Nokia E71 Thread V4, firmware Version: 400.21.013 ready!!!

thefryingfox
post Sep 22 2009, 06:55 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

what are the best sleeve case or protective case for e71 out there that you can recommend?
i hate holding the e71 from teh back coz after the oil etc touch the metal portion , looks really ugly man.

so was thinking if got better case out there since im using the defactor leather case
thefryingfox
post Sep 22 2009, 08:00 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(johnm @ Sep 22 2009, 07:12 PM)
appreciate if u told where u bought it and how much? ORI set? wanna get for my bro. thanks. tired of waiting for E72
bro, i bought mine for rm 1260 original nokia set about 2 weeks ago
Got it from a forumer that has a nokia booth at giant ss3.

Not bad offer....for that price i got the original full package set, free garmin and some other free apps, free screen protector and free ori car charger thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by thefryingfox: Sep 22 2009, 08:04 PM
thefryingfox
post Sep 23 2009, 01:27 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

i think the price i paid is kind of worth it for the functions i have.
battery life is about 2 days with occasional gps/3-4 hours calls per day/wifi about 1 hour per charge.

overall, battery live is good with this phone. and the qwerty is a blessign.

and yes, from e-trade-pj
thefryingfox
post Sep 24 2009, 12:08 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

back to the question, any better protector out there for e71?

i was thinking of invisible shield but i suck at doing it myself. because i know how bad i can be even putting screen protectors on.

So im just asking anyone got better solution in terms of protection?
thefryingfox
post Sep 25 2009, 01:28 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(photek @ Sep 24 2009, 09:48 PM)
anyone tried syncing with exchange without the contacts just the email and calendar and tasks?
I think its in your PCSUITE setting or outlook.
i remember that there ws one tab that i can select to have 1 way push, 1 way pull from outlook or 1 way push to outlook
and u can granularly set it to update contact, exchange mail, calendar or only either one.

Cant remember bro. will need to check my notebook setting tomorow.

Btw, have u guys face a problem whereby u press the menu button, seems like the menu trying to come up but somehow stuck? and then u press cancel again and it happen again?

Wierd. i had to reset my phone then only can select the menu button
thefryingfox
post Sep 28 2009, 12:39 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

fark! my e71 memory card auto encrypted itself after i rebooted my phone.
god knows hwo that happen but from what i read online, its a bug. and u cant decrypt it because it cant find a key ( since it stupidly autolocked the memory card)

had to reformat my card. bye bye garmin cry.gif
thefryingfox
post Sep 28 2009, 01:01 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

im on the latest firmware. got my phone 3 weeks ago.

reinstall? thats what im planning to do now. the shop installed it for me. tried installing myself but failed. its asking for product id which i dont have lol
thefryingfox
post Oct 14 2009, 11:50 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

guys, i need your help in this
i tried configuring my emial and screwed up.
so i uninstall the standard nokia for exchange mail client.

now i can see my mailbox there but nothing inside as if it did not uninstall clean. Any idea hwo to go about this? even when i press my mail button, it goes to that folder.

thefryingfox
post Oct 19 2009, 08:34 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

anyone manage to solve the menu hang problem?
getting bladi irrittng

i just restored factory settings n see what happens after some recommendation
thefryingfox
post Oct 23 2009, 12:36 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

ok so far 3 days after factory reset my phone
so far no menu hang and my battery life is slightly better.

usually the day off full charge, i end up with 4-3 bars...now i'm left with 5 bars at the same time and almost with the same activity
thefryingfox
post Dec 5 2009, 05:16 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

just upgraded my firmware to 400.xx ones..omg! i love my phone even more now.

everything is fast. previous gps locking takes 15 mins now it takes 10-15 Sec( no im not axxagerating, maybe my previous setup suks)

plus i notice the menu is alot snappier than before......i'l wait for a week to see if everything is working good as they should
thefryingfox
post Dec 6 2009, 12:50 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Dec 5 2009, 05:57 PM)
Second that.
Will it worth our time reinstalling all the apps that we installed ?

New firmware able to hack without signing certs ?
i dont have much app's so to me is not a problem i guess.

my garmin is installed on mem card so that's a relief( the only app i ever need anyways)

Hacking wise im not sure....phone is ori and i plan to keep it free from nokia's excuses of hacked etc when servicing my phone.

thefryingfox
post Dec 6 2009, 01:44 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

You will need to reinstall to the phone......as long the app's are there, then jus reinstall to recognize the app to the phone.

another note, use nokia ovi...it has a backup option for u to use..not sure how good is the application restore tho..never tried
thefryingfox
post Dec 13 2009, 07:33 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

if you got proxy, then you need to set la doh.gif
macam your pc...if your proxy is transparent proxy then u dont have to do anything.

If yours is not transparent proxy, then u will need to set.
I think to set it, u will need to go to connection manager and select wifi

then click for the options and click edit.

edit the setting by putting in the proxy
thefryingfox
post Dec 15 2009, 07:55 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Dec 13 2009, 07:33 PM)
if you got proxy, then you need to set la doh.gif
macam your pc...if your proxy is transparent proxy then u dont have to do anything.

If yours is not transparent proxy, then u will need to set.
I think to set it, u will need to go to connection manager and select wifi

then click for the options and click edit.
edit the setting by putting in the proxy
ok i just realised e71 has 1 limitation with WIFI!
assuming u are using corporate wifi and there is a need to put a proxy in to surf net, there is one limitation.

If your company is using BlueCoat Proxy's which rely heavily on Active Directory, u will need to key in a domain account name and password. However e71 does not allow you to key in the domain acc and password as there is no settings for that in even in advance config..

Gawd DaMN!
thefryingfox
post Dec 15 2009, 11:48 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(static @ Dec 15 2009, 08:06 PM)
i am using corporate wifi, able to use it.
depends really. Some corporate network has segments for guest ie unprotective connection to the internet
some has wifi that is going through a proxy/firewall. This proxy relies heavily on active directory for access control and who has access to what. Reason being - Makes life simpler with this approach.

However, the Nokia e71 does not have an option by default to add your domain account to the phone so the proxy will recognize this to be a non authorative device = FAILED lol!

I wonder if there is 3rd party app that manages wifi or has a plethora of options for me in order to use this domain account
thefryingfox
post Dec 17 2009, 11:01 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Dec 16 2009, 09:25 PM)
E71 allows you to configure proxy. i think a few post back one member explained the steps on how to configure your wifi to use proxy.

as for number 2, i doubt it's just E71 that has this limitation. but if i'm not mistaken, shouldn't all proxy username and password be prompted via the web browser? just like when you use a laptop, you don't configure a proxy with it's username/password into the wireless profile.
Yes it should be prompt by web browser. however if its not prompted, it can be added into the proxy profile.
My opera mobile shows the popup but nimbuzz does not. I guess its more towards application problem more than the phone. But i believe the phone should also have this function of adding the username/password by default as an option to use in a corporate network. This is afterall a business phone so im curious how Nokia did not see this coming.

0.0448sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:53 AM