QUOTE(firstknight @ Mar 24 2010, 07:22 PM)
? settings and about in the phone itself?Nokia N900 launched!, N Series with Maemo 5 on board
Nokia N900 launched!, N Series with Maemo 5 on board
Mar 24 2010, 07:27 PM
2,201 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Mar 24 2010, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 24 2010, 08:01 PM) If you have 3G plan or meet at somewhere with WiFi, connect to the internet and download the HealthCheck program (but this requires you to add the repositories and you need to know how to do it first, since you're still new, it might be a bit of a problem). What softwares are recommended to check the phone? The only one i know is healthcheck. and website please =) Checking the USB is very simple, just check the USB port on the phone if it's firm, make sure it's not loose and/or feels like dropping out. This problem should actually have been fixed for production model, but just check in case. When you use it next time, take extra care when plugging and un-plugging the usb cable. Camera lens, just open the Camera cover and check the condition; it's a simple check, then open the camera application and see if the picture is clear, etc. Dead Pixels, there's simple and also detail checking, for simple check, just look closely at the screen if there is any dead pixel (e.g. When you start the phone, there is black screen, see if there is tiny white dots). In detail check, you need to test multiple colours, would be best using some softwares to do it. There's also website which can provide some images to help you check. How much are you buying the 2nd hand unit? Might want to check with Clareen or ETeam Trading, they do provide good price for new AP Set. Authenticity? What do you mean? AP Set are still original, just that they are not AUTHORISED local set. They're simply overseas set imported by AP Companies. |
Mar 25 2010, 04:19 PM
N900 !!! Are there any special promotion during the launching?
Last time, there was a boys like girls concert for NOKIA X6 ! |
Mar 26 2010, 12:01 AM
glad i dint pre-order. so much troubles. LOL
Mar 26 2010, 01:58 PM
Mar 26 2010, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 26 2010, 11:22 AM) It's just common sense GOD DAMN RIGHT ! It's been delayed so long, and the pre-order start few weeks back. It's not surprise to get 300 units order, in fact, if you're going to sell something that is great and high demand, you would expect more. Seems you didn't check other brand or other phone? It's the same for other phone and brand. In fact, some may expect more. Do you know when N900 is launch oversea, how many people questioned Nokia Malaysia why this phone is not available and Nokia has not plans to launched it at all. Isn't it a shame when AP units available but Official set not available? There're so many complaints and blogs complaining about Nokia for not bringing in this device. It's in high demand previously (for those who knew about this phone) and no AP units available at first. How shame when you bring the N900 AP set to official Nokia store and you have it and they don't have it. At least now they're launching it (after SO LONG), and it's not surprising to expect 300 units, more especially with this pricing. The only problem is, how many people actually know in detail about this phone? Another problem is, now there're many competitors have launch their unit (e.g. Milestone, Xperia X10). It's kind wrong timing. Plus, they really need to do proper advertisement and train their sales staff well on this phone, show off the device capabilities and selling point. Even the Symbian device, which is a long time OS, some sales staff are still not familiar. Added on March 26, 2010, 2:12 pmguys. previously i asked b4 but no one answered T.T may i know are there any special promotion bsides free dc-11 charger? Because last time during x6 launching. there was a boyslikegirls concert and rm88 for around 200 units of x6 for lucky ppl. This post has been edited by k-bkeat: Mar 26 2010, 02:12 PM |
Mar 26 2010, 02:45 PM
guys. previously i asked b4 but no one answered T.T
may i know are there any special promotion bsides free dc-11 charger? Because last time during x6 launching. there was a boyslikegirls concert and rm88 for around 200 units of x6 for lucky ppl. |
Mar 26 2010, 06:32 PM
guys. normally smart phone like n900. does it last long? as in can tahan for few years?
Mar 26 2010, 07:57 PM
Mar 27 2010, 04:25 PM
Mar 27 2010, 05:50 PM
is 3.2010.02-8 the latest firmware?
Mar 28 2010, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(amdx @ Mar 28 2010, 10:59 AM) i beg to differ. maemo OS has been in the market for quite somewhile (say 4 years?), I used to own the nokia N800 internet tablet in year 2007 (tat was after 1 year+ launched in US in year 2006), and Nokia made a big improvement on Maemo OS 2008 during that time. I was really really impressed with the overall performance of my N800 that time, multi task and hey.. it's a linux in the box. just add repository from the community site, you will be able to download tonnes of application for the Maemo. WoWoWo. If im not mistaken, this is the first time n900 kena i'm the early participant in this N900 pre-order, and to be honest... i'm very excited about it. but impression changed after i played with it in pavilion yesterday evening. the OS is still unstable, missing icons in the camera apps itself, intermittently hanging issues. To the unbearable extent, i got to launch the terminal to kill the camera app. to force it to close.I would expect a stable OS before Nokia put it on the shelf, the price is not few hundreds, we are talking about RM2.3k here. no doubt it's a mini computer with phone feature, but atleast Nokia should solve the in-built applications before they launched or sell it to the consumer. N900 is not ordinary smartphone like symbian or iphone, it's a device for tech savvy consumers. after played with it around 20 minutes (mind you, the device i played with was hooked on a big LCD tv, those looking at the screen would know what is happening to its OS), I decided not to get it until it is stabilized. just my 2 cents, no offence ok. hey.. i'm one of the maemo fans too! and I knew nokia will sorted this out soon. looking forward on that. Is it true it still has hanging issues? From comments and reviews, i heard tat its smooth leh Btw, can anyone define multitouch? |
Mar 28 2010, 12:17 PM
Mar 28 2010, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 28 2010, 12:20 PM) Multitouch allows improve interaction like iphone 2 fingers drag out ZOOM IN 2 fingers drag out ZOOM OUT. N900 to zoom in 1 finger spiral motion to zoom in or out. thx. i got it Certain games allow multiplayer on 1 phone to play. If non multi tiuch after the first person press den only second person can press if together press at the same time it will mess all up. Alot other functions |
Mar 28 2010, 08:04 PM
GLAD IT IS =)
Added on March 28, 2010, 8:04 pm QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 28 2010, 06:57 PM) Totally agree! They need to place a product specialist, one that's familiar with this device, the technologies and knows what's the selling point of this device, also have experience and knowledge on the other competitor to pin point the specialty and uniqueness of this device, such as the Desktop concept, while others are using the simple Home Screen. Btw, Andy, mind showing some of the very imformative videos? i searched n900 and alot results pop out @@Problem is, even for Symbian device, their sales staff which I encountered before aren't really experience or knows in depth of the phone itself. They have the device all to themselves to play, learn, etc. but seems they never really do, perhaps when hiring, they need to find those that have interest in mobile? This is also same case in other industry, such as cars, usually the buyer knows more than the sales person, and sometimes the sales person cannot answer the questions and always refer to the brochure... They're given opportunity to test the car, explore, play with the car, yet they don't know much about the car, while those people interested buyer would want to test drive as many times as possible. Anyway, previous I've posted this as well, in YouTube, you can see those people who went for the N900 launching, they really, I mean, REALLY question the sales staff with technical questions, and I'm impress the sales staffs there can really answer many of the technical questions. All these are recorded on videos. I wonder what happen if we ask those questions over here, One thing good is, many owners here will survey and do their own research on the device before actually purchase, and we have the members/community to support, share and help each other. This post has been edited by k-bkeat: Mar 28 2010, 08:04 PM |
Mar 29 2010, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 29 2010, 12:19 AM) One of my favourite, contains good and bad of the phone and also talks about those that might not be suitable for this phone and finally, the power of the device: thx dude =) gonna get the phone by this weekend! YAHOO ! Here's another video, see how this guy push N900 to the limit in multi-tasking (this is part 2 actually): |
Mar 29 2010, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 29 2010, 03:18 PM) Don't play straight away, flash videos seems take up some resources. Wait a while and try to play, it should get smoother, but hard to get super smooth. Hopefully the next update will fix this issue, and not sure if there will be Flash v10 support n900 should restart frequently? Sometimes when the phone is slow (usually after few days never restart), might cause some lagging problem as well, to make it simple, a restart will improve the phone performance again. btw a phone should be on 24 hours or off it during sleepy time? does it make any difference? |
Mar 29 2010, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 29 2010, 04:09 PM) That depends, if it's running smoothly, there's not really need to restart; But if you face auto-restart problem, you should check the bootcount and manually restart to prevent some problems; Install HealthCheck which can help you check the Boot Count. i see. so it doesnt matter even if u on or off it right? doesnt make any difference?I think nowadays most people don't off the phone during sleep. Not sure how many still does it. That's good news |
Mar 29 2010, 09:52 PM
| Change to: | 0.0352sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:46 PM |