Ninja
post Mar 16 2010, 12:18 PM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 16 2010, 12:11 PM)
what's the name of the magazine?
interested to read up(if it's possible to find the magazine in malaysia,that is blush.gif )
I think I saw the mag at Kino that day. tongue.gif Linux magazine.
jloi
post Mar 16 2010, 12:21 PM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

well the news regarding N900 can change to meego still unofficial..but i reli hope it does ;P..i saw it from LG GW990..is kinda awesome but i wonder will it b same for N900 if change to Meego
Andy214
post Mar 16 2010, 12:32 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Mar 16 2010, 12:18 PM)
You're right!
It also have the N900 on the front page~ (which captures my attention)
Imported mag, cost me RM16.90 (if I remembered correctly), got mine from MPH.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Mar 16 2010, 12:32 PM
Mgsrulz
post Mar 16 2010, 12:41 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Mar 16 2010, 12:18 PM)
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 16 2010, 12:32 PM)
You're right!
It also have the N900 on the front page~ (which captures my attention)
Imported mag, cost me RM16.90 (if I remembered correctly), got mine from MPH.
maybe i'll go grab it later tonight happy.gif
interested to know what the columnists think of this device biggrin.gif
jloi
post Mar 16 2010, 12:48 PM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 16 2010, 12:41 PM)
maybe i'll go grab it later tonight happy.gif
interested to know what the columnists think of this device biggrin.gif
scan d mag and share wif us here tongue.gif
Mgsrulz
post Mar 16 2010, 01:00 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Mar 16 2010, 12:48 PM)
scan d mag and share wif us here  tongue.gif
dont have a scanner sweat.gif

ask andy to share tongue.gif
haroldz123
post Mar 16 2010, 01:04 PM

1,062 posts

reviews:

http://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=44

no meego
Andy214
post Mar 16 2010, 02:25 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Mar 16 2010, 01:04 PM)
If you've been following maemo-talk forum, you should know who are the more experience people who gives more sensible/logical comments plus pretty often now, the word FUD is used.

Currently, it's still not 100% confirmed for anything, and based on Nokia previous devices and support, I don't think they will just drop N900. MeeGo or not, they will still at least make sure the Maemo OS gets updates up to a certain level which is acceptable, fix the bugs and so on. Even till today, you can find updates for > 2-3 year old Nokia devices. I'm not sure about older, unless there's known bugs/problems.

The important things is not to have whatever that is latest, but to get something that is GOOD, STABLE and USEFUL. If they can fix up Maemo OS and make it stable, smooth and all the current weakness or features which is missing, I think it's already good enough; But of course, if there is an option to "change" to MeeGo OS "officially", it'll be great! Nonetheless, the N900's hardware is just this much, probably even if we upgrade to MeeGo, we might not have the chance to utilize every part of MeeGo, thus why not improve on the current OS unless the new OS works great on the N900.

Anyway, as mentioned, there's no confirmation whether MeeGo is available for N900 or not "officially". Instead of FUD, why not wait for the real final official statement from Nokia themselves?
If the N900 sells well, from a business perspective, it's not logical to just let go N900 and loose most of it's customers, right? Think logically instead of trusting news immediately.

Here's a post by qgil which I think he's involve in the development of Maemo6 (aka Harmattan) or now rebranded as MeeGo (1st instance):
Making MeeGo work on the N900 is costing money already now. There is a team working on this as we speak, and as MeeGo first code release is taking shape.

The N900 was announced as official ARM hardware platform for MeeGo. This means that you can expect an open source operating system working on the N900 working on the N900 with a MeeGo API allowing you to install and run MeeGo applications.

The open source evolution path of the N900 is quite clear and looking good.

What Nokia hasn't announced yet is the commercial evolution path beyond the Maemo 5 official updates that it is granted that will keep coming. Yes, this is the same old question "Harmattan / MeeGo officially supported for the N900" and the same answer still prevails: http://wiki.maemo.org/What_can_we_re..._Harmattan_.3F

-----

Also read this:
http://tabulacrypticum.wordpress.com/2010/...responsibility/

Added on March 16, 2010, 2:26 pm
QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 16 2010, 01:00 PM)
dont have a scanner sweat.gif

ask andy to share tongue.gif
Haha, I try, but... is it "legal" hahaha

This post has been edited by Andy214: Mar 16 2010, 02:26 PM
k-bkeat
post Mar 16 2010, 02:42 PM

2,201 posts

HEY HEY HEY ! TO ALL THE PROs OUT THERE ! notworthy.gif

I read almost all the topic about n900 and it seems like its the best phone for now.

Some said it even outrun iphone.

For your information, i used to use a lousy phone with no colours and only sms and call function blush.gif

Do you think n900 will be complicated to use since its so FABULOUS and Full of functions?

Btw, whats the cheapest price for now? AP and ORI?

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
Andy214
post Mar 16 2010, 03:28 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 16 2010, 02:42 PM)

I read almost all the topic about n900 and it seems like its the best phone for now.

For your information, i used to use a lousy phone with no colours and only sms and call function  blush.gif

Do you think n900 will be complicated to use since its so FABULOUS and Full of functions?

Thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
In terms of capabilities or technical terms, many phones already outrun iPhone.

But in end user or for normal user, iPhone might still be the best up till today mainly because of it's apps available and the usability/usage of the phone/device.

Really depends what you want or looking for. Find out yourself what you want and which phone suits you the best. N900's Maemo OS is totally different from the rest, is what I can tell you, and it's also the only device running Maemo 5.

Some people prefer Android OS design, WinMo, iPhone's OS, Symbians, etc. Other than OS, it also depends the design of the phone, and what are the factors you look into, e.g. the cameras, multi-touch, keyboard, etc. and how important is each to you.

As an end user, if you're looking for a true multi-tasking device with pc-like experience web browsing. The N900 is no doubt the best you can find. It's amazing when you can use to surf net and multi-task at Starbucks or anywhere just like having a laptop with you. My friend who owns the iPhone also have his eyes wide-open and "wow-ed" by it and started to pay attention to this device.

But if you're someone who uses the phone a lot, needs very stable phone and make frequent calls, or are very particular with camera functions; you might want to re-condsider or think carefully and review the phone in detail first.

jloi
post Mar 16 2010, 03:42 PM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 16 2010, 02:25 PM)
should b "legal"..no? tongue.gif ..or put it here then strip down 2 days later tongue.gif
Mgsrulz
post Mar 16 2010, 03:54 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 16 2010, 02:25 PM)

Added on March 16, 2010, 2:26 pm

hmm.gif just put one page of the complete article,should be ok i guess?
as a sneak peek of sorts tongue.gif

@MeeGo: personally i dont care,as i bought the device with Maemo5. I see the MeeGo as an add on.
if it works,great.
if it doesnt,no loss.

the MaeMo5 is great as it is.

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 16 2010, 02:42 PM)

For your information, i used to use a lousy phone with no colours and only sms and call function  blush.gif

Thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
iphone is more appealing to the mass market.
if you like tinkering@screwing up your phone,the N900 would be right up your alley.
if you're the type to just follow the crowd*,then the iphone is for you.

*crowd=apple and the general public.
apple wont allow any kind of playing around with their phones,so it gets boring real quick.
fuadfadz
post Mar 16 2010, 06:15 PM

795 posts

just wondering,,

1. n900 doesn't have fm radio? only transmitter? how about the receiver?
2. the sms tone,, full tone or only for a few second?
3. what so speacial about meego?

please help coz i want to decide to buy n900 or Iphone 3gs,,
k-bkeat
post Mar 16 2010, 06:37 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 16 2010, 03:28 PM)
In terms of capabilities or technical terms, many phones already outrun iPhone.

But in end user or for normal user, iPhone might still be the best up till today mainly because of it's apps available and the usability/usage of the phone/device.

Really depends what you want or looking for. Find out yourself what you want and which phone suits you the best. N900's Maemo OS is totally different from the rest, is what I can tell you, and it's also the only device running Maemo 5.

Some people prefer Android OS design, WinMo, iPhone's OS, Symbians, etc. Other than OS, it also depends the design of the phone, and what are the factors you look into, e.g. the cameras, multi-touch, keyboard, etc. and how important is each to you.

As an end user, if you're looking for a true multi-tasking device with pc-like experience web browsing. The N900 is no doubt the best you can find. It's amazing when you can use to surf net and multi-task at Starbucks or anywhere just like having a laptop with you. My friend who owns the iPhone also have his eyes wide-open and "wow-ed" by it and started to pay attention to this device.

But if you're someone who uses the phone a lot, needs very stable phone and make frequent calls, or are very particular with camera functions; you might want to re-condsider or think carefully and review the phone in detail first.
Thx a lot dude ! notworthy.gif

Btw, i dont mind bout the camera, but does it crash frequently? i heard from my friend the n97 will crash even by making normal calls LOL !

Added on March 16, 2010, 6:39 pm
QUOTE(fuadfadz @ Mar 16 2010, 06:15 PM)
just wondering,,

same here =)

This post has been edited by k-bkeat: Mar 16 2010, 06:39 PM
jloi
post Mar 16 2010, 06:45 PM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

just wondering,,

lets see

1st no FM radio but can download apps for it..i m using a apps call FM Radio. Yes got FM Transmitter. The receiver will b ur car radio tongue.gif
2nd cant answer u this coz i dun like use long length sms..is quite annoying sometime
3rd meego is new OS from Maemo + Moblin. Dun ask what so special about it as in N900 not (or mayb not yet) running Meego. N900 is runing Maemo 5. What so special? Is open source OS from Linux (which mean hackable i guess tongue.gif )
Mgsrulz
post Mar 16 2010, 07:21 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

n900=you like to thinker with your gadgets
iphone=you dont like to play around with the gadget itself,just like playing with the apps

that's the best way to look at it.

personally i've just found another reason to love this N900..

i used to sync my ipod touch to my car radio via bluetooth,but the radio itself couldnt control the ipod. i couldnt skip tracks,be it forward or backwards.
i had to manually skip tracks by switching on the screen.-needless to say, i had to take my eyes off the road to press the ipod menu button and subsequently fumble with the onscreen buttons.

the N900,however, allows me to skip tracks just fine with the hardware based radio buttons thumbup.gif

not a huge improvement over the ipod touch,but an invaluable one nonetheless-especially if other people want to switch songs...dont have to use the ipod itself,can just press "next" on the radio itself biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Mar 16 2010, 07:23 PM
Andy214
post Mar 16 2010, 07:50 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 16 2010, 06:37 PM)
Thx a lot dude !  notworthy.gif

Btw, i dont mind bout the camera, but does it crash frequently? i heard from my friend the n97 will crash even by making normal calls LOL !
I haven't really encounter crash so far; lag probably when the processor usage is high or when something is running the in background. If you know what to do, you can kill/close the application from X-Terminal (MS-DOS alike for Maemo/Linux). If not, just simply restart your phone.
It's best if you install the "System Info Widget" which allows you to view the processor and ram usage on your desktop, thus if you notice your processor is using up constantly and you're not running any programs, you can suspect something hidden is running.
Nonetheless, the N900 Maemo 5 OS is still very fresh and new, many things to be improve and bugs to fix. Eventually it'll get better.

As for N97, the initial firmware has quite a lot of problems too, it's not smooth and laggy too. The latest firmware is pretty stable and smooth too, also have kinetic scrolling.

There's another more annoying problem on the Symbian, which is you can't make calls and you keep get "Connection Error". And another is the call didn't get through and goes to some voice operated like "The number you have dial...." and keeps repeating, you can't cancel, you can't do anything, just can wait until it automatically stops. That's more annoying, but after some firmware updates, the problems seems rearely or never happen again, can't even remember.

Don't worry, software issues can be fixed, as long as it's not hardware, then it's more of a headache. These are very complicated software/OS, thus there can NEVER be any perfect one; it's through testing, user's feedback, etc that the software/OS gets better and better.

Added on March 16, 2010, 7:57 pm
just wondering,,

For people who're interested in iPhone, please understand about the battery replacement issues.

And make sure you take good care of the battery. I mean, REALLY!

This post has been edited by Andy214: Mar 16 2010, 07:57 PM
Andy214
post Mar 16 2010, 08:34 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Mar 16 2010, 03:42 PM)
should b "legal"..no?  tongue.gif ..or put it here then strip down 2 days later  tongue.gif
Correction for my previous post, the total page include front and back is more than 7 pages.

I've attached the mag front page, the first page of the review and the final page of the review.

k-bkeat
post Mar 16 2010, 08:46 PM

2,201 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 16 2010, 07:50 PM)
I haven't really encounter crash so far; lag probably when the processor usage is high or when something is running the in background. If you know what to do, you can kill/close the application from X-Terminal (MS-DOS alike for Maemo/Linux). If not, just simply restart your phone.
It's best if you install the "System Info Widget" which allows you to view the processor and ram usage on your desktop, thus if you notice your processor is using up constantly and you're not running any programs, you can suspect something hidden is running.
Nonetheless, the N900 Maemo 5 OS is still very fresh and new, many things to be improve and bugs to fix. Eventually it'll get better.

As for N97, the initial firmware has quite a lot of problems too, it's not smooth and laggy too. The latest firmware is pretty stable and smooth too, also have kinetic scrolling.

There's another more annoying problem on the Symbian, which is you can't make calls and you keep get "Connection Error". And another is the call didn't get through and goes to some voice operated like "The number you have dial...." and keeps repeating, you can't cancel, you can't do anything, just can wait until it automatically stops. That's more annoying, but after some firmware updates, the problems seems rearely or never happen again, can't even remember.

Don't worry, software issues can be fixed, as long as it's not hardware, then it's more of a headache. These are very complicated software/OS, thus there can NEVER be any perfect one; it's through testing, user's feedback, etc that the software/OS gets better and better.

Added on March 16, 2010, 7:57 pm

For people who're interested in iPhone, please understand about the battery replacement issues.

And make sure you take good care of the battery. I mean, REALLY!
Hmm... before i ask my question.. i wan to confess that im a newbie, so go easy on me icon_question.gif

So if i found any problems, then i just tell nokia n there will be an update for it?

And bout the firmwares, is update itself like antivirus in computer auto update? or need to send to service centrE?
hawk
post Mar 16 2010, 09:29 PM

183 posts

Is it worth to get N900 official set at RM2280?
Or should I wait till it is lower than RM1500?

Currently using N86 .... but thinking to move up to N900 biggrin.gif

96 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:51 AM