Nokia N900 launched!, N Series with Maemo 5 on board

k-bkeat
post Mar 20 2010, 05:01 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Mar 20 2010, 04:57 PM)
Garmin is good but since got the free nokia maps...i've been using it too..plus the google maps street live view is good too
u mean there is alot of choices of GPS u can use on a phone? which one is best as in smooth and informative
barjoyai
post Mar 20 2010, 05:06 PM

PoisonRoses
726 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 20 2010, 04:35 PM)
garmin is best gps software? Btw, how you know all the prices?  hmm.gif
he is a seller, of coz he knows tongue.gif
there are a number of gps softwares but only some have a detailed maps for malaysia..as i know, malsingmap/malfreemap provides map for garmin,mapking,popogo and somemore..but the most popular one is garmin bcoz easy to get for free..
k-bkeat
post Mar 20 2010, 05:16 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Mar 20 2010, 05:06 PM)
he is a seller, of coz he knows tongue.gif
there are a number of gps softwares but only some have a detailed maps for malaysia..as i know, malsingmap/malfreemap provides map for garmin,mapking,popogo and somemore..but the most popular one is garmin bcoz easy to get for free..
thanks ! so garmin is indirectly the best la? I am a newbie. My previous phone only have sms and call function. blue is the only colour. So yea... plenty of things to learn blush.gif

THANKS SIFU notworthy.gif
barjoyai
post Mar 20 2010, 05:37 PM

PoisonRoses
726 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 20 2010, 05:16 PM)
thanks ! so garmin is indirectly the best la? I am a newbie. My previous phone only have sms and call function. blue is the only colour. So yea... plenty of things to learn  blush.gif

THANKS SIFU  notworthy.gif
well, i don't know whether garmin the best or not..but i'm using it rite now and it's easy to learn..i also like u b4,using the old nokia 3100..now i'm using n82 and learned myself how to use garmin..it's pretty easy and the good thing is it works and can guide to me almost everywhere i want.. biggrin.gif
aspire2oo6
post Mar 20 2010, 05:46 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 20 2010, 05:16 PM)
thanks ! so garmin is indirectly the best la? I am a newbie. My previous phone only have sms and call function. blue is the only colour. So yea... plenty of things to learn  blush.gif

Poor guy getting so confuse.

Let me do a comparison for you.

N97 vs N900 70% of the hardware are identical except for the processor, ram and OS.

First ask yourself what is the purpose of you getting the phone den only find the phone to suit you.

N900
Fast processor
Fast 3D graphic accelerator
Fast RAM
Limited Software and games are found at the moment ( Future there will be more)
running on Linux Maemo so the unlimited possibility is even possible
Support H264 video codec
Currently only support in landscape mode
No MMS support at the moment
Support Flashlite 9.4 aka u can use browser to load flash
Full Screen view
Capable to multi task
More expensive compare to N97
1320 MAH battery ( so powerful but lack of battery life)
Better Animation
Support INFRA
Comes with Bluetooth 2.1
Higher resolution 800 x 480 pixels
3G support up to HSDPA, 10Mbps; HSUPA, 2Mbps

N97
Using Symbian OS so alot of games and software available to download
Slower processor
Slower ram
Lack of 3D graphic accelerator support
1500 MAH battery ( Alot of juice to last all day)
Average animation
Phone is laggier
FM Transmitter
Limited outdated codec support so always need to convert

Features Identical N900 with N97
3.5 inch screen
FM Transmitter
QWERTY Keyboard
Resistive touch ( Iphone running capacitive aka must use finger only)
Dual Speaker
32GB Internal Memory expandable to 48GB with SDHC memory card
Both also heavy
Proximity sensor for auto turn-off
- Accelerometer sensor for auto-rotate

And for your GPS question Garmin have more features and flexibility compare to other GPS softwares. And Garmin maps are the most up to date from MFM website compare to other maps due to lack of mappers.
lhongwuh
post Mar 20 2010, 05:50 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

@aspire2oo6

And for your GPS question Garmin have more features and flexibility compare to other GPS softwares. And Garmin maps are the most up to date from MFM website compare to other maps due to lack of mappers.

lack = very little
wrong usage of word? lol tongue.gif

super_evil_alien
post Mar 20 2010, 06:42 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Mar 20 2010, 03:04 PM)
n97 mini can use garmin for now...
later n900 should be ok one... just wait the latest garmin annoucement

n900 next week price drop some, 1880 can get for ap new set... woohoo  brows.gif 
who wan buy is time to buy it.. laugh.gif
Aaarrggghhhh!!!!
I can only buy on mid-april sad.gif
Any chance you can keep the super special price for me? laugh.gif
Buffalo Soldier
post Mar 20 2010, 06:46 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 19 2010, 08:22 PM)
So..... guys...... do you think n900 is worth buying? since it will be outdated VERY SOON....  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
It depends on who you are or what you're actually looking for.

For a Linux geek that appreciates the ability to access the underlying Linux OS (all the additional development, network and security applications), N900 is a must have device smile.gif

The ability to use the Terminal (command line interface) and QWERTY keyboard is enough to make me drool tongue.gif
k-bkeat
post Mar 20 2010, 07:02 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 20 2010, 05:46 PM)

N97 vs N900 70% of the hardware are identical except for the processor, ram and OS.
First ask yourself what is the purpose of you getting the phone den only find the phone to suit you.

N900
Fast processor
Fast 3D graphic accelerator
Fast RAM
Limited Software and games are found at the moment ( Future there will be more)
running on Linux Maemo so the unlimited possibility is even possible
Support H264 video codec
Currently only support in landscape mode
No MMS support at the moment
Support Flashlite 9.4 aka u can use browser to load flash
Full Screen view
Capable to multi task
More expensive compare to N97
1320 MAH battery  ( so powerful but lack of battery life)
Better Animation
Support INFRA
Comes with Bluetooth 2.1
Higher resolution 800 x 480 pixels
3G support up to HSDPA, 10Mbps; HSUPA, 2Mbps

N97
Using Symbian OS so alot of games and software available to download
Slower processor
Slower ram
Lack of 3D graphic accelerator support
1500 MAH battery ( Alot of juice to last all day)
Average animation
Phone is laggier
FM Transmitter
Limited outdated codec support so always need to convert
Features Identical N900 with N97
3.5 inch screen
FM Transmitter
QWERTY Keyboard
Resistive touch ( Iphone running capacitive aka must use finger only)
Dual Speaker
32GB Internal Memory expandable to 48GB with SDHC memory card
Both also heavy
Proximity sensor for auto turn-off
- Accelerometer sensor for auto-rotate
WoW ! notworthy.gif U are really professional !

Just some more questions >< blush.gif
1st. N97mini cant run flash? as in browser.
2nd. as far as i know, n900 lacks of alot of basic funtions like video calls and so on... Is it a 100% comfirmation that it will be updated soon? like firmwares etc
3rd how long is n900 talk time and stand by time? i checked at mobile88.com but it isnt stated there...
icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by k-bkeat: Mar 20 2010, 07:06 PM
kiawin
post Mar 20 2010, 08:12 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 20 2010, 05:46 PM)

If different processor, ram & OS, it's a whole new world in mobile phone arena smile.gif

chicaman
post Mar 20 2010, 08:21 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Mar 20 2010, 08:12 PM)
If different processor, ram & OS, it's a whole new world in mobile phone arena smile.gif
OS different is already enough to bring one into a whole new world
Buffalo Soldier
post Mar 20 2010, 08:22 PM

444 posts

True. Certainly can't argue with that.

To summarise things, I guess you can say that:

N97 = Symbian-powered smart phone
N900 = Linux-powered mobile internet device (MID) + mobile phone

Added on March 20, 2010, 8:25 pm
QUOTE(chicaman @ Mar 20 2010, 08:21 PM)
OS different is already enough to bring one into a whole new world
Chicaman,

Just knowing that with N900 I can have full access to the Linux OS is enough to make me part with my hard earned money smile.gif

This post has been edited by Buffalo Soldier: Mar 20 2010, 08:25 PM
haroldz123
post Mar 20 2010, 08:37 PM

1,062 posts

nokia will come out with maemo 6 with meego

maemo 5 cannot upgrade to meego yet

hp so canggih but u only use for call n sms function
so better seek other hp

unless u r gadget freak or geek, go for n900 or android phones
can customize many things...
Buffalo Soldier
post Mar 20 2010, 08:48 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Mar 20 2010, 08:37 PM)
so better seek other hp
N900 can do more than just call and SMS. It has the usual smart phones (minus MMS capability) and plus many more.

- web browser > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h5s9lqnQu48

- camera and media player > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ey5Z8PX1LbI

- email, sms and instant messaging > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tktVfOmROM

- contacts management, calendar and tasks > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dAk9dY-RAl4

- highlights that covers everything else > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QjdS44kHxOI

It is also true that a geek will the group that appreciate this device the most. But N900 could also interest anyone who wants a full Media Internet Devices (MID).

TSzero_kbom
post Mar 20 2010, 08:48 PM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

For those who needs turn by turn navigation...at long last, Sygic releases their GPS nav app for N900 thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
More info here:
http://www.sygic.com/index.php/en/features.html

Added on March 20, 2010, 8:50 pm
QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Mar 20 2010, 08:37 PM)
nokia will come out with maemo 6 with meego

maemo 5 cannot upgrade to meego yet

so better seek other hp

unless u r gadget freak or geek, go for n900 or android phones
can customize many things...
And apps for Maemo 6 n Meego will be compatible with Maemo 5
So why oni call n sms wink.gif
And don't get me started on the web browser whistling.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Mar 20 2010, 08:50 PM
Andy214
post Mar 20 2010, 09:47 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 20 2010, 01:23 PM)
Hmm... which phone u suggest if gps is needed? n97mini ok?

garmin is best gps software? Btw, how you know all the prices?  hmm.gif

Basically others have given very good and detailed information/advice to you.

As you're new to this "smart"phone thing, then whichever "smart"phone you get, you got lots to learn and discover, you can take your time slowly and learn the phone.
Basically, N97 mini runs on Symbian OS, which in my personal opinion is pretty good itself, and it's easy to use and learn. Though, the Symbian now is different from the Symbian long ago, it's not much more restricted unless you hacked it and install some apps. But if you're just a normal user, it's good enough and the latest firmware is pretty stable and smooth, also have kinetic scrolling.

N900 is having Linux based OS and it's much or far far more powerful, it's "VERY" open and you can do sooo much with it. But then, to a normal user, it might mean nothing. So, you really need to find out what you "WANT".

If you're not sure or bother which OS is better, maybe you can test and watch some videos; All these OS give different look and feel. See which you like because you will be LOOKING and using it everyday.
N900's Maemo OS is really unique from others, it has Desktop which allow you to customize and design your own desktop based on your own creativity or your preferences, thus you will see many many types of desktop design from everyone.
Perhaps you should try and check out YouTube videos on each OS, or check out the VIDEO reviews of the phone you are interested in, there's also UNBOXING videos which lets you go though opening the box of the phone untill the first BOOT UP of the phone. If you watch N900 boot up video, it's very interesting and unique.

GPS:
Basically, over here, I think the MAP is more important. As others have mentioned, malsingmaps & malfreemaps are the best or in terms of community support; Malsingmaps is more trouble as they have some terms, malfreemaps, as stated, is FREE.
So, for the above said maps, they supports Garmin, Mapking and Papago (sorry only for PAPA).
Garmin is good, so is PapaGo, but for mobile version, PapaGo in my opinion, is better, it already have JUNCTION VIEW for X3.
Garmin v5 is kinda slow and have problem on mobile devices, probably due to the higher resource it use? Before I upgrade to v5, the last version of v4 is stable, fast and accurate. V5 have better graphics but have several issues when I use it.

I think Android OS have PapaGo software. If yes, then you might want to consider the Motorola Milestone, which is cheaper than the N900, or Sony Xperia X10 if you prefer Sony, plus it's also more powerful but also cost much more.
The Motorola Milestone have very similar design with the N900, with added advantage where it's more slim, bigger display, and seems better build quality (metal). The performance looks great too, so many videos of it in YouTube (promoting superb 3D android games).
The drawback is the internal memory is super little... have to use micro SD...
N900 have 32GB (2GB reserved + 768 for Virtual Memory)! You can put in another 32GB micro SD = 64GB in total!

Don't rush it bro, take your time and slowly do your research; Make sure you check out each and every phone you have interest in and choose carefully~

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Mar 20 2010, 08:48 PM)
N900 can do more than just call and SMS. It has the usual smart phones (minus MMS capability) and plus many more.

- web browser > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h5s9lqnQu48

- camera and media player > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ey5Z8PX1LbI

- email, sms and instant messaging > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tktVfOmROM

- contacts management, calendar and tasks > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dAk9dY-RAl4

- highlights that covers everything else > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QjdS44kHxOI

It is also true that a geek will the group that appreciate this device the most. But N900 could also interest anyone who wants a full Media Internet Devices (MID).
QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Mar 20 2010, 08:48 PM)
For those who needs turn by turn navigation...at long last, Sygic releases their GPS nav app for N900 thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif
More info here:
http://www.sygic.com/index.php/en/features.html

Added on March 20, 2010, 8:50 pm
And apps for Maemo 6 n Meego will be compatible with Maemo 5
So why oni call n sms wink.gif
And don't get me started on the web browser whistling.gif
Bros, I think harold123 actually mean that if someone get so powerful hp but only use for call and sms, then better seek other hp. Not saying the N900 only can call and sms, hehe tongue.gif

aspire2oo6
post Mar 20 2010, 11:24 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

thats true but it comes with a price.New OS have its own problem like lack of softwares.

Added on March 20, 2010, 11:26 pm
QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 20 2010, 07:02 PM)
WoW ! notworthy.gif  U are really professional !

Just some more questions >< blush.gif 
1st. N97mini cant run flash? as in browser.
2nd. as far as i know, n900 lacks of alot of basic funtions like video calls and so on... Is it a 100% comfirmation that it will be updated soon? like firmwares etc
3rd how long is n900 talk time and stand by time? i checked at mobile88.com but it isnt stated there...
icon_question.gif
Even when N97 was launch there was tons of problems even n97 doesnt support kenetic scrolling. After a few updates of firmware its pretty stable now.

Just calculate Nokia 5800 is using the same battery with N900 i can tell u the battery sux. Massive usage or online 4hrs flat. When my N97 can last me from 8am to 8pm.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Mar 20 2010, 11:26 PM
Buffalo Soldier
post Mar 21 2010, 12:22 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 20 2010, 09:47 PM)
Bros, I think harold123 actually mean that if someone get so powerful hp but only use for call and sms, then better seek other hp. Not saying the N900 only can call and sms, hehe  tongue.gif
Hi Andy214,

I think you are correct. I may have misunderstood harold123. Sorry harold123 if i "jumped" on you smile.gif My mistake.
haroldz123
post Mar 21 2010, 01:38 AM

1,062 posts

that's ok

i still doin survey or research on htc hero vs n900 vs motorola droids

they all have pro n cons

surely things can get better after OS upgrade for all the devices
Andy214
post Mar 21 2010, 08:59 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Mar 21 2010, 01:38 AM)
that's ok

i still doin survey or research on htc hero vs n900 vs motorola droids

they all have pro n cons

surely things can get better after OS upgrade for all the devices
If you don't care about the technical or full capabilities of the device, but care about apps/games and support, I think Android would be a better choice.

The Maemo5 OS is only used by Nokia N900, no other device, and when it's launched, it's only available in US and EU. Now coming to more countries. With little users, less companies invest to develop/port app/games to this device, future is still uncertain, possibly it will BLOOM if it gains it's popularity and people start to appreciate this device, else it might STILL get it's supports mostly from the community, just like now (beauty of OPEN SOURCE).
The N900 is very "OPEN" and there's so much one can do with this phone; but to normal user or user that don't use those features, it means nothing to them.
Above is IF you're into app/games and supports.

Some owners might look into the OS Design, because you're USING and LOOKING at the device everytime, so if the OS design isn't appealing, then it might turn the owner off. If you prefer Maemo5 design and it's desktop, but you end up buying an Android design, you might feel the "darn, I should get the N900" feeling (just like you order food, you know you want this food, but then you get another for another reason, then when you're eating it, you regret you didn't order the one which you wanted). Similarly, if you prefer Android OS design, LOOK and FEEL, getting N900 might cause the same feeling. Of course, that's IF the OS design is so important to you. It is to me, I like the Desktop concept, where I can customize and make my Desktop look nice to my preference, I just love to look at it everytime I unlock my device. And because it's so customizable, it looks different on every user's N900, depending on their preference and creativity. It's unique and I don't see this concept on other mobile OS.

The Moto I like it's metal build quality and slim design, but it lacks quite a few things, especially internal storage memory... N900 comes with 32GB built-in storage, with expandable micro SD up to 32GB = 64GB. Some people might say, who needs so much storage. But as I've said before, everyone have their importance of each feature; I do use up as many storage as possible, I can just dump as many FULL movies I like, to tell the truth, it's never enough if you really use it.

96 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:22 AM