mar 2 2010, 09:31 PM
i think is to identify the differences between iPhone OS, Symbian, Android and Maemo.
iPhone is a stripdown version of OSX with underlying BSD architecture. It is optimised to be a single tasking machine. Hence it has the benefit of *nix blood but behave like a infant if we compare single tasking vs. multitasking machine. Symbian from day 1 has been designed/developed as a mobile platform. Hence it will not be easy to transform it to a mini computer platform. Frustration from N97 and various E series users are actually caused by the over expectation of this platform - to behave like a mobile computer instead of a mobile platform. Android is a stripdown version of linux with the right intention to create a mobile platform but with minimal emphasis as mobile computer. Hence you can see the direction of android that focuses more on selective mobile platform eg. phone, ebook reader, media layer etc. Maemo instead went with a different direction. Though it was an initiative to develop a mobile platform which many says was created to replace the ailing Symbian platform, it shares a different philosophy of how mobile computing should be. Instead of stripping features of OS to fit into a mobile platform, maemo creates a mobile platform that is similar if not same with desktop computing. One best example would be its native web browser that runs just like an ordinary desktop web browser, which is a first in mobile computing. Many of its application are recompiled from debian based architecture, where developer can easily port the application over with modifivation on UI to make it mobile-friendly. I guess the above shows maemo has a different approach in defining what is mobile computing and that is the reason why I own a N900 - because i've been wanting so long to have a mobile computer that is comparable with its desktop counterpart. maemo did it. iPhone OS, Symbian, Windows Mobile did not. A sharing via my N900 riding on DiGi |
Mar 2 2010, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Mar 2 2010, 11:22 PM) Haha... Yup... I'm using it to msn, gtalk and fb That's why I don't mind about the phone functions of N900.I browse internet way more than I call people.That's the main reason I want to get this phone. You should watch the endgadgets review video.The reviewer said he seriously considering having N900 for the internet browsing.It's that good. |
Mar 3 2010, 12:22 AM
Mar 6 2010, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(wilber89 @ Mar 4 2010, 10:55 AM) For you http://kiawin.com/blog/2010/03/nokia-n900-...eo-support.html |
Mar 6 2010, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 4 2010, 09:10 AM) I don't think it's able to input chinese text as of now, but viewing Chinese character is possible in SMS. There's a direct port of google pinyin (super delicious) for maemo - known as mscim-googlepinyin.If when they launched in Malaysia with new updates which support Chinese input, then I believe AP set can get the same updates because we can update the international/global firmware through internet. As for 3rd party apps, I'm not sure as I don't use Chinese input. But previously someone has mentioned about it (not sure what is it about as I didn't check the link): http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=31586930 Do take note after you install this plugin, it will disable auto-cap for first alphabet automatically. |
Mar 6 2010, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(bluswhitehat @ Mar 6 2010, 04:53 PM) I had it once when I cancel some updates. But I can't recall what exactly I did. It's related to disabled the repository, clean it and then reenable it Added on March 6, 2010, 4:59 pmTry this? http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=8253&page=2 It's just about disable, refresh, reenable This post has been edited by kiawin: Mar 6 2010, 04:59 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0435sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:02 PM |