Please guys, make me love my N900 more. I found out there's so 100x little application in ovi store.
I try find it in maemo web, but just can't find the exact link for apps.
There're actually a lot of applications which is under testing or devel stage. You can enable them in your "App Manager". There're tons of apps you can download from there.
Try to watch the video below, this guy has great review on the N900 (also talk about the weakness), and also watch the ending part for the capabilities of the N900.
Good Luck!
Added on February 11, 2010, 12:09 am
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Feb 10 2010, 10:53 PM)
Sigh, really I should wait for maemo 6 phone. Really need money now. selling my n900
Maemo 6?
There's an upcoming N900 contender? A laptop with phone functionality and at the size of mobile phones; just like the N900 except this is running Windows XP... http://www.xpphone.com/en/product/configuration.html
But it's HUGE though! 4.8" screen, and the looks aren't very attractive.
This post has been edited by Andy214: Feb 11 2010, 12:09 AM
WARNING - beware that when you install apps from testing or devel, they may screw your phone up.
If in doubt, don't install.
Yup, in addition, do read the details first, and check the build version, you can see some is very early stage app.
Plus, you can google around for more information about the application first before actually installing it.
Finally, those programs are not created by Nokia, and as per warning given by Nokia, you might want to becareful if any apps contains any spyware or hidden feature which steals information, etc.
hey...anyone of you here know how to transfer the contacts from a sony ericsson phone to n900?couldnt transfer via SIM card cos there's too many contacts..thanks in advance
Can you sync your Sony Ericson with Outlook? If yes, sync it to your Outlook, then transfer it to your N900. You can transfer contacts and calendar this way.
the battery can last long for 1 day if u use continuous
also depend on how many widgets you have running on your desktop. if you have those active widgets like facebook, it'll drain the battery faster more if you're on 3G, wifi seems better.
also ur email, im accounts u have link to ur phone. for email you can set the interval update longer. these are all if you're connected to the internet.
QUOTE(GaminPro @ Feb 15 2010, 11:42 PM)
But I heard the new better battery you need to change the cover of the phone! But still loving the phone still not yet get it!
yup. that's the mugen battery which is rated over 2000mah (2400++ if not wrong), but it's thicker and it comes with a new battery cover. the phone is already bulky and heavy, if use that battery is gonna be worst lol.
Did you update using OTA or through Nokia Software Updater?
I was unable to use OTA due to some devel apps, thus I backup my phone and use the Nokia Software Updater.
After that, I'm able to restore everything except Settings which did not restore completely (unknown error). All my desktop arrangements is messed up and I have to rearrange everything again, and also all the apps need to be install back again... It isn't like Symbian where once you restore, everything is back to how it is, even the apps which have been installed before. Probably because for this phone the apps are mostly installed in the reserved space 2G which I suspect is cleared when flashing; They should do something about this, I have so many apps, although they have the app list for restore, it takes a long time to install all of it, plus the updater is slow.
If you're using the Nokia Software Updater, do you have any problem with the restore and what about the apps? If not, for future "major" update which requries Nokia Software Updater, you might want to take note on the above, unless they have fix the problem (hopefully).
Anyway, I heard this is minor update preparing for the major update PR1.2? Not sure how true, it's said the newer version will be able to support Qt4.6, if it's true, we could see major changes especially Portrait mode? Can't wait...
Btw, I notice the new PR1.1.1 update seems have slightly weeny better battery life and the browser now supports Portrait mode automatically (just need to turn it on once via CTRL+SHIFT+O; the next time you open the web browser, it's auto).
I did the update OTA, as it began it popped up "Operation failed" but kept going anyway. After it restarted, it couldn't boot past the video LOL. So yeah, panic moment because I didn't bother making the backup.
Luckily though I didn't lose much after reflashing, as I later learned that the app settings/contacts/etc were intact on the 2GB partition, whereas I only flashed the 256MB partition (I suspect that is what NSU did for you too). I only had to reinstall apps and reconfigure my desktop. Which is a big relief, I couldn't ask for more really
Yeah the installer's slow mainly because you can't batch install stuff. If you wanted to do it the quick and dirty way you could just open up a shell and apt-get install -y all the packages, but I'm not sure if this is recommended.
Looking at the PR1.1.1 release it looks like the only tangible improvement for me is that Australia's a selectable region now. Definitely not worth all that drama
Yea, big drama, hehe and if use the NSU, need to do lotsa work as it's flashing instead of updating. The OTA update is only about 16MB if I remembered correctly, but using the NSU it's a whopping 171MB, lol. Waited so long, haha and ended up have to reconfigure/organize my desktop and the applications.
Anyway, it's a good experience and preparation for the next major update, at least we know what to do next time
I read from maemo-talk.org, the OTA is just minor updates and everything should be still intact, and there is like 2 restart required (auto). You have to reinstall apps and reconfigure desktop too? Mmmm... next time I have to becareful already, hehe.
I was to excited for the update that I didn't check it out first; While it was updating through NSU, I read up the topics in maemo-talk.org, only to find it's a minor update (said to prepare for the "major" update end of this month?). I though it was the major update with Qt4.6 support at first; sigh, hehe )
my update via OTA seems smooth. nothing affected. luv digi
I read it depends on the apps you've installed from devel. From maemo-talk, they mentioned Open-Arena as one of the apps that preventing OTA updates, thus requiring NSU which will flash the device.
Some owners have too many apps using up the rootfs causing not enough memory to perform OTA updates.
Guess Nokia still hasn't overcome this "low memory" issue which is one of the biggest drawback for Nokia Smartphones, especially the one I've owned before. My N81 internal memory/ram is even less than the old old N95, which is kind of sick especially when I try to install NGage Arena and Nokia Maps, left about 6MB internal memory and slowly reducing as I use. That's also one reason prevented me from getting N97.
But anyway, N900 has pretty decent ram, although would be better to have 512MB as current smartphones having. Just a nice to have; Wonder if "upgrade" is possible, lol; they should make it like laptop rams which is upgradeable.
QUOTE(en_mizi @ Feb 17 2010, 03:46 PM)
it is seem like my n900 is warm even without using it. usually i put it in my pocket. why eh? is it dangerous or effecting my fon?
As drexar have mentioned, check if any apps is running, especially widgets; You can try install "Conky" which is a great monitor for CPU, RAM, etc. or you can install the "System Info Widget" which can show you the processor and ram usage on your desktop.
Sometimes, after maybe 1-2 or more days never off the phone, I don't know what's running in the background, the battery life seems like drain faster. After a restart, it seems better already. Can't seem to find any apps running.
QUOTE(Ash @ Feb 17 2010, 04:07 PM)
my uk set of n900 says no updates available ^^
AFAIK, I don't think it's region based? It should be universal. Perhaps the update server is down or the Update Manager fail to obtain the update info?
You can re-try again. I also read in maemotalk forum, some is able to detect the update after a restart.
This post has been edited by Andy214: Feb 17 2010, 04:50 PM
I had to reinstall apps etc because I reflashed the phone after the OTA upgrade bricked it.
Aaah, miss that, hehe
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Feb 18 2010, 01:18 AM)
MeeGo is a combination from Moblin (Intel) and Maemo (Nokia). People say MeeGo is actually Maemo 6
I read it's Maemo6 + Moblin2. Nokia will sort of re-brand the next gen Maemo to MeeGo it seems. No point launching so many types of OS. The bad news is, seems in MeeGo official site FAQ, MeeGo will support rpm file type rather than deb (which current Maemo is using). So,... sharing is a problem between current Maemo with the upcoming MeeGo? Perhaps they might think of something... But Qt apps should work on any OS which supports Qt libraries. Plus, it's still unknown if N900 will be able to upgrade to MeeGo? But I still prefer the name Maemo.
Anyway, saw the upcoming apps and games for N900 in YouTube. They show a 3D game which is said the best available 3D on ANY mobile phones in the market. Can't wait for the next "major" update; You can watch Qt4.6 demo in YouTube, you can see N900 with Potrait mode demo as well as cool Qt4.6 applications and rendering which even runs on the good old N95 (which the doom a-like game seems render faster than N97).
Added on February 18, 2010, 1:49 am
QUOTE(kiawin @ Feb 18 2010, 01:28 AM)
As I follow the meego-dev mailing list, maemo6 is just share the same API as meego, but it is not equals to meego. The essence of same API means,
App developer need not worry about the transformation from maemo core to meego, as the application is created on top of the standard API shared by both maemo6 and meego. I think MeeGo will still have a long way to go (perhaps a year?) before it is implemented in a commercial product. Google tells that the "MeeGo" LG phone is actually a atom-powered moblin phone. If you check carefully, you will notice MeeGo stays conceptual for the mean time. In simple conclusion, MeeGo will be the upcoming platform, but not now, or in the next few months.
We can also see their framework; which MeeGo already replace Maemo. It also mentioned in the first page: Maemo to MeeGo Anyway, MeeGo = Maemo6 + Moblin2 (Intel)
Actually,if I'm not wrong, Nokia and Intel has been in talks sometime ago; it was about time.
I think the next upcoming Nokia Maemo series phone might not be called Maemo6, but will be MeeGo as mentioned in several phone sites and the PDF; And at the MWC, Nokia have yet to announce any new upcoming phones, even the rumoured Nokia N8 Symbian^3.
This post has been edited by Andy214: Feb 18 2010, 01:51 AM
6. nokconv @Sreekanthp1 Q: Is MeeGo the beginning of end of Maemo? Do we have a roadmap for Maemo after the launch of Meego? #NokiaMWC -12:22 PM Feb 16th, 2010
nokconv @Sreekanthp1 A: MeeGo is the natural evolution of Maemo and Moblin platforms into one software platform #NokiaMWC -12:24 PM Feb 16th, 2010
I guess to put in simple terms to understand, Maemo6/Moblin2 is not MeeGo, but Maemo6 is PART OF Meego. Moblin2 is also PART OF MeeGo. Both these merged evolved into MeeGo.
Instead of having two different OS, Nokia and Intel are merging Maemo and Moblin to one Linux-based computing platform MeeGo. So, possible that futrue there will be no more Maemo or Moblin; instead we have MeeGo. (But I prefer the word Maemo )
Anyway, Nokia announced they will launch Moblin device later this year, together with other companies as well. Also, fromt he QA, those apps developed in Qt4.6 for the N900 will be supported for MeeGo as well.
Added on February 18, 2010, 9:55 am
QUOTE(GaminPro @ Feb 18 2010, 09:22 AM)
But Joining force making the OS to the next level!
True, and actually, they should merged early thus N900 won't be stuck in between. But that's technology, it moves fast and outdate fast.. and we have to allow it to move forward and fast.
Merging will actually also make choices less complicated! Less choices, imagine there's Symbian, Windows, Android, Apple, Maemo, Moblin, etc. So many... Then we have different brands to choose from, different phone specs, different design... Maybe one like this design, but the OS is not preferred, or specs/features lack of something. Even on a single brand itself, there's so many choices, even similar smartphone OS.
Developing apps is also a problem when there're so many choices. Just imagine like game console, we have PS3, XBox360, Wii. If there're more and more brand console, it'll be more headache which to buy, while the game developer also have headache.
This post has been edited by Andy214: Feb 18 2010, 09:55 AM
Your in depth discussion is indeed very insightful
I have a lay person's questions to post to ya'll
Should i wait for this phone to be officially launched in Msia, or should i get an AP version now?
What would be the main difference if i were to get it now? Software/firmware differences as AP is imported from other countries, and the official device would be customized for our country's use?
Sorry if my question is noobish, hope ya'll bear with me thx
I'm not sure when it will be launched in Malaysia. Still no news in Nokia website and Nokia Centres. Usually, if it's coming soon, they will have info, and later, they will have pre-orders.
Probably Nokia is waiting for the next major updates first as currently, the phones still lacks of some features commonly found in normal phones, and also it's mainly landscape mode. The next major update possibly will have Portrait mode feature. Plus, the current firmware does not have Malaysia as a selectable region.
The firmware will be same. Actually AP set is simply a model for other country. To put it simple, you can buy a Sony PSP UK or Japan version, that is considered AP set. All are original, except Malaysian set is official set for Malaysian market, with possibly some basic customization (e.g. default language, region, etc.)
If there's any wrong information, please do correct me as well.
Then will there b a prob surfing the net that most of the website uses Java Script, am i rite?
Java is NOT JavaScript.
No problems with websites using JavaScript; In fact, if you login facebook, you get the exact experience as your PC browser. It's just not so smooth since facebook is quite content rich.
How long does the battery last? for heavy usage(Internet Surfing, Camera, music) ? standby? normal usage(just call, no Internet Surfing)?
TX
It really depends on how you customize your desktop, you can have up to 4 desktop and the widgets you choose can affect your battery life (even if you don't turn on wifi/3G).
I prefer to customize a nice looking desktop with nice widgets, so the battery life is about 1 day with little wifi usage. I suppose if you turn everything off, including notification lights, lowest brightness, it might last you 3 days? Or more? I didn't bother to try.
3G consume the worst battery life; When it's on 3G and with my current desktop, it can last probably maybe 5-6 hours? Not sure, I try not to let the battery go low.
Try not to use those widgets that updates frequently or have animation/etc, like facebook widgets.
As for Movie, Music, Games; I personally find the battery consumption pretty good or acceptable. On CNY day, I also use the video recording, the battery consumption seems pretty good as well, at least better than I expected.
I seldom take pictures/videos so I can't really comment on that, but for my personal experience with the battery life which I expected to be worst, so it's seems pretty good for me.
hey guys.. is thr any ways to make the batt last long ah? i edi set my background and screen vibrate settings and it still oni last 1 day.. man! i need to charge it everyday la..
Update to the latest firmware, it has much better battery life. I turned on WiFi running whole day (not using, but turn on and my accounts are online in Skype, FB Chat and OVI), and I still have > 50% in the evening/night.
Remember not to let the battery die off, always charge it before it goes off.
1. Don't use widgets that updates regularly or have animation like Facebook widgets. 2. Restart your phone if you notice your battery consumption is bad (something process may be hang/running in background). There're apps which lets you see the processor and ram usage (e.g. Load Applet) and also those that let you view the details (e.g. Conky). 3. Turn screen brightness to lowest settings. 4. Turn off notification lights (if you don't need it). 5. If you have email, change the settings check interval to longer duration. 6. Change the backlight timeout to shorter duration (also which you are comfortable with).
I suppose if all goes well, it could last you at least 2 days.
Added on February 23, 2010, 12:06 pm
QUOTE(Anubiz @ Feb 23 2010, 01:29 AM)
I have a question, what's the difference between the n900 resistive touch screen and the iphone capacitive touch screen ? Are both this phone touch screen comparable ?
Capacitive touch screen is more sensitive and have multi-touch function, it's also more expensive, but it lacks accuracy.
Resistive touch scree is less sensitive but is very accurate. *It supports multi-touch*
The sensitivity issue can be a good or bad thing. Less sensitive, you need to touch harder to access programs. Too sensitive, you have problem doing scrolling or accidentally access programs, when you didn't want to. It can be very annoying, as I've used to the N900 touch, I have problem using the X6, it's very annoying, a slight touch already access.
For N900, you can check out the accuracy even with your fingers. When you first boot up the phone, you can set the clock by adjusting the clock's hour and minute needle, it's so accurate. But never mind that, if you login to facebook, you can use your finger to touch those small links accurately without the need to use the stylus. Of course, with the stylus is easier.
This post has been edited by Andy214: Feb 23 2010, 03:08 PM
of course maemo is good, better than the dying symbian , the current symbian OS in all the touchscreen phone is just the old OS with extra touch function. Sluggish performance. Many apps developer left symbian scene and thats why now nokia announced symbain^3 and make it open source to catch up with fast growing OS market like android and such
Nokia as seems going slow with technology now and sticking with slow processor and ram limitation in its current flagship N97. I wonder if N900 can be considered as the new flagship? Well the down side of the phone is not having multitouch.
It's not a matter of new or old OS, it's the matter of which OS is better and more powerful. You can have an old OS but if it's powerful, you can do many things. As Maemo is open source and it is very, I mean, VERY flexible; as long as you have the skills/knowledge, you can do just sooo much. Then again, for a normal end user, it may mean nothing at all. It really depends what you're looking for, not what you define as powerful. In terms of powerful OS, Maemo is one of the most powerful smartphone OS around.
I totally agree with you with Nokia is going slow with technology in terms of hardware, and all their phones, lacks of ram. That's why their Symbian have so much problem, it's mainly due to the ram! I have N81 and was so annoyed that it's ram is less than N95! After installing NGage Arena and Nokia Maps 2.0, the phone is left with about 5MB FREE-RAM! Meh, it only have total about 25MB internal memory, while the good ol' N95 has about 100MB. At first thought of getting the N97, but was shocked to find out it's low internal memory which in turn cause several problems, especially lag/hang issue. The N900, still lacks of RAM as it only have 256MB (768 is virtual memory). As of current with some apps like batlevel running, my N900 already used over 150MB ram. Already used up more than 50% of ram... Besides, the moment you go online, you'll notice your processor hits up to 100% usage constantly. The specs is similar with the iPhone 3GS, so in short, it's like a long delayed iPhone (in terms of hardware). If the ram is upgradeable, then it'll be good.
Of course, for normal usage, the phone specs is more than adequate. But when you go into details, it is never enough, hehe
The reason Symbian has problem is because of it's "security" or "tightness". When it was still "fresh", like Nokia 3650, 3660, 6600, N-Gage times, Symbian is the "IN" thing, apps can be installed easily, files can be transferred easily, no stupid restrictions and there were great file managers; Everything was great, there was tons of apps, even we can install N-Gage games on other Symbian devices. Later on, the restrictions come and flexibility was cut-down badly, with all the certificates, etc. You then need to "hack" your device in order to install any apps without "certificate". This is the thing about softwares, the more limitations/restrictions you impose, you're just killing it. Dev will stray away and move on to more flexible devices, more powerful users will also stay away. It may not be a problem for normal end users tough.
WinMo is actually worst. I have been using WinMo since WM2002 with the 2nd Motorola smartphone, MPX200. Back then, it was "great", and if you have the knowledge and know-how, you can customize almost everything through editing the registry (changing the boot screen, internal sounds, etc). The apps are great for WinMo, there're tons tons of apps available. One thing I don't like about WinMo, the User Interface. The Home Screen is nice, where we can customize with themes, or like current HTC, Sony, with their own versions. But at the core, it looks like Windows 3.11, look at the "old" looking scroll bars, yucks, look at the plain white messaging, look at the buttons (core), look at the settings screen, etc. Up till WinMo 6.5, it barely change and still look the same. In one word, it's plain "old", while other smartphone OS already having nice UI and are multimedia based. But the upcoming Windows Phone 7 looks promising with a multimedia/rich content base, and like the N900; they're targeting socializing/networking features into the phone.
QUOTE(chicaman @ Feb 24 2010, 05:11 AM)
even nokia admitted themselves that N97 software/OS is a failure and ensuring Symbian^3 is never happening again.
since the announce of N95 flagship until now, just compare N96 (failure) and N97 (another failure), the function and specs doesnt really improve much. OS wise, pretty much the samething with extra touch capabilities. edit: ops off topic, lets stick back to N900, so far N900 is good, just that it needs more third party apps like Garmin then it will be perfectly perfect
As per previous mentioned, I strongly believe the failure is due to the "restrictions" and "limitations". They need to "open up" their OS. Even the iPhone 3GS, most people wants to "unlock" it.
In terms of functions and features, N97 does have big difference IF you're comparing with N95; There's even difference if you compare with N81.
N900 actually have many great apps (under devel or testing, mostly devel). Somehow, I find it very funny that it must have apps like Garmin to be perfectly perfect. I too am a Garmin user and really want to have it, but I honestly don't think that it can make the phone perfectly perfect. There're many apps I would like to have, which is available on the iPhone, WinMo and also Symbian.
In fact, the more important issue I would like Nokia to fix is to improve the phone features (provide contacts grouping, individual contacts ringing tone, keep SMS into folders, transfer SMS from old symbian devices, MMS, video-stabilization during recording, perhaps options for focus during video recording (when you change your zoom level), etc). There're still many things to be improved for the N900 itself. Apps is develop or ported by developers/etc, as long as the OS is flexible (no restrictions, etc), it will come. But the problem/things to be improve with N900, it's depending on Nokia!
Added on February 24, 2010, 10:06 am
QUOTE(barjoyai @ Feb 24 2010, 06:58 AM)
guys, i like this phone very much but i'm confuse to choose either this or nexus 1..i just played with my friend's nexus 1 and it seems really2 nice and makes me more confuse.. lol..
wish i had a chance to play with n900 also, so i can compare..
can anyone here share sumting bout advantages/disadvantages over nexus 1?
If there is chance/option, test both device (that's the best way). If not, you can go YouTube, watch all the hands-on videos on both phones and also the in-depth review.
One thing tough, N900's future is uncertain... especially with Nokia changing their path merging with Intel. There will be no more Maemo devices in future it seems. I heard the 1st instance of Moblin from Nokia in actualy re-branded Maemo6, still using deb packaging system similar with Maemo5. But after that, it will be completely Moblin with rpm packaging system, loosing the compatibility. Nonetheless, for Qt4.6 apps, it will work for any OS that supports it.
Btw, Nexus1 supports multi-touch right?
This post has been edited by Andy214: Feb 24 2010, 11:14 AM
in start intech today said the phone will be launched here in the first quarter..that means by next month..april already starts 2nd quarter right?
i wonder how much will it be priced.
That's good news, but hopefully they will release the latest update (PR1.2? which supports Portrait mode? Qt4.6?) before they officially release in Malaysia, else it might give problem for buyers or cause more wrong decision buyers thinking the phone is great but later find the lack of phone capabilities, Portrait modes, etc. Hope they will fix the contacts grouping, individual contacts ringtones, etc as well as it's already very common feature on most (if not all) phones in the market.
PC Suite or OVI Suite support should also be ready for those that wish to change their phone, be able to transfer the data easily (SMS, Notes). Currently, only PC Suite is supporter "partially", where you can sync Contacts, Calendar and ToDo. Notes are not possible (except notes inside contacts, calendar and ToDo).
Besides, those third party apps like plugins for other IM (fb, msn, etc) are not built-in as a feature like skype, jabber, etc yet. Hope they can make it as a built-in feature soon especially for this officially launch device.
QUOTE(xtrabite @ Feb 24 2010, 10:03 PM)
Why thestar report said N900 has 1gb RAM?? I thought it has only 256 mb
256MB + 768MB (Virtual Memory - taken from your 32GB internal storage) = 1GB
Basically, the 256MB are the important one.
Added on February 25, 2010, 9:17 am
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Feb 25 2010, 02:29 AM)
For me weight+thicker+less eyecandy not a big deal for me.The lack of potrait mode seems will be fixed with firmware updates
Yup. Agreed!
Weight and Thickness factor is something we need to sacrifice for a big screen and powerful device. I don't think it should be a problem if one is determine to get a powerful device. Unless one is looking for looks rather than power.
Eye Candy it really depends; Looks are really individual. Personally I find the N900 looks great, so does many reviews, but Malaysian mag seems doesn't like the looks. The build quality looks great too and the finish is great unlike many other phones, the finish is smooth and feels classy. The screen/desktop is another eye-catching when people saw it, because it's one of the kind and depending on how you customize your desktop, it can be very appealing like some high end/tech device, it even looks better than a laptop desktop. Unlike our PC Windows OS, the Maemo desktop icons can be place overlapping one another. Depending on your creativity, you can make it very sophisticated yet look very stunning, and when people saw it, it's like a big "WOAH!". For other phones, you can't do that except installing themes.
Anyway, it's best for anyone who interested on this phone to fully understand it's features and also it's weakness (some can be fixed in firmware updates, while some are hardware limitations). Previous/Currently, one can view all the hands on videos for the N900 from YouTube (there're so many). Later when it's officially launch, one can "test drive" the actual device from Nokia Store.
This post has been edited by Andy214: Feb 25 2010, 09:17 AM
no idea, keep saying, its the image is being used or something. -.-
Did you really copy the image out from your N900 to your PC? Or you're editing the file which is still in your N900?
I don't have any problems? Maybe you can try other picture editing software like MS Paint, make an extra copy of the picture, open the picture in MS Paint and simply modify it and try to save?
QUOTE(Spunky @ Feb 25 2010, 11:13 PM)
2600 for ori????
which phone mag is that?
Gosh..it is so expensive...
If it is above RM2500, i might give this phone a miss. After all, It was released in November 2008, and we're only getting it now. Almost 5 months (half a year later). And besides, Maemo 5 may become obsolete fast, with Intel and nokia merging to come out with the new OS Meego that will replace Maemo 5. Thne Maemo 5 will no longer have supports and updates? Coders will flock to Meego... ....the First phone targeted by Nokia/ Intel to come out using Meego is in mid 2010,which is like only 3 months away... http://www.infoworld.com/d/mobilize/nokia-...ing-systems-461
Arghh...decisions decisions...i desperately need a phone now...and i had my eyes on the N900, but if the price is absurd... should i wait again....
The N97 Mini ori price is about 2.4K anyway. It's either they plan to price it cheaper or more expensive...
QUOTE(samsung1234 @ Feb 25 2010, 11:36 PM)
hey shut up and listen. who dont know that wifi is free. i have been using it but this month i got my bill and my internet usage they charged me with rm500 anyone can explain this ???
How sure are you that your phone didn't automatically connect to 3G?
Go To Settings --> Internet Connections Make sure the settings does not connect automatically for 3G Internet.
If there is automatic connection, you might not know when your phone updates automatically using 3G Internet.
If you install any widgets that have auto-update (default settings) and you didn't disable it, it will use the default connection. Even your email and so on does the same. Same goes for Nokia Maps.
Lastly, to check if your phone has used any Data Packets, go to: Settings --> Phone --> Scroll Down to the end and choose "Data counter" This will show you the total MB send and received. Alternatively, you can also install the "Dataplan Monitor" widget.
Good Luck~
QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Feb 26 2010, 12:35 AM)
andy.. hope u see my msg.. do u guys know how to bluetooth a song? i was wondering.. i kept trying n trying edi but still cant find any solution.. if send photos by bluetooth can.. but mp3 cant..
Sorry bro, didn't notice which message? Is it same as current you're asking?
If yes, bro kiawin has mentioned about the app "Petrovich" which allows you to send files via Bluetooth, Email, Service.
I bought it at Lowyat Plaza last time..try looking at the computer shops rather than handphones accessories shop.. I can't remember which floor is it.. The shop is big almost like Sri Computer..
----------
At last Nokia N900 is coming to Malaysia!! That means there will be a lot of N900 accessories available in the market
--------------
Another thing.. Do u guyz think that N900 will support the new MeeGo? If yes that will be an excellent news
Thanks bro! Yup, it's good news, more accessories and also support and parts from Nokia (for those who prefer to get from Ori store).
QUOTE(samsung1234 @ Feb 26 2010, 10:53 AM)
hey thanks bro. you are the only one who give me a PROPER answer i am sure the phone didnt automatically connect to 3G ok i have checked the data counter in the settings. my download is 80mb and send is 5mb which means?
Now it's clear that your phone does indeed use data plan (e.g. 3G). Try to set your phone to not connect via 3G or data packets automatically. Even other N series like N81, N97, etc they have automatic connection to 3G or your network data usage, you have to disable it or choose "Always Ask" for these type of connection under the settings. That's why many people have "unknown" usage on the data.
When your wifi is not available or disconnected, and some apps/email/gps wants to update, it will automatically use the next available connection, which will be your network data (e.g. 3G) automatically unless you specify not to use it automatically. Since your usage is so high, I suspect it's the email retrieval or downloading of apps. Or it can be some other things that is using your network data plan.
Tips: 1. Try connecting to WiFi and see the wifi connection icon beside the battery icon. 2. Try connecting to 3G and see the 3G connection icon beside the battery icon. Both these are different icon, so it can somewhat help you identify which connection you're on.
If you're on Maxis, maybe you can consider subscribe to 500MB plan for 3G Internet which is RM58; or switch to DiGi for unlimited plan for the same price! woot! For Maxis, just login to maxis.com.my, and you can activate immediately.
Lastly, to monitor you data plan easily, install the "Dataplan Monitor" widget and put in your desktop. You can see in real-time your data plan usage, and take action quickly if you suspect any changes. (find the culprit)
This post has been edited by Andy214: Feb 26 2010, 12:39 PM
the phone is great, just that ovi map is poor, outdate ... even n97 ovi 3 is better than n900 version ... sob sob ...
not yet ready for N900. Currently, the latest ovi map only available for seleted devices. maybe wait for next update. there're many things not complete yet for this phone, guess they released too early, even pc suite is not fully compatible yet till today and ovi suite totally not supported. hopefully they fixed it before officially launch in malaysia else its like calling for more trouble..
btw, anybody use the nokia map knows how to save the location? i can't find way to save my location?